Detailed Action
Amendment filed on 04/22/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 1, 12, 13 and 20 are independent claim. Claims 1-2, 11-13 have been amended.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/CN2022/078411 filed on 02/28/2022.
Remarks and Response
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendments on 04/22/2026 have been fully considered but moot in view of new ground of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US Patent Application Publication No 2021/0165885 A1) in view of Balasubramanian (US Patent Application Publication No 2023/0142626 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for implementing security, performed by a terminal device, the method comprising:
receiving first request information from a first network element or a second network element, wherein the first request information is configured to request an authorization from the terminal device for transmission of sensing data, and the first request information comprises an authorization certification for a first network element and a sensing service type (Zhang, ¶[0006], the first network element obtains a B-TID and the key lifetime to a terminal, so that the terminal performs EAP-based GBA AKA authentication with the first network element. ¶[0008], the first network element generates the B-TID based on a RAND and a BSF server name. ¶[0010], the first network element receives a RES and a MAC that are sent by the terminal and performs verification on the RES and the MAC. If the verification succeeds, the first network element generates a key and sends an EAP success message to the terminal to complete the EAP-based GBA AKA authentication); and
authorizing the transmission of the sensing data in response to a successful verification on the authorization certification (Zhang, ¶[0115]- ¶[0125], EAP server receives the RES and the MAC and performs verification and generates a key if the verification succeeds. The peer receives the EAP success message and GBA AKA authentication is completed).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitation that Blasubramanian teaches:
transmitting sensing data matched with the sensing service type to a third network element (Balasubramanian, Fig-9-11, ¶[0157]- ¶[0160], the first device determines an estimated location metric associated with the second device based on the received signaling. ¶[0164], the method may include receiving, from each of the one or more third devices and based on performing the ranging procedure, a respective indication of a location metric for the second device relative to the each of the one or more third devices. ¶[0172]- ¶[0175])
Zhang in view of Balasubramanian are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “authorizing access to user data in wireless communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Zhang in view of Balasubramanian to include the idea of determining location so that UE can determine whether an eavesdropper is present (Balasubramanian, ¶[0004]).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
generating verification information based on a sensing service key and the sensing service type (Zhang, ¶[0121], the EAP server performs verification on the RES and the MAC and the EAP server generates a key if the verification succeeds. ¶[0130], Ks is a key generated by an EAP server in an authentication process); and
determining that the authorization certification is verified successfully in a case that the verification information is consistent with the authorization certification (Zhang, ¶[0279]-¶[0281], the EAP server receives the RES and MAC and performs verification and generates a key, a B-TID and a key lifetime if the verification succeeds. The EAP server sends an EAP success message to the authenticator).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein prior to generating the verification information based on the sensing service key and the sensing service type, the method further comprises:
generating the sensing service key based on a first key, wherein the first key is a key shared by the terminal device and the first network element (Zhang, ¶[0105]-¶[0108], the EAP server executes an AKA algorithm to generate a RAND, an AUTN and a MAC and generates a B-TID and a key lifetime. The key lifetime represents a lifetime of subsequently generated key Ks).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first network element is a network element in a generic bootstrapping architecture (GBA), and the first key is a network application function (NAF) key Ks_NAF (Zhang, ¶[0159]-¶[0161], the derivation formula may include UE ID, a session ID, an uplink or downlink counter, a sequence number, a nonce. ¶[0351]-¶[0353]); and
generating the sensing service key based on the first key comprises:
generating the sensing service key based on the NAF key Ks_NAF, the sensing service type, and first network parameters, wherein the first network parameters comprise a random number (NONCE) and/or a count value (COUNT) (Zhang, ¶[0159]-¶[0161], the derivation formula may include UE ID, a session ID, an uplink or downlink counter, a sequence number, a nonce. ¶[0351]-¶[0353]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian the method according to claim 3, wherein the first network element is a network element in an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) architecture, and the first key is an application function (AF) key KAF; and
generating the sensing service key based on the first key comprises: generating the sensing service key based on the AF key KAF, the sensing service type, AKMA key identification information, and second network parameters, wherein the second network parameters comprise a random number (NONCE) and/or a count value (COUNT) (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein generating the sensing service key based on the first key comprises:
generating the sensing service key based on the first key in a case that the terminal device supports the sensing service type (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first network element is a network element in an authentication and key agreement (AKA) architecture or an extensible authentication protocol-authentication and key agreement (EAP-AKA) architecture, and the first key is an access and mobility management function (AMF) key KAMF or a security anchor function (SEAF) key KSEAF (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE); and
generating the sensing service key based on the first key comprises:
generating the sensing service key based on the AMF key KAMF, the sensing service type, and third network parameters (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE); or
generating the sensing service key based on the SEAF key KSEAF, the sensing service type, and third network parameters; wherein the third network parameters comprise a random number (NONCE) and/or a count value (COUNT) (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein
generating the sensing service key based on the AMF key KAMF, the sensing service type, and the third network parameters comprises:
generating a first immediate key KAMF' based on the AMF key KAMF (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE);
and
generating the sensing service key based on the first immediate key KAMF', the sensing service type, and the third network parameters (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE); and
generating the sensing service key based on the SEAF key KSEAF, the sensing service type, and the third network parameters comprises:
generating a second immediate key KSEAF' based on the SEAF key KSEAF; and generating the sensing service key based on the second immediate key KSEAF', the sensing service type, and the third network parameters (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein
prior to generating the sensing service key based on the first key, the method further comprises:
receiving second request information, wherein the second request information is configured to request the sensing service key (Zhang, ¶[0006], the first network element obtains a B-TID and the key lifetime to a terminal, so that the terminal performs EAP-based GBA AKA authentication with the first network element. ¶[0008], the first network element generates the B-TID based on a RAND and a BSF server name. ¶[0010], the first network element receives a RES and a MAC that are sent by the terminal and performs verification on the RES and the MAC. If the verification succeeds, the first network element generates a key and sends an EAP success message to the terminal to complete the EAP-based GBA AKA authentication); and
upon generating the sensing service key based on the first key, the method further comprises:
confirmation information to a second network element, wherein the confirmation information is configured to instruct the second network element to transmit the sensing service key to the first network element (Zhang, ¶[0006], the first network element obtains a B-TID and the key lifetime to a terminal, so that the terminal performs EAP-based GBA AKA authentication with the first network element. ¶[0008], the first network element generates the B-TID based on a RAND and a BSF server name. ¶[0010], the first network element receives a RES and a MAC that are sent by the terminal and performs verification on the RES and the MAC. If the verification succeeds, the first network element generates a key and sends an EAP success message to the terminal to complete the EAP-based GBA AKA authentication).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the confirmation information further comprises a verification parameter, wherein the verification parameter is configured for the second network element to verify the sensing service type (Zhang, ¶[0115]- ¶[0125], EAP server receives the RES and the MAC and performs verification and generates a key if the verification succeeds. The peer receives the EAP success message and GBA AKA authentication is completed).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the method according to claim 1:
wherein integrity protection and/or encryption of the first request information and/or the sensing data is performed based on a sensing service key (Zhang, ¶[0115]- ¶[0125], EAP server receives the RES and the MAC and performs verification and generates a key if the verification succeeds. The peer receives the EAP success message and GBA AKA authentication is completed).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang discloses a terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more computer programs, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs in the memory, is caused to perform:
receiving first request information from a first network element or a second network element, wherein the first request information is configured to request an authorization from the terminal device for transmission of sensing data, and the first request information comprises an authorization certification for a first network element and a sensing service type (Zhang, ¶[0006], the first network element obtains a B-TID and the key lifetime to a terminal, so that the terminal performs EAP-based GBA AKA authentication with the first network element. ¶[0008], the first network element generates the B-TID based on a RAND and a BSF server name. ¶[0010], the first network element receives a RES and a MAC that are sent by the terminal and performs verification on the RES and the MAC. If the verification succeeds, the first network element generates a key and sends an EAP success message to the terminal to complete the EAP-based GBA AKA authentication); and
authorizing the transmission of the sensing data in response to a successful verification on the authorization certification (Zhang, ¶[0115]- ¶[0125], EAP server receives the RES and the MAC and performs verification and generates a key if the verification succeeds. The peer receives the EAP success message and GBA AKA authentication is completed).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitation that Blasubramanian teaches:
transmitting sensing data matched with the sensing service type to a third network element (Balasubramanian, Fig-9-11, ¶[0157]- ¶[0160], the first device determines an estimated location metric associated with the second device based on the received signaling. ¶[0164], the method may include receiving, from each of the one or more third devices and based on performing the ranging procedure, a respective indication of a location metric for the second device relative to the each of the one or more third devices. ¶[0172]- ¶[0175])
Zhang in view of Balasubramanian are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “authorizing access to user data in wireless communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Zhang in view of Balasubramanian to include the idea of determining location so that UE can determine whether an eavesdropper is present (Balasubramanian, ¶[0004]).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang discloses a first network element, comprising: a processor and a memory storing one or more computer programs, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs in the memory, is caused to perform:
transmitting first request information, wherein the first request information is configured to request an authorization from a terminal device for transmission of sensing data (Zhang, ¶[0006], the first network element obtains a B-TID and the key lifetime to a terminal, so that the terminal performs EAP-based GBA AKA authentication with the first network element. ¶[0008], the first network element generates the B-TID based on a RAND and a BSF server name. ¶[0010], the first network element receives a RES and a MAC that are sent by the terminal and performs verification on the RES and the MAC. If the verification succeeds, the first network element generates a key and sends an EAP success message to the terminal to complete the EAP-based GBA AKA authentication), and
the first request information comprises an authorization certification for the first network element and a sensing service type, wherein the authorization certification is configured for the terminal device to verify an authorization of the first network element (Zhang, ¶[0115]- ¶[0125], EAP server receives the RES and the MAC and performs verification and generates a key if the verification succeeds. The peer receives the EAP success message and GBA AKA authentication is completed).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitation that Blasubramanian teaches:
the transmission of sensing data comprises transmitting sensing data matched with the sensing service type from the terminal device to a third network element (Balasubramanian, Fig-9-11, ¶[0157]- ¶[0160], the first device determines an estimated location metric associated with the second device based on the received signaling. ¶[0164], the method may include receiving, from each of the one or more third devices and based on performing the ranging procedure, a respective indication of a location metric for the second device relative to the each of the one or more third devices. ¶[0172]- ¶[0175])
Zhang in view of Balasubramanian are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “authorizing access to user data in wireless communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Zhang in view of Balasubramanian to include the idea of determining location so that UE can determine whether an eavesdropper is present (Balasubramanian, ¶[0004]).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the first network element according to claim 13, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs in the memory, is further caused to perform:
generating the authorization certification based on a sensing service type and a sensing service key (Zhang, ¶[0121], the EAP server performs verification on the RES and the MAC and the EAP server generates a key if the verification succeeds. ¶[0130], Ks is a key generated by an EAP server in an authentication process).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the first network element according to claim 14, wherein the sensing service key is generated based a first key, wherein the first key is a key shared by the terminal device and the first network element (Zhang, ¶[0105]-¶[0108], the EAP server executes an AKA algorithm to generate a RAND, an AUTN and a MAC and generates a B-TID and a key lifetime. The key lifetime represents a lifetime of subsequently generated key Ks).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the first network element according to claim 13, wherein the first network element is a network element in a generic bootstrapping architecture (GBA), and the first key is a network application function (NAF) key Ks_NAF; and
the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs in the memory, is further caused to perform:
generating the sensing service key based on the NAF key Ks_NAF, the sensing service type, and first network parameters, wherein the first network parameters comprise a random number (NONCE) and/or a count value (COUNT) (Zhang, ¶[0159]-¶[0161], the derivation formula may include UE ID, a session ID, an uplink or downlink counter, a sequence number, a nonce. ¶[0351]-¶[0353]).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the first network element according to claim 15, wherein the first network element is a network element in an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) architecture, and the first key is an application function (AF) key KAF; and
the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs in the memory, is further caused to perform:
generating the sensing service key based on the AF key KAF, the sensing service type, AKMA key identification information, and second network parameters, wherein the second network parameters comprise a random number (NONCE) and/or a count value (COUNT) (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the first network element according to claim 15, wherein the first network element is a network element in an authentication and key agreement (AKA) architecture or an extensible authentication protocol-authentication and key agreement (EAP-AKA) architecture, and the first key is an access and mobility management function (AMF) key KAMF or a security anchor function (SEAF) key KSEAF; and
the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs in the memory, is further caused to perform:
transmitting second request information to a second network element, wherein the second request information is configured to request the sensing service key, the sensing service key being generated by the second network element based on the AMF key KAMF or the SEAF key KSEAF (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE); and
receiving the sensing service key from the second network element (Zhang, ¶[0138], if the foregoing parameters are owned by the EAP server, the parameters need to sent to the peer for example, the session ID, the EAP server ID, the authenticator ID, the uplink or downlink counter, the sequence number or the nonce. ¶[0351], if the nonce is a parameter selected by an authenticator, the authenticator needs to send the nonce to the UE).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses the first network element according to claim 13, wherein integrity protection and/or encryption the first request information is performed based on a sensing service key (Zhang, ¶[0115]- ¶[0125], EAP server receives the RES and the MAC and performs verification and generates a key if the verification succeeds. The peer receives the EAP success message and GBA AKA authentication is completed).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang in view of Balasubramanian discloses a chip, comprising: a processor, wherein the processor, when loading and running one or more computer programs in a memory, causes a device equipped with the chip to perform the method as defined in claim 1 (see claim mapping of claim 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASIKA NIPA whose telephone number is (571)272-8923. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F (7:30 - 5:00).
/WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433