DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2025, 05/16/2025 and 12/19/2024 have been considered by the examiner and been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 2022/0264447 A1) in view of Sun (CN109257152 A).
Claim 1. Byun et al. disclose A communication method (FIG. 17 all steps), comprising:
sending, by a radio unit (read as Distributed Unit (DU) [0202]), a service idleness request to a baseband unit (read as the CU may receive, from the DU, a first message including deactivation request for the DU [0205]); and
receiving, by the radio unit, a service idleness allow response (read as the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination [0213]),
wherein the service idleness allow response (read as the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination [0213]) indicates a first resource is an idle resource.
Byun et al. do not explicitly disclose: a first resource is an idle resource. However, in the related field of endeavor Sun discloses: ending target data to the second network-side device on the idle time-frequency resources [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Byun et al. with the teaching of Sun in order to provide a resource indication method, a network-side device, and a terminal to solve the problem of high access latency for terminals accessing 5G networks (Sun [0008]).
Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
further comprising:
executing, by the radio unit, a first component processing task using the first resource, wherein the first component processing task comprises one or more:
a task for calibrating a radio frequency channel of the radio unit, a task for calibrating an antenna of the radio unit, or a task for detecting a component in the radio unit (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]).
Claim 3. The method according to claim 1, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the first resource comprises a first radio frequency channel, a first time resource, and a first frequency resource, and the first radio frequency channel is on the radio unit (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]).
Claim 4. The method according to claim 3, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the service idleness allow response comprises first information indicating the first resource (Sun: read as send indication information to the terminal to indicate the idle time- frequency resources supported by the second network-side device [0032]).
Claim 5. The method according to claim 4, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein
the first information comprises one or more of:
a channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]), a start time of the first time resource, a duration of the first time resource, a start location of the first frequency resource, or a resource size of the first frequency resource; or
the first information comprises one or more of :
a channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel, a start time of the first time resource, a duration of the first time resource, or an identifier of at least one frequency in the first frequency resource.
Claim 6. The method according to claim 2, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the service idleness request comprises second information and/or a task identifier of the first component processing task, the second information indicates a second resource (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]. The idea of requesting idle resources and receiving those resources is clearly disclosed by Sun. It is obvious that additional resources can be requested/provided. ), and the first component processing task comprises one or more of:
the task for calibrating the radio frequency channel of the radio unit, the task for calibrating the antenna of the radio unit, or the task for detecting the component in the radio unit.
Claim 7. The method according to claim 6, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the second resource comprises the first radio frequency channel (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]. The idea of requesting idle resources and receiving those resources is clearly disclosed by Sun. It is obvious that additional resources can be requested/provided. ), a second time resource, and a second frequency resource, and the first radio frequency channel is on the radio unit.
Claim 8. The method according to claim 7, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the second information comprises one or more of:
the channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]. The idea of requesting idle resources and receiving those resources is clearly disclosed by Sun. It is obvious that additional resources can be requested/provided. ), a start time of the second time resource, a duration of the second time resource, a start location of the second frequency resource, or a resource size of the second frequency resource; or
the second information comprises one or more of:
the channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel, a start time of the second time resource, a duration of the second time resource, or an identifier of at least one frequency in the second frequency resource.
Claim 9. The method according to claim 6, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein before sending the service idleness request to the baseband unit, the method further comprises:
determining, by the radio unit, the second information based on the first component processing task (Sun: read as When the second frequency domain resources supported by the target terminal overlap with the first frequency domain resources, the target terminal sends the target data to the second network-side device on the third frequency domain resources and the first time domain resources [00063]).
Claim 10. Byun et al. disclose A communication method (FIG. 17 all steps),
wherein the method comprising:
receiving, by a baseband unit, a service idleness request (read as the CU may receive, from the DU, a first message including deactivation request for the DU [0205]);
determining (read as the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination [0213]), by the baseband unit, a first resource based on the service idleness request; and
sending (read as the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination [0213]), by the baseband unit, a service idleness allow response to a radio unit, wherein the service idleness allow response indicates the first resource is an idle resource.
Byun et al. do not explicitly disclose: a first resource is an idle resource. However, in the related field of endeavor Sun discloses: ending target data to the second network-side device on the idle time-frequency resources [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Byun et al. with the teaching of Sun in order to provide a resource indication method, a network-side device, and a terminal to solve the problem of high access latency for terminals accessing 5G networks (Sun [0008]).
Claim 11. The method according to claim 10, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the first resource comprises a first radio frequency channel (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]. The idea of requesting idle resources and receiving those resources is clearly disclosed by Sun. It is obvious that additional resources can be requested/provided. ), a first time resource, and a first frequency resource, and the first radio frequency channel on the radio unit.
Claim 12. The method according to claim 11, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the service idleness allow response comprises first information, indicating the first resource (Sun: read as send indication information to the terminal to indicate the idle time- frequency resources supported by the second network-side device [0032]).
Claim 13. The method according to claim 12, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the first information comprises one or more of:
a channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel, a start time of the first time resource, a duration of the first time resource, a start location of the first frequency resource, or a resource size of the first frequency resource (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]. The idea of requesting idle resources and receiving those resources is clearly disclosed by Sun. It is obvious that additional resources can be requested/provided. ); or
the first information comprises one or more of:
a channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel, a start time of the first time resource, a duration of the first time resource, or an identifier of at least one frequency in the first frequency resource.
Claim 14. The method according to claim 11, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
further comprising:
stopping, by the baseband unit and in a period of time corresponding to the first time resource, transmission of a first service using the first frequency resource, wherein the first service is of the radio unit (Sun: read as When the second frequency domain resources supported by the target terminal overlap with the first frequency domain resources, the target terminal sends the target data to the second network-side device on the third frequency domain resources and the first time domain resources [00063]. First frequency as idle resource is stopped.).
Claim 15. The method according to claim 10, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the service idleness request comprises second information and/or a task identifier of a first component processing task, the second information indicates a second resource, and the first component processing task comprises one or more of:
a task for calibrating a radio frequency channel of the radio unit, a task for calibrating an antenna of the radio unit, or a task for detecting a component in the radio unit (Sun: read as When the second frequency domain resources supported by the target terminal overlap with the first frequency domain resources, the target terminal sends the target data to the second network-side device on the third frequency domain resources and the first time domain resources [00063]).
Claim 16. The method according to claim 15, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the second resource comprises the first radio frequency channel, a second time resource, and a second frequency resource, and the first radio frequency channel is on the radio unit (Sun: read as When the second frequency domain resources supported by the target terminal overlap with the first frequency domain resources, the target terminal sends the target data to the second network-side device on the third frequency domain resources and the first time domain resources [00063]).
Claim 17. The method according to claim 16, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
wherein the second information comprises one or more of:
a channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel, a start time of the second time resource, a duration of the second time resource, a start location of the second frequency resource, or a resource size of the second frequency resource (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]. The idea of requesting idle resources and receiving those resources is clearly disclosed by Sun. It is obvious that additional resources can be requested/provided. ); or
the second information comprises one or more of:
the channel identifier of the first radio frequency channel, a start time of the second time resource, a duration of the second time resource, or an identifier of at least one frequency in the second frequency resource.
Claim 18. The method according to claim 15, the combination of Byun et al. and Sun teaches,
further comprising:
determining, by the baseband unit and based on service information of the first service, whether transmission of the first service can be suspended, wherein the first service is a service of the radio unit (read as a radio remote unit (RRU) [0078]); and
determining, the first resource based on the service idleness request comprises:
in association with determining that transmission of the first service can be suspended (Byun et al.: read as the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination [0213]), determining, by the baseband unit, the first resource based on the service idleness request (Sun: read as idle time-frequency resources include first frequency domain resources and first time domain resources… [0062] … (i.e., the first frequency domain resources) are frequency domain resources in different frequency bands [0065]).
Claim 19. Byun et al. disclose A radio unit (FIG. 3), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 3, item 120); and
a memory (FIG. 3, item 130) configured to store computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor (read as a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a plurality of instructions, which, when executed by a processor of a Central Unit (CU) is provided [0012]), cause the radio unit to:
send a service idleness request to a baseband unit (read as the CU may receive, from the DU, a first message including deactivation request for the DU [0205]); and
receive a service idleness allow response (read as the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination [0213]), wherein the service idleness allow response indicates a first resource is an idle resource.
Byun et al. do not explicitly disclose: a first resource is an idle resource. However, in the related field of endeavor Sun discloses: ending target data to the second network-side device on the idle time-frequency resources [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Byun et al. with the teaching of Sun in order to provide a resource indication method, a network-side device, and a terminal to solve the problem of high access latency for terminals accessing 5G networks (Sun [0008]).
Claim 20. Byun et al. disclose A baseband unit (FIG. 3), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 3, item 120); and
a memory configured to store computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor (read as a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a plurality of instructions, which, when executed by a processor of a Central Unit (CU) is provided [0012]), cause the baseband unit to:
receive a service idleness request (read as the CU may receive, from the DU, a first message including deactivation request for the DU [0205]);
determine a first resource based on the service idleness request; and
send a service idleness allow response to a radio unit (read as the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination [0213]), wherein the service idleness allow response indicates the first resource is an idle resource.
Byun et al. do not explicitly disclose: a first resource is an idle resource. However, in the related field of endeavor Sun discloses: ending target data to the second network-side device on the idle time-frequency resources [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Byun et al. with the teaching of Sun in order to provide a resource indication method, a network-side device, and a terminal to solve the problem of high access latency for terminals accessing 5G networks (Sun [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
Prior art included in PTO-892 taches ideas related to the claimed invention. In this regard, Moon et al. (US 2018/0043827 A1) disclose the idea of a communication modem sending a request to a telemetric vehicular unit to cut off power. Ljung (US 2016/0021616 A1), on the other hand, disclose (FIG. 6 all steps) a communication device requesting to enter power saving mode. Also, Xu et al. (US 2012/0207070 A1) disclose, FIG. 4, a mobile phone requesting a base station to transition to idle mode.
MOHAMMED . RACHEDINE
Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/MOHAMMED RACHEDINE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646