DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “macromolecule” in claims 2 and 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “macromolecule” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. A macromolecule is a large molecule formed by polymerization. There is no art recognized size to determine when a molecule is considered a macromolecule as the size is a relative term. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would unable to definitively determine what size molecule would infringe on the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hom et al. US 2017/0369343.
Claim 1, Hom teaches a device comprising a filter bag (100), an inner side of the filter bag being at least partially coated with a flocculant (fig. 1, par 20). The recitation of the device being for providing and treating a liquid purifiable in an interior of the device and the liquid purifiable in the interior of the device by the filter bag, the liquid capable of being taken up by the filter bag is a recitation of an intended use of the device and the material worked on by the device and do not provide any further structural limitations to the device. The device of Hom is capable of holding liquid that is taken up by the filter bag.
Claims 5-7, Hom also teaches a method for producing a filter bag as recited in claim 1 where the inner side of the filter bag is partially coated with the flocculant (par 20) and therefore the filter bag produced by the method of claim 5 is also present. Hom also teaches using the filter bag of claim 6 to purify liquid (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hom et al. US 2017/0369343 in view of Hanna WO 2021/007681.
Claims 2-4, Hom teaches the flocculant, “…can be, for example, AJAX CLEAN WATER from the Colgate-Palmolive company of New York, N.Y. or the like” (par 20). It’s unclear what “AJAX CLEAN WATER” is as the examiner was unable to determine what product Hom was referencing.
Hanna teaches a device comprising a geotextile with a flocculant comprising a polymer with a high molecular weight, which is considered to be an organic macromolecule, that is arranged within the textile material (abstract, par 55). Polymers and organic macromolecules are well-known types of flocculants in the art, as demonstrated by Hanna and would have been an obvious choice of flocculant to one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0369342 Hom et al.
CN 102992510 Sun
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779