DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action responds to the amendment and argument filed by applicant on May 13, 2026, in response to the Office Action mailed on January 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsay et al. (US 2004/0100380, hereinafter LINDSAY), in view of Miller et al. (US 2007/0023512, hereinafter MILLER), and further in view of Francis et al. (US 2002/0070862, hereinafter Francis).
With respect to claims 1, 11 and 20 LINDSAY discloses an inventory management system and an electronic device comprising an RFID reader and processor configured to identify perishable products and determine expiration status (¶[0034]–¶[0036]),
for perishable products wherein RFID tags are associated with individual products and store unique identifiers (¶[0022], ¶[0031]).
LINDSAY further teaches reading the RFID tag using an electronic reader and retrieving product-related data corresponding to the identifier (¶[0034]–¶[0036]). LINDSAY also teaches determining freshness or expiration status of the product based on stored or associated expiration information (¶[0011], ¶[0042], ¶[0048]) and
generating an alert when an expired product is identified (¶[0012], ¶[0050]).
the mitigation action including removing the at least one perishable product from a current location (¶¶ 16–23 discloses automatically determining the freshness state of a stored food product based upon expiration information obtained from the RFID tag and automatically recommending or causing an action responsive to the freshness state, including generating an alert indicating that the product should be used or discarded when the product has expired). Removal of the expired product from its storage location is an inherent consequence of the disclosed discard operation.
However, Lindsay does not expressly disclose performing an inventory mitigation action comprising requesting or initiating a replacement or restocking of the expired product,
repeatedly receiving the RFID identifier throughout multiple stages of the product lifecycle including storage, order fulfillment, and vehicle loading.
Miller teaches an RFID-based inventory management system wherein RFID scan results are used to determine inventory status and automatically initiate replenishment, restocking, or replacement actions (¶[0028], ¶[0033], ¶[0037]–¶[0041]);
repeatedly communicating with RFID tags during inventory management operations, including inventory storage, dispensing, order processing, replenishment, perpetual inventory tracking, expiration-date tracking, inventory updates, and inventory restocking (Miller ¶¶ 5–17). Miller further teaches scanning RFID tags during dispensing and restocking workflows and generating alerts for expired inventory.
However, Miller does not expressly disclose receiving RFID identifiers during vehicle loading.
However, Francis teaches an RFID-based warehouse object tracking system in which RFID-tagged objects are repeatedly interrogated while being transported throughout a warehouse. Francis expressly teaches RFID tags associated with objects and RFID tags associated with warehouse locations including storage locations, stocking locations, staging areas, pass-through locations, loading docks, dock/trailer locations, and transport vehicles. Francis further teaches a transport vehicle equipped with an RFID interrogator that continuously identifies RFID-tagged objects as they are moved between warehouse locations, determines object identities and locations, tracks movement history, and verifies correct object movement throughout warehouse operations (Francis, Abstract; ¶¶ 2–15).
More particularly, Francis teaches that RFID tags are read at loading docks;
RFID tags are read while transporting objects to and from warehouse locations; the processor tracks object movement history and verifies correct movement throughout warehouse operations (Francis ¶¶ 8–15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the RFID freshness management system of Lindsay, as further improved by Miller's repeated RFID inventory monitoring, to incorporate Francis's warehouse logistics tracking so that the RFID tag associated with the perishable product would be interrogated not only during storage and order fulfillment, but also during outbound warehouse movement and loading onto transport vehicles. Doing so would allow the system to continuously verify expiration status throughout the product lifecycle, prevent expired products from being loaded for shipment, improve inventory accuracy, reduce spoilage, and enhance food safety.
With respect to claims 3, and 13 LINDSAY teaches identifying expired products (¶[0042]). MILLER teaches requesting or initiating replacement or restocking based on RFID inventory status (¶[0033], ¶[0041]). Combining these teachings renders obvious requesting a replacement product when an expired product is identified.
With respect to claims 4 and 14 LINDSAY explicitly teaches generating alerts or notifications when expired products are detected (¶[0012], ¶[0050]).
Accordingly, claim 4 is unpatentable over LINDSAY in view of MILLER.
With respect to claims 5 and 15 LINDSAY teaches storing or associating expiration dates with RFID-tagged products (¶[0024], ¶[0042]).
With respect to claims 6 and 16 LINDSAY teaches determining freshness based on shelf-life information calculated from manufacturing or receipt dates (¶[0011], ¶[0026], ¶[0046]).
With respect to claims 7 and 17 LINDSAY teaches RFID tags storing identifiers associated with product data (¶[0031]). MILLER teaches using structured identifiers such as EPCs and globally unique identifiers for inventory management (¶[0029], ¶[0034]). It would have been obvious to include such identifiers in the RFID system of LINDSAY.
With respect to claims 8 and 18 MILLER teaches associating inventory attributes such as SKU, receipt time, and storage location with RFID-tagged items (¶[0026], ¶[0035]). Applying these teachings to the RFID identifiers of LINDSAY would have been an obvious design choice.
Accordingly, claim 8 is unpatentable over LINDSAY in view of MILLER.
With respect to claims 9 and 19 LINDSAY teaches accessing database records associated with RFID identifiers to retrieve expiration information (¶[0038], ¶[0041]).
With respect to claim 10 MILLER teaches the use of passive and active RFID tags depending on system requirements (¶[0023], ¶[0024]). It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to the RFID tags of LINDSAY.
With respect to claim 21, that recites: wherein the electronic communication device is included in a robot configured to traverse a storage location where the at least one perishable product is located prior to order fulfillment.
Lindsay discloses an electronic communications device including an RFID scanner and processor configured to receive RFID identifiers associated with perishable products, determine expiration information, monitor stored food products, and generate actions responsive to freshness or expiration status. Lindsay further teaches RFID scanners positioned at storage locations for monitoring food products maintained in refrigerated storage, freezers, pantries, and other food storage locations (¶¶ 9–24).
Lindsay, however, does not expressly disclose that the electronic communication device is incorporated into a robot configured to traverse the storage location.
Miller teaches RFID-enabled inventory management in which RFID readers communicate with RFID-tagged inventory during dispensing, storage, replenishment, and inventory management operations to facilitate order fulfillment and inventory selection (Miller ¶¶ 9–17).
However, Miller likewise does not expressly disclose a mobile robot traversing the storage location.
Francis discloses an RFID object tracking and warehouse management system wherein an RFID interrogator and processor are mounted on a transport vehicle, including a pallet truck, fork truck, reach truck, or lift truck, that traverses warehouse storage locations while automatically reading RFID tags attached to objects and warehouse locations. Francis further teaches that the transport vehicle moves throughout storage locations, stocking locations, staging areas, pass-through locations, warehouse aisles, and loading docks while automatically identifying tagged objects and directing warehouse movement (Francis, Abstract; ¶¶ 2–15).
The Examiner considers the RFID-equipped transport vehicle of Francis to constitute a robotic or automated mobile platform carrying the electronic communication device while traversing storage locations prior to order fulfillment. Accordingly, Francis teaches the limitation of incorporating the electronic communication device into a mobile robotic vehicle configured to traverse warehouse storage locations before fulfillment operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the mobile RFID interrogation system of Francis into the RFID freshness management system of Lindsay, as improved by the inventory management techniques of Miller, because doing so would enable automatic verification of perishable inventory throughout warehouse storage without requiring manual scanning, thereby improving inventory accuracy, reducing labor requirements, identifying expired products before order fulfillment, and preventing fulfillment of expired inventory. Such modification merely substitutes one known RFID interrogation platform (mobile vehicle-mounted reader) for another (stationary or handheld reader) to obtain the predictable benefit of automated warehouse inventory monitoring consistent with KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
With respect to Claim 22 that recites: wherein removing the at least one perishable product from a current location includes at least one selected from the group consisting of removing the at least one perishable product from a shelf, and removing the at least one perishable product picked for an order.
Lindsay teaches determining that a perishable product has expired based upon RFID-derived freshness information and automatically recommending or causing an action to be taken responsive to the freshness state, including indicating that the product should be used or discarded when expired (Lindsay ¶¶ 16–24). Removal of the expired product from storage is an inherent consequence of the disclosed discard operation.
However, Lindsay does not expressly disclose that removal includes removing the product from a shelf or removing a product already picked for an order.
Miller teaches RFID-guided inventory picking from medication storage bins and shelving locations during fulfillment operations. Miller teaches directing a user to a selected storage location, selecting inventory from the storage location for processing an order, verifying the selected inventory, and generating error notifications when incorrect or expired inventory is selected during order processing (Miller ¶¶ 9–16; Figs. 3–4).
Accordingly, Miller teaches removing RFID-tagged inventory from a shelf during order fulfillment.
Francis teaches RFID-guided warehouse movement in which tagged objects are retrieved from storage locations, transported by an RFID-equipped transport vehicle, verified during movement, and delivered to designated warehouse destinations including staging areas and loading docks (Francis, Abstract; ¶¶ 2–15). Francis further teaches identifying incorrect loads and directing operators to remove incorrectly selected objects before transport or shipment.
Thus, Francis further teaches removing inventory items that have been picked or transported when the items are determined to be incorrect. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Lindsay, Miller, and Francis render obvious removing an expired perishable product from a shelf or removing an expired product that has already been picked during order fulfillment.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindsay's RFID freshness management system using the inventory picking and verification techniques of Miller together with the warehouse movement verification techniques of Francis because warehouse inventory systems routinely verify inventory during picking and transportation to ensure that expired, incorrect, or otherwise unsuitable products are removed before shipment. Combining these known RFID inventory management techniques would have predictably improved inventory accuracy, reduced shipment of expired products, enhanced food safety, and prevented fulfillment errors while preserving the intended functionality of each reference. Such a modification merely applies known RFID verification techniques according to their established functions to obtain predictable results, consistent with the rationale set forth in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROKIB MASUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627