NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
REISSUE OF U.S. PATENT NO. 10,314,288
TABLE OF CONTENTS
1. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS 3
2. ADDITIONAL TERMS 3
3. REISSUE PROCEDURAL REMINDERS 4
4. STATUS OF CLAIMS 5
5. PRIORITY AND AIA STATUS 6
6. PRIOR ART CITED 7
7. DECLARATION 8
8. RECAPTURE OF CANCELLED SUBJECT MATTER 9
8.1. Overlooked Aspects 9
8.2. Findings of Fact 10
8.3. Three Step Test For Recapture 11
8.3.1. Step 1 12
8.3.2. Step 2 12
8.3.3. Step 3 14
9. SPECIFICATION 15
10. BROADEST REASONABLE INTERPRETATION (BRI) 16
11. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 251 16
11.1. Defective Declaration 17
11.2. Improper Recapture 17
11.3. New Matter 18
12. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 112, First Paragraph 18
12.1. New Matter 19
12.2. No Algorithm To Satisfy The Written Description Requirement 20
13. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 102 22
13.1. Ground #1A: Anticipated by Carelli 23
14. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 103(a) 38
14.1. Ground #2A: Obvious Over Carelli, in view of Tolner 38
14.2. Ground #3A: Obvious Over Carelli, in view of Van Wye 40
14.3. Ground #4A: Obvious Over Carelli and Van Wye, in view of Carter 55
14.4. Ground #1B: Obvious Over Carelli, in view of Beccaria 57
14.5. Ground #2B: Obvious Over Carelli and Tolner, in view of Beccaria 59
14.6. Ground #3B: Obvious Over Carelli and Van Wye, in view of Beccaria 59
14.7. Ground #4B: Obvious Over Carelli, Van Wye, and Carter, in view of Beccaria 61
15. OBVIOUSNESS-TYPE DOUBLE PATENTING (ODP) 61
15.1. Over U.S. Patent No. RE49,696 63
15.2. Over U.S. Patent No. 9,723,813 64
16. CONCLUSION 69
ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
This non-final Office action addresses U.S. reissue application No. 18/813,006 (“Instant Application”). Based upon a review of the Instant Application, the actual filing date is 22 August 2024 (“Actual Filing Date”).
The Instant Application is a reissue application of U.S. Patent No. 10,314,288 (“Patent Under Reissue” or “’288 Patent”) titled “INTERNET CANINE COMMUNICATION DEVICE AND METHOD.”
An application for the Patent Under Reissue was filed on 21 June 2017 (“Base Application Filing Date”) and assigned by the Office non-provisional U.S. patent application number 15/629,679 (“Base Application” or “’679 Application”) and issued on 11 June 2019 with claims 1–19 (“Originally Patented Claims”).
ADDITIONAL TERMS
The following terms may appear in this Office action and, unless expressly noted otherwise, are defined as follows:
“POSITA” refers to a Person of Ordinary Skill in the Art.
“BRI” refers to Broadest Reasonable Interpretation.
“MPEP” refers to Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, Ninth Edition, Rev. 01.2024.
“IFW” refers to Image File Wrapper.
“35 USC” refers to Title 35 of the United States Code.
“37 CFR” refers to Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations.
“AIA ” refers to America Invents Act.
“Original Application” means the prosecution history of the Base Application, including the applications in the patent family’s entire prosecution history. See MPEP § 1412.02.
“Original Disclosure” means the substantive sections of the Base Application (i.e., the abstract, drawings, specification, and original claims) that were present in the Base Application on the Base Application Filing Date.
“Applicant” (uppercase) refers to the Applicant of the Instant Application.
“applicant” (lowercase) refers to an applicant(s) generally.
“patent owner” (lowercase) refers to a patent owner(s) generally and not the Applicant.
“Examiner” (uppercase) refers to the Examiner of the Instant Application.
“examiner” (lowercase) refers to an examiner(s) generally, e.g. the examiner of the Base Application, or any examiner(s) other than the Examiner.
REISSUE PROCEDURAL REMINDERS
Disclosure of other proceedings. Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR § 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which the Patent Under Reissue is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Disclosure of material information. Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR § 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These disclosure obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Manner of making amendments. Applicant is reminded that changes to the Instant Application must comply with 37 CFR § 1.173, such that all amendments are made in respect to the Patent Under Reissue as opposed to any prior changes entered in the Instant Application. All added material must be underlined, and all omitted material must be enclosed in brackets, in accordance with Rule 173. Applicant may submit an appendix to any response in which claims are marked up to show changes with respect to a previous set of claims, however, such claims should be clearly denoted as “not for entry.”
STATUS OF CLAIMS
Claims 20–40 are currently pending (“Pending Claims”) and currently examined (“Examined Claims”).
Regarding the Examined Claims and as a result of this Office action:
Claims 20–40 are rejected under 35 USC § 251.
Claims 20–40 are rejected under 35 USC § 112, First Paragraph.
Claims 20–29 are rejected under 35 USC § 102.
Claims 20–40 are rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claims 20–40 are rejected under Obviousness-type Double Patenting.
PRIORITY AND AIA STATUS
Domestic Priority
Based upon a review of the Instant Application, the Examiner finds that the Instant Application is a continuation reissue application of U.S. Reissue Application No. 18/373,941, filed on 27 September 2023 (“’941 Reissue Application”), which is a divisional reissue application of U.S. Reissue Application No. 17/585,532, filed on 26 January 2022 (“’532 Reissue Application”), now U.S. Patent No. RE49,696, which is a divisional reissue application of U.S. Reissue Application No. 16/988,318, filed on 07 August 2020 (“’318 Reissue Application”), now U.S. Patent No. RE49,265.
Moreover, based upon a review of the Instant Application and the Patent Under Reissue, the Examiner finds that in the Instant Application there is a claim for benefit of domestic priority under 35 USC §§ 120 or 119(e) to the following applications:
U.S. Application No. 14/988,066 (“’066 Application”), filed on 05 January 2016, now U.S. Patent No. 9,723,814 (“’814 Patent”), which is a continuation of
U.S. Application No. 13/765,546 (“’546 Application”), filed on 12 February 2013, now U.S. Patent No. 9,723,813 (“’813 Patent”), which is a continuation of
U.S. Application No. 13/752,217 (“’217 Application”), filed on 28 January 2013, now U.S. Patent No. 9,226,477 (“’477 Patent”); and
Provisional Application No. 61/689,270, filed on 02 June 2012.
To the extent the disclosure of the Provisional Application supports the Pending Claims under 35 USC § 112, the supported claims receive benefit of an effective date of 02 June 2012 (“Provisional Application Filing Date”).
AIA Status
Because the Earliest Effective Filing Date is before 16 March 2013, the AIA provisions do not apply. Instead, the pre-AIA “First to Invent” provisions will govern this proceeding. See 35 USC § 100 (note). In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to pre-AIA 35 USC §§ 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
PRIOR ART CITED
The following prior art patents and printed publications are cited in a prior art rejection:
U.S. Patent 8,588,967 B2 (“Carelli”);
International Publication Number WO 2009/087451 A1 (“Beccaria”);
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0095896 A1 (“Van Wye”);
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0208910 A1 (“Tolner”); and
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0103542 A1 (“Carter”).
DECLARATION
The reissue declaration filed with this application (“August 2024 Declaration”) is defective because it fails to properly identify at least one error which is relied upon to support the reissue application. See 37 CFR § 1.175 and MPEP § 1414.
The August 2024 Declaration states “the original patent to be wholly or partly inoperative or invalid […] by reason of the patentee claiming more or less than he had a right to claim in the patent.” Id. at page [1 of 2].
Moreover, the August 2024 Declaration states
The patentee claimed in the original patent less than he had the right to claim, and a preliminary amendment including claims of a broader scope than issued claim 1 is submitted. For example, issued claim 1 is a method that requires transmission of live audio or video of the pet in response to a received indication, which unduly limits the scope of claim 1. New claims 20-39 correct this error by reciting systems that transmit data in response to input from the pet.
Id. at page [1 of 2] (emphasis in original). Therefore, the error appears to be that Applicant claimed less than he had a right to claim by including “transmission of live audio or video of the pet in response to a received indication” in the Originally Patented Claims. However, the corrective action of “reciting systems that transmit data in response to input from the pet” was already effected in the parent ’532 Reissue Application (see claims of U.S. RE49,696). Therefore, it appears that the same error was already corrected in the same way in the parent reissue application. However, in a continuation reissue application, the Office will “require a new oath/declaration that identifies a new error or a statement explaining compliance with 37 CFR 1.175(f)(2) if appropriate.” MPEP § 1414 II.(D) (emphasis added). Applicant has not identified a new error or a statement explaining compliance with 37 CFR 1.175(f)(2). Applicant is respectfully reminded, “If the same error corrected in the parent is also being corrected in the continuation reissue application, but the error is being corrected in a different way, a statement is needed to explain compliance with 37 CFR 1.175(f)(2) for a reissue application filed on or after September 16, 2012.” MPEP § 1414 II.(D).
A reissue declaration, properly identifying at least one error which is relied upon to support the reissue application, is required in response to this Office action.
RECAPTURE OF CANCELLED SUBJECT MATTER
“A reissue will not be granted to ‘recapture’ claimed subject matter which was surrendered in an application to obtain the original patent.” MPEP § 1412.02.
Based on the following findings of fact and 3-step test set forth in MPEP § 1412.02 II., the Examiner concludes that the Examined Claims attempt to “recapture” claimed subject matter which was surrendered in the Original Application.
Overlooked Aspects
At the outset, the Examiner must consider whether the new reissue claims are directed to “overlooked aspects.” Claims to “overlooked aspects” refer to “[c]laims to separate inventions/embodiments/species that were disclosed but never covered by the claims in the original application prosecution.” See MPEP § 1412.01 III.
The Examiner finds that claims 20–40 are directed to the same invention as the claims of the ’532 Reissue Application. See U.S. Patent No. RE49,696 at claims 20–46. See also ODP Rejection below.
The Examiner also finds that claims 20–40 are directed to the same invention as at least claim 7 of the ’813 Patent. See ODP Rejection below. See also IFW of ’532 Reissue Application, Applicant’s response filed 24 July 2023 at page 15, where Applicant stated, “With this reissue application, Applicant is addressing the embodiments of claims 6 and 7 of the [813] patent. In particular, independent claim 31 is directed to the embodiment of claim 6 [of the 813 patent], as they both recite an outgoing call time period. Independent claims 20 (now canceled), 22, 26, 39, and 43 are directed to the embodiment of claim 7 [of the 813 patent].” See also page 14.
Therefore, the Examiner concludes that claims 20–40 are not claims to “overlooked aspects” at least because the same invention (a non-distinct invention) has already been claimed in, e.g., the ’813 Patent.
In view of the above, the Examiner must conduct a recapture analysis on new claims 20–40.
Findings of Fact
Below are pertinent Examiner Findings of Fact (“EFF”) in relation to the prosecution history of the Original Application including the ’477 Patent (issued from the ’217 Application), the ’813 Patent (issued from the ’546 Application), the ’814 Patent (issued from the ’066 Application), and the ’288 Patent (issued from the Base Application or ’679 Application):
EFF-1: Applicant argued “New independent claim 75 likewise includes multiple aspects that are not taught or suggested by the cited references, taken alone or in combination. Claim 75 includes the training limitation of ‘stopping play of the audio signal’ upon ‘receiving an indication that the pet has selected a control of the housing.’ The cited references do not disclose or teach this limitation.” See IFW of the ’217 Application, Remarks filed 13 August 2015, p. 15.
EFF-2: Applicant argued,
Claim 75 further includes facilitating outgoing calls from the pet to a communication device of the user by
initiating a sound to indicate a preselected outgoing call time period during which the pet may initiate a call to the communication device; during the preselected outgoing call time period, receiving an indication that the pet has selected the control of the housing; and in response to the received indication, initiating an outgoing call to the communication device, the outgoing call including transmitting live audio or video of the pet.
The cited references, including Kates, Tolner and Sundararajan, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or teach these claim limitations.
See IFW of the ’217 Application, Remarks filed 13 August 2015, p. 16.
EFF-3: Prior to allowance of the ’679 Application, Applicant authorized an examiner’s amendment to add the limitation “facilitating outgoing calls from the pet to the communication device, by: initiating a sound to indicate a preselected outgoing call time period during which the pet may initiate a call to the communication device; during the preselected outgoing call time period, receiving an indication that the pet has selected a control of the treat dispenser via the pet detection mechanism; and in response to the received indication, initiating an outgoing call to the communication device, the outgoing call including transmitting live audio or video of the pet” to independent claim 13. See IFW of the Base Application, Notice of Allowance mailed 30 January 2019.
Three Step Test For Recapture
A three-step process is used to apply the recapture rule:
(1) first, determine whether, and in what respect, the reissue claims are broader in scope than the original patent claims;
(2) second, determine whether the broader aspects of the reissue claims relate to subject matter surrendered in the original prosecution; and
(3) third, determine whether the reissue claims were materially narrowed in other respects, so that the claims may not have been enlarged, and hence avoid the recapture rule.
See MPEP § 1412.02 II.
Step 1
Independent claims 20, 22, 26, 31, 35, and 38 of the Instant Application are broader than independent method claim 1 and independent method claim 13 of the Originally Patented Claims.
In particular, pending claims 20, 22, 26, 31, 35, and 38 include at least the following Broadening Aspects (“BA”) of patented claims 1 and 13:
BA-1: removal of the limitation “facilitating outgoing calls from the pet to the communication device, by: initiating a sound to indicate a preselected outgoing call time period during which the pet may initiate a call to the communication device; during the preselected outgoing call time period, receiving an indication that the pet has selected a control of the treat dispenser via the pet detection mechanism; and in response to the received indication, initiating an outgoing call to the communication device, the outgoing call including transmitting live audio or video of the pet” (’288 Patent, claim 13; substantially similar limitation recited by claim 1); and
BA-2: removal of the limitation “training the pet to answer a call from a user by: […] stopping the play of the audio signal” (’288 Patent, claim 13; substantially similar limitation recited by claim 1).
Step 2
BA-1 relates to surrendered subject matter
In view of the above findings of fact, which is based on a review of the prosecution of the Original Application, the limitation “facilitating outgoing calls from the pet to the communication device, by: initiating a sound to indicate a preselected outgoing call time period during which the pet may initiate a call to the communication device; during the preselected outgoing call time period, receiving an indication that the pet has selected a control of the treat dispenser; and in response to the received indication, initiating an outgoing call to the communication device, the outgoing call including transmitting live audio or video of the pet,” as recited by claim 13 of the ’288 Patent (and similarly by claim 1), is a limitation “presented, argued, or stated to make the claims patentable over the art (in the original application) and ‘generates’ the surrender of claimed subject matter,” and therefore is, by definition, a Surrender Generating Limitation (“SGL”). See MPEP § 1412.02 I.
The above noted limitation of claim 13 (and similar limitation of claim 1) will be referred to as “SGL-1.”
Therefore, based on a review of the prosecution of the Original Application and the Pending Claims, the Examiner finds BA-1 is a broadening aspect of pending reissue claims 20, 22, 26, 31, 35, and 38 that does relate to subject matter previously surrendered during prosecution of the Original Application. See MPEP § 1412.02 II.B.1.
BA-2 relates to surrendered subject matter
In view of the above findings of fact, which is based on a review of the prosecution of the Original Application, the limitation “training the pet to answer a call from a user by: […] stopping the play of the audio signal,” as recited by claim 13 of the ’288 Patent (and similarly by claim 1), is a limitation “presented, argued, or stated to make the claims patentable over the art (in the original application) and ‘generates’ the surrender of claimed subject matter,” and therefore is, by definition, a Surrender Generating Limitation (“SGL”). See MPEP § 1412.02 I.
The above noted limitation of claim 13 (and similar limitation of claim 1) will be referred to as “SGL-2.”
Therefore, based on a review of the prosecution of the Original Application and the Pending Claims, the Examiner finds BA-2 is a broadening aspect of reissue claims 20, 22, 26, 31, 35, and 38 that does relate to subject matter previously surrendered during prosecution of the Original Application. See MPEP § 1412.02 II.B.1.
Step 3
For the reasons that follow, the Examiner concludes that pending claims 20, 22, 26, 31, 35, and 38 (and dependent claims thereof) are not materially narrowed in other respects, and hence do not avoid the recapture rule. The following analysis will discuss each SGL, and whether each independent claim (and therefore dependents thereof) was materially narrowed in other respects.
Applicant is respectfully reminded, “The material narrowing must relate to what was amended or argued by applicant in the original application, to define the claim over the art.” MPEP § 1412.02 II.C.
SGL-1 entirely removed (impermissible recapture)
As noted above, SGL-1 refers to the limitation “facilitating outgoing calls from the pet to the communication device, by: initiating a sound to indicate a preselected outgoing call time period during which the pet may initiate a call to the communication device; during the preselected outgoing call time period, receiving an indication that the pet has selected a control of the treat dispenser via the pet detection mechanism; and in response to the received indication, initiating an outgoing call to the communication device, the outgoing call including transmitting live audio or video of the pet.”
The Examiner finds SGL-1 is entirely removed in pending claims 20, 22, 26, 31, 35, and 38.
The Examiner also finds that SGL-1 is not replaced by a new SGL-related limitation.
Therefore, since SGL-1 is entirely removed and has not been replaced with a new SGL-related limitation, the removal of SGL-1 is impermissible recapture. See MPEP § 1412.02 II.C.
SGL-2 entirely removed (impermissible recapture)
As noted above, SGL-2 refers to the limitation “training the pet to answer a call from a user by: […] stopping the play of the audio signal.”
The Examiner finds SGL-2 is entirely removed in pending claims 20, 22, 26, 31, 35, and 38.
The Examiner also finds that SGL-2 is not replaced by a new SGL-related limitation.
Therefore, since SGL-2 is entirely removed and has not been replaced with a new SGL-related limitation, the removal of SGL-2 is impermissible recapture. See MPEP § 1412.02 II.C.
SPECIFICATION
The specification is objected to because it should be amended to identify each of the reissue applications of the ’288 Patent, in accordance with Rule 1.177. Correction is required. In particular, the amendment to the specification filed 22 August 2024 refers to “____ (the present application),” which should be changed to the serial number of the Instant Application, i.e., 18/813,006.
BROADEST REASONABLE INTERPRETATION (BRI)
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP § 2111, MPEP § 2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111.01 I. Moreover, it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, e.g., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP § 2111.01 II. Therefore, unless otherwise noted below, the Examiner will interpret the limitations of the Pending Claims using the broadest reasonable interpretation.
After careful review of the original specification, the Examiner finds he cannot locate any lexicographic definitions (either express lexicographic definitions or implied lexicographic definitions) with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision. Because the Examiner cannot locate any lexicographic definitions with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision, the Examiner concludes that Applicant is not his own lexicographer. See MPEP § 2111.01 IV.
CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 251
(a) IN GENERAL.—Whenever any patent is, through error, deemed wholly or partly inoperative or invalid, by reason of a defective specification or drawing, or by reason of the patentee claiming more or less than he had a right to claim in the patent, the Director shall, on the surrender of such patent and the payment of the fee required by law, reissue the patent for the invention disclosed in the original patent, and in accordance with a new and amended application, for the unexpired part of the term of the original patent. No new matter shall be introduced into the application for reissue.
Defective Declaration
Claims 20–40 are rejected as being based upon a defective reissue declaration under 35 USC § 251 as set forth above. See 37 CFR § 1.175.
The nature of the defects in the declaration is set forth in the discussion above in this Office action.
Improper Recapture
Claims 20–40 are rejected under 35 USC § 251 as being an impermissible recapture of broadened claimed subject matter surrendered in the application for the patent upon which the present reissue is based. In re McDonald, 43 F.4th 1340, 1345, 2022 USPQ2d 745 (Fed. Cir. 2022); Greenliant Systems, Inc. et al v. Xicor LLC, 692 F.3d 1261, 103 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2012); In re Youman, 679 F.3d 1335, 102 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2012); In re Shahram Mostafazadeh and Joseph O. Smith, 643 F.3d 1353, 98 USPQ2d 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2011); North American Container, Inc. v. Plastipak Packaging, Inc., 415 F.3d 1335, 75 USPQ2d 1545 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Pannu v. Storz Instruments Inc., 258 F.3d 1366, 59 USPQ2d 1597 (Fed. Cir. 2001); Hester Industries, Inc. v. Stein, Inc., 142 F.3d 1472, 46 USPQ2d 1641 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Clement, 131 F.3d 1464, 45 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Ball Corp. v. United States, 729 F.2d 1429, 1436, 221 USPQ 289, 295 (Fed. Cir. 1984). The reissue application contains claim(s) that are broader than the issued patent claims. The record of the application for the patent family shows that the broadening aspect (in the reissue) relates to claimed subject matter that applicant previously surrendered during the prosecution of the application. Accordingly, the narrow scope of the claims in the patent was not an error within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 251, and the broader scope of claim subject matter surrendered in the application for the patent cannot be recaptured by the filing of the present reissue application.
The nature of the improper recapture in claims 20–40 is set forth in the discussion above in this Office action.
New Matter
Claims 20–40 are rejected under 35 USC § 251 as being based upon new matter added to the patent for which reissue is sought. The added material which is not supported by the prior patent is described below in § CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 112, First Paragraph.
CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 112, First Paragraph
Claims 20–40 are rejected under 35 USC § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
New Matter
Ground #1
Claim 20 does not comply with the written description requirement because it contains new matter. Particularly, for the reasons set forth below, the following limitation introduces new matter, “the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet” (emphasis added).
This rejection is alternative to the prior art rejections in Grounds #1A, 2A, 3A, and 4A, and is consistent with the alternative interpretation discussed in the prior art rejections in Grounds #1B, 2B, 3B, and 4B. In particular, to the extent that the above limitation is interpreted to mean that a camera is activated and then transmitting of video of the pet begins in response to a sound from a pet, the following rejection applies.
First, the ’288 Patent discloses “Pushing the activation cover 110 engages the activation button 162, which in turn turns off the bell 108, and at the same time activates the camera 102 and microphone 106, thus allowing the dog to ‘answer’ the phone (or ‘accept’ the call)” (’288 Patent at C4:L60–64) and “then determine to turn off the bell 108 (or other audio device of the ICCS) in response to an input received from the dog” and “[a]n input may include […] detecting a sound (e.g., a bark detected via a microphone of the ICCS)” (’288 Patent at C5:L2–18). Therefore, the Examiner finds that the ’288 Patent does not adequately support the claimed “the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet” (emphasis added), as interpreted above.
Dependent claim 21 fails to cure this deficiency of independent claim 20 (set forth directly above) and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 22–40 contain language similar to claims 20–21 as discussed in the preceding paragraphs, and for reasons similar to those discussed above, claims 22–40 are also rejected under § 112, First Paragraph as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Moreover, dependent claims 33, 36, and 39 recite “wherein the input device is a microphone and wherein the sound is made by the pet and detected by the microphone.” For the same reasons as above, this limitation is new matter. Further, dependent claims 34 and 37recites “wherein the input device is a motion sensor and wherein the action is motion of the pet that is detected by the motion sensor.” For the same reasons as above, this limitation is new matter.
No Algorithm To Satisfy The Written Description Requirement
Ground #2
Claim 20 does not comply with the written description requirement because it recites a computer-implemented feature without an algorithm disclosed for achieving the particular computer-implemented feature.1
Particularly, claim 20 recites the following computer-implemented feature:
“the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet.”
Applicant is respectfully reminded, for computer-implemented claims, “examiners should determine whether the specification discloses the computer and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter.” MPEP § 2161.01(I).
Applicant’s specification does not describe an algorithm that performs “the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet,” in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. For example, Applicant’s specification discloses,
To use the ICCS 100, as shown in FIG. 8, the user activates client software (e.g., an “app”) on their mobile device 300, and pushes the “call dog” button 306 visible on the screen 302. This causes a treat delivery command to be delivered to the treat delivery subsystem or module of the ICCS 100. In particular, pressing the call dog button 306 remotely activates the bell 108, light 146, and carousel motor 148. The carousel tray 130 rotates, sending a treat 134 onto the food tray 114. The dog 200 hears the bell 108, approaches the ICCS 100, and pushes the activation cover 110 to obtain his treat. Pushing the activation cover 110 engages the activation button 162, which in turn turns off the bell 108, and at the same time activates the camera 102 and microphone 106, thus allowing the dog to “answer” the phone (or “accept” the call). In another embodiment, the camera 102 and microphone 106 may be activated directly from the “call dog” button, rather than from the dog pushing the activation button 162. Image data (e.g., video or still images) obtained by the camera 102 is presented in the video window 304 of the mobile device screen 302.
Note that other embodiments may have different mechanisms or employ different techniques for delivering treats and determining when to turn off the bell 108. Some embodiments may, for example, eject a treat onto the floor or into a tray of the ICCS 100, and then determine to turn off the bell 108 (or other audio device of the ICCS) in response to an input received from the dog. An input may include pushing an activation cover 110 (as above), but may also or instead include a response lever or panel configured to make it easy for the dog to push with nose or paw, detecting motion (e.g., via a motion detector of the ICCS), detecting a sound (e.g., a bark detected via a microphone of the ICCS), detecting heat (e.g., via an infrared sensor), or the like. Some embodiments thus may not include one or more of the components related to determining when the treat has been taken, such as the activation cover 110, and the like.
Patent Under Reissue at C4:L50–C5:L18 (emphasis added). However, such disclosure is not an algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that performs the claimed feature in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter.
Applicant is also reminded, “[i]f the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 USC 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 USC 112, first paragraph, for lack of written description must be made.” MPEP § 2161.01(I).
Therefore, because an algorithm for the computer-implemented feature “the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet” is not disclosed in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter, and in accordance with MPEP § 2161.01, claim 20 is rejected for lack of written description.
Dependent claim 21 fails to cure this deficiency of independent claim 20 (set forth directly above) and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 22–40 contain language similar to claims 20–21 as discussed in the preceding paragraphs, and for reasons similar to those discussed above, claims 22–40 are also rejected under § 112, First Paragraph as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Note: Claim language in this section is shown in bold and/or italics. All underlining is added by Examiner to emphasize disclosure in the prior art, unless noted otherwise.
Ground #1A: Anticipated by Carelli
Claims 20–29 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 102(e) as being anticipated by Carelli.
As per claim 20, Carelli discloses:
20. (New) A system (e.g., see Fig. 3, 10; Fig. 3 is reproduced below and annotated by Examiner) for interacting with a pet (e.g., see Fig. 3, 13), comprising:
Figure 3 of Carelli (annotated by Examiner)
a base station (e.g., see Fig. 3) having:
a treat bin configured to hold a pet treat (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “treat rack 34” that holds pet treats);
a treat dispenser configured to deliver the pet treat from the treat bin (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “slidable delivery plate 36” that delivers the pet treat from the “treat rack 34”);
one or more output devices including an audio device (see C10:L47–C11:L5, e.g., “The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. […] audio portion 93 […] has […] a speaker 95 […] or external speaker and/or video display on the video camera portion 12”);
an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera (see Fig. 1, 12; C3:L49–64; C10:L51, “microphone” and “video camera”; C11:L30–54); and
a microprocessor in communication with the treat dispenser, the input device, and the one or more output devices (see Fig. 3, computer 17; C10:L47–C11:L29);
a computer application operable on a mobile device or computer, the computer application being configured to receive, at the mobile device or computer, an input from a user indicative of a desire to deliver the pet treat to the pet, and to cause the mobile device or computer to transmit a treat delivery command (see Fig. 3, 24 and Fig. 19, 27; C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” and C16:L39–48, e.g., “clicking this treat button 32 enables the Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88, resulting in a pet treat falling from the chute 73 after a short time”);
the microprocessor being configured to, after receipt of a signal indicative of the treat delivery command transmitted by the mobile device or computer, cause the treat dispenser to deliver the pet treat (see C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” C5:L29–47, “Internet-controlled treat dispensing unit 11 for dispensing a pet treat 35 comprises: […] (f) a control circuit electronics portion 42 comprising an Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88 in communication with the actuator 50 and with a local computer 17, the local computer 17 also being in communication with at least one remote Internet-accessible electronic device 20.”);
the output device further being arranged to produce a noise associated with the delivery of the pet treat by the treat dispenser (see C10:L47–64, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, or for recording a message to be played as the pet treat 35 is dispensed, and/or a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to […] listen to the pre-recorded message […] a recording device 96 in the audio portion 93 […] plays a pre-recorded message at the pet site, such as ‘Good Dog, Good Dog!’, most preferably at the same time the pet treat is released so that the dog associates the treat with the owner’s voice.”);
the microprocessor further being configured to cause the output device to play at least one of audio data or video data received at the base station from the mobile device or computer (see C10:L56–58, “a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to hear the pet owner 25, who speaks into a remote electronic device 20;” C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” Fig. 19, 33; and C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).”); and
the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 21, Carelli discloses:
21. (New) The system of claim 20, wherein the image data includes video data transmitted to the mobile device (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” and C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12”).
As per claim 22, Carelli discloses:
22. (New) A system (e.g., see Fig. 3, 10; Fig. 3 is reproduced above and annotated by Examiner) for interacting with a pet (e.g., see Fig. 3, 13), comprising:
a base station (e.g., see Fig. 3) having:
a treat bin configured to hold a pet treat (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “treat rack 34” that holds pet treats);
a treat dispenser configured to deliver the pet treat from the treat bin (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “slidable delivery plate 36” that delivers the pet treat from the “treat rack 34”);
one or more output devices including an audio device (see C10:L47–C11:L5, e.g., “The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. […] audio portion 93 […] has […] a speaker 95 […] or external speaker and/or video display on the video camera portion 12”);
an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera (see Fig. 1, 12; C3:L49–64; C10:L51, “microphone” and “video camera”; C11:L30–54); and
a microprocessor in communication with the treat dispenser, the input device, and the one or more output devices (see Fig. 3, computer 17; C10:L47–C11:L29);
a computer application operable on a mobile device or computer, the computer application having instructions which, when executed by the mobile device or computer, are configured to receive at the mobile device or computer an input from a user indicative of a desire to deliver the pet treat to the pet, and to cause the mobile device or computer to transmit a treat delivery command to the base station (see Fig. 3, 24 and Fig. 19, 27; C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” and C16:L39–48, e.g., “clicking this treat button 32 enables the Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88, resulting in a pet treat falling from the chute 73 after a short time”);
the microprocessor further being configured to:
after receipt of the treat delivery command at the base station, cause the treat dispenser to deliver the pet treat (see C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” C5:L29–47, “Internet-controlled treat dispensing unit 11 for dispensing a pet treat 35 comprises: […] (f) a control circuit electronics portion 42 comprising an Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88 in communication with the actuator 50 and with a local computer 17, the local computer 17 also being in communication with at least one remote Internet-accessible electronic device 20.”), and cause the output device to produce a noise associated with the delivery of the pet treat (see C10:L47–64, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, or for recording a message to be played as the pet treat 35 is dispensed, and/or a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to […] listen to the pre-recorded message […] a recording device 96 in the audio portion 93 […] plays a pre-recorded message at the pet site, such as ‘Good Dog, Good Dog!’, most preferably at the same time the pet treat is released so that the dog associates the treat with the owner’s voice.”);
cause the output device to play at least one of audio data or video data received at the base station from the mobile device or computer (see C10:L56–58, “a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to hear the pet owner 25, who speaks into a remote electronic device 20;” C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” Fig. 19, 33; and C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).”); and
automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 23, Carelli discloses:
23. (New) The system of claim 22, wherein the computer application executes on a smart phone operated by the user (see Fig. 3, 24 and Fig. 19, 27; C14:L2–33).
As per claim 24, Carelli discloses:
24. (New) The system of claim 22, wherein the one or more output devices include a video display (see C10:L47–C11:L5, e.g., “The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. […] audio portion 93 […] has […] a speaker 95 […] or external speaker and/or video display on the video camera portion 12”).
As per claim 25, Carelli discloses:
25. (New) The system of claim 22, wherein the transmission is to the mobile device or computer for substantially live play of the transmission on the mobile device or computer (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 26, Carelli discloses:
26. (New) A system (e.g., see Fig. 3, 10; Fig. 3 is reproduced above and annotated by Examiner) for communicating with a pet (e.g., see Fig. 3, 13), comprising:
a base station (e.g., see Fig. 3) having:
a treat bin (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “treat rack 34” that holds pet treats);
a treat dispenser configured to deliver a pet treat from the treat bin (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “slidable delivery plate 36” that delivers the pet treat from the “treat rack 34”);
an audio device including at least one of a speaker or a bell (see C10:L47–C11:L5, e.g., “The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. […] audio portion 93 […] has […] a speaker 95 […] or external speaker and/or video display on the video camera portion 12”); and
an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera (see Fig. 1, 12; C3:L49–64; C10:L51, “microphone” and “video camera”; C11:L30–54);
a mobile application that includes instructions that, when executed by a central processing unit of a remote client device, cause the remote client device to transmit to the base station a treat delivery command in response to input from a user (see Fig. 3, 24 and Fig. 19, 27; C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” and C16:L39–48, e.g., “clicking this treat button 32 enables the Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88, resulting in a pet treat falling from the chute 73 after a short time”),
wherein the base station is configured to:
in response to the treat delivery command received from the mobile application, cause the treat dispenser to deliver to a pet the treat from the treat bin (see C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” C5:L29–47, “Internet-controlled treat dispensing unit 11 for dispensing a pet treat 35 comprises: […] (f) a control circuit electronics portion 42 comprising an Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88 in communication with the actuator 50 and with a local computer 17, the local computer 17 also being in communication with at least one remote Internet-accessible electronic device 20.”) and cause the audio device to play a sound that notifies the pet of availability of the treat (see C10:L47–64, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, or for recording a message to be played as the pet treat 35 is dispensed, and/or a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to […] listen to the pre-recorded message […] a recording device 96 in the audio portion 93 […] plays a pre-recorded message at the pet site, such as ‘Good Dog, Good Dog!’, most preferably at the same time the pet treat is released so that the dog associates the treat with the owner’s voice.”);
play at least one of live audio or image data received from the remote client device (see C10:L56–58, “a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to hear the pet owner 25, who speaks into a remote electronic device 20;” C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” Fig. 19, 33; and C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).”); and
transmit data associated with the pet, wherein the base station transmits the data associated with the pet in response to a signal from the input device indicative of a sound or action (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 27, Carelli discloses:
27. (New) The system of claim 26, wherein the base station transmits the data over a communication network (Fig. 3, 18; “Internet 18”).
As per claim 28, Carelli discloses:
28. (New) The system of claim 26, wherein the transmission of the audio or image data comprises live audio of the pet (C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 29, Carelli discloses:
29. (New) The system of claim 26, wherein the transmission of the audio or image data comprises video of the pet (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12”).
CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 USC § 103(a)
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Note: Claim language in this section is shown in bold and/or italics. All underlining is added by Examiner to emphasize disclosure in the prior art, unless noted otherwise.
Ground #2A: Obvious Over Carelli, in view of Tolner
Claim 30 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carelli, in view of Tolner.
As per claim 30, Carelli discloses:
30. (New) The system of claim 26, wherein the base station […] transmits audio or image data of the pet to the remote client device (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
Carelli does not expressly disclose:
wherein the base station, in response to an incoming call from the remote client device: notifies the pet of the incoming call.
Tolner is directed to a pet communication device and associated methods (see title). Tolner discloses “An exemplary call initiating device 23 is illustrated in FIGS. 4A and 4B. The unit 23 comprises in this embodiment a large, paw-shaped button 30 that can be depressed by the pet 11 to place an outgoing call. The unit 23 also includes a speaker 19 and lights 31 for providing additional attraction to the pet when the device 23 signals an incoming call […].” See ¶ [0022]. Thus, Tolner teaches wherein the base station, in response to an incoming call from the remote client device: notifies the pet of the incoming call.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the device of Carelli to include notifying the pet of an incoming call, as taught by Tolner, so that a pet can be available to the owner when attempting to communicate with the pet (e.g., for when pet is asleep and/or not near the base station).
Ground #3A: Obvious Over Carelli, in view of Van Wye
Claims 31–33, 35–36, and 38–40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carelli, in view of Van Wye.
As per claim 31, Carelli discloses:
31. (New) A system (e.g., see Fig. 3, 10; Fig. 3 is reproduced above and annotated by Examiner) for communicating with a pet (e.g., see Fig. 3, 13), comprising:
a base station (e.g., see Fig. 3) comprising:
a treat bin (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “treat rack 34” that holds pet treats);
a treat dispenser that delivers treats from the treat bin (see Fig. 3, 11; e.g., C5:L29–47, “treat dispensing unit 11” includes a “slidable delivery plate 36” that delivers the pet treat from the “treat rack 34”);
an audio device (see C10:L47–C11:L5, e.g., “The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. […] audio portion 93 […] has […] a speaker 95 […] or external speaker and/or video display on the video camera portion 12”);
an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera (see Fig. 1, 12; C3:L49–64; C10:L51, “microphone” and “video camera”; C11:L30–54); and
a microprocessor (see Fig. 3, computer 17; C10:L47–C11:L29) that is configured to:
receive a treat delivery command from a remote client device; and in response to the received treat delivery command, cause: the treat dispenser to deliver at least one treat from the treat bin (see C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” C5:L29–47, “Internet-controlled treat dispensing unit 11 for dispensing a pet treat 35 comprises: […] (f) a control circuit electronics portion 42 comprising an Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88 in communication with the actuator 50 and with a local computer 17, the local computer 17 also being in communication with at least one remote Internet-accessible electronic device 20.”); and
the audio device to play an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (see C10:L47–64, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, or for recording a message to be played as the pet treat 35 is dispensed, and/or a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to […] listen to the pre-recorded message […] a recording device 96 in the audio portion 93 […] plays a pre-recorded message at the pet site, such as ‘Good Dog, Good Dog!’, most preferably at the same time the pet treat is released so that the dog associates the treat with the owner’s voice.”); and
wherein the system:
in response to user input to an application that includes instructions executing on a central processing unit of the remote client device, causes the treat delivery command to be communicated to the microprocessor (see Fig. 3, 24 and Fig. 19, 27; C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” and C16:L39–48, e.g., “clicking this treat button 32 enables the Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88, resulting in a pet treat falling from the chute 73 after a short time”);
plays at least one of audio or image data received from the remote client device (see C10:L56–58, “a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to hear the pet owner 25, who speaks into a remote electronic device 20;” C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” Fig. 19, 33; and C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).”); and
transmits data associated with the pet, wherein the system transmits the data associated with the pet in response a sound or action that is detected via the input device (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
Although Carelli teaches the audio device to play an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (supra), Carelli does not expressly disclose in response to the received treat delivery command, cause: […] the audio device to play an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat.
Van Wye is directed to a remotely-controlled reward dispenser for animal training. See title. Van Wye’s dispenser includes a treat bin and an audio device. See, e.g., ¶ [0028] (“hopper 40” and “small speaker 38”). Van Wye teaches in response to the received treat delivery command, cause: the treat dispenser to deliver at least one treat from the treat bin; and the audio device to play an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (See, e.g., ¶ [0026], “Pressing the treat button 16 causes a treat to be dispensed from the receiver unit; simultaneously, this also causes a pleasant tone to sound from the receiver unit.” See also ¶¶ [0027], [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the device of Carelli to play an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat in response to the received treat delivery command, as taught by Van Wye, thereby “avoiding the potential problem of a dog’s not realizing that a treat has been dispensed” (Van Wye, ¶ [0027]).
As per claim 32, Carelli/Van Wye teaches:
32. (New) The system of claim 31, wherein the system transmits the data associated [with] the pet by transmitting video data of the pet (see Carelli, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12”).
As per claim 33, Carelli/Van Wye teaches:
33. (New) The system of claim 31, wherein input device is a microphone and wherein the sound is made by the pet and detected by the microphone (see Carelli, e.g., C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 35, Carelli discloses:
35. (New) A system (e.g., see Fig. 3, 10; Fig. 3 is reproduced above and annotated by Examiner) for communicating with a pet (e.g., see Fig. 3, 13), comprising:
a base station (e.g., see Fig. 3) including a speaker (see C10:L47–C11:L5, e.g., “The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. […] audio portion 93 […] has […] a speaker 95 […] or external speaker and/or video display on the video camera portion 12”) and an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera (see Fig. 1, 12; C3:L49–64; C10:L51, “microphone” and “video camera”; C11:L30–54); and
a mobile application that includes instructions that are configured to execute on a central processing unit of a remote client device to cause, in response to user input, a treat delivery command to be communicated to the base station (see Fig. 3, 24 and Fig. 19, 27; C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” and C16:L39–48, e.g., “clicking this treat button 32 enables the Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88, resulting in a pet treat falling from the chute 73 after a short time”),
wherein the base station is configured to:
receive the treat delivery command; in response to the treat delivery command: dispense at least one treat (see C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” C5:L29–47, “Internet-controlled treat dispensing unit 11 for dispensing a pet treat 35 comprises: […] (f) a control circuit electronics portion 42 comprising an Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88 in communication with the actuator 50 and with a local computer 17, the local computer 17 also being in communication with at least one remote Internet-accessible electronic device 20.”); and
play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (see C10:L56–58, “a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to hear the pet owner 25, who speaks into a remote electronic device 20;” C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” Fig. 19, 33; and C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).”); and
transmit data associated with the pet, wherein the base station transmits the data associated with the pet in response to a sound or action that is detected via the input device (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
Although Carelli teaches the base station is configured to: […] play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (supra), Carelli does not expressly disclose the base station is configured to: […] in response to the treat delivery command: […] play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat.
Van Wye is directed to a remotely-controlled reward dispenser for animal training. See title. Van Wye’s device includes a base station and a speaker. See, e.g., ¶ [0026] (“receiver unit”) and ¶ [0028] (“dispenser 30” and “small speaker 38”). Van Wye teaches the base station is configured to: […] in response to the treat delivery command: […] play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (See, e.g., ¶ [0026], “Pressing the treat button 16 causes a treat to be dispensed from the receiver unit; simultaneously, this also causes a pleasant tone to sound from the receiver unit.” See also ¶¶ [0027], [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the base station of Carelli to play an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat in response to the treat delivery command, as taught by Van Wye, thereby “avoiding the potential problem of a dog’s not realizing that a treat has been dispensed” (Van Wye, ¶ [0027]).
As per claim 36, Carelli/Van Wye teaches:
36. (New) The system of claim 35, wherein the input device is a microphone and wherein the sound is made by the pet and detected by the microphone (see Carelli, e.g., C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 38, Carelli discloses:
38. (New) A system (e.g., see Fig. 3, 10; Fig. 3 is reproduced above and annotated by Examiner) for communicating with a pet (e.g., see Fig. 3, 13), comprising:
a base station (e.g., see Fig. 3) including a speaker (see C10:L47–C11:L5, e.g., “The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. […] audio portion 93 […] has […] a speaker 95 […] or external speaker and/or video display on the video camera portion 12”) and an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera (see Fig. 1, 12; C3:L49–64; C10:L51, “microphone” and “video camera”; C11:L30–54); and
a mobile application that includes instructions that are configured to execute on a central processing unit of a remote client device to cause, in response to user input, a treat delivery command to be communicated to the base station (see Fig. 3, 24 and Fig. 19, 27; C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” and C16:L39–48, e.g., “clicking this treat button 32 enables the Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88, resulting in a pet treat falling from the chute 73 after a short time”),
wherein the base station is configured to:
receive the treat delivery command; in response to the treat delivery command: dispense at least one treat (see C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” C14:L2–33, e.g., “displaying a control block 27 on the website or webpage, the control block 27 including a treat button 32 for dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11 […] once the treat button 32 has been selected, prompting a signal to be sent to the control circuit electronics portion 42 to initiate the mechanism 38 for sliding the delivery plate, followed by automatically dispensing the pet treat 35 from the treat dispensing unit 11;” C5:L29–47, “Internet-controlled treat dispensing unit 11 for dispensing a pet treat 35 comprises: […] (f) a control circuit electronics portion 42 comprising an Internet-controlled pulsed relay 88 in communication with the actuator 50 and with a local computer 17, the local computer 17 also being in communication with at least one remote Internet-accessible electronic device 20.”); and
play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (see C10:L56–58, “a speaker 95 that permits the dog/pet to hear the pet owner 25, who speaks into a remote electronic device 20;” C11:L15–29, “The treat dispensing unit 11 is connected to the local computer 17, which has software that communicates with the treat dispensing unit 11 and makes the treat dispensing unit 11 available to the remote user ( owner) using the Internet 18. The treat dispensing unit 11 preferably comes with a software installation disk. The control block 27 and camera view are combined into one page for the home user to view using any Web browser. This page, which is located on the local computer 17, is accessed remotely.;” Fig. 19, 33; and C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).”); and
in response to receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data indicative of the receipt of the input from the input device (see, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12;” C11:L1–5 and C15:L67, action of pet detected by camera 12 includes dog wagging its tail; see also C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
Although Carelli teaches the base station is configured to: […] play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (supra), Carelli does not expressly disclose the base station is configured to: […] in response to the treat delivery command: […] play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat.
Van Wye is directed to a remotely-controlled reward dispenser for animal training. See title. Van Wye’s device includes a base station and a speaker. See, e.g., ¶ [0026] (“receiver unit”) and ¶ [0028] (“dispenser 30” and “small speaker 38”). Van Wye teaches the base station is configured to: […] in response to the treat delivery command: […] play via the speaker an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat (See, e.g., ¶ [0026], “Pressing the treat button 16 causes a treat to be dispensed from the receiver unit; simultaneously, this also causes a pleasant tone to sound from the receiver unit.” See also ¶¶ [0027], [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the base station of Carelli to play an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat in response to the treat delivery command, as taught by Van Wye, thereby “avoiding the potential problem of a dog’s not realizing that a treat has been dispensed” (Van Wye, ¶ [0027]).
As per claim 39, Carelli/Van Wye teaches:
39. (New) The system of claim 38, wherein the input device is a microphone and wherein the sound is made by the pet and detected by the microphone (see Carelli, e.g., C15:L61–67, “As seen in Block 107, if the audio button 33 is selected […] the pet owner 25 interacts live with the pet (see FIGS. 5 and 19). This audio feature provides additional positive reinforcement for the dog or other pet, as well as the pet owner when the pet responds affirmatively to the message (by barking, wagging the tail, etc.).;” see C10:L47–55, “The treat dispensing apparatus 10 optionally includes an audio portion 93 for one-way or two-way communication between the pet owner 25 and the pet. The audio portion 93 can be run off the local computer’s speakers, or through internal speakers 112 and a microphone in the video camera portion 12 or at the treat dispensing unit 11 as seen in FIG.13. As seen in FIG. 13, an audio portion 93 attached to the treat dispensing unit 11 has a microphone 94 that picks up sounds at the pet site, like a dog bark, […].”).
As per claim 40, Carelli/Van Wye teaches:
40. (New) The system of claim 38, wherein the system transmits the data indicative of the receipt of the input from the input device by transmitting image data of the pet (see Carelli, e.g., C4:L12–15, “Live feed from the video camera(s) 26 is transmitted back to the pet owner’s smart phone 24 or other Internet-accessible electronic device 20 via the local computer 17;” C4:L66–67, “the remote pet owner 25 can watch the pet using the video camera portion 12”).
Ground #4A: Obvious Over Carelli and Van Wye, in view of Carter
Claims 34 and 37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carelli and Van Wye, in view of Carter.
As per claim 34, Carelli/Van Wye does not expressly disclose:
34. (New) The system of claim 33, wherein the input device is a motion sensor and wherein the action is motion of the pet that is detected by the motion sensor.
Carter is directed to a video communication method for receiving person at entrance. See title. Carter teaches receiving a person at an entrance comprises the steps of detecting the presence of a person at the entrance with a proximity sensor located proximate the entrance, transmitting video of the person at the entrance recorded using a camera located proximate the entrance to a computerized controller running a software application, and providing a graphic user interface to a remote peripheral device by which a user of the remote peripheral device may view the video of the person at the entrance. See Abstract.
Moreover, Carter teaches wherein [an] input device is a motion sensor and wherein the action is motion of the [moving object] that is detected by the motion sensor ([0106], “The camera 210 can be activated manually or self-activated by the motion sensor 220 that detects the presence of a person or a moving object. The motion sensor 220 has an adjustable level of sensitivity and a trigger threshold for initiating video recording. The camera 210 has a memory cache for saving a designated number or series of transmitted video images. Typically, when activated for video recording, the camera also activates audio recording, which provides audio files on the webpage generated by the digital camera’s microphone 218. The camera 210 also includes means including the speaker 218 for playing received audio files.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the system of Carelli/Van Wye to have a motion sensor, as taught by Carter, and to transmit video data upon motion of the pet (moving object), as taught by Carter, so that system does not waste transmission resources when a pet is not visible.
As per claim 37, Carelli/Van Wye does not expressly disclose:
37. (New) The system of claim 35, wherein the input device is a motion sensor and wherein the action is motion of the pet that is detected by the motion sensor.
Carter is directed to a video communication method for receiving person at entrance. See title. Carter teaches receiving a person at an entrance comprises the steps of detecting the presence of a person at the entrance with a proximity sensor located proximate the entrance, transmitting video of the person at the entrance recorded using a camera located proximate the entrance to a computerized controller running a software application, and providing a graphic user interface to a remote peripheral device by which a user of the remote peripheral device may view the video of the person at the entrance. See Abstract.
Moreover, Carter teaches wherein [an] input device is a motion sensor and wherein the action is motion of the [moving object] that is detected by the motion sensor ([0106], “The camera 210 can be activated manually or self-activated by the motion sensor 220 that detects the presence of a person or a moving object. The motion sensor 220 has an adjustable level of sensitivity and a trigger threshold for initiating video recording. The camera 210 has a memory cache for saving a designated number or series of transmitted video images. Typically, when activated for video recording, the camera also activates audio recording, which provides audio files on the webpage generated by the digital camera’s microphone 218. The camera 210 also includes means including the speaker 218 for playing received audio files.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the system of Carelli/Van Wye to have a motion sensor, as taught by Carter, and to transmit video data upon motion of the pet (moving object), as taught by Carter, so that system does not waste transmission resources when a pet is not visible.
Ground #1B: Obvious Over Carelli, in view of Beccaria
Claims 20–29 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carelli, in view of Beccaria.
As per claims 20–29, these claims are anticipated by Carelli. See Ground #1A above. To the extent Carelli does not meet the “transmit” function of each independent claim 20,2 22,3 and 26,4 the Examiner provides the following alternative rejection. This alternative rejection is based on a claim interpretation discussed in the parent reissue application (i.e., the ’941 Reissue Application; see IFW of the ’941 Reissue Application, e.g., Applicant’s response filed 23 March 2026 at page 17).
For example, with respect to claim 20, Beccaria teaches a microprocessor (or circuit) and an input device where the microprocessor [is] configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet (P2:L22–26, “the domestic animal can perform with the aid of the device for telecommunication and remote care according to the present invention; A) call the master and answer the call of the master; B) feed itself.;” P4:L10–12, “control unit 4, which is able to control all the functions of the device 1.;” and P7:L5–11, “In the case where the call is made by the animal to the master, the animal will have to grip the member 9 between its teeth and move it so as to activate the call to the master. In the reverse case (i.e., a call made by the master to the animal), the domestic animal will answer the call of the master by gripping and moving the member 9 between its teeth.” Note: the “call” above inherently includes transmitting data indicative of the receipt of the input from the input device, e.g., receipt of input from the member 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the configuration of the microprocessor of Carelli to include the automatically transmitting data, as taught by Beccaria, so that, e.g., a pet can initiate an outgoing call to its owner’s remote client device.
Independent claims 22 and 26 recite similar limitations and are rejected accordingly. The dependent claims 21, 23–25, and 27–29 are rejected in the same manner as above in Ground #1A.
Ground #2B: Obvious Over Carelli and Tolner, in view of Beccaria
Claim 30 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carelli and Tolner, in view of Beccaria.
As per claim 30, this claim is unpatentable over Carelli, in view of Tolner. See Ground #2A above. Claim 30 depends from independent claim 26. To the extent Carelli does not meet the “transmit” function of independent claim 26, supra, the Examiner provides the alternative rejection noted above in Ground #1B, which applies teachings of Beccaria to claim 26’s “transmit” function. The remainder of claim 30 is rejected in the same manner as above in Ground #2A.
Ground #3B: Obvious Over Carelli and Van Wye, in view of Beccaria
Claims 31–33, 35–36, and 38–40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carelli and Van Wye, in view of Beccaria.
As per claims 31–33, 35–36, and 38–40, these claims are unpatentable over Carelli, in view of Van Wye. See Ground #3A above. To the extent Carelli does not meet the “transmit” function of each independent claim 31,5 35,6 and 38,7 the Examiner provides the following alternative rejection. This alternative rejection is based on a claim interpretation discussed in the parent reissue application (i.e., the ’941 Reissue Application; see IFW of the ’941 Reissue Application, e.g., Applicant’s response filed 23 March 2026 at page 17).
For example, with respect to claim 31, Beccaria teaches a system (or circuit) and an input device where the system: […] transmits data associated with the pet, wherein the system transmits the data associated with the pet in response a sound or action that is detected via the input device (P2:L22–26, “the domestic animal can perform with the aid of the device for telecommunication and remote care according to the present invention; A) call the master and answer the call of the master; B) feed itself.;” P4:L10–12, “control unit 4, which is able to control all the functions of the device 1.;” and P7:L5–11, “In the case where the call is made by the animal to the master, the animal will have to grip the member 9 between its teeth and move it so as to activate the call to the master. In the reverse case (i.e., a call made by the master to the animal), the domestic animal will answer the call of the master by gripping and moving the member 9 between its teeth.” Note: the “call” above inherently includes transmitting data indicative of the receipt of the input from the input device, e.g., receipt of input from the member 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the configuration of the microprocessor of Carelli/Van Wye to include the transmitting data, as taught by Beccaria, so that, e.g., a pet can initiate an outgoing call to its owner’s remote client device.
Independent claims 35 and 38 recite similar limitations and are rejected accordingly. The dependent claims 32–33, 36, and 39–40 are rejected in the same manner as above in Ground #3A.
Ground #4B: Obvious Over Carelli, Van Wye, and Carter, in view of Beccaria
Claims 34 and 37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 USC § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carelli, Van Wye, and Carter, in view of Beccaria.
As per claims 34 and 37, these claims are unpatentable over Carelli and Van Wye, in view of Carter. See Ground #4A above. Claim 34 depends from claim 33, which depends from independent claim 31, and claim 37 depends from independent claim 35. To the extent Carelli does not meet the “transmit” function of independent claims 31 and 35, supra, the Examiner provides the alternative rejection noted above in Ground #3B, which applies teachings of Beccaria to both claim 31’s and claim 35’s “transmit” function. The remainder of claims 34 and 37 are rejected in the same manner as above in Ground #3A.
OBVIOUSNESS-TYPE DOUBLE PATENTING (ODP)
Over U.S. Patent No. RE49,696
Claims 20–40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20–46 of U.S. Patent No. RE49,696 (“’696 Patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, claim 20 of the ’696 Patent meets the limitations of claim 20, as shown in the table below.
New Claim 20 (Pending)
Claim 20 – RE49,696
20. (New) A system for interacting with a pet, comprising:
“A system for interacting with a pet, comprising:”
a base station having:
“a base station having:”
a treat bin configured to hold a pet treat;
“a treat bin configured to hold a pet treat;”
a treat dispenser configured to deliver the pet treat from the treat bin;
“a treat dispenser configured to deliver the pet treat from the treat bin;”
one or more output devices including an audio device;
“one or more output devices including an audio device;”
an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera; and
“an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera; and”
a microprocessor in communication with the treat dispenser, the input device, and the one or more output devices;
“a microprocessor in communication with the treat dispenser, the input device, and the one or more output devices;”
a computer application operable on a mobile device or computer, the computer application being configured to receive, at the mobile device or computer, an input from a user indicative of a desire to deliver the pet treat to the pet, and to cause the mobile device or computer to transmit a treat delivery command;
“a computer application operable on a mobile device or computer, the computer application having instructions which, when executed by the mobile device or computer, are configured to receive at the mobile device or computer an input from a user indicative of a desire to deliver the pet treat to the pet, and to cause the mobile device or computer to transmit a treat delivery command to the base station;”
the microprocessor being configured to, after receipt of a signal indicative of the treat delivery command transmitted by the mobile device or computer, cause the treat dispenser to deliver the pet treat;
“the microprocessor further being configured to: after receipt of the treat delivery command at the base station, cause the treat dispenser to deliver the pet treat, and”
the output device further being arranged to produce a noise associated with the delivery of the pet treat by the treat dispenser;
“cause the output device to produce a noise associated with the delivery of the pet treat;”
the microprocessor further being configured to cause the output device to play at least one of audio data or video data received at the base station from the mobile device or computer; and
“cause the output device to play at least one of audio data or video data received at the base station from the mobile device or computer;”
the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet.
“and automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, begin transmission of at least one of audio data from the microphone or image data from the camera.”
Claims 21–40 are similarly met by claims 21–46 of the ’696 Patent. Thus, claims 20–40 of the Instant Application are obviousness-type double patenting of the claims in the ’696 Patent.
Over U.S. Patent No. 9,723,813
Claims 20–29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 9,723,813 (“’813 Patent”) in view of Carelli. Claim 7 of the ’813 Patent meets the limitations of claim 20, as shown in the table below (except for the limitations in bold text).
New Claim 20 (Pending)
Claim 7 – ’813 Patent
20. (New) A system for interacting with a pet, comprising:
“7. A system for communicating with a pet, comprising:”
a base station having:
a treat bin configured to hold a pet treat;
“a treat bin;”
a treat dispenser configured to deliver the pet treat from the treat bin;
“a food dispenser that dispenses treats from the treat bin;”
one or more output devices including an audio device;
“an audio device;”
an input device comprising at least one of a microphone, a motion detector, or a camera; and
“a delivery module that: […] receives input from the pet;”
“wherein the system begins transmission to the remote client device of at least one of the audio or video of the pet in response to input from the pet”
Note: requires, or at least fairly suggests, system to include an input device, e.g., a microphone or camera
a microprocessor in communication with the treat dispenser, the input device, and the one or more output devices;
“a delivery module”
Note: claim 7 requires, or at least fairly suggests, that the delivery module is in communication with the treat dispenser8
Note: claim 7 requires, or at least fairly suggests, that the delivery module is in communication with an input device9
Note: claim 7 requires, or at least fairly suggests, that the delivery module is in communication with the output device10
a computer application operable on a mobile device or computer, the computer application being configured to receive, at the mobile device or computer, an input from a user indicative of a desire to deliver the pet treat to the pet, and to cause the mobile device or computer to transmit a treat delivery command;
“wherein the system: in response to a first communication command received from a user, transmits to the delivery module the treat delivery command;”
“and a control that transmits to the delivery module a treat delivery command”
the microprocessor being configured to, after receipt of a signal indicative of the treat delivery command transmitted by the mobile device or computer, cause the treat dispenser to deliver the pet treat;
“a delivery module that: receives a treat delivery command; and in response to the received treat delivery command: dispenses via the food dispenser at least one treat from the treat bin;”
the output device further being arranged to produce a noise associated with the delivery of the pet treat by the treat dispenser;
“a delivery module that: […] plays via the audio device an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat;”
the microprocessor further being configured to cause the output device to play at least one of audio data or video data received at the base station from the mobile device or computer; and
“wherein the system: […] plays at least one of live audio or video received from the user of a remote client device;”
the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet.
“a delivery module that: […] receives input from the pet;”
“wherein the system: […] transmits to the remote client device at least one of live audio or video of the pet, wherein the system begins transmission to the remote client device of at least one of the audio or video of the pet in response to input from the pet.
As shown in the table above, claim 7 of the ’813 Patent does not disclose “a microprocessor,” as required by pending claim 20.
However, Carelli teaches “a microprocessor,” as required by claim 20. See Carelli at Fig. 3 (element 17), and as cited above in the rejection of claim 20. For example, Carelli teaches a microprocessor comprised within a base station; the microprocessor in communication with a treat dispenser, input device, and the one or more output devices; the microprocessor to receive the command from a mobile device or computer; and the microprocessor configured to cause the output device to play audio or video, as claimed. See Carelli generally at Fig. 3, but also as cited above in the rejection of claim 20.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the “delivery module” of claim 7 of the ’813 Patent to include a microprocessor, as taught by Carelli. One would have been motivated to do so because the microprocessor of Carelli provides suitable hardware to implement a “delivery module” and communicate over the Internet with a remote client device and to direct the other components within the base station, as taught by Carelli.
As shown in the table above, claim 7 of the ’813 Patent does not disclose “a base station having,” as required by pending claim 20.
However, Carelli teaches “a base station having,” as required by claim 20. See Carelli at Fig. 3, and as cited above in the rejection of claim 20.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify claim 7 of the ’813 Patent so that the recited components are part of a “base station,” as taught by Carelli. One would have been motivated to do so in order provide a central location and/or structure to arrange the components of the system residing locally near the pet.
As shown in the table above, claim 7 of the ’813 Patent does not disclose “a computer application operable on a mobile device or computer, the computer application being configured to” receive the input from a user and transmit the command, as required by pending claim 20.
However, Carelli teaches “a computer application operable on a mobile device or computer, the computer application being configured to” receive the input from a user and transmit the command, as required by pending claim 20. See Carelli at Figs. 3 and 19, and as cited above in the rejection of claim 20.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify claim 7 of the ’813 Patent so that the control is implemented via an application operable on the “remote client device” of claim 7, as taught by Carelli. One would have been motivated to do so because the application on device 24 of Carelli provides a convenient remote solution for the user to interact with their pet by receiving the user input and sending the command over the internet, as taught by Carelli.
Independent claims 22 and 26 are obvious over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent in view of Carelli in a similar manner as claim 20, as set forth above (and as set forth in Ground #1A).
Dependent claims 21, 23–25, and 27–29 are obvious over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent in view of the additional teachings of Carelli, as set forth above in Ground #1A.
Claim 30 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent, in view of Carelli and Tolner.
Dependent claim 30 is obvious over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent in view of the additional teachings of Tolner, as set forth above in Ground #2A.
Claims 31–33, 35–36, and 38–40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent, in view of Carelli and Van Wye.
Independent claims 31, 35, and 38 are obvious over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent in view of Carelli in a similar manner as claim 20, as set forth above, and in view of Van Wye’s teachings as set forth above in Ground #3A.
Dependent claims 32–33, 36, and 39–40 are obvious over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent in view of the additional teachings of Carelli and Van Wye, as set forth above in Ground #3A.
Claims 34 and 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent, in view of Carelli, Van Wye, and Carter.
Dependent claims 34 and 37 are obvious over claim 7 of the ’813 Patent in view of the additional teachings of Carelli, Van Wye, and Carter, as set forth above in Ground #4A.
CONCLUSION
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached at 571-272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
General inquiries may also be directed to the Central Reexamination Unit customer service line at (571) 272-7705.
/JACOB C. COPPOLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/KENNETH WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ANDREW J. FISCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 This rejection follows the same claim interpretation as discussed above in Ground #1.
2 Claim 20 recites a “transmit” function in the limitation “the microprocessor further being configured to automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet.”
3 Claim 22 recites a “transmit” function in the limitation “the microprocessor further being configured to: […] automatically, after receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data associated with the pet.”
4 Claim 26 recites a “transmit” function in the limitation “wherein the base station is configured to: […] transmit data associated with the pet, wherein the base station transmits the data associated with the pet in response to a signal from the input device indicative of a sound or action.”
5 Claim 31 recites a “transmit” function in the limitation “wherein the system: […] transmits data associated with the pet, wherein the system transmits the data associated with the pet in response a sound or action that is detected via the input device.”
6 Claim 35 recites a “transmit” function in the limitation “wherein the base station is configured to: […] transmit data associated with the pet, wherein the base station transmits the data associated with the pet in response to a sound or action that is detected via the input device.”
7 Claim 38 recites a “transmit” function in the limitation “wherein the base station is configured to: […] in response to receipt of an input from the input device indicative of a sound or action, transmit data indicative of the receipt of the input from the input device.”
8 See claim 7’s recitation to “a delivery module that: receives a treat delivery command; and in response to the received treat delivery command: dispenses via the food dispenser at least one treat from the treat bin.”
9 See claim 7’s recitation to “a delivery module that: […] receives input from the pet” and to “wherein the system begins transmission to the remote client device of at least one of the audio or video of the pet in response to input from the pet.”
10 See claim 7’s recitation to “a delivery module that: […] plays via the audio device an audio signal that notifies the pet of availability of a treat.”