Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grumstrup (6895351) in view of Zhuang et al (20080308157).
Regarding claim(s) 1, in making and/or using the device of Grumstrup for determining a correction value (Step 224) for a regulating device 10 for a regulating valve 12, wherein the regulating valve regulates a fluid flow through a chamber 20-58, one would perform the steps of placing a shut-off element 32 of the regulating valve in mutually different positions relative to a throughflow opening 22 for a fluid by an actuator 14 of the regulating valve using the regulating device; b) providing an encoder 50-55, wherein each position of the shut-off element corresponds to an encoder value (command position of valve) of the encoder; determining the correction value (step 224) from the encoder value.
Grumstrup discloses valve position measuring by position sensor 44,104 but fails to disclose measuring a pressure value with a pressure sensor in mutually different positions of the shut-off element; d) identifying a position of the shut-off element at which a maximum of the pressure values is measured as a minimum throughflow position of the shut-off element. Zhuang teaches valve position sensing by means of measuring a pressure value (Para 19) with a pressure sensor 104,109 in mutually different positions (Para 20) of the shut-off element; d) identifying a position of the shut-off element at which a maximum of the pressure values is measured (step 212) as a minimum throughflow (closed) position of the shut-off element (step 214).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Grumstrup with valve position sensing by means of measuring pressure as taught by Zhuang in order to enable cost savings on position sensors by using pressure sensor to measure both pressure and valve position.
The correction valve determined by Grumstrup would read on the valve movement as such would also be applicable to valve moving to closed (minimum flow of zero) position.
As to claim 2, in Grumstrup as modified (as shown by Zhuang) the pressure value (upstream and downstream pressure values of valve) is representative of the fluid in the chamber.
As to claim 4, Grumstrup discloses the system used in a gas distribution system, which inherently uses gas pumps (col 1 line 35, compression of gas).
As to claim 5, Grumstrup discloses arranging the regulating valve between upstream section (which would have pressurized source, compressor pump) and the chamber 20-58.
As to claims 7, 8, Grumstrup fails to disclose the valve as a pivotable butterfly valve or pivotably sliding disk valve. However, Official Notice is taken that using a pivotable butterfly valve or pivotably sliding disk valve, for the purpose of adjustable valve control are widely known and notoriously old in the art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ pivotable butterfly valve or pivotably sliding disk valve in the device of Grumstrup for the purpose of adjustable valve control as is widely known and notoriously old in the art.
As to claim 9, the shut-off element 32 is mounted for displacement by the actuator.
As to claim 10, the regulating valve has a starting position (at step 214) and the shut-off element is placed, starting from the starting position of the shut-off element, in mutually different positions relative to the throughflow opening for the fluid flow for performing the method (up to step 226).
As to claim 12, Grom discloses method for regulating the position of a shut-off element 32 of a regulating valve by a regulating device 10, the method comprising determining a position of the shut-off element which is to be activated in each case by the regulating device (desired percentage opening during normal operation), taking into account the correction value (correction factor 224 would necessarily be used in normal conditions to get desired flow) determined with the method as claimed in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 6, 11 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753