DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority as a continuation of the International Application PCT/JP2023/007999.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 08 March 2022. The certified copy of the JP 2022-035417 application was received on 1 April 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 23 August 2024 and 4 June 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 2 of the Specification as filed on 23 August 2024, the paragraph following the section heading “Summary of the Invention” is marked as paragraph number [0000], however, the paragraph should be numbered [0005].
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 23 August 2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishizawa et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2010/0190630 A1.
Nishizawa et al. disclose a glass substrate comprising in terms of mass percentages, 68-80% of SiO2, 0.1-5% of Al2O3, 9.5-12% of MgO, 0-2% of CaO+SrO+BaO, 6-14% of Na2O+K2O, 6-14% of Na2O, 0-<3% of K2O, 0-3% of B2O3, 0-5% of Li2O, and 0-2% of ZrO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0017]-[0019], [0036]-[0046], and [0048]-[0058]. Nishizawa et al. disclose that the glass has a coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 7.5 x 10-7/°C, preferably 55 x 10-7 to 65 x 10-7/°C. See paragraphs [0014], [0020], [0063], and [0065]. Nishizawa et al. disclose that the glass is a plate or a substrate. See paragraphs [0102]-[0105]. The compositional ranges of Nishizawa et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the glass composition as recited in claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 9-11. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1 and 7-9 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass having a conductivity parameter A of 1.3 or more and a thermal expansion parameter B of 2.0 or less, as recited in instant claim 1.
As to claim 2, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 7-9 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass having a thermal expansion parameter B of 1.74 or less,, as recited in instant claim 2.
As to claim 4, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1 and 7-9 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, MgO, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1 and 7-9 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, at least 5% of MgO, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 6, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1 and 7-9 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, at least 10% of MgO, as recited in instant claim 6.
As to claim 7, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1 and 7-9 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, at least 70% of SiO2, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 9, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1 and 7 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass having an average coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 6.0 ppm/°C, as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 9, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Nishizawa et al. would inherently possess a resistivity at 250°Cof at most 8.0 Wcm-1, as recited in claim 9. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 10, Nishizawa et al. disclose the composition is a glass (see paragraphs [0102]-[0105]), which reads on a glass that is amorphous glass, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Nishizawa et al. disclose the glass is a substrate or a plate (see paragraphs [0102]-[0105]), which reads on a glass that is a substrate, as recited in instant claim 11.
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizawa et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2010/0190630 A1.
Nishizawa et al. teach a glass substrate comprising in terms of mass percentages, 68-80% of SiO2, 0.1-5% of Al2O3, 9.5-12% of MgO, 0-2% of CaO+SrO+BaO, 6-14% of Na2O+K2O, 6-14% of Na2O, 0-<3% of K2O, 0-3% of B2O3, 0-5% of Li2O, and 0-2% of ZrO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0017]-[0019], [0036]-[0046], and [0048]-[0058]. Nishizawa et al. teach that the glass has a coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 7.5 x 10-7/°C, preferably 55 x 10-7 to 65 x 10-7/°C. See paragraphs [0014], [0020], [0063], and [0065].
Nishizawa et al. fail to teach any examples or compositional ranges that are sufficiently specific to anticipate the compositional limitations of claims 3 and 8. However, if the weight percent ranges taught by Nishizawa et al. were converted to mole percent ranges the compositional ranges of Nishizawa et al. would have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claims 3 and 8. See paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0017]-[0019], [0036]-[0046], and [0048]-[0058] and the Table at the end and the below chart that shows the examples of Nishizawa et al. converted to mole percentages. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Nishizawa et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Nishizawa et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Component
Nishizawa et al.
Mass % ranges
Ranges of the Examples of Nishizawa et al. in mole percentages
Claim 3 in mole %
Claim 8 in mole %
SiO2
68-80 [0039]-[0040]
66.14-78.02
70-80
Al2O3
0.1-5 [0041]-[0042]
0.56-11.06
0-5
B2O3
0-3 [0036] & [0037]
0-7.43
X
0.1-15
Li2O
0-5 [0048]-[0049]
0
Na2O
6-14 [0015]-[0019]
0-11.93
0-8.9
K2O
0-<3[ 0015]-[0019]
0-7.25
0-8.9
MgO
9.5-12 [0043]-[0044]
5.43-16.48
5-15
CaO
0-8.99
0-20
SrO
0-4.93
0-8.9
BaO
0-1.51
0-10
ZrO2
0-0.887
CaO+SrO+BaO
0-2 [0047]
Specifically, as to claim 3, Nishizawa et al. teach that the glass comprises 0-3 (see paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and the above table), which reads on a glass comprising B2O3, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 8, Nishizawa et al. teach a glass substrate comprising in terms of mass percentages, 68-80% of SiO2, 0.1-5% of Al2O3, 9.5-12% of MgO, 0-2% of CaO+SrO+BaO, 6-14% of Na2O+K2O, 6-14% of Na2O, 0-<3% of K2O, 0-3% of B2O3, 0-5% of Li2O, and 0-2% of ZrO2, (see paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0017]-[0019], [0036]-[0046], and [0048]-[0058] and the above table), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 70-80% of SiO2, 0.1-15% of B2O3, 0-5% of Al2O3, 5-15% of MgO, 0-20% of CaO, 0-20% of BaO, 0-10% of Na2O, 0-8.9% of K2O, and 0-8.9% of SrO, as recited in instant claim 8.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizawa et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2010/0190630 A1 in view of Yamamoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0279756 A1.
Nishizawa et al. teach a glass substrate comprising in terms of mass percentages, 68-80% of SiO2, 0.1-5% of Al2O3, 9.5-12% of MgO, 0-2% of CaO+SrO+BaO, 6-14% of Na2O+K2O, 6-14% of Na2O, 0-<3% of K2O, 0-3% of B2O3, 0-5% of Li2O, and 0-2% of ZrO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0017]-[0019], [0036]-[0046], and [0048]-[0058] and Examples 1 and 7-9. Nishizawa et al. teach that the glass has a coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 7.5 x 10-7/°C, preferably 55 x 10-7 to 65 x 10-7/°C. See paragraphs [0014], [0020], [0063], and [0065].
Nishizawa et al. fail to teach that the glass is a plate or substrate for fan out wafer level package or a fan out panel level package as recited in instant claim 12.
Yamamoto et al. teach a fan out wafer level package comprising a glass substrate. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0003] and [0019]-[0028]. Yamamoto et al. teach that the glass comprising in terms of weight percentages 40-70% of SiO2, 0-15% of B2O3, 0.5-15% of Al2O3, 0-10% of MgO, 0-10% of CaO, 0-13% of SrO, 0-40% of BaO, 0-30% of Na2O, and 0-13% of K2O. See paragraphs [0019]-[0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a glass substrate of Nishizawa et al. as suggested by Yamamoto et al. because the resultant fan out wafer level package would have the superior thermal properties of the glass of Nishizawa et al.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endo et al., Singapore Patent Publication SG 187326 A1.
Endo et al. disclose a glass substrate comprising in terms of mole percentages, 66-77% of SiO2, 7-17% of Al2O3, 0-7% of B2O3, 0-13% of MgO, 0-6% of CaO, 0-9% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-3% of K2O, 0-5% of TiO2, and 0-5% of ZrO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, page 3, lines 22-25. Endo et al. disclose that the glass has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 20 x 10-7/°C - 45 x 10-7/°C. See page 6, lines 17-22. Endo et al. disclose that the glass is a plate or a substrate. See page 1, lines 5-7, page 4, lines 17-20, and page 10, lines 24-25. The compositional ranges of Endo et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the glass composition as recited in claims 1-5, 7, and 9-11. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Endo et al. disclose Examples 1, 2, 9, 10, 17-19, 25, and 29 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass having a conductivity parameter A of 1.3 or more and a thermal expansion parameter B of 2.0 or less, as recited in instant claim 1.
As to claim 2, Endo et al. disclose Examples 1, 9, 10, 17-19, 25, and 29 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass having a thermal expansion parameter B of 1.74 or less,, as recited in instant claim 2.
As to claim 3, Endo et al. disclose Examples 1, 10, and 17 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, B2O3, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Endo et al. disclose Examples 1, 2, 9, 10, 17-19, 25, and 29 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, MgO, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Endo et al. disclose Examples 1, 2, 9, 10, 17-19, 25, and 29 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, at least 5% of MgO, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 7, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1 and 7-9 (see Tables 1-4 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, at least 70% of SiO2, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 9, Nishizawa et al. disclose Examples 1, 2, 9, 10, 17-19, 25, and 29 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass having an average coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 6.0 ppm/°C, as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 9, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Endo et al. would inherently possess a resistivity at 250°Cof at most 8.0 Wcm-1, as recited in claim 9. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 10, Endo et al. disclose the composition is a glass (see page 3, lines 22-25), which reads on a glass that is amorphous glass, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Endo et al. disclose the glass is a substrate or a plate (see page 1, lines 5-7 and page 4, lines 17-20), which reads on a glass that is a substrate, as recited in instant claim 11.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al., Singapore Patent Publication SG 187326 A1.
Endo et al. teach a glass substrate comprising in terms of mole percentages, 66-77% of SiO2, 7-17% of Al2O3, 0-7% of B2O3, 0-13% of MgO, 0-6% of CaO, 0-9% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-3% of K2O, 0-5% of TiO2, and 0-5% of ZrO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, page 3, lines 22-25.
Endo et al. fail to teach any examples or compositional ranges that are sufficiently specific to anticipate the compositional limitations of claim 6. However, the mole percent ranges taught by Endo et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 6. See page 3, lines 22-25. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Endo et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Endo et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Specifically, as to claim 6, Endo et al. teach a glass substrate comprising in terms of mole percentages, 0-13% of MgO (see page 8, lines 21-28), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, of at least 10% of MgO, as recited in instant claim 6.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al., Singapore Patent Publication SG 187326 A1 in view of Yamamoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0279756 A1.
Endo et al. disclose a glass substrate comprising in terms of mole percentages, 66-77% of SiO2, 7-17% of Al2O3, 0-7% of B2O3, 0-13% of MgO, 0-6% of CaO, 0-9% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, 0-3% of K2O, 0-5% of TiO2, and 0-5% of ZrO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, page 3, lines 22-25.
Endo et al. fail to teach that the glass is a plate or substrate for fan out wafer level package or a fan out panel level package as recited in instant claim 12.
Yamamoto et al. teach a fan out wafer level package comprising a glass substrate. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0003] and [0019]-[0028]. Yamamoto et al. teach that the glass comprising in terms of weight percentages 40-70% of SiO2, 0-15% of B2O3, 0.5-15% of Al2O3, 0-10% of MgO, 0-10% of CaO, 0-13% of SrO, 0-40% of BaO, 0-30% of Na2O, and 0-13% of K2O. See paragraphs [0019]-[0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a glass substrate of Endo et al. as suggested by Yamamoto et al. because the resultant fan out wafer level package would have the superior thermal properties of the glass of Endo et al.
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiratori et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2016/0276544 A1.
Shiratori et al. disclose a glass substrate comprising in terms of mass percentages, 55-80% of SiO2, 0.5-15% of Al2O3, 5-25% of B2O3, 0-7% of Li2O, 0-15% of Na2O, 0-10% of K2O, 2-20% of R2O, 0-0.1% of SnO2, and 0.001-0.1% of Fe2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0053]-[0061]. Shiratori et al. disclose that the glass has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 4.5 x 10-6 to 7.0 x 10-6/°C. See paragraphs [0009] and [0036]. Shiratori et al. disclose that the glass is a plate or a substrate. See paragraph [0009]. The compositional ranges of Shiratori et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the glass composition as recited in claims 1-5 and 7-11. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Shiratori et al. disclose Examples 5 and 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass having a conductivity parameter A of 1.3 or more and a thermal expansion parameter B of 2.0 or less, as recited in instant claim 1.
As to claim 2, Shiratori et al. disclose Example 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass having a thermal expansion parameter B of 1.74 or less,, as recited in instant claim 2.
As to claim 3, Shiratori et al. disclose Examples 5 and 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising B2O3, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Shiratori et al. disclose Examples 5 and 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, MgO, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Shiratori et al. disclose Example 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, at least 5% of MgO, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 7, Shiratori et al. disclose Examples 5 and 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, at least 70% of SiO2, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Shiratori et al. disclose Example 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 70-80% of SiO2, 0.1-15% of B2O3, 0-5% of Al2O3, 5-15% of MgO, 0-20% of CaO, 0-20% of BaO, 0-10% of Na2O, 0-8.9% of K2O, and 0-8.9% of SrO, as recited in instant claim 8.
As to claim 9, Shiratori et al. disclose Examples 5 and 8 (see Tables 1-2 and the Table at the end that shows the Examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on a glass having an average coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 6.0 ppm/°C, as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 9, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Shiratori et al. would inherently possess a resistivity at 250°Cof at most 8.0 Wcm-1, as recited in claim 9. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 10, Shiratori et al. disclose the composition is a glass (see paragraph [0009]), which reads on a glass that is amorphous glass, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Shiratori et al. disclose the glass is a substrate or a plate (see paragraph [0009]), which reads on a glass that is a substrate, as recited in instant claim 11.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiratori et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2016/0276544 A1 in view of Yamamoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0279756 A1.
Shiratori et al. disclose a glass substrate comprising in terms of mass percentages, 55-80% of SiO2, 0.5-15% of Al2O3, 5-25% of B2O3, 0-7% of Li2O, 0-15% of Na2O, 0-10% of K2O, 2-20% of R2O, 0-0.1% of SnO2, and 0.001-0.1% of Fe2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0053]-[0061]. Shiratori et al. disclose that the glass has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 4.5 x 10-6 to 7.0 x 10-6/°C. See paragraphs [0009] and [0036]. Shiratori et al. disclose that the glass is a plate or a substrate. See paragraph [0009].
Shiratori et al. fail to teach that the glass is a plate or substrate for fan out wafer level package or a fan out panel level package as recited in instant claim 12.
Yamamoto et al. teach a fan out wafer level package comprising a glass substrate. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0003] and [0019]-[0028]. Yamamoto et al. teach that the glass comprising in terms of weight percentages 40-70% of SiO2, 0-15% of B2O3, 0.5-15% of Al2O3, 0-10% of MgO, 0-10% of CaO, 0-13% of SrO, 0-40% of BaO, 0-30% of Na2O, and 0-13% of K2O. See paragraphs [0019]-[0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a glass substrate of Shiratori et al. as suggested by Yamamoto et al. because the resultant fan out wafer level package would have the superior thermal properties of the glass of Shiratori et al.
Conclusion
The additional references cited on the 892 have been cited as art of interest since they are considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above.
US 6,313,052 B1 by Nakashima et al. is considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above since Nakashima et al. discloses a glass substrate that has a composition that reads on the instant claims, specifically, Examples 9 and 14.
US 2018/0305241 A1 by Sawamura et al. is considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above since Sawamura et al. discloses a glass substrate used in a fan out wafer level package in terms of mole percentages that has a composition that reads on the instant claims.
US 2019/0210327 A1 by Sawamura et al. is considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above since Sawamura et al. discloses a glass substrate used in a fan out wafer level package and fan out panel level package in terms of mole percentages that has a composition that reads on the instant claims.
“Development and Evaluation of Carrier Glass Substrate for Fan-out WLP/PLP Process” by Hayashi et al. are considered as background to the instant invention.
“Glass in wafer- and panel- level packaging: Changes, challenges, hurdles and barrier.” by Letz et al. are considered as background to the instant invention.
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
23 October 2026
US 2010/0190630 A1 by Nishizawa et al.
mol%
SiO2
B2O3
Al2O3
MgO
CaO
SrO
BaO
Na2O
K2O
ZrO2
conductivity parameter A
thermal expansion parameter B
Ex. 1
76.63
0
1.14
13.81
0.00
0.00
0.00
8.42
0.00
0.00
2.20
1.93
Ex. 2
74.64
0
1.71
14.56
0.00
0.00
0.00
9.09
0.00
0.00
2.44
2.35
Ex. 3
73.05
0
1.13
15.19
0.00
0.00
0.00
10.62
0.00
0.00
2.91
3.02
Ex. 4
71.52
0
2.29
14.90
0.00
0.00
0.00
11.29
0.00
0.00
3.16
3.35
Ex. 5
71.59
0
0.56
16.48
0.00
0.00
0.00
11.37
0.00
0.00
3.18
3.45
Ex. 6
71.37
0
1.14
15.82
0.00
0.00
0.00
10.75
0.92
0.00
0.30
3.54
Ex. 7
78.2
0
0.58
15.56
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
5.65
0.00
1.45
0.94
Ex. 8
77.04
0
1.76
15.02
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
6.17
0.00
1.60
1.18
Ex. 9
75.81
0
1.18
15.76
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
7.25
0.00
1.91
1.68
Ex. 10
76.95
0
0.57
15.31
0.00
0.00
0.00
4.70
2.47
0.00
0.02
1.55
Ex. 11
76.11
0
1.74
14.84
0.00
0.00
0.00
3.54
3.77
0.00
0.01
1.63
Ex. 12
74.33
0
1.15
15.46
0.00
0.00
0.00
5.69
3.37
0.00
0.00
2.40
Ex. 13
73.41
0
2.35
15.29
0.00
0.00
0.00
3.86
5.08
0.00
0.04
2.42
Ex. 14
74.56
0
1.14
15.88
0.00
0.00
0.00
6.57
1.85
0.00
0.04
2.18
Ex. 15
73.66
0
2.36
15.35
0.00
0.00
0.00
2.91
5.74
0.00
0.01
2.30
Ex. 16
66.13
7.43
11.06
5.43
4.97
4.93
0.04
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.17
Ex. 17
71.19
0
2.97
5.43
7.11
2.92
1.51
4.98
3.00
0.89
0.06
2.36
Ex. 18
70.31
0
0.63
8.01
9.00
0.00
0.00
11.93
0.12
0.00
0.29
3.81
Ex. 19
73.89
1
1.65
14.44
0.00
0.00
0.00
9.01
0.00
0.00
2.44
2.41
Ex. 20
73.87
0.92
1.66
13.93
0.31
0.23
0.11
8.96
0.00
0.00
2.43
2.40
Ex. 21
74.3
0
1.72
14.49
0.00
0.00
0.00
9.05
0.00
0.47
2.44
2.38
US 2016/0276544 A1 by Shiratori et al.
mol%
Ex. 1
Ex. 2
Ex. 3
Ex. 4
Ex. 5
Ex. 6
Ex. 7
Ex. 8
Ex. 9
Ex. 10
SiO2
73.55
75.25
72.95
75.63
78.25
77.02
80.71
75.16
71.51
69.63
B2O3
17.06
14.28
17.00
13.90
4.79
12.54
8.91
8.74
15.27
15.20
Al2O3
1.75
1.53
2.01
2.20
1.25
1.53
1.52
1.49
2.02
2.01
MgO
0.00
0.00
0.16
0.00
1.20
0.00
0.00
5.89
0.78
1.54
CaO
0.00
0.00
0.11
0.00
7.78
0.00
0.00
0.00
1.78
3.33
SrO
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
BaO
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
Li2O
1.71
0.00
1.50
1.04
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
Na2O
0.41
7.47
0.41
6.04
6.55
7.45
7.40
7.27
7.47
7.43
K2O
5.49
0.66
5.64
0.99
0.00
0.66
0.66
0.65
0.66
0.66
Fe2O3
0.00
0.00
0.01
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.01
0.01
0.02
0.00
TiO2
0.00
0.00
0.03
0.01
0.01
0.00
0.00
0.02
0.31
0.01
ZnO
0.00
0.61
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.61
0.61
0.60
0.00
0.00
Cl
0.00
0.18
0.18
0.18
0.17
0.18
0.17
0.17
0.18
0.18
SnO
0.01
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
SO3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
Sb2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
conductivity parameter A
0.05
0.27
0.05
0.04
1.67
0.26
0.25
2.11
0.28
0.29
thermal expansion parameter B
2.03
1.99
2.07
1.90
1.17
1.77
1.32
1.94
2.42
2.63
mol%
Ex. 9
Ex. 10
Ex. 11
Ex. 12
Ex. 13
Ex. 14
Ex. 15
Ex. 16
Ex. 17
Ex. 18
SiO2
71.51
69.63
64.65
62.32
68.96
68.39
65.38
69.87
66.04
65.33
B2O3
15.27
15.20
15.06
14.99
13.33
16.56
16.42
7.89
7.64
16.82
Al2O3
2.02
2.01
2.00
1.99
2.00
1.70
4.65
2.69
11.34
4.72
MgO
0.78
1.54
3.82
4.87
2.30
2.92
2.98
0.00
5.28
2.83
CaO
1.78
3.33
6.27
7.66
5.18
0.11
0.11
0.00
4.74
0.00
SrO
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
4.88
0.00
BaO
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.04
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
Li2O
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
Na2O
7.47
7.43
7.36
7.33
7.38
10.00
10.19
6.75
0.00
10.16
K2O
0.66
0.66
0.65
0.65
0.66
0.00
0.07
4.51
0.00
0.00
Fe2O3
0.02
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
0.31
0.01
0.01
0.00
0.01
0.08
0.01
3.52
0.00
0.00
ZnO
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
4.74
0.00
0.00
Cl
0.18
0.18
0.17
0.17
0.17
0.17
0.18
0.00
0.00
0.11
SnO
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.01
0.01
0.00
0.00
0.01
SO3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.02
0.01
0.00
0.08
0.02
Sb2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.02
0.00
0.00
conductivity parameter A
0.28
0.29
0.31
2.56
0.29
2.92
3.14
0.00
0.00
3.11
thermal expansion parameter B
2.42
2.63
3.21
3.48
2.70
3.37
3.66
3.52
0.17
3.63