DETAILED ACTION
The applicant filed preliminary amendment in 03/06/2025 and claims 1-20 are pending in the application, including independent claims 1, 8 and 15.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025 and 01/08/2025 and 08/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7, 11-14 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5 lines 3, the occurrence of “DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 6 lines 5, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 7 lines 3-5, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 11 lines 1, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 12 lines 3, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 13 lines 5-6, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 14 lines 3-5, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 18 lines 1, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 19 lines 4-5, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
In claim 20 lines 2-4, the occurrence of “the DMRS” should be amended to ----“the one or more DMRS symbols”---
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time wise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of Patent No. (US 12,262,392 B2 in view of Papasakellariou [hereinafter as Papasakellariou], US 2017/0367046 A1. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claim 1, the claim 1 of patent application discloses A baseband processor of a base station, comprising:
a memory; and
a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a control signal on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a
physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH);
determine one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH, a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH; and
transmit, to the UE, DMRS during the one or more determined DMRS symbols.
The patent application does not disclose An apparatus comprising memory coupled to processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to:
receive a control signal, from a base station, on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH);
receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH, a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH;
decode the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols;
and
obtain the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols.
However, Papasakellariou discloses decode the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.19 [0236][0238] and Fig.28 [0280][0287]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include decoding the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 1 merely narrow the scope of patent application claim 1 by adding the term "…. decoding the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols” to claim 1 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the patent application does not disclose one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM).
However, Papasakellariou discloses one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) (Fig.15 [0204] and Fig.16 [0219]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 5, the patent application does not disclose processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS.
However, Papasakellariou discloses processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119] and Fig.15 [0143]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 6, the patent application does not disclose the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the control signal on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap; and receive the DMRS during the first symbol using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources, wherein the DMRS
includes a PDSCH DMRS.
However, Papasakellariou discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the control signal on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap; and receive the DMRS during the first symbol using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.1-2 [0068], Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], Fig.15 [0143], Fig.9 [0153], Fig.13 [0183] and Fig.15 [0201]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 8, the claim 16 of patent application discloses An apparatus of a base station, comprising:
radio frequency (RF) circuitry;
a memory; and
a processor coupled to the memory and the RF circuitry, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to cause the base station to:
transmit, via the RF circuitry to a user equipment (UE), a control signal on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); determine one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH, a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH; and transmit, via the RF circuitry to the UE, a DMRS during the one or more determined DMRS symbols.
The patent application does not disclose A User Equipment (UE), comprising:
radio frequency (RF) circuitry;
a memory; and
processing circuitry coupled to the RF circuitry and the memory, the processing
circuitry configured to:
receive a control signal, from a base station, on a physical downlink control channel
(PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink
shared channel (PDSCH);
receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the
base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH, a position of the
symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH;
decode the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols;
and
obtain the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the one
or more DMRS symbols.
However, Papasakellariou discloses decode the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.19 [0236][0238] and Fig.28 [0280][0287]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include decoding the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 8 merely narrow the scope of patent application claim 16 by adding the term "…. decoding the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols …...” to claim 16 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 9, the patent application does not disclose one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM).
However, Papasakellariou discloses one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) (Fig.15 [0204] and Fig.16 [0219]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 12, the patent application does not disclose processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS.
However, Papasakellariou discloses processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119] and Fig.15 [0143]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 13, the patent application does not disclose the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the control signal on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap; and receive the DMRS during the first symbol using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources, wherein the DMRS
includes a PDSCH DMRS.
However, Papasakellariou discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the control signal on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap; and receive the DMRS during the first symbol using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.1-2 [0068], Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], Fig.15 [0143], Fig.9 [0153], Fig.13 [0183] and Fig.15 [0201]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission, wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS as taught by Papasakellariou is to be added in the patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou [hereinafter as Papasakellariou], US 2017/0367046 A1 in view of Islam et al. [hereinafter as Islam], US 2017/0302495 A1 further in view of Li et al. [hereinafter as Li], WO 2013166986 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Papasakellariou discloses wherein an (Fig.1&3 [0057], an apparatus e.g., user equipment (UEs) 111-116 in 5G communication system) comprising memory coupled to processing circuitry (Fig.3 [0085]-[0086], memory 360 coupled to processor 340/processing circuitry), the processing circuitry configured to (Fig.3 [0085]-[0086], the processor 340/processing circuitry configured to):
receive a control signal, from a base station, on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig.15 [0201], at step 1510 the UE is receiving from the gNB, a DCI format/control signal on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) over a number of slots and Fig.22-23 [0251]-[0254], the UE is receiving from the gNB, a PDCCH C1 2212 & C1 2312 conveying a DCI format/control signal that schedules a PDSCH transmission D1 2214 & D1 2314 for the data signal on the PDSCH);
application, receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.7 [0126], receiving a number of symbols 720 that include a symbol for DCI transmissions and DMRS in respective PDCCHs 730 and four symbols for data transmissions in respective PDSCHs 740 and Fig.9 [0143], considering a presence of DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions); and
decode the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.19 [0236][0238], the UE is decoding control signal on the PDCCH and the DMRS symbol and Fig.4A-B [0117], the UE is using the DMRS symbols to demodulate the DCI signal and Fig.28 [0280][0287]); and
obtain the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.24 [0258], obtain from the gNB, DMRS associated with PDSCH reception in the one or more determined DMRS slot symbols and Fig.24 [0117]-[0119], receiving from the gNB one or more of multiple types of demodulation RS DMRS in the BW of a respective PDSCH for DMRS symbols).
Even though Papasakellariou discloses wherein receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Islam teaches wherein receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.4 [0060], at 408 receiving at least one of the numbers of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbols from the base station 402 based on a number of symbols placed/occupied by the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH for channel estimation; the base station 402 may change the number of DM-RS symbols dynamically based on information=PDSCH (for channel estimation) obtained by the base statin 402 at any particular moment e.g., whenever the base station decided to change since there may be two DM-RS symbols in a subframe, one of the two DM-RS symbols may be placed at the beginning of PDSCH, and the other DM-RS symbol may be placed in the middle of PDSCH and Fig.4 [0058], DM-RS symbols may be inserted in PDSCH or PUSCH for channel estimation and Fig.1 [0046], at step 198 base station 102 is configured to dynamically convey information of DM-RS to UE 104); and obtain the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.4 [0060][0061], at 410 obtaining from the base station 402 the data signal on the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH, the determined at least one of the numbers of the DM-RS symbols based on at least in part on the PDCCH and the determined at least one of the numbers of the DM-RS symbols and at least in part on the PDCCH e.g., conveyed to the UE via PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou to incorporate the teaching of Islam in order to provide an improved spectral efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to receive at least one of the numbers of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbols from the base station 402 based on a number of symbols placed/occupied by the PDSCH and obtain from the base station 402 the data signal on the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH, based on the determined at least one of the numbers of the DM-RS symbols and at least in part on the PDCCH e.g., conveyed to the UE via PDCCH as taught by Islam to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou to provide an improving capacity of the access network. (Islam, Fig.1-2 [0042], Fig.1 [0046], Fig.4 [0058], Fig.4 [0060] and Fig.4 [0061])
However, Papasakellariou and Islam do not explicitly disclose a position of the
symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH (Fig.3a-b page 4 lines 34-47, the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDCCH information and the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDSCH information are included in the OFDM symbol positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou and Islam to incorporate the teaching of Li in order to provide an improved transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDCCH information and the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDSCH information which are included in the OFDM symbol positions as taught by Li to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou and Islam to provide for improving the efficiency of information transmission. (Li, Fig.3a-b page 4 lines 34-47 and Fig.4a-c page 5 lines 48-54)
Regarding claim 2, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH (Fig.16 [0219], one or more symbols of the PDCCH transmissions are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH transmission), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) (Fig.15 [0204], .
Regarding claim 3, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Islam further discloses the PDCCH and the PDSCH occupy a single symbol (Fig.3 [0052], the PDCCH and the PDSCH occupy a single OFDM symbol), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during the single symbol (Fig.4 [0060], the processing circuitry of the UE is further configured to receive the DMRS during the single DM-RS symbol).
Regarding claim 4, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 3 as stated above wherein Islam further discloses the DMRS includes a PDCCH DMRS and a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.7A [0069], the DM-RS includes a PDCCH DMRS and a PDSCH DMRS), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the PDCCH DMRS and the PDSCH DMRS during the single symbol (Fig.7A-B [0069]-[0070], receiving the PDCCH DMRS and the PDSCH DMRS during the single DM-RS symbol; Fig.8A [0071], Fig.9A [0073] and Fig.10A [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], receiving the one or more DMRS symbols during a second slot symbol the PDSCH transmission), wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.15 [0143], the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 6, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the control signal on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap (Fig.1-2 [0068], receive the DCI control signal conveying on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap; Fig.13 [0183], Fig.15 [0201]); and
receive the DMRS during the first symbol using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], transmitting the DCI and the DMRS during the first slot symbol 540 using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources and Fig.9 [0153], a plurality set of time/frequency resources used for PDCCH transmissions), wherein the DMRS
includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], the DCI or DMRS during the first slot symbols includes a PDSCH DMRS and Fig.15 [0143], the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 8, Papasakellariou discloses wherein a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1&3 [0057], a user equipment (UEs) 111-116 in 5G communication system), comprising:
radio frequency (RF) circuitry (Fig.3 [0085], a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310);
a memory (Fig.3 [0085], a memory 360); and
processing circuitry coupled to the RF circuitry and the memory (Fig.3 [0085]-[0086], a processor 340/processing circuitry coupled to the RF transceiver circuitry 310 and the memory 360), the processing circuitry configured to (Fig.3 [0085]-[0086], the processor 340/processing circuitry configured to):
receive a control signal, from a base station, on a physical downlink control channel
(PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink
shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig.15 [0201], at step 1510 the UE is receiving from the gNB, a DCI format/control signal on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) over a number of slots and Fig.22-23 [0251]-[0254], the UE is receiving from the gNB, a PDCCH C1 2212 & C1 2312 conveying a DCI format/control signal that schedules a PDSCH transmission D1 2214 & D1 2314 for the data signal on the PDSCH);
receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.7 [0126], receiving a number of symbols 720 that include a symbol for DCI transmissions and DMRS in respective PDCCHs 730 and four symbols for data transmissions in respective PDSCHs 740 and Fig.9 [0143], considering a presence of DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions),
decode the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.19 [0236][0238], the UE is decoding control signal on the PDCCH and the DMRS symbol and Fig.4A-B [0117], the UE is using the DMRS symbols to demodulate the DCI signal and Fig.28 [0280][0287]); and
obtain the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the one
or more DMRS symbols (Fig.24 [0258], obtain from the gNB, DMRS associated with PDSCH reception in the one or more determined DMRS slot symbols and Fig.24 [0117]-[0119], receiving from the gNB one or more of multiple types of demodulation RS DMRS in the BW of a respective PDSCH for DMRS symbols).
Even though Papasakellariou discloses wherein receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Islam teaches wherein receive one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.4 [0060], at 408 receiving at least one of the numbers of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbols from the base station 402 based on a number of symbols placed/occupied by the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH for channel estimation; the base station 402 may change the number of DM-RS symbols dynamically based on information=PDSCH (for channel estimation) obtained by the base statin 402 at any particular moment e.g., whenever the base station decided to change since there may be two DM-RS symbols in a subframe, one of the two DM-RS symbols may be placed at the beginning of PDSCH, and the other DM-RS symbol may be placed in the middle of PDSCH and Fig.4 [0058], DM-RS symbols may be inserted in PDSCH or PUSCH for channel estimation and Fig.1 [0046], at step 198 base station 102 is configured to dynamically convey information of DM-RS to UE 104); and
obtain the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the one
or more DMRS symbols (Fig.4 [0060][0061], at 410 obtaining from the base station 402 the data signal on the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH, based on the determined at least one of the numbers of the DM-RS symbols and at least in part on the PDCCH e.g., conveyed to the UE via PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou to incorporate the teaching of Islam in order to provide an improved spectral efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to receive at least one of the numbers of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbols from the base station 402 based on a number of symbols placed/occupied by the PDSCH and obtain from the base station 402 the data signal on the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH, based on the determined at least one of the numbers of the DM-RS symbols and at least in part on the PDCCH e.g., conveyed to the UE via PDCCH as taught by Islam to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou to provide an improving capacity of the access network. (Islam, Fig.1-2 [0042], Fig.1 [0046], Fig.4 [0058], Fig.4 [0060] and Fig.4 [0061])
However, Papasakellariou and Islam do not explicitly disclose a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH (Fig.3a-b page 4 lines 34-47, the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDCCH information and the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDSCH information are included in the OFDM symbol positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou and Islam to incorporate the teaching of Li in order to provide an improved transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDCCH information and the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDSCH information which are included in the OFDM symbol positions as taught by Li to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou and Islam to provide for improving the efficiency of information transmission. (Li, Fig.3a-b page 4 lines 34-47 and Fig.4a-c page 5 lines 48-54)
Regarding claim 9, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH (Fig.16 [0219], one or more symbols of the PDCCH transmissions are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH transmission), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) (Fig.15 [0204], receive the DCI control signal on the PDCCH and scheduling the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) manner).
Regarding claim 10, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Islam further discloses the PDCCH and the PDSCH occupy a single symbol (Fig.3 [0052], the PDCCH and the PDSCH occupy a single OFDM symbol), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during the single symbol (Fig.4 [0060], the processing circuitry of the UE is further configured to receive the DMRS during the single DM-RS symbol).
Regarding claim 11, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 10 as stated above wherein Islam further discloses the DMRS includes a PDCCH DMRS and a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.7A [0069], the DM-RS includes a PDCCH DMRS and a PDSCH DMRS), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the PDCCH DMRS and the PDSCH DMRS during the single symbol (Fig.7A-B [0069]-[0070], receiving the PDCCH DMRS and the PDSCH DMRS during the single DM-RS symbol; Fig.8A [0071], Fig.9A [0073] and Fig.10A [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the DMRS during a second symbol of the PDSCH transmission (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], receiving the one or more DMRS symbols during a second slot symbol of the PDSCH transmission), wherein the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.15 [0143], the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 13, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive the control signal on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during a first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap (Fig.1-2 [0068], receive the DCI control signal conveying on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap; Fig.13 [0183], Fig.15 [0201]); and
receive the DMRS during the first symbol using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], transmitting the DCI and the DMRS during the first slot symbol 540 using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources and Fig.9 [0153], a plurality set of time/frequency resources used for PDCCH transmissions), wherein the DMRS
includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], the DCI or DMRS during the first slot symbols includes a PDSCH DMRS and Fig.15 [0143], the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 15, Papasakellariou discloses wherein a method for a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1&3 [0057], user equipment (UEs) 111-116 in 5G communication system), comprising:
receiving a control signal, from a base station, on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig.15 [0201], at step 1510 the UE is receiving from the gNB, a DCI format/control signal on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a data signal on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) over a number of slots and Fig.22-23 [0251]-[0254], the UE is receiving from the gNB, a PDCCH C1 2212 & C1 2312 conveying a DCI format/control signal that schedules a PDSCH transmission D1 2214 & D1 2314 for the data signal on the PDSCH);
receiving one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the
base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.7 [0126], receiving a number of symbols 720 that include a symbol for DCI transmissions and DMRS in respective PDCCHs 730 and four symbols for data transmissions in respective PDSCHs 740 and Fig.9 [0143], considering a presence of DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions),
decoding the control signal on the PDCCH and the one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.19 [0236][0238], the UE is decoding control signal on the PDCCH and the DMRS symbol and Fig.4A-B [0117], the UE is using the DMRS symbols to demodulate the DCI signal and Fig.28 [0280][0287]); and
obtaining the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the
one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.24 [0258], obtain from the gNB, DMRS associated with PDSCH reception in the one or more determined DMRS slot symbols and Fig.24 [0117]-[0119], receiving from the gNB one or more of multiple types of demodulation RS DMRS in the BW of a respective PDSCH for DMRS symbols).
Even though Papasakellariou discloses wherein receiving one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Islam teaches wherein receiving one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols, from the base station, based on a number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.4 [0060], at 408 receiving at least one of the numbers of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbols from the base station 402 based on a number of symbols placed/occupied by the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH for channel estimation; the base station 402 may change the number of DM-RS symbols dynamically based on information=PDSCH (for channel estimation) obtained by the base statin 402 at any particular moment e.g., whenever the base station decided to change since there may be two DM-RS symbols in a subframe, one of the two DM-RS symbols may be placed at the beginning of PDSCH, and the other DM-RS symbol may be placed in the middle of PDSCH and Fig.4 [0058], DM-RS symbols may be inserted in PDSCH or PUSCH for channel estimation and Fig.1 [0046], at step 198 base station 102 is configured to dynamically convey information of DM-RS to UE 104); and
obtaining the data signal on the PDSCH based at least in part on the PDCCH and the
one or more DMRS symbols (Fig.4 [0060][0061], at 410 obtaining from the base station 402 the data signal on the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH, the determined at least one of the numbers of the DM-RS symbols and at least in part on the PDCCH e.g., conveyed to the UE via PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou to incorporate the teaching of Islam in order to provide an improved spectral efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to receive at least one of the numbers of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) symbols from the base station 402 based on a number of symbols placed/occupied by the PDSCH and obtain from the base station 402 the data signal on the PDSCH, “information”= PDSCH, based on the determined at least one of the numbers of the DM-RS symbols and at least in part on the PDCCH e.g., conveyed to the UE via PDCCH as taught by Islam to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou to provide an improving capacity of the access network. (Islam, Fig.1-2 [0042], Fig.1 [0046], Fig.4 [0058], Fig.4 [0060] and Fig.4 [0061])
However, Papasakellariou and Islam do not explicitly disclose a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein a position of the symbols occupied by the PDSCH, and a position of symbols occupied by the PDCCH (Fig.3a-b page 4 lines 34-47, the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDCCH information and the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDSCH information are included in the OFDM symbol positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou and Islam to incorporate the teaching of Li in order to provide an improved transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDCCH information and the OFDM symbol position occupied by the PDSCH information which are included in the OFDM symbol positions as taught by Li to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou and Islam to provide for improving the efficiency of information transmission. (Li, Fig.3a-b page 4 lines 34-47 and Fig.4a-c page 5 lines 48-54)
Regarding claim 16, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses one or more symbols of the PDCCH are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH (Fig.16 [0219], one or more symbols of the PDCCH transmissions are overlapping in time with one or more symbols of the PDSCH transmission), and wherein the method further comprises receiving the control signal on the PDCCH and the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) (Fig.15 [0204], receive the DCI control signal on the PDCCH and scheduling the data signal on the PDSCH using frequency division multiplexing (FDM) manner).
Regarding claim 17, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Islam further discloses the PDCCH and the PDSCH occupy a single symbol (Fig.3 [0052], the PDCCH and the PDSCH occupy a single OFDM symbol), and wherein the method further comprises receiving the DMRS during the single symbol (Fig.4 [0060], the processing circuitry of the UE is further configured to receive the DMRS during the single DM-RS symbol).
Regarding claim 18, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Islam further discloses the DMRS includes a PDCCH DMRS and a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.7A [0069], the DM-RS includes a PDCCH DMRS and a PDSCH DMRS), and wherein the method further comprises receiving the PDCCH DMRS and the PDSCH DMRS during the single symbol (Fig.7A-B [0069]-[0070], receiving the PDCCH DMRS and the PDSCH DMRS during the single DM-RS symbol; Fig.8A [0071], Fig.9A [0073] and Fig.10A [0075]).
Regarding claim 19, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses receiving the control signal on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap (Fig.1-2 [0068], receive the DCI control signal conveying on the PDCCH using a first set of frequency resources during the first symbol in which the PDCCH and the PDSCH overlap; Fig.13 [0183], Fig.15 [0201]); and
receiving the DMRS during the first symbol using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], transmitting the DCI and the DMRS during the first slot symbol 540 using a second set of frequency resources different than the first set of frequency resources and Fig.9 [0153], a plurality set of time/frequency resources used for PDCCH transmissions), wherein the DMRS
includes a PDSCH DMRS (Fig.4-5 [0117]-[0119], the DCI or DMRS during the first slot symbols includes a PDSCH DMRS and Fig.15 [0143], the DMRS includes a PDSCH DMRS in slot symbols used for PDSCH transmissions).
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou [hereinafter as Papasakellariou], US 2017/0367046 A1 in view of Islam et al. [hereinafter as Islam], US 2017/0302495 A1 further in view of Li et al. [hereinafter as Li], WO 2013166986 A1 further in view of Chen et al. [hereinafter as Chen], US 2016/0270059 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.18-19 [0232]-[0233][0236], determining a multiplexing of the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH transmission, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH);
wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme (Fig.18-19&24 [0233][0236][0258], receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing).
Even though Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclose the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH; wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.4-5 [0050]-[0052], determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS symbols, the control region PDCCH, and the data region PDSCH, based on the number of OFDM symbol periods occupied by the PDSCH; Fig.3 [0038]);
wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme (Fig.4-5 [0052]-[0053], receiving the DMRS symbols is based on the determined multiplexing scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou, Islam and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chen in order to provide an improved link transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS symbols, the control region PDCCH, and the data region PDSCH, based on the number of OFDM symbol periods occupied by the PDSCH and receiving the DMRS symbols is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme as taught by Chen to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, Islam and Li to provide for improving efficient multiplexing of low latency. (Chen, Fig.3 [0038], Fig.4-5 [0050]-[0052], Fig.4-5 [0052]-[0053] and Fig.4-5 [0056])
Regarding claim 14, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.18-19 [0232]-[0233][0236], determining a multiplexing of the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH transmission, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH);
wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme (Fig.18-19&24 [0233][0236][0258], receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing).
Even though Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclose the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH; wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.4-5 [0050]-[0052], determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS symbols, the control region PDCCH, and the data region PDSCH, based on the number of OFDM symbol periods occupied by the PDSCH; Fig.3 [0038]);
wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme (Fig.4-5 [0052]-[0053], receiving the DMRS symbols is based on the determined multiplexing scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou, Islam and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chen in order to provide an improved link transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS symbols, the control region PDCCH, and the data region PDSCH, based on the number of OFDM symbol periods occupied by the PDSCH and receiving the DMRS symbols is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme as taught by Chen to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, Islam and Li to provide for improving efficient multiplexing of low latency. (Chen, Fig.3 [0038], Fig.4-5 [0050]-[0052], Fig.4-5 [0052]-[0053] and Fig.4-5 [0056])
Regarding claim 20, Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclosed all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Papasakellariou further discloses determining a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.18-19 [0232]-[0233][0236], determining a multiplexing of the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH transmission, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH); wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme (Fig.18-19&24 [0233][0236][0258], receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing).
Even though Papasakellariou, Islam and Li disclose wherein determining a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH; wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches wherein determining a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS, the PDCCH, and the PDSCH, based on the number of symbols occupied by the PDSCH (Fig.4-5 [0050]-[0052], determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS symbols, the control region PDCCH, and the data region PDSCH, based on the number of OFDM symbol periods occupied by the PDSCH; Fig.3 [0038]);
wherein receiving the DMRS is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme (Fig.4-5 [0052]-[0053], receiving the DMRS symbols is based on the determined multiplexing scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Papasakellariou, Islam and Li to incorporate the teaching of Chen in order to provide an improved link transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to determine a multiplexing scheme for the DMRS symbols, the control region PDCCH, and the data region PDSCH, based on the number of OFDM symbol periods occupied by the PDSCH and receiving the DMRS symbols is further based on the determined multiplexing scheme as taught by Chen to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, Islam and Li to provide for improving efficient multiplexing of low latency. (Chen, Fig.3 [0038], Fig.4-5 [0050]-[0052], Fig.4-5 [0052]-[0053] and Fig.4-5 [0056])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deogun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0199343 A1) teaches Method and System for Supporting Wide-Band and Multiple Numerologies in Wireless Communication System.
Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0279218 A1) teaches Secondary Base Station Change.
Ko et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0150110 A1) teaches Method and Apparatus for Receiving a Synchronization Signal.
John Wilson et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0220398 A1) teaches Multi-Link New Radio (NR)-Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Design.
Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0349046 A1) teaches Terminal Apparatus, Base Station Apparatus, Communication Method, and Integrated Circuit.
Seo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0103941 A1) teaches Method for Transmitting or Receiving Signal in Wireless Communication System Apparatus Therefor.
Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0294153 A1) teaches Method and Apparatus for Reporting Channel Status Information in a Wireless Communication System.
Chou et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0183551 A1) teaches Method for Signal Bandwidth part (BWP) Indicators and Radio Communication Equipment using the Same.
Gao et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0131430 A1) teaches Downlink Data Repeat Transmission Method and Device.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414