Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (CN-118520588-A).
Regarding Claim 11, Wu et al. discloses an acoustic black hole plate for use with an integrated power electronics (IPE) module (Integrated electric drive system with motor, reducer, inverter; Para. 0004. (See Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5: Panel A with three plate levels of 20 acoustic black holes B), comprising:
at least one acoustic black hole for targeting panel resonant hot spots and contributes to noise, vibration, and harshness (NVH) performance (In structure of plurality of acoustic black holes B controlling accumulation of elastic waves at specific locations of the plate to reduce noise and vibration; Para. 00005-0006. Based on peak frequency vibrations; Para. 0010), each acoustic black hole including
a geometric center, wherein the acoustic black hole plate has a decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness from an outer edge of the acoustic black hole to the geometric center, wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness traps vibration energy for efficiency attenuation (In Fig. 2: Thickness “hp” of outer edge decreases to thickness “hr” of geometric center C of acoustic black hole; Para. 0041-0042, 0056; Fig. 2; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5. 70% of vibrational energy is concentrated acoustic black hole; Para. 0048); and a damper located at the geometric center (Damper C located at surface of acoustic black hole; Para. 0041;Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5 ).
Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5
Regarding claim 12, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11, wherein at least one acoustic black hole is at least one of circular or elliptical (In structure of a circle when described as having a radius; Para. 0019).
Regarding claim 13, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11, wherein at least one acoustic black hole is a machined acoustic black hole (In structure of subtractive manufacturing; Para. 0049).
Regarding claim 15, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11, wherein the acoustic black hole zone includes a 2X2 acoustic black hole array (2x2 array is included in the 5x4 array of acoustic black holes B; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11, wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness extends from a first surface to a second surface of the acoustic black hole plate (First surface with height “hp” to second surface with height “hr”; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN-118520588-A) in view of Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11. Wu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile. However, Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1) teaches wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile (Daley: Acoustic black hole effect typically achieved by decreasing height with power law taper Para. 0003-0006,0133). Daley et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising acoustic black holes. Modifying Wu et al. with teachings of Daley et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile for the purpose of causing flexural waves propagating along the direction of the acoustic black hole to decrease in wave speed (Daley: Para. 0003).
Regarding Claim 18, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11. Wu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the damper (C; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5) is a single material. However, Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1) teaches the damper is a single material (Daley: One or more layers of damping material; Para. 0033). Daley et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising acoustic black holes. Modifying Wu et al. with teachings of Daley et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the damper is a single material for the purpose of improving performance of the acoustic black hole with a taper longer than one flexural wavelength (Daley: Para. 0007).
Regarding Claim 19, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11. Wu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the damper (C; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5) is a multi-layer damper. However, Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1) teaches the damper is a multi-layer damper (Daley: One or more layers of damping material; Para. 0033. Damper 2 with layers 7 and 8; Para. 0136-0140;Fig. 1). Daley et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising acoustic black holes. Modifying Wu et al. with teachings of Daley et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the damper is a multi-layer damper for the purpose of optimizing absorbing energy of vibration (Daley: Para. 0033-0034), since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the Art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN-118520588-A) in view of Wang et al. (US 11,116,097 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu et al. (CN-118520588-A) discloses an integrated power electronics (IPE) module in a vehicle (Integrated electric drive system with motor, reducer, inverter; Para. 0004), the IPE module comprising:
at least one panel (Panel as inverter cover body A in Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5);
a power inverter module (PIM) (Electric driver inverter; Para. 0010); and
the at least one panel including an acoustic black hole plate, the acoustic black hole plate having an acoustic black hole zone including at least one acoustic black hole (See Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5: Panel A with three plate levels of 20 acoustic black holes B), wherein each acoustic black hole targets panel resonant hot spots and contributes to noise, vibration, and harshness (NVH) performance (In structure of plurality of acoustic black holes B controlling accumulation of elastic waves at specific locations of the plate to reduce noise and vibration; Para. 00005-0006. Based on peak frequency vibrations; Para. 0010), wherein each acoustic black hole includes
a geometric center, wherein the acoustic black hole plate has a decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness from an outer edge of the acoustic black hole to the geometric center, wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness traps vibration energy for efficiency attenuation (In Fig. 2: Thickness “hp” of outer edge decreases to thickness “hr” of geometric center C of acoustic black hole; Para. 0041-0042, 0056; Fig. 2; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5. 70% of vibrational energy is concentrated acoustic black hole; Para. 0048); and
a damper coupled to the acoustic black hole plate and located at the geometric center (Damper C located at surface of acoustic black hole; Para. 0041;Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5 ).
Wu et al. fails to explicitly disclose an IPE casing including at least one panel (A); a power inverter module (PIM) (Electric driver inverter; Para. 0010) carrying the IPE casing, the IPE casing defining an internal chamber, wherein the PIM is housed within the internal chamber. However, Wang et al. (US 11,116,097 B2) teaches an IPE casing including at least one panel; a power inverter module (PIM) carrying the IPE casing, the IPE casing defining an internal chamber, wherein the PIM is housed within the internal chamber (Wang: IPE casing 12 with panel 50; Col. 3, Lines 10-50; Col. 4, Lines 1-25. PIM 30 carrying casing 12, with 30 housed internally; Fig. 1-2,3A). Wang et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising damping covers for power electronic modules. Modifying Wu et al. with teachings of Wang et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein an IPE casing including at least one panel; a power inverter module (PIM) carrying the IPE casing, the IPE casing defining an internal chamber, wherein the PIM is housed within the internal chamber for the purpose of housing electrical components in a dry location while damping undesirable noise and providing electromagnetic shielding (Wang: Col. 3, Lines 44-50;Col. 4, Lines 4-10).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1, wherein the panel is aluminum (Panel as inverter cover body A in Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5 is typically an aluminum alloy; Para. 0004 ).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1, wherein at least one acoustic black hole is at least one of circular or elliptical (In structure of a circle when described as having a radius; Para. 0019).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1, wherein at least one acoustic black hole is a machined acoustic black hole (In structure of subtractive manufacturing; Para. 0049).
Regarding Claim 5, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1, wherein at least one acoustic black hole (B; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5) is a stamped acoustic black hole. However, Wang et al. additionally teaches wherein nonplanar geometry is stamped (Wang: Core 53 Col. 4, Lines 10-25; Fig. 3A. Acoustic black holes have nonplanar geometry). Modifying Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. with additional teachings of Wang et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein at least one acoustic black hole is a stamped acoustic black hole for the purpose of being a commonly used method of manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 6, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1, wherein the acoustic black hole zone includes a 2X2 acoustic black hole array (2x2 array is included in the 5x4 array of acoustic black holes B; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1, wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness extends from a first surface to a second surface of the acoustic black hole plate (First surface with height “hp” to second surface with height “hr”; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Wu et al. discloses the acoustic black hole pate of claim 11. Wu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one acoustic black hole (B; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5) is a stamped acoustic black hole. However, Wang et al. teaches wherein nonplanar geometry is stamped (Wang: Core 53 Col. 4, Lines 10-25; Fig. 3A. Acoustic black holes have nonplanar geometry). Modifying Wu et al. with teachings of Wang et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein at least one acoustic black hole is a stamped acoustic black hole for the purpose of being a commonly used method of manufacturing.
Claim(s) 7, 9-10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN-118520588-A) in view of Wang et al. (US 11,116,097 B2) and Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1. Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile. However, Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1) teaches wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile (Daley: Acoustic black hole effect typically achieved by decreasing height with power law taper Para. 0003-0006,0133). Daley et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising acoustic black holes. Modifying Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. with teachings of Daley et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile for the purpose of causing flexural waves propagating along the direction of the acoustic black hole to decrease in wave speed (Daley: Para. 0003).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1. Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the damper (C; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5) is a single material. However, Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1) teaches the damper is a single material (Daley: One or more layers of damping material; Para. 0033). Daley et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising acoustic black holes. Modifying Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. with teachings of Daley et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the damper is a single material for the purpose of improving performance of the acoustic black hole with a taper longer than one flexural wavelength (Daley: Para. 0007).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. disclose the integrated power electronics (IPE) module of claim 1. Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the damper (C; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5) is a multi-layer damper. However, Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1) teaches the damper is a multi-layer damper (Daley: One or more layers of damping material; Para. 0033. Damper 2 with layers 7 and 8; Para. 0136-0140;Fig. 1). Daley et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising acoustic black holes. Modifying Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. with teachings of Daley et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the damper is a multi-layer damper for the purpose of optimizing absorbing energy of vibration (Daley: Para. 0033-0034), since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the Art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu et al. discloses an integrated power electronics (IPE) module (Integrated electric drive system with motor, reducer, inverter; Para. 0004), the IPE module comprising:
at least one panel (Panel as inverter cover body A in Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5);
a power inverter module (PIM) (Electric driver inverter; Para. 0010); and
the at least one panel including an acoustic black hole plate formed of aluminum (See Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5: Panel A with three plate levels of 20 acoustic black holes B being typically an aluminum alloy; Para. 0004), the acoustic black hole plate having an acoustic black hole zone including a 2x2 acoustic black hole array (2x2 array is included in the 5x4 array of acoustic black holes B; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5), wherein each acoustic black hole targets panel resonant hot spots and contributes to noise, vibration, and harshness (NVH) performance (In structure of plurality of acoustic black holes B controlling accumulation of elastic waves at specific locations of the plate to reduce noise and vibration; Para. 00005-0006. Based on peak frequency vibrations; Para. 0010), and wherein each acoustic black hole includes
a geometric center, wherein the acoustic black hole plate has a decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness having a profile, the decreased acoustic black hole plate thickness extending from an outer edge of the acoustic black hole to the geometric center, wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness traps vibration energy for efficiency attenuation (In Fig. 2: Thickness “hp” of outer edge decreases to thickness “hr” of geometric center C of acoustic black hole; Para. 0041-0042, 0056; Fig. 2; Examiner Annotated Wu Fig. 5. 70% of vibrational energy is concentrated acoustic black hole; Para. 0048).
Wu et al. fails to explicitly disclose an IPE casing including at least one panel (A); a power inverter module (PIM) (Electric driver inverter; Para. 0010) carrying the IPE casing, the IPE casing defining an internal chamber, wherein the PIM is housed within the internal chamber; wherein the acoustic black hole plate has a decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness having a power law profile; and a multi-layer damper located at the geometric center, wherein the multi-layer damper includes at least a first layer of aluminum and another layer of rubber.
However, Wang et al. (US 11,116,097 B2) teaches an IPE casing including at least one panel; a power inverter module (PIM) carrying the IPE casing, the IPE casing defining an internal chamber, wherein the PIM is housed within the internal chamber (Wang: IPE casing 12 with panel 50; Col. 3, Lines 10-50; Col. 4, Lines 1-25. PIM 30 carrying casing 12, with 30 housed internally; Fig. 1-2,3A). Wang et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising damping covers for power electronic modules. Modifying Wu et al. with teachings of Wang et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein an IPE casing including at least one panel; a power inverter module (PIM) carrying the IPE casing, the IPE casing defining an internal chamber, wherein the PIM is housed within the internal chamber for the purpose of housing electrical components in a dry location while damping undesirable noise and providing electromagnetic shielding (Wang: Col. 3, Lines 44-50;Col. 4, Lines 4-10).
Moreover, Daley et al. (US 2022/0170526 A1) teaches wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile (Daley: Acoustic black hole effect typically achieved by decreasing height with power law taper Para. 0003-0006,0133); and a multi-layer damper located at the geometric center (Daley: One or more layers of damping material; Para. 0033. Damper 2 with layers 7 and 8; Para. 0136-0140;Fig. 1). Daley et al. and Wu et al. are in similar fields comprising acoustic black holes. Modifying Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. with teachings of Daley et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the decreasing acoustic black hole plate thickness has a power law tapered profile for the purpose of causing flexural waves propagating along the direction of the acoustic black hole to decrease in wave speed (Daley: Para. 0003) and a multi-layer damper located at the geometric center for the purpose of optimizing absorbing energy of vibration (Daley: Para. 0033-0034), since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the Art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Wu et al. as modified by Wang et al. and Daley et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the multi-layer damper (Daley: One or more layers of damping material; Para. 0033. Damper 2 with layers 7 and 8; Para. 0136-0140;Fig. 1) includes at least a first layer of aluminum and another layer of rubber. However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of being commonly used materials for panel construction to reduce noise, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-11514878-B2.
/JENNIFER B OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837