DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., a descriptive title that distinguishes the invention and is not a generic or general description). The new title should take into account any amendments to the claims to best indicate the claimed invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/23/24 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mishima et al. (US 2020/0099642).
Regarding claim 1, Mishima teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to execute each step a method of controlling an information processing apparatus (¶ 0005 and ¶¶ 0023-0029, Figs. 1-3), the method comprising:
acquiring information regarding a file that is a print target, from an external storage (image to be printed posted; ¶ 0065, Fig. 8 S208);
transmitting and receiving information regarding printing by communicating with a server that provides a cloud print service (post related to print command; ¶ 0062, Fig. 8 S202);
generating, using the information acquired from the external storage and the server (process performed by chatbot server 30; ¶ 0060, Figs. 8-9), a screen in which it is possible to use a first function for performing printing through chatting with the cloud print service (“I want to print”; ¶ 0062, Fig. 9) and a second function for selecting a file to be printed from a list of files that are print targets and performing printing (“see image” to select from three image A to C; ¶ 0073, Fig. 9), and providing the screen to a client computer (user accesses chat room from user terminal 10; ¶ 0060);
executing printing using the cloud print service in accordance with print settings made on the client computer via the first function (perform printing according to print settings; ¶¶ 0065-0068, Fig. 8 S210-S214); and
executing printing using the cloud print service in accordance with print settings made on the client computer via the second function (image selected from images A to C are printed according to print setting; ¶¶ 0071-0073, Fig. 8 S220-S224 and Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein in the screen, objects for starting the first function and the second function are operably displayed in at least one of a first area in which a message is posted and a second area different from the first area (Chat room X; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the screen is a screen of a Web conference system that has a chat function (chat room; ¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 4, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: performing print setting in accordance with a user operation performed via a chat screen for chatting with the cloud print service (print settings; ¶¶ 0065-0068, Fig. 8 S210-S214).
Regarding claim 5, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein in the chat screen, it is possible to post a file that is a print target (image posted to chat; ¶ 0065, Fig. 8 S208 and Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 5, wherein in a case where the file that is a print target is posted in the chat screen, a setting screen for performing print setting is operably displayed (perform print setting; ¶ 0066, Fig. 8 S210-S212 and Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: causing the client computer to display a list screen in which the acquired file that is a print target is selectably displayed (images A to C are collectively displayed; ¶¶ 0071-0073, Fig. 9)
Regarding claim 9, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: displaying an object for performing print setting of a predetermined file in a case where the predetermined file is selected from the list screen (setting history; ¶ 0073, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: causing a setting screen for performing print setting to be displayed in a case where the object for performing print setting of the predetermined file is selected (setting history; ¶ 0073, Fig. 9), and performing print setting in accordance with a user operation performed on the setting screen (print process repeat after image is selected; ¶ 0073).
Claims 11 and 12 recite similar limitations as claim 1 thus, arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claims 11 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima as applied to claims 1, 4, and 5 above, and further in view of Siddarth et al. (US 2022/0337712).
Regarding claim 7, Mishima teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 5, wherein the file that is a print target is posted in the chat screen (image to be printed is posted in chat room; ¶ 0065), and, but does not explicitly teach in a case where the file is in a file format that is not supported by the cloud print service, a message indicating an error is displayed.
However, Siddarth teaches in a case where the file is in a file format that is not supported by the cloud print service, a message indicating an error is displayed (a job having unsupported file format is automatically cancelled and the user interface provides a message informing the user about the reason of automatic cancellation; ¶ 0061).
Mishima and Siddarth are in the same field of endeavor of methods and systems for printing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the methods and systems of Mishima to provide an error message when a file format is not supported as taught by Siddarth. The combination improves the methods and systems by allowing a user to take appropriate action to correct the error.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tomihisa (US 2021/0055897) teaches image processing system includes a chat application service, a server, and image processing apparatuses.
/KENT YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681