Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-18, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
by Sengoku et al. (US20150120975A1)(hereinafter “Seng”) in view of Kessel et al. (US20180255277A1)
Regarding Claim 1,Seng teaches, An automatic configuration method, comprising:
configuring a master device to broadcast a specificFig 2 [17]- n one aspect, broadcasting a first write message concurrently to a first plurality of slave devices using the first group slave device identifier, and broadcasting a second write message concurrently to a second plurality of slave devices using a second group slave device identifier.[21]- The means for controlling access to the control data may be configured to operate the control data bus in a first mode of operation such that the device communicates concurrently with a first slave device and a second slave device
configuring each of the plurality of slave devices to, in response to receiving the specific data packet and determining that the specific data packet is related thereto, automatically send identification data;
Fig 2 [23]- At least one other slave device may be configured to respond to transmissions addressed to the first group slave device identifier. In some instances, no other slave device is configured to respond to transmissions addressed to the unique slave device identifier.
configuring the master device to generate a list according to the identification data; and [21-22]- The instructions, when executed by the one or more processors may cause the one or more processors to maintain an address list associating each of a plurality of slave devices coupled to a control data bus with a plurality of slave device identifiers and control access to the control data bus based on the address list.
configuring the master device to communicatively connect with each of the plurality of slave devices that have responded to the specific data packet according to the list.[28]- the processing circuit may be configured to transmit information on the control data bus in response to a command addressed using the first slave device identifier and received from the control data bus.
Seng does not teach specifically teach a data packet as in broadcast a specific data packet
Kessel Teaches, broadcast a specific data packet [35]- The communication packet sent from one mobile recording device to another nearby mobile recording device can contain information to facilitate a daisy-chain linking of the mobile recording devices. Thus, for example the communication packet can contain: the serial number of the sending device serial number; a recording date/time stamp; command and/or metadata; and a checksum for verifying error-free communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, broadcast a specific data packet as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 2, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration method according to claim 1, further comprising: configuring the master device to obtain the target group list from a server. [9]- a master device coupled to the control data bus and configured to control access to the control data bus, a first slave device that is configured with a first slave device identifier and a second slave device identifier,
Regarding Claim 3, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration method according to claim 1, wherein the target group list comprises group information and a unique identifier for each of the plurality of slave devices.[15]- each of a first group of slave devices coupled to the control data bus responds to communications transmitted over the control data bus and addressed to the first slave device identifier.
Regarding Claim 4, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration method according to claim 3, wherein a process of configuring the master device to broadcast the specific data packet according to the target group list comprises: configuring the master device to:
select a target group from the one or more groups, generate the specific data packet broadcast according to the target group [99]- The master device may selectively address one or more slave devices individually, or as a group.
and broadcast the specific data packet, wherein the specific data packet comprises the group information corresponding to the target group.[99]- , the master node may determine whether a command is to be simultaneously directed to two cameras in a 3-D camera system and may transmit such command using an SID shared by both cameras. A CCI or CCIe slave device may be adapted to respond to commands directed to any of a plurality of SIDs assigned to the slave device.
Seng does not teach specifically teach a data packet as in broadcast a specific data packet
Kessel Teaches, broadcast a specific data packet [35]- The communication packet sent from one mobile recording device to another nearby mobile recording device can contain information to facilitate a daisy-chain linking of the mobile recording devices. Thus, for example the communication packet can contain: the serial number of the sending device serial number; a recording date/time stamp; command and/or metadata; and a checksum for verifying error-free communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, broadcast a specific data packet as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 5, Seng teaches,The automatic configuration method according to claim 4, further comprising: configuring each of the plurality of slave devices to:
in response to receiving the specific data packet, determine whether the group information of a group to which the slave device belongs is same as the group information in the specific data packet; and [130]- concurrent communications may occur with a first slave device and a second slave device using a first group slave device identifier that is associated with the first slave device and the second slave device
in response to determining that the group information of the group to which the slave device belongs is same as the group information in the specific data packet, determine that the slave device is related to the specific data packet and send the identification data.[131]- At block 1606, and in a second mode of operating the control data bus, individual communications may occur with the first slave device using a unique slave device identifier that is associated with the first slave device and is not associated with the second slave device.
Seng does not teach specifically teach a data packet as in broadcast a specific data packet
Kessel Teaches, broadcast a specific data packet [35]- The communication packet sent from one mobile recording device to another nearby mobile recording device can contain information to facilitate a daisy-chain linking of the mobile recording devices. Thus, for example the communication packet can contain: the serial number of the sending device serial number; a recording date/time stamp; command and/or metadata; and a checksum for verifying error-free communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, broadcast a specific data packet as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 6, Seng teaches,The automatic configuration method according to claim 4, wherein the list indicates an operation status of each of the plurality of slave devices in the target group. [83]- “Exit” code word that may, for example, cause a change in master device on the serial bus 330, cause the serial bus 330 to enter an inactive state, initiate a change in mode of operation of the serial bus 330 (e.g. to I2C mode), or cause some other activity, change or event.
Regarding Claim 7, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration method according to claim 6, further comprising: configuring the master device to, in response to the communicatively connecting with each of the plurality of slave devices, transmit at least one of a configuration command or a control command according to the operation status of each of the plurality of slave devices. [66]- Certain CCIe devices 320 may be configured as a bus master, and certain devices 302, and/or 322 a-322 n may be configured as slave devices. CCI devices coupled to the control data bus 330, such that a CCIe device 302, 320, or 322 a-322 n may communicate with one or more other CCIe devices 302, 320, and/or 322 a-322 n using CCIe protocols and signaling specifications
Regarding Claim 8, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration method according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of slave devices are a plurality of image capturing devices. [87]- In another example, a mobile communications device, a video camera or the like may provide two or more imaging devices or cameras spaced apart on the same or different surfaces to enable capture of stereoscopic or three-dimensional (3-D) images.
Regarding Claim 9, Seng does not teach, The automatic configuration method according to claim 8, wherein the control command comprises a start capturing command or a stop capturing command, and the configuration command is used to set image capturing parameters of the corresponding slave device
Kessel teaches, The automatic configuration method according to claim 8, wherein the control command comprises a start capturing command or a stop capturing command, and the configuration command is used to set image capturing parameters of the corresponding slave device.[35]- Optionally, from that time forward, that receiving device itself can start sending record announcements (triggering signal) just like above. Thus, in this way a periodic set of record packets can be transmitted.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, The automatic configuration method according to claim 8, wherein the control command comprises a start capturing command or a stop capturing command, and the configuration command is used to set image capturing parameters of the corresponding slave device as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 10,Seng teaches, An automatic configuration system, comprising: a master device configured to broadcast a specific data packet according to a target group list; and Fig 2 [17]- n one aspect, broadcasting a first write message concurrently to a first plurality of slave devices using the first group slave device identifier, and broadcasting a second write message concurrently to a second plurality of slave devices using a second group slave device identifier.[21]- The means for controlling access to the control data may be configured to operate the control data bus in a first mode of operation such that the device communicates concurrently with a first slave device and a second slave device
a plurality of slave devices divided into one or more groups according to the target group list, wherein each of the plurality of slave devices is configured to automatically send identification data in response to receiving the specific data packet and determining that the specific data packet is related thereto; [23]- At least one other slave device may be configured to respond to transmissions addressed to the first group slave device identifier. In some instances, no other slave device is configured to respond to transmissions addressed to the unique slave device identifier.
wherein the master device is configured to generate a list according to the identification data, and communicatively connect with each of the plurality of slave devices that have responded to the specific data packet according to the list. [21-22]- The instructions, when executed by the one or more processors may cause the one or more processors to maintain an address list associating each of a plurality of slave devices coupled to a control data bus with a plurality of slave device identifiers and control access to the control data bus based on the address list.
Seng does not teach specifically teach a data packet as in broadcast a specific data packet
Kessel Teaches, broadcast a specific data packet [35]- The communication packet sent from one mobile recording device to another nearby mobile recording device can contain information to facilitate a daisy-chain linking of the mobile recording devices. Thus, for example the communication packet can contain: the serial number of the sending device serial number; a recording date/time stamp; command and/or metadata; and a checksum for verifying error-free communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, broadcast a specific data packet as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 11, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 10, further comprising a server communicatively connected to the master device, wherein the master device is configured to obtain the target group list from the server. [9]- a master device coupled to the control data bus and configured to control access to the control data bus, a first slave device that is configured with a first slave device identifier and a second slave device identifier,
Regarding Claim 12, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 10, wherein the target group list comprises group information and a unique identifier for each of the plurality of slave devices.[15]- each of a first group of slave devices coupled to the control data bus responds to communications transmitted over the control data bus and addressed to the first slave device identifier.
Regarding Claim 13, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 12, wherein the master device is further configured to: select a target group from the one or more groups, [99]- The master device may selectively address one or more slave devices individually, or as a group.
generate the specific data packet broadcast according to the target group and broadcast the specific data packet, wherein the specific data packet comprises the group information corresponding to the target group.[99]- , the master node may determine whether a command is to be simultaneously directed to two cameras in a 3-D camera system and may transmit such command using an SID shared by both cameras. A CCI or CCIe slave device may be adapted to respond to commands directed to any of a plurality of SIDs assigned to the slave device.
Seng does not teach specifically teach a data packet as in broadcast a specific data packet
Kessel Teaches, broadcast a specific data packet [35]- The communication packet sent from one mobile recording device to another nearby mobile recording device can contain information to facilitate a daisy-chain linking of the mobile recording devices. Thus, for example the communication packet can contain: the serial number of the sending device serial number; a recording date/time stamp; command and/or metadata; and a checksum for verifying error-free communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, broadcast a specific data packet as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 14, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 13, wherein each of the plurality of slave devices is further configured to: in response to receiving the specific data packet, determine whether the group information of a group to which the slave device belongs is the same as the group information in the specific data packet; [130]- concurrent communications may occur with a first slave device and a second slave device using a first group slave device identifier that is associated with the first slave device and the second slave device
and in response to determining that the group information of the group to which the slave device belongs is the same as the group information in the specific data packet, determine that the slave device is related to the specific data packet and send the identification data.[131]- At block 1606, and in a second mode of operating the control data bus, individual communications may occur with the first slave device using a unique slave device identifier that is associated with the first slave device and is not associated with the second slave device.
Seng does not teach specifically teach a data packet as in broadcast a specific data packet
Kessel Teaches, broadcast a specific data packet [35]- The communication packet sent from one mobile recording device to another nearby mobile recording device can contain information to facilitate a daisy-chain linking of the mobile recording devices. Thus, for example the communication packet can contain: the serial number of the sending device serial number; a recording date/time stamp; command and/or metadata; and a checksum for verifying error-free communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, broadcast a specific data packet as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Regarding Claim 15, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 13, wherein the list indicates an operation status of each of the plurality of slave devices in the target group. [83]- “Exit” code word that may, for example, cause a change in master device on the serial bus 330, cause the serial bus 330 to enter an inactive state, initiate a change in mode of operation of the serial bus 330 (e.g. to I2C mode), or cause some other activity, change or event.
Regarding Claim 16, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 15, wherein the master device is configured to, in response to the communicatively connecting with each of the plurality of slave devices, transmit at least one of a configuration command or a control command according to the operation status of each of the plurality of slave devices. [66]- Certain CCIe devices 320 may be configured as a bus master, and certain devices 302, and/or 322 a-322 n may be configured as slave devices. CCI devices coupled to the control data bus 330, such that a CCIe device 302, 320, or 322 a-322 n may communicate with one or more other CCIe devices 302, 320, and/or 322 a-322 n using CCIe protocols and signaling specifications
Regarding Claim 17, Seng teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of slave devices are a plurality of image capturing devices. [87]- In another example, a mobile communications device, a video camera or the like may provide two or more imaging devices or cameras spaced apart on the same or different surfaces to enable capture of stereoscopic or three-dimensional (3-D) images.
Regarding Claim 18, Seng does not teach, The automatic configuration system according to claim 17, wherein the control command comprises a start capturing command or a stop capturing command, and the configuration command is used to set image capturing parameters of the corresponding slave device.
Kessel teaches, The automatic configuration system according to claim 17, wherein the control command comprises a start capturing command or a stop capturing command, and the configuration command is used to set image capturing parameters of the corresponding slave device..[35]- Optionally, from that time forward, that receiving device itself can start sending record announcements (triggering signal) just like above. Thus, in this way a periodic set of record packets can be transmitted.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seng, The automatic configuration system according to claim 17, wherein the control command comprises a start capturing command or a stop capturing command, and the configuration command is used to set image capturing parameters of the corresponding slave device as taught by Kessel to add data symbols as output of second sequence which could be error correction to rectify original sequence.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478