DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-10 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/04/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “sensor 200” should be “sensor 200 (Fig. 2)” [Page 12, Line 16] and “direction 608” should be “direction 608 (Fig. 6)” [Page 15, Line 10].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a plurality of geometric shapes including round or rectangular or, elliptical or triangular or square” should be “a plurality of geometric shapes including round, rectangular, elliptical, triangular, or square” [Claim 6, Lines 2-4]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashutosh Tomar (Hereafter, “Tomar”) [GB 2582752 A] in view of Pelzer [US 2009/0124959 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Tomar discloses an ultrasonic phased array sensor ([Page 2] parking sensor for a vehicle comprising an array of ultrasonic elements), comprising: a multi-layer structure including at least one first layer including a membrane ([Page 2] The term ultrasonic element refers to but is not limited to an element capable of converting an electrical signal into an ultrasonic wave and/or is capable of converting an incident vibrational wave into an electrical signal. Thus, the ultrasonic element may be any element that functions as an ultrasonic receiver, an ultrasonic transmitter or both (a transceiver). [Pages 7-8] In figure 1 B, the conductive track 104 is attached to a separate substrate layer 102'. The substrate layer 102' is shown in figure 1B attached to a surface of a vehicle body member 102.), at least one second layer including a piezoelectric substrate ([Page 2] the array of ultrasonic elements may comprise at least one piezo electric film), and at least one third layer including a plurality of electrical contacts ([Page 2] the array of ultrasonic elements comprises one or more electrically conductive pathways arranged on a surface of the substrate [Page 3] the one or more conductive pathways may comprise one or more contact elements in electrical contact with at least one piezoelectric film); wherein the electrical contacts are applied ([Page 3] the contact elements may be in electrical contact with at least one piezoelectric film form one or more ultrasonic elements of the array of ultrasonic elements).
Pelzer disclose an ultrasonic phased array sensor, comprising: a multi-layer structure ([0024] An ultrasonic membrane transducer 1 according to the present invention comprises a large number, e.g. 64, of transducer elements 2 as parts of a membrane substrate 3.) including at least one first layer including a membrane ([0027] membrane substrate 3), at least one second layer including a piezoelectric substrate ([0026] a thin film piezoelectric layer 6), and at least one third layer including a plurality of electrical contacts ([0026] a number of actuation electrodes 7 disposed on the surface of the transducer element 2); wherein the electrical contacts are applied independently of one another on a surface of the piezoelectric substrate ([0027] The control unit 4 is adapted for separately controlling the application of the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 in such a way that the ultrasonic signals 101, 102, 103, . . . emitted by the transducer elements 2 exhibit phase differences resulting in a focusable overall ultrasonic signal 10 of the transducer array 5. [0033] The control unit 4 applies a drive voltage to each transducer element 2 separately via the corresponding actuation electrodes 7. The drive voltage is applied in such a way that the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 is controlled separately.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the explicit teachings of separately controlling each transducer element as taught by Pelzer in order to apply appropriate drive voltages to the corresponding actuation electrodes [See Pelzer].
Regarding claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Tomar discloses wherein the membrane is mechanically connected to the piezoelectric substrate [Fig. 1A, 1B and 2].
Pelzer discloses wherein the membrane is mechanically connected to the piezoelectric substrate [Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the teachings of Pelzer in order to improve the operation and structure of the device [See Pelzer].
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Tomar fails to explicitly disclose wherein a number of the electrical contacts can be selected as desired.
Pelzer discloses wherein a number of the electrical contacts can be selected as desired ([0027] The control unit 4 is adapted for separately controlling the application of the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 in such a way that the ultrasonic signals 101, 102, 103, . . . emitted by the transducer elements 2 exhibit phase differences resulting in a focusable overall ultrasonic signal 10 of the transducer array 5. [0033] The control unit 4 applies a drive voltage to each transducer element 2 separately via the corresponding actuation electrodes 7. The drive voltage is applied in such a way that the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 is controlled separately.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the teachings of Pelzer in order to improve the operation and structure of the device [See Pelzer].
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Tomar discloses wherein the electrical contacts are divided into individual electrically separated regions, wherein each of the individual regions or a plurality of the individual regions can be controlled separately ([Fig. 3A, 3B, and 4 and Page 3] the contact elements may be in electrical contact with at least one piezoelectric film form one or more ultrasonic elements of the array of ultrasonic elements).
Pelzer discloses wherein the electrical contacts are divided into individual electrically separated regions, wherein each of the individual regions or a plurality of the individual regions can be controlled separately ([0027] The control unit 4 is adapted for separately controlling the application of the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 in such a way that the ultrasonic signals 101, 102, 103, . . . emitted by the transducer elements 2 exhibit phase differences resulting in a focusable overall ultrasonic signal 10 of the transducer array 5. [0033] The control unit 4 applies a drive voltage to each transducer element 2 separately via the corresponding actuation electrodes 7. The drive voltage is applied in such a way that the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 is controlled separately.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the teachings of Pelzer in order to improve the operation and structure of the device [See Pelzer].
Regarding claim 10, Tomar discloses a method ([Page 1] Aspects of the invention relate to a parking sensor, to a parking system, to a vehicle comprising such and to a method of operating such.), comprising: providing an ultrasonic phased array sensor ([Page 2] parking sensor for a vehicle comprising an array of ultrasonic elements), the ultrasonic phase array sensor including: a multi-layer structure including at least one first layer including a membrane ([Page 2] The term ultrasonic element refers to but is not limited to an element capable of converting an electrical signal into an ultrasonic wave and/or is capable of converting an incident vibrational wave into an electrical signal. Thus, the ultrasonic element may be any element that functions as an ultrasonic receiver, an ultrasonic transmitter or both (a transceiver). [Pages 7-8] In figure 1 B, the conductive track 104 is attached to a separate substrate layer 102'. The substrate layer 102' is shown in figure 1B attached to a surface of a vehicle body member 102.), at least one second layer including a piezoelectric substrate ([Page 2] the array of ultrasonic elements may comprise at least one piezo electric film), and at least one third layer including a plurality of electrical contacts ([Page 2] the array of ultrasonic elements comprises one or more electrically conductive pathways arranged on a surface of the substrate [Page 3] the one or more conductive pathways may comprise one or more contact elements in electrical contact with at least one piezoelectric film), wherein the electrical contacts are applied substrate ([Page 3] the contact elements may be in electrical contact with at least one piezoelectric film form one or more ultrasonic elements of the array of ultrasonic elements); and using the ultrasonic phased array sensor in an automotive application, wherein the ultrasonic phased array sensor is used as a parking sensor ([Abstract] ultrasonic parking sensor [Page 2] a parking sensor for a vehicle).
Pelzer discloses providing an ultrasonic phased array sensor, the ultrasonic phase array sensor including: a multi-layer structure ([0024] An ultrasonic membrane transducer 1 according to the present invention comprises a large number, e.g. 64, of transducer elements 2 as parts of a membrane substrate 3.) including at least one first layer including a membrane ([0027] membrane substrate 3), at least one second layer including a piezoelectric substrate ([0026] a thin film piezoelectric layer 6), and at least one third layer including a plurality of electrical contacts ([0026] a number of actuation electrodes 7 disposed on the surface of the transducer element 2), wherein the electrical contacts are applied independently of one another on a surface of the piezoelectric substrate ([0027] The control unit 4 is adapted for separately controlling the application of the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 in such a way that the ultrasonic signals 101, 102, 103, . . . emitted by the transducer elements 2 exhibit phase differences resulting in a focusable overall ultrasonic signal 10 of the transducer array 5. [0033] The control unit 4 applies a drive voltage to each transducer element 2 separately via the corresponding actuation electrodes 7. The drive voltage is applied in such a way that the electrical field to the piezoelectric layer 6 of each transducer element 2 is controlled separately.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the explicit teachings of separately controlling each transducer element as taught by Pelzer in order to apply appropriate drive voltages to the corresponding actuation electrodes [See Pelzer].
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomar in view of Pelzer in further view of FREIENSTEIN et al. (Hereafter, “Freienstein”) [US 2015/0329072 A1].
Regarding claim 3, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Tomar fails to explicitly disclose wherein a radiation angle can be varied by a phase shift.
Pelzer discloses wherein a ([0033] The ultrasound transducer 1 is working as a phased array in which the phase angles between the transducer elements 2 can be changed continuously or in discrete steps.).
Freienstein discloses wherein a radiation angle can be varied by a phase shift ([0008] So-called beamforming, in particular with a phase shift of a radar antenna array, makes it possible to vary a radiation angle of the environment sensor system or of an environment sensor group having a plurality of environment sensors. [0009] the at least one environment sensor to be in the form of an ultrasonic sensor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the teachings of Pelzer in order to improve the operation and structure of the device [See Pelzer]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar and Pelzer with the varying of a radiation angle of the ultrasonic sensor through a phase shift as taught by Freienstein in order to allow robust sensing of the environment in conjunction with the advantageous device [See Freienstein].
Regarding claim 5, the limitations of claim 3 have been addressed. Tomar discloses wherein the ultrasonic phased array sensor includes an obstacle height measurement by phase shifting ([Abstract] The array of ultrasonic elements is configured to emit and receive ultrasonic waves to determine the distance of an object from the parking sensor. The operation of the sensors conducted by a control system comprising one or more controllers to generate a signal for the array to emit, receiving a signal from the array and processing the received signal to determine the location of an object relative to the array. [Pages 14-15] The signal may be analysed to determine the location of the object 705 relative to the sensor. For example, the timing between the signal creating wave 701 and the signal of wave 702 may be used to determine the time of flight of the emitted wave 701 and reflected wave 702. The distance of the object can then be derived using on the speed of propagation of an ultrasonic wave in air. In embodiments, frequency shift, amplitude and directionality of the signal relating to reflected wave 702 may also be used. In embodiments, the signals received by each of the elements may be each analysed to determine an ultrasonographical image of at least a portion of the shape of an object.).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomar in view of Pelzer in further view of Lie [US 2011/0087434 A1].
Regarding claim 4, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Tomar fails to explicitly disclose wherein a radiation direction can be controlled by phase shifting.
Lie discloses wherein a radiation direction can be controlled by phase shifting ([0049] the one or more sensors are implemented as one or more ultrasonic transducer arrays [0117] the transducer array 320 is driven with the one or more drive signals Sd 390 which are optionally phase shifted and amplitude adjusted so that the transducer array 320 emits a beam of ultrasonic radiation in a preferred direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the use of phase shifting to control the radiation of an ultrasonic transducer array in a specific direction as taught by Lie in order to provide an improved monitoring system [See Lie].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomar in view of Pelzer in further view of Hori et al. (Hereafter, “Hori”) [US 2021/0055444 A1].
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Tomar discloses wherein the ultrasonic phased array sensor is realized in a plurality of geometric shapes including [Fig. 1A] or[Fig. 3A].
Hori discloses wherein the ultrasonic phased array sensor is realized in a plurality of geometric shapes including round or rectangular or, elliptical or triangular or square ([0030] In some examples, the first surface 110 of the housing 102 is to face and/or be positioned toward a geological formation to facilitate measurement of a velocity of the geological formation by the ultrasonic acoustic sensor 100 of FIG. 1. In the illustrated example of FIG. 1, the housing 102 has a generally rectangular cross-sectional shape. In other examples, the housing 102 may have other cross-sectional shapes, including regular (e.g., triangular, trapezoidal, circular, elliptical, etc.) and irregular geometric shapes.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the different shapes for the housing of the ultrasonic sensor as taught by Hori in order to improve the measurement system [See Hori].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomar in view of Pelzer in further view of MINERVINI et al. (Hereafter, “Minervini”) [US 2023/0262370 A1].
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Tomar fails to explicitly disclose wherein the membrane provides protection against environmental influences, wherein the membrane includes a moisture-resistant and dust-resistant material.
Minervini discloses wherein the membrane provides protection against environmental influences, wherein the membrane includes a moisture-resistant and dust-resistant material ([0036] ultrasonic sensor module with non-porous membrane to prevent liquid and air ingress and protect from external environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tomar with the teachings of Minervini in order to improve the protection of the sensor [See Minervini].
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482