DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are currently presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/274,611, filed on 9 March 2021.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 1 of the Specification, at lines 1-4, identifies a United States Patent Application. Applicant is encouraged to review the status of the parent Application, and to provide the current status of that Application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The examiner notes at least two references identified at page 2, lines 9-10, at least one of which does not appear to be listed on the Information Disclosure Statements filed 23 August 2024 or 8 April 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an “equipping unit” in claim 1; and “engagement means” in claim 1. The equipping unit appears to be described in the Specification at page 12, first full paragraph. The engagement means appear to be described in the Specification at page 9, fifth full paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the pronoun “they” at line 3. It is difficult to determine to which previously recited claim element the pronoun refers. Applicant could overcome this rejection by reciting the claimed elements each time they are to be referenced.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “at least one” in line 1, and the claim also recites “in particular one to four” at lines 1-2, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2004/0074439 to Fort et al. (hereinafter “Fort”).
Regarding claim 1, Fort discloses a guide unit (10) for transporting tampon applicators on an encircling guide arrangement, in particular on an encircling guide arrangement of an apparatus for equipping tampon applicators with tampons, the guide unit comprising: an applicator receptacle (24) for receiving a tampon applicator (applicator; see paragraph [0019]), wherein the applicator receptacle comprises means for holding (aperture, see Fig. 2) the tampon applicator in the applicator receptacle (24) in positive-fitting and/or force fitting fashion (whether an object is force fit by apertures depends on both the dimensions of the apertures and of the object received therein); b. a guide element (region at portion 100; see Fig. 2) with engagement means (curved portion between surfaces at 108 and 102; see Fig. 3) for the supported displacement of the guide unit on the encircling guide arrangement (12); and c. at least one driving projection (16) for operative connection of the guide unit to a drive and/or an equipping unit (14). The examiner notes that the tampon applicator is not understood to be positively required or included in the guide unit as claimed, nor are the drive and/or equipping unit.
Regarding claim 2, Fort discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Fort discloses that the applicator receptacle (24) is mounted displaceably (compare Figs. 3-5), and in particular is mounted so as to be displaceable in a radial direction of the encircling guide arrangement (12; entire body is understood to be movable relative to encircling guide arrangement), with respect to the guide element (region at portion 100).
Regarding claim 3, Fort discloses a holding cassette (24) for receiving a tampon applicator (applicator; see paragraph [0019]), the holding cassette comprising an applicator receptacle (portion of 24 including apertures; see Fig. ) which comprises means (apertures, unnumbered) for holding the tampon applicator (applicator) in the applicator receptacle in positive-fitting and/or force-fitting fashion (whether an object is force fit by apertures depends on both the dimensions of the apertures and of the object received therein, such that applicator dimensions could be selected to force fit within illustrated apertures without modification of the apertures). The examiner notes that the tampon applicator is not understood to be positively required or included in the guide unit as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Fort discloses the limitations of claim 3, and further Fort discloses comprising at least one, in particular one to four, holding bulges (each aperture shown in Fig. 2 with radially inward extending portion, fairly reading on a holding bulge) which extend into a recess (apertures) of the applicator receptacle such that they are capable of forming a positive-fitting and/or force-fitting connection with inserted tampon applicator (whether an object is force fit by apertures depends on both the dimensions of the apertures and of the object received therein, such that applicator dimensions could be selected to force fit within illustrated apertures without modification of the apertures).
Regarding claim 5, Fort discloses the limitations of claim 3, and further Fort discloses for receiving a tampon applicator (applicator; see paragraph [0019]), wherein the applicator receptacle comprises one to four holding bulges (each aperture shown in Fig. 2 with radially inward extending portion, fairly reading on a holding bulge).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0165309 to Binner et al. is directed to an apparatus for assembling tampons with applicators.
/D.C.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3726
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 10/16/2025