DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The office acknowledges the following papers:
Claims and remarks filed on 4/20/2026.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 & 2) as being anticipated by Nathella et al. (U.S. 2022/0413866).
As per claim 1:
Nathella disclosed an apparatus comprising:
decoding circuitry configured to decode instructions defined according to an instruction set architecture, the instruction set architecture supporting a block memory instruction identifying a block of memory to which a predetermined type of memory operation comprising a demand memory access request is to be performed in response to the block memory instruction (Nathella: Figures 1-2 and 12 elements 4, 54, and 200, paragraphs 21, 54, 56, 64, 69-70, 82-83, 88, 106, and 150)(The decoder decodes range prefetch instructions (i.e. block memory instructions). The range prefetch instruction uses a start address, range size, and stride parameter to identify a block of memory comprising a plurality of specified ranges to prefetch into a data cache. The range prefetch instruction also includes a type parameter hint that indicates if the data is expected to be accessed by load instructions, store instructions, or instruction fetches. Subsequent future load and store instructions (i.e. demand memory access requests – see specification page 9 lines 26-30) are performed in response to the range prefetch instruction that prefetches data to be accessed within the data cache.);
processing circuitry configured to perform data processing in response to the decoded instructions (Nathella: Figures 1 and 10 elements 6, 10-12, 30, and 34, paragraphs 64, 69-70, and 139)(The processing and prefetch circuitry process decoded instructions.), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the predetermined type of memory operation in response to the block memory instruction (Nathella: Figures 1-2 and 12 elements 12-14, 54, and 200, paragraphs 21, 54, 56, 64, 69-70, 82-83, 88, and 150)(Subsequent future load and store instructions (i.e. demand memory access requests – see specification page 9 lines 26-30) are performed by the LD/ST unit in response to the range prefetch instruction that prefetches data to be accessed within the data cache.); and
block prefetch circuitry configured to generate a prefetch request, the prefetch request comprising a request for data to be prefetched into a cache (Nathella: Figures 1, 10, and 12-13 elements 30, 34, 38-40, 82, 90-92, 200-202, 212, 215, and 217, paragraphs 17, 55, 69-70, 87, 106, 139-140, and 150-154)(The range prefetcher is used to generate prefetch requests for decoded range prefetch instructions to prefetch data/instructions into a data/instruction cache.); in which:
the block prefetch circuitry is configured to:
determine whether the decoding circuitry has detected the block memory instruction in a sequence of decoded instructions (Nathella: Figures 1-2, 10, and 12 elements 4, 38-40, 54, and 200, paragraphs 21, 56, 64, 70, 106, and 150)(The decoder decodes range prefetch instructions (i.e. block memory instructions). The prefetcher receiving micro-architectural information and prefetch hints from the decoder determines that a range prefetch instruction has been decoded.); and
in response to determining that the decoding circuitry has detected the block memory instruction identifying the block of memory to which the predetermined type of memory operation is to be performed, generate a block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests, each specifying a memory address between a start address and an end address of the block of memory identified by the block memory instruction (Nathella: Figures 1, 3, 7, 10, and 12-13 elements 34, 82, 90, 202, 212, 215, and 217, paragraphs 47, 51, 69-70, 106-112, 127, 139-140, and 150-154)(Prefetch requests are generated based on the received decoded range prefetch instruction. Initial and subsequent prefetch requests are between the range start address and range end address of the range prefetch instruction. The range start address, range end address, range size, stride, and count values identify a block of memory for the prefetch operation to be performed on.).
As per claim 2:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the block prefetch circuitry is configured to generate at least a first prefetch request of the block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests before any demand memory access request has been received from the processing circuitry in response to execution of the block memory instruction (Nathella: Figures 3, 7, 10, and 12-13 elements 80-82, 90-94, 202, and 212, paragraphs 106-108, 127-128, 139-140, 142-143, and 150-154)(Decoding the range prefetch instruction generates an initial prefetch request comprising an initial portion of the specified range of the instruction. Suppressing training on range prefetch instructions ensures that a prefetch request generated for a range prefetch instruction is processed prior to a demand prefetch from the hardware prefetcher.).
As per claim 3:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, comprising pattern-analysis prefetch circuitry (Nathella: Figure 10 element 80, paragraphs 139-140) configured to:
maintain training data indicative of an observed pattern of memory accesses (Nathella: Figure 10 elements 32 and 80, paragraphs 139-140);
generate a pattern-triggered stream of prefetch requests based on the training data (Nathella: Figure 10 elements 32-34 and 80-82, paragraphs 134-135 and 139-140)(The hardware prefetcher generates prefetch requests according to detected memory access patterns.); and
in response to a block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests being generated in respect of the block memory instruction, the pattern-analysis prefetch circuitry is configured to exclude, from the training data, demand memory access requests received from the processing circuitry in response to execution of the block memory instruction (Nathella: Figure 10 elements 32, 80, and 90-94, paragraphs 134-135, 139-140, and 142-143)(Training of the prefetch prediction state of the hardware prefetcher is suppressed on access patterns of range prefetch instructions.).
As per claim 6:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, comprising throttling circuitry configured to enforce a maximum limit on a size difference between a prefetched portion of the block of memory that has been targeted by the block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests and a consumed portion of the block of memory to which at least one demand memory access has been detected as consuming previously prefetched data (Nathella: Figures 3, 10, and 13 elements 34, 90, 214, and 216, paragraphs 44, 49, 108-112, 139-140, and 153-154)(The prefetch circuitry includes logic (i.e. throttling circuitry) to determine if demand accesses are within a distance of a prefetched range portion or end of a range. As long as the demand accesses haven’t exceeded the prefetch distance in either, prefetching is suppressed.).
As per claim 7:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the throttling circuitry is responsive to the size difference reaching the maximum limit to cause the block prefetch circuitry to pause generation of the block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests (Nathella: Figures 3, 10, and 13 elements 34, 90, 214, and 216, paragraphs 44, 49, 108-112, 139-140, and 153-154)(The prefetch circuitry includes logic (i.e. throttling circuitry) to determine if demand accesses are within a distance of a prefetched range portion or end of a range. As long as the demand accesses haven’t exceeded the prefetch distance in either, prefetching is suppressed.).
As per claim 11:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the apparatus comprises scheduling circuitry configured to schedule each of a group of two or more block memory instructions detected by the decoding circuitry, the group of two or more block memory instructions comprising the block memory instruction (Nathella: Figures 1, 5, and 10 elements 4, 34, 82, and 90, paragraphs 64, 119, and 139-140)(The range prefetcher generates prefetch requests for multiple decoded range prefetch instructions over time.); and
the block prefetch circuitry is responsive to the scheduling circuitry scheduling each of the group of two or more block memory instructions within a predetermined time of each other, to generate the block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests for a selected block memory instruction of the group of two or more block memory instructions (Nathella: Figures 1, 5, 10, and 13 elements 4, 34, 82, 90, and 150-154, paragraphs 64, 119, and 139-140)(The range prefetcher generates prefetch requests for multiple decoded range prefetch instructions over time. The prefetch requests for multiple instructions are generated based on initial prefetch requests and prefetch distance.).
As per claim 12:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the selected block memory instruction is the youngest of the group of two or more block memory instructions (Nathella: Figures 1, 5, 10, and 13 elements 4, 34, 82, 90, and 150-154, paragraphs 64, 119, and 139-140)(The range prefetcher generates prefetch requests for multiple decoded range prefetch instructions over time. The prefetch requests for multiple instructions are generated based on initial prefetch requests and prefetch distance. For back to back range prefetch instructions, the younger instruction generates a prefetch requests prior to subsequent prefetch requests for the older instruction based on prefetch distance.).
As per claim 13:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the decoding circuitry is configured to generate a variable number of micro-operations corresponding to the block memory instruction, the variable number being dependent on a size of the block of memory (Nathella: Figures 1, 3, 7, 10, and 12-13 elements 34, 82, 90, 202, 212, 215, and 217, paragraphs 47, 51, 69-70, 106-112, 127, 139-140, and 150-154)(Prefetch requests (i.e. micro-operations) are generated based on the received decoded range prefetch instruction. Initial and subsequent prefetch requests are between the range start address and range end address of the range prefetch instruction. The number of prefetch requests varies based on the prefetch distance D, number of ranges, and the total size of all ranges.).
As per claim 15:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the block memory instruction comprises a prologue block memory instruction, and in response to the prologue block memory instruction, the decoding circuitry is configured to generate control signals to control the processing circuitry to perform the predetermined memory operations up to a memory boundary in the block of memory (Nathella: Figures 1-3 and 13 elements 34 and 212, paragraph 21, 37, 70, 106-107, and 152)(A range prefetch instruction can include a small enough range that is performed by a single prefetch request (i.e. prologue block memory instruction).).
As per claim 19:
Claim 19 essentially recites the same limitations of claim 1. Claim 19 additionally recites the following limitations:
the prefetch request comprising a request for data to be prefetched into a cache corresponding to an address predicted to be accessed in future (Nathella: Figures 1, 3, 7, 10, and 12-13 elements 34, 82, 90, 202, 212, 215, and 217, paragraphs 47, 51, 69-70, 106-112, 127, 139-140, 143, and 150-154)(Prefetch requests are generated based on the received decoded range prefetch instruction. Initial and subsequent prefetch requests are between the range start address and range end address of the range prefetch instruction. The range start address and range end address comprise data/instruction accesses that are predicted to be used in the future.).
As per claim 20:
Claim 20 essentially recites the same limitations of claim 1. Claim 20 additionally recites the following limitations:
the prefetch request comprising a request for data to be prefetched into a cache corresponding to an address predicted to be accessed by the processing circuitry in future (Nathella: Figures 1, 3, 7, 10, and 12-13 elements 34, 82, 90, 202, 212, 215, and 217, paragraphs 47, 51, 69-70, 106-112, 127, 139-140, 143, and 150-154)(Prefetch requests are generated based on the received decoded range prefetch instruction. Initial and subsequent prefetch requests are between the range start address and range end address of the range prefetch instruction. The range start address and range end address comprise data/instruction accesses that are predicted to be used in the future.).
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathella et al. (U.S. 2022/0413866), in view of Official Notice.
As per claim 14:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the block memory instruction is either a memory copy instruction or a memory move instruction (Nathella: Figure 2, paragraphs 21, 82-83, and 88)(The range prefetch instruction (i.e. block memory instruction) moves data into a data/instruction cache (i.e. memory move/copy instruction).); and
the demand memory access request comprises a load operation and a store operation (Nathella: Figures 1-2 and 12 elements 12-14, 54, and 200, paragraphs 21, 54, 56, 64, 69-70, 82-83, 88, and 150)(Subsequent future load and store instructions are performed by the LD/ST unit in response to the range prefetch instruction that prefetches data to be accessed within the data cache. Nathella doesn’t explicitly state that both load operations and store operations are performed on a block of prefetched memory. Official notice is given that programs can overwrite input memory address data with result data for the advantage of reusing memory addresses that are likely already cached. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement performing both load and store operations on the prefetched data brought in by the range prefetch instruction.).
As per claim 16:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry comprises a 6x128 bit vector datapath (Nathella: Figure 1 element 6, paragraph 64)(Official notice is given that processors can include multiple parallel vector units (e.g. 6) operating on 128-bit vector operands for the advantage of increased performance. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement six parallel 128-bit vector execution units in Nathella.).
As per claim 17:
Claim 17 essentially recites the same limitations of claim 1. Claim 17 additionally recites the following limitations:
at least one packaged chip; at least one system component; and a board, wherein the at least one packaged chip and the at least one system component are assembled on the board (Nathella: Figure 1 element 2, paragraph 64)(Official notice is given that processors can be included on circuit boards with system components, such as accelerators, memory, etc., for the advantage of increased processing capacity. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the processing apparatus of Nathella on a circuit board with other processing components.).
As per claim 18:
Nathella disclosed a chip-containing product comprising the system of claim 17, wherein the system is assembled on a further board with at least one other product component (Nathella: Figure 1 element 2, paragraph 64)(Official notice is given that processors can be included on multiple circuit boards with system components, such as accelerators, memory, etc., for the advantage of increased processing capacity. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the processing apparatus of Nathella on multiple circuit boards with other processing components.).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathella et al. (U.S. 2022/0413866), further in view of Gilbert (U.S. 2014/0208039) and in view of Official Notice.
As per claim 4:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 1.
Nathella failed to teach wherein the block prefetch circuitry is configured to stop generating the block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests in response to a flush signal indicative of the block memory instruction, or an associated block memory instruction specifying the block of memory, being flushed.
However, Gilbert combined with Nathella disclosed wherein the block prefetch circuitry is configured to stop generating the block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests in response to a flush signal indicative of the block memory instruction, or an associated block memory instruction specifying the block of memory, being flushed (Gilbert: Figure 2A elements 210 and 214, paragraphs 3, 8, and 40)(Nathella: Figures 5 and 10 element 82, paragraphs 119 and 139)(Nathella disclosed including range prefetch instructions outside loops. Gilbert disclosed cancelling pending prefetch requests upon loop exits. The combination allows for pending prefetch requests for range prefetch instructions to be cancelled upon exiting loops. Official notice is given that loop exits can occur from branch mispredictions, which allows for program execution to continue on the correct path. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that loop exits in Nathella results from branch mispredictions that generate flush signals for the incorrect execution path. In view of the above official notice, a flush is generated from an incorrectly predicted loop exit and results in cancelling pending prefetch requests for the range prefetch instruction.).
The advantage of cancelling prefetch requests from branch mispredictions is that cache pollution can be reduced (Gilbert: Paragraph 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the prefetch cancellation method of Gilbert into Nathella for the above advantage.
As per claim 5:
Nathella and Gilbert disclosed the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the block prefetch circuitry comprises a block-instruction queue configured to track a plurality of blocks of memory specified by a plurality of block memory instructions detected by the decoding circuitry, each of the plurality of blocks of memory being associated with an identifier (Nathella: Figures 5 and 10 element 92, paragraphs 119 and 139-140)(The range prefetch prediction state shows multiple entries for range prefetch instructions. Nathella gives an example of multiple range prefetch instructions being used for a single loop. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store each range prefetch instruction’s parameters at the same time within the range prefetch prediction state. Additionally, official notice is given that tables can store data relating to multiple instructions and use instruction IDs to differentiate them for the advantage of ensuring data for multiple instructions isn’t lost during processing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store the state of multiple range prefetch instructions within the range prefetch prediction state table.); and the flush signal comprises the identifier associated with the block of memory (Gilbert: Figure 2A elements 210 and 214, paragraphs 3, 8, and 40)(Nathella: Figures 5 and 10 elements 82 and 92, paragraphs 119 and 139)(The combination allows for pending prefetch requests for range prefetch instructions to be cancelled upon exiting loops. In view of the above official notice, the combination allows for the flush signal to indicate which range prefetch instructions are to be removed from the range prefetch prediction state table associated with the loop exit.).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathella et al. (U.S. 2022/0413866), further in view of Karve et al. (U.S. 2020/0142698).
As per claim 8:
Nathella disclosed the apparatus of claim 6.
Nathella failed to teach wherein the throttling circuitry comprises a completion counter, the value of the completion counter being indicative of an amount of data in the block of memory for which prefetch requests have been generated but which has not yet been consumed by at least one demand memory access.
However, Karve combined with Nathella disclosed wherein the throttling circuitry comprises a completion counter, the value of the completion counter being indicative of an amount of data in the block of memory for which prefetch requests have been generated but which has not yet been consumed by at least one demand memory access (Karve: Figure 7A-B elements 560 and 590, paragraphs 87-91)(Nathella: Figures 3, 10, and 13 elements 34, 90, 214, and 216, paragraphs 44, 49, 108-112, 139-140, and 153-154)(Nathella disclosed prefetch circuitry including logic (i.e. throttling circuitry) to determine if demand accesses are within a distance of a prefetched range portion or end of a range, but doesn’t explicitly specify how this is implemented. Karve disclosed prefetch utilization counters (i.e. completion counter) that decrement on prefetch requests and increment on prefetch cache line hits. The combination implements the prefetch utilization counter of Karve to track the prefetch distance of Nathella to selectively enable/disable prefetching.).
Nathella disclosed that prefetch requests are enabled within a certain distance of prefetch data use, but doesn’t explicitly detail how the prefetch distance is tracked. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by this lack of teaching to find the Karve reference that tracks prefetch utilization. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the prefetch utilization counter of Karve within Nathella for the advantage of implementing the tracking of prefetch distance.
As per claim 9:
Nathella and Karve disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the throttling circuitry is configured to update the value of the completion counter in response to:
the block prefetch circuitry generating a prefetch request of the block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests (Karve: Figure 7A-B elements 560 and 590, paragraphs 87-91)(Nathella: Figures 3, 10, and 13 elements 34, 90, 214, and 216, paragraphs 44, 49, 108-112, 139-140, and 153-154)(The combination implements the prefetch utilization counter of Karve to track the prefetch distance of Nathella to selectively enable/disable prefetching. The prefetch utilization counter is decremented on issuing prefetch requests.); and
a demand memory access issued by the processing circuitry consuming prefetched data (Karve: Figure 7A-B elements 560 and 590, paragraphs 87-91)(Nathella: Figures 3, 10, and 13 elements 34, 90, 214, and 216, paragraphs 44, 49, 108-112, 139-140, and 153-154)(The combination implements the prefetch utilization counter of Karve to track the prefetch distance of Nathella to selectively enable/disable prefetching. The prefetch utilization counter is incremented on load demands hitting prefetched data in the data cache.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathella et al. (U.S. 2022/0413866), in view of Karve et al. (U.S. 2020/0142698), further in view of Official Notice.
As per claim 10:
Nathella and Karve disclosed the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the throttling circuitry is configured to reset the completion counter in response to a determination that the value of the completion counter has not been updated for a period of time longer than a predetermined threshold time (Karve: Figure 7A-B elements 560 and 590, paragraphs 87-91)(Nathella: Figures 3, 10, and 13 elements 34, 90, 214, and 216, paragraphs 44, 49, 108-112, 139-140, and 153-154)(The combination implements the prefetch utilization counter of Karve to track the prefetch distance of Nathella to selectively enable/disable prefetching. Official notice is given that context switches can occur after a threshold number of stall cycles and that context switches reset processor counters for the advantage of increased performance and avoiding transferring processing state between contexts. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement resetting the prefetch utilization counter on a predetermined stall threshold.).
Response to Arguments
The arguments presented by Applicant in the response, received on 4/20/2026 are considered persuasive.
Applicant argues for claims 1, 17, and 19-20:
“However, to advance the prosecution of this application, the amended claim wording makes this interpretation untenable. In particular, the range prefetch instruction of Nathella cannot be mapped onto the claimed "block memory instruction" because there is no demand memory access request performed in response to the range prefetch instruction. The range prefetch instruction is described to cause prefetch requests which are clearly distinguished from demand access requests. Indeed, paragraph [0068] discloses that demand access requests are issued based on addresses specified by load/store instructions. These cause data to be loaded into or stored from the registers (see paragraph [0064]). Hence, since prefetching is limited to moving data into a cache, a prefetch cannot be considered a demand access request.
Nathella differentiates a demand access request from a prefetch in paragraph [0018], where a prefetch instruction (such as the range prefetch instruction) is described to provide an indication of future intent to access an address. The actual access is then performed in response to that later demand access.
For the same reasons, the Examiner's interpretation also means that Nathella fails to disclose that the "processing circuitry is configured to perform the predetermined type of memory operation in response to the block memory instruction." As above, Nathella discloses that the prefetching is performed by the prefetch circuitry, whereas demand accesses are performed by the load/store unit. See, for example, Figure 1 showing the demand accesses between LD/ST 12 and the L1D$ 14, whereas prefetch requests 34 are issued separately.
Accordingly, Nathella's range prefetch instruction cannot reasonably be mapped onto the claimed block memory instruction: "a block memory instruction identifying a block of memory to which a predetermined type of memory operation comprising a demand memory access request is to be performed in response to the block memory instruction." As a result, Nathella's range prefetch instruction also cannot reasonably be mapped onto "in response to determining that the decoding circuitry has detected the block memory instruction identifying the block of memory to which the predetermined type of memory operation is to be performed, generate a block-instruction-triggered stream of prefetch requests, each specifying a memory address between a start address and an end address of the block of memory identified by the block memory instruction," recited in claim 1.”
This argument is found to be persuasive for the following reason. The examiner agrees that range prefetch instruction cannot be mapped to both the block memory instruction and the demand memory access request as claimed. However, a new ground of rejection has been given due to the amendment.
Conclusion
The following is text cited from 37 CFR 1.111(c): In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
/JACOB PETRANEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183