DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 08/23/24.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 10/28/24 & 03/25/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
5. The drawings filed on 08/23/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “FACILITATING MULTI-STATIC SENSING AND COMMUNICATION”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objection
7. Claim 10-11 & 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
8. Claim 10 recites the clause with the optional language “adapted to..” in lines 8.
9. In order to present the claim in a better form and to describe a positive or require steps/function to be performing (i.e. using the claim language that does not suggest or make optionally but required steps to be performed), applicant is suggested to revise the claim language “operable to” / “adapted to” /“adapted for” to have the limiting effect, such that the steps/functions, which follows language “operable to” / “adapted to” /“adapted for”, to be performed are required (not optional) . (MPEP 2111.04).
10. Claim 20 is also objected to for the same reason claim 10 as set forth above.
11. Claim 11 is also objected since they are dependent upon objected independent claims set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-4, 7-14 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae et al. (hereinafter referred as Tae) Korean Patent Application No. KR 2019/0111813 A (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Bayesteh et al. (hereinafter referred as Bayesteh) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0076367 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 10: Tae discloses an apparatus/a method (See FIG. 35; a User Terminal) comprising:
at least one processor (See FIG. 35; a User Terminal includes a controller) caused, by executing the instructions, to:
obtain a time-frequency pattern (corresponding to transmission pattern) specific to a sensing pilot signal transmitting node (See FIG. 14 & Pages 18-19; the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal may be changed through higher layer signaling from the base station according to the situation of the terminal. That is, the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal suitable for the situation of the terminal may be selected by the base station, and the terminal receives configuration information on the selected transmission pattern via higher layer signaling from a base station),
wherein the time-frequency pattern (Corresponding to frequency domain allocation information) indicates, for a first plurality of resource blocks:
a second plurality of resource blocks that are to be used for transmitting a plurality of sensing pilot signals, and
a sensing pilot signal parameter (corresponding to a transmission pattern index) for each sensing pilot signal among the plurality of sensing pilot signals (See Page 19; the configuration information on the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal may be set to a plurality of patterns in which at least one of a transmission pattern index, frequency domain allocation information, or time domain allocation information for transmission of the positioning reference signal is different. the configuration information on the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal may include density information of the positioning reference signal in the frequency domain indicating the number of REs set in one OFDM symbol per PRB (Physical Resource Block)); and
a transmitter adapted to transmit in accordance with the time-frequency pattern, a particular sensing pilot signal among the plurality of sensing pilot signals (See Page 19; the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal is transmitted).
Tae does not explicitly disclose an apparatus comprising:
at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions; and a transmitter adapted to transmit, to a sensing pilot signal receiving node sensing pilot signal.
However, Bayesteh from the same field of endeavor discloses an apparatus (See FIG. 2A & Para. 0068; electronic device (ED)); comprising:
at least one non-transitory memory (See FIG. 2A & Para. 0068; electronic device (ED) includes memory) storing instructions; and
a transmitter adapted to transmit, to a sensing pilot signal receiving node sensing pilot signal (See FIG. 7 & Para. 0195; transmit a sensing signal to the base station according to the sensing signal configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a transmitter adapted to transmit, to a sensing pilot signal receiving node sensing pilot signal as taught by Bayesteh in the system of Tae in order to transmit a sensing signal according to the sensing signal configuration (See Para. Abstract; lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method,
Furthermore, Tae disclose the method, further comprising: receiving an echo of the particular sensing pilot signal; and obtaining an estimate of a sensing measurement that characterizes a difference between the particular sensing pilot signal and the echo of the particular sensing pilot signal (See Page 20; “The positioning reference signal. According to an example, in order to measure the location of the terminal, the terminal may receive a positioning reference signal from a serving cell and at least two adjacent cells, respectively. The terminal may measure reference signal time difference information between the received positioning reference signals. The terminal may transmit the RSTD information for the positioning reference signal to the base station. The base station may estimate the cross region based on the RSTD information. Accordingly, the position of the terminal can be estimated”).
Regarding claims 3 & 11: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Tae discloses the method, wherein the sensing pilot signal transmitting node comprises a transmit/receive point (See Page 20; a base station).
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae disclose the method, wherein the sensing pilot signal transmitting node comprises a user equipment (See FIG. 35; a User Terminal).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae disclose the method, wherein the sensing pilot signal parameter comprises a sub-carrier spacing (See FIG. 4; different subcarrier spacing used for satisfying different service requirements).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae discloses the method, wherein the time-frequency pattern indicates that a further plurality of resource blocks are to be used for transmitting data content signals (See Pages 19-20; NR communication system data is dynamically scheduled one or more slots of a bandwidth part comprising a plurality of resource blocks. Thus, using the time-frequency pattern comprised in the configuration information).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae disclose the method, wherein the time-frequency pattern indicates a single sensing pilot signal parameter for a particular first resource block among the first plurality of resource blocks (See Page 19; a bitmap indicating a start position in the time domain and a position in the frequency domain for the CSI-RS pattern may be provided by a higher layer parameter).
Regarding claims 12 & 20: Tae discloses apparatus (See FIG. 35; a User Terminal) comprising:
receive, from a sensing pilot signal transmitting node, a time-frequency pattern (corresponding to transmission pattern) specific to the sensing pilot signal transmitting node (See FIG. 14 & Pages 18-19; the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal may be changed through higher layer signaling from the base station according to the situation of the terminal. That is, the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal suitable for the situation of the terminal may be selected by the base station, and the terminal receives configuration information on the selected transmission pattern via higher layer signaling from a base station),
wherein the time-frequency pattern (Corresponding to frequency domain allocation information) indicating, for a first plurality of resource blocks:
a second plurality of resource blocks that are to be used for transmitting a plurality of sensing pilot signals, and
a sensing pilot signal parameter (corresponding to a transmission pattern index) for each sensing pilot signal among the plurality of sensing pilot signals (See Page 19; the configuration information on the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal may be set to a plurality of patterns in which at least one of a transmission pattern index, frequency domain allocation information, or time domain allocation information for transmission of the positioning reference signal is different. the configuration information on the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal may include density information of the positioning reference signal in the frequency domain indicating the number of REs set in one OFDM symbol per PRB (Physical Resource Block));
receive, from the sensing pilot signal transmitting node, a received version of a particular sensing pilot signal among the plurality of sensing pilot signals (See FIG. 14 & Page 20; The terminal may receive the positioning reference signal from a radio resource allocated to the transmission of the positioning reference signal based on the configuration information on the transmission pattern of the positioning reference signal. According to an example, in order to measure the location of the terminal, the terminal may receive a positioning reference signal from a serving cell and at least two adjacent cells, respectively. The terminal may measure reference signal time difference information between the received positioning reference signals.); and
a transmitter adapted to transmit an estimate of a sensing measurement that characterizes a difference between a transmitted version of the particular sensing pilot signal and the received version of the particular sensing pilot signal (See Page 20; The terminal may transmit the RSTD information for the positioning reference signal to the base station. The base station may estimate the cross region based on the RSTD information. Accordingly, the position of the terminal can be estimated).
Tae does not explicitly disclose an apparatus comprising: a receiver.
However, Bayesteh from the same field of endeavor discloses an apparatus comprising: a receiver (See FIG. 2A & Para. 0068; electronic device (ED) includes a transceiver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an apparatus comprising: a receiver as taught by Bayesteh in the system of Tae in order to transmit a sensing signal according to the sensing signal configuration (See Para. Abstract; lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae discloses the method, wherein the sensing pilot signal transmitting node comprises a transmit/receive point (See Page 20; a base station).
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae disclose the method, wherein the sensing pilot signal transmitting node comprises a user equipment (See FIG. 35; a User Terminal).
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae disclose the method, wherein the sensing pilot signal parameter comprises a sub-carrier spacing (See FIG. 4; different subcarrier spacing used for satisfying different service requirements).
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae discloses the method, wherein the time-frequency pattern indicates that a further plurality of resource blocks are to be used for transmitting data content signals (See Pages 19-20; NR communication system data is dynamically scheduled one or more slots of a bandwidth part comprising a plurality of resource blocks. Thus, using the time-frequency pattern comprised in the configuration information).
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose a method.
Furthermore, Tae disclose the method, wherein the time-frequency pattern indicates a single sensing pilot signal parameter for a particular first resource block among the first plurality of resource blocks (See Page 19; a bitmap indicating a start position in the time domain and a position in the frequency domain for the CSI-RS pattern may be provided by a higher layer parameter).
14. Claims 5-6 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae, in view of Bayesteh, further in view of Baum et al. (hereinafter referred as Baum) US Patent No. 7, 508, 842 B2.
Regarding claims 5 & 15: The combination of Tae and Bayesteh disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the particular sensing pilot signal comprises a chirp.
However, Baum from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the particular sensing pilot signal comprises a chirp (See Col. 7; lines 24-30; In either case, it is preferable to select specific values for the pilot symbols that provide low PAPR of the transmitted pilot block as well as nearly constant amplitude on each of the occupied pilot subcarriers. One type of sequence that is well suited to these goals is the families of chirp-like sequences, such as CAZAC, generalized chirp-like sequences, and the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the particular sensing pilot signal comprises a chirp as taught by Baum in the combined system of Bayesteh and Tae in order to increase the frequency proximity of occupied data sub-carriers to occupied pilot sub-carriers in the burst (See Para. Abstract; lines 6-7).
Regarding claims 6 & 16: The combination of Tae, Bayesteh and Baum discloses a method.
Furthermore, Baum discloses a method, wherein the sensing pilot signal parameter comprises a chirp rate (See Col. 7; lines 24-30; In either case, it is preferable to select specific values for the pilot symbols that provide low PAPR of the transmitted pilot block as well as nearly constant amplitude on each of the occupied pilot subcarriers. One type of sequence that is well suited to these goals is the families of chirp-like sequences, such as CAZAC, generalized chirp-like sequences, and the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the sensing pilot signal parameter comprises a chirp rate as taught by Baum in the combined system of Bayesteh and Tae in order to increase the frequency proximity of occupied data sub-carriers to occupied pilot sub-carriers in the burst (See Para. Abstract; lines 6-7).
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Qualcomm et al. 2024/0056248 A1 (Title: Reference signals for joint communication and sensing…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Bayesteh et al. 2025/0097885 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for sensing-assisted doppler...) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Alkhateeb et al. 2024/0264299 A1 (Title: Electronic device, system, and corresponding method for managing alarms sensing aided orthogonal time frequency space channel ..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469