DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on February 13, 2026.
Status of claims: claims 3, 8, 10, 13, 16, 17, 19 and 22 are cancelled; claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, 20, 21 and 23 are hereby examined below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 14 and 20 – the term “major” in “major face” is odd and perhaps should be replaced.
Claims 1 and 14 – “first latch extending a fixed distance” is odd since a latch usually includes a bolt that slides, which is not the case here. Perhaps latch should be replaced.
Claim 1, lines 10,13 – which panel is being referenced by “the panel”
Claim 2 - which panel is being referenced by “the panel”
Claim 4 - which panel is being referenced by “the panel”
Claim 9 – which panel is being referenced by “the panel”
Claim 11 – which panel is being referenced by “the panel”
Claim 12 – which panel is being referenced by “the panel”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 679855 to Mockridge in view of US 5083398 to Kolbeck et al. (hereinafter “Kolbeck”).
Mockridge discloses a door system, comprising:
a door A having a pocket (housing element B; see FIGS. 1 and 5) in a major face thereof, the pocket having an interior surface with a first receptacle 31 extending into the interior surface on a first side of the pocket and a second receptacle 29 extending into the interior surface of on a second side of the pocket; and
a panel (see annotated figure below) configured to be selectively positioned within the pocket and connected to the door, the panel comprising a first latch 40 extending a fixed distance from a first side of the panel and configured to be received within the first receptacle and a second latch 42 that is configured to extend a variable distance from a second side of the panel and be received within the second receptacle. (see FIGS. 1 and 5)
Mockridge fails to disclose the door further comprises a channel that has a first opening in an exterior side surface of the door and a second opening that opens into the second receptacle, the channel being configured to receive a rod or key in the first opening and that is configured to extend into the second receptacle through the second opening,
wherein the rod or key is configured to extend into the second receptacle to move the second latch from an extending position to a retracted position.
Kolbeck teaches of a panel system with a channel that has a first opening in an exterior side surface of a panel and a second opening that opens into a second receptacle, the channel being configured to receive a rod or key 120,70 (note: tool that reaches through the first opening and engages with elements 120,70 is considered part of the key) in the first opening and that is configured to extend into the second receptacle through the second opening, (see annotated FIG. 7 below) wherein the rod or key is configured to extend into the second receptacle to move a latch 43 from an extending position to a retracted position. (see FIGS. 6 and 7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove element 45 on the Mockridge second latch and modify the Mockridge element 20 with a channel with a first and second opening, as taught by Kolbeck with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for locking of the panel in a closed position. (claim 14)
Mockridge, as applied above, further discloses wherein the panel as opposing first and second faces, (on each side of the panel; see FIG. 3) the panel being selectively connectable to the door with either the first face or the second face being visible. (see FIG. 1) (claim 18)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (panel)]
[AltContent: textbox (Second receptacle (occupied by a portion of the tool))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second opening)][AltContent: textbox (First opening)][AltContent: textbox (channel)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mockridge in view of Kolbeck, as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Hoffman.
Mockridge, as applied above, fails to disclose an ejection feature.
Hoffman teaches of a panel comprising an ejection feature 1 (see FIGS. 1-7) configured to facilitate movement of a panel 19.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retaining frame or panel disclosed in Mockridge with the ejection feature taught in Hoffman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with movement and removal of the retaining frame and/or panel. (claim 15)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0257142 to Koehl et al. (hereinafter “Koehl”).
Koehl discloses a door system, comprising:
a door 100 having opposing first and second stiles 103,104 that at least partially define a pocket 109a in a major face of the door, the first stile having a first exterior surface, a first interior surface, and at least one channel 116 that extends between and opens to the first exterior surface and the first interior surface; (see FIGS. 1 and 4; see portion of FIG. 4 below)
a panel or frame 109,150 sized and configured to be positioned within the pocket, the panel or frame having at least one channel therein, the at least one channel of the panel or frame being aligned with the at least one channel of the first stile when the panel or frame is positioned within the pocket; and
at least one rod 122 that is configured to be inserted, from the first exterior surface of the first stile, into the aligned channels to secure the panel or frame in the pocket. (claim 20)
Koehl further discloses wherein the at least one channel in the panel or frame extends through the panel or frame from a first side to a second side. (see FIG. 4) (claim 21)
Koehl further discloses wherein the second stile comprises at least one secondary channel therein, the at least one secondary channel being aligned with the at least one channel of the first stile and the at least one channel of the panel or frame when the panel or frame is positioned within the pocket, and the at least one rod being configured to extend through the at least one channel in the first stile, the at least one channel in the panel or frame, and into the at least one secondary channel in the second stile to secure the panel or frame to the door.(see annotated FIG. 4 below) (claim 23)
[AltContent: textbox (Secondary channel )]
[AltContent: textbox (First exterior surface)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (First interior surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11 and 12 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 13, 2026 regarding claim 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. More specifically, on page 9 of the applicant’s response filed February 13, 2026, the applicant states “Koehl does not disclose that the module trays 150 have channels therein that receive the rods 122 to secure the module trays 150 to the door.”
It appears the applicant did not consider all the elements of the Koehl panel 109,150, as noted in the rejection. Put another way, since element 109 has been interpreted as being part of the panel 109,150 and element 109 includes “at least one channel therein, the at least one channel of the panel or frame being aligned with the at least one channel of the first stile when the panel of frame is positioned within the pocket,” (see FIG. 4 and [0095]) as recited in claim 20, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claim 20.
Note: a new grounds of rejection has been made for claim 14.
Conclusion
/MARCUS MENEZES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634