DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/11/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argued “However, Arima does not disclose:
1. a third recess formed between a center of the third end edge in a longitudinal direction and the second end edge, as presently claimed; and
2. the claimed arrangement in which WWAN antennas are disposed in recesses on the second end edge while the GPS antenna is disposed in the third recess” and
“Arima does not disclose this arrangement. Rather, Arima discloses WLAN antenna 58 arranged on the second edge while WWAN antenna 59A is arranged in the third recess. Accordingly, the types of antennas disposed in the recesses of the present application and Arima are fundamentally different.
The present application intentionally arranges WWAN antennas in recesses on the second end edge and arranges the GPS antenna in the third recess in order to achieve improved antenna performance characteristics. As explained in the Specification, GPS antennas are advantageously positioned in recesses located vertically above during use of the device so as to reduce influence from surrounding conductive members, the user's body, and the like. See, e.g., paragraphs [0060]-[0068]. Arima neither discloses nor suggests this specific arrangement or its associated functional advantages.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because:
The third recess formed between a center of the third end edge in a longitudinal direction and the second end edge as shown in the marked-up fig. 34 below.
Arima discloses a first wide area network (WWAN) antenna (59A, fig. 34-35, para [0131]), a second WWAN antenna (59A).
Although Arima does not disclose wherein the first and second WWAN antennas are arranged in the first and second recesses, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first and second WWAN antennas taught in Arima in the first and second recesses as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to reduce the interference among the antennas operating in different frequencies in order to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant argued “a first ground line arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element." The cited prior art combination including Tsai does not disclose or suggest this limitation”.
Examiner respectfully disagree because the first ground line (21, 23, fig. 2, para [0019], [0023]) arranged to be separated from the feed element (5) in a longitudinal direction of the feed element (fig. 2).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “a first wide area network (WWAN) antenna” should read “a first wireless wide area network (WWAN) antenna”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " a first wide area network (WWAN) antenna that is a main antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN; and
a second WWAN antenna that is a sub antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN " in lines 24-27 which renders the claim indefinite.
It is not clear if they are the same or different WANs. For the purpose of examination, based on para [0030]-[0033], [0056], Examiner interprets the claim as "a first wide area network (WWAN) antenna that is a main antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN; and
a second WWAN antenna that is a sub antenna that performs wireless communication via [[a ]] the wireless WAN".
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 4 and 6.
Claims 3-12 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima et al, US-20110109517-A1 (hereinafter Arima).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Arima discloses the following:
a wireless communication device comprising:
a first housing (4, fig. 1) that contains metal (para [0006]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
a display panel (38) that is arranged in the first housing (4);
a second housing (2) that contains metal (fig. 3: second housing contains backing plate 17 which is metal, see para [0062]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
an input unit (11, 13, fig. 1) that is arranged in the second housing (2);
a connection portion (3) that connects the first housing (4) and the second housing (22, fig. 1, para [0055]);
a first Global Positioning System (GPS) antenna (59, para [0115]) that receives a signal from an artificial satellite (although Arima is silent about the artificial satellite, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the GPS antenna would receive signals from a satellite in order to identify the current location and navigation information); and
a communication circuit (control circuit board, para [0119]) that is connected to the first GPS antenna (para [0119]: connected to the first GPS antenna 59 through cable 59b), and receives a signal from the first GPS antenna (para [0119]: the communication circuit is connected to the first GPS antenna 59, it is implied that the communication circuit receives a signal from the antenna to perform wireless communication),
wherein the first housing (4, fig. 27) has an end edge (39) having a rectangular shape,
the end edge (39, fig. 34 below) includes a first end edge (“first end edge”) connected to the connection portion (fig. 27: the end edge 39 comprises protrusion for hinges 51 connected to 29 and 22, see para [0108], which are components of the connection portion 3, para [0078]), a second end edge (“second end edge “) facing the first end edge, a third end edge (“third end edge”) connected to the first end edge and the second end edge, and a fourth end edge (“fourth end edge”) facing the third end edge,
the first housing (4, para [0055]) is rotatably connected to the second housing (2) around the connection portion (3),
the first housing includes a first recess (“first recess”) and a second recess (“second recess”) that are formed at the second end edge and are recessed toward an inside of the first housing (fig. 34),
the first housing further includes a third recess (“third recess”) that is formed between a center of the third end edge in a longitudinal direction and the second end edge, and is recessed toward the inside of the first housing, and
at least a part of the first GPS antenna (59A, para [0115]) is arranged in the third recess;
the wireless communication device, further comprising:
a first wide area network (WWAN) antenna (59A, fig. 34-35, para [0131]) that is a main antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN (para [0131]); and
a second WWAN antenna (59A) that is a sub antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN (para [0131]).
Although Arima does not disclose wherein the first and second WWAN antennas are arranged in the first and second recesses, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first and second WWAN antennas taught in Arima in the first and second recesses as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to reduce the interference among the antennas operating in different frequencies in order to improve the antenna’s performance.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shin et al, US-6957085-B2 (hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 9, Arima does not disclose wherein the first GPS antenna has a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing in a state where the second end edge of the first housing is closest to the second housing.
Shin suggests the antenna (40, figs. 5-6) has a flat plate shape (fig. 6) arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing (63) in a state where the second end edge of the first housing (62) is closest to the second housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first GPS antenna taught in Arima to have a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing as suggested in Shin as claimed for the purpose of arranging the antenna to radiating toward the desired direction and reducing the space using to mount the antenna in order to reduce the size of the electronic device.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Tsai et al, US-20120146858-A1 (hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 10, Arima does not disclose wherein the first GPS antenna includes a feed element that is arranged in the third recess and includes a feedpoint, and a ground line that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element and is arranged in the third recess.
Tsai suggests wherein the antenna includes a feed element (5, fig. 2) that is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2: the recess of the end edge 13) and includes a feedpoint (50), and a ground line (21, 23, para [0019], [0023]) that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element and is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the feed element and the ground line as suggested in Tsai to the wireless communication device taught in Arima as claimed for the purpose of providing an antenna circuitry in order to perform wireless communication.
Regarding claim 12, Arima discloses wherein the ground line (59a, para [0118]) is electrically connected to the first housing (panel casing 39, para [0118], which is a part of the first housing 4, fig.27, para [0097]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima, US-20110109517-A1 in view of Tsai, US-20120146858-A1.
Regarding claim 13, Arima discloses the following:
a wireless communication device comprising:
a first housing (4, fig. 1) that contains metal (para [0006]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
a display panel (38) that is arranged in the first housing (4);
a second housing (2) that contains metal (fig. 3: second housing contains backing plate 17 which is metal, see para [0062]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
an input unit (11, 13, fig. 1) that is arranged in the second housing (2);
a connection portion (3) that connects the first housing (4) and the second housing (22, fig. 1, para [0055]);
a first Global Positioning System (GPS) antenna (59, para [0115]) that receives a signal from an artificial satellite (although Arima is silent about the artificial satellite, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the GPS antenna would receive signals from a satellite in order to identify the current location and navigation information); wherein
the first housing (4, fig. 27) has an end edge (39) having a rectangular shape,
the end edge (39, fig. 34 above) includes a first end edge (“first end edge”) connected to the connection portion (fig. 27: the end edge 39 comprises protrusion for hinges 51 connected to 29 and 22, see para [0108], which are components of the connection portion 3, para [0078]), a second end edge (“second end edge “) facing the first end edge, a third end edge (“third end edge”) connected to the first end edge and the second end edge, and a fourth end edge (“fourth end edge”) facing the third end edge,
the first housing (4, para [0055]) is rotatably connected to the second housing (2) around the connection portion (3),
the first housing includes a first recess (“first recess”) and a second recess (“second recess”) that are formed in at least one of the second end edge, the third end edge, and the fourth end edge (fig. 34) and are recessed toward an inside of the first housing (fig. 34).
Arima does not disclose the first GPS antenna includes a feed element having a feedpoint, and a first ground line arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element, the feed element is arranged in the first recess, and the first ground line is arranged in the second recess.
Tsai suggests the antenna includes a feed element (5, fig. 2) having a feedpoint (50), and a first ground line (21, 23, para [0019], [0023]) arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element, the feed element is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2: the recess of the end edge 13), and the first ground line is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2: the recess of the end edge 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the feed element and the ground line as suggested in Tsai to the wireless communication device taught in Arima as claimed for the purpose of providing an antenna circuitry in order to perform wireless communication.
Although the combination of Arima and Tsai does not disclose the feed element is arranged in the first recess and the ground line is arranged in the second recess, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the feed element and the ground line taught in Arima and Tsai in different recesses as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to separate the feed element and the ground line to avoid the short circuit between the feed element and the ground line in order to maintain the antenna’s performance.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima and Tsai as applied to claim 13 above and in view of Shin.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Arima and Tsai does not disclose wherein the first GPS antenna has a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing in a state where the second end edge of the first housing is closest to the second housing.
Shin suggests the antenna (40, figs. 5-6) has a flat plate shape (fig. 6) arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing (63) in a state where the second end edge of the first housing (62) is closest to the second housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first GPS antenna taught in Arima and Tsai to have a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing as suggested in Shin as claimed for the purpose of arranging the antenna to radiating toward the desired direction and reducing the space using to mount the antenna in order to reduce the size of the electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7-8, 11, 14 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “a first WWAN cable that is connected to the first WWAN antenna; a second WWAN cable that is connected to the second WWAN antenna; and a first GPS cable that is connected to the first GPS antenna, wherein the connection portion includes a first hinge arranged between a center of the first end edge in a longitudinal direction and the third end edge and a second hinge arranged between the center of the first end edge in the longitudinal direction and the fourth end edge, and the first WWAN cable, the second WWAN cable, and the first GPS cable are introduced into the second housing via the first hinge”.
Regarding claim 11, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the first housing further includes a fifth recess that is formed between the center of the third end edge in the longitudinal direction and the first end edge and is recessed toward the inside of the first housing, and the first GPS antenna includes a feed element that is arranged in the third recess and includes a feedpoint, and a ground line that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element and is arranged in the fifth recess”.
Regarding claim 14, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein a length of the first ground line in a longitudinal direction is from 1/6 to 1/3 of an effective wavelength of an electromagnetic wave received by the first GPS antenna.”
Regarding claim 16, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the first ground line is electrically connected to the first housing at a position closer to the feed element than a center of the first ground line in a longitudinal direction. ”
Regarding claim 17, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the feed element is electrically connected to the first housing at a position closer to the first ground line than the center of the feed element in the longitudinal direction.”
Regarding claim 18, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein an electrical length from a point of the feed element electrically connected to the first housing to a point of the first ground line electrically connected to the first housing is less than or equal to 1/2 of an effective wavelength of an electromagnetic wave received by the first GPS antenna. ”
Regarding claim 19, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the first GPS antenna further includes a second ground line that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in the longitudinal direction of the feed element, the second ground line is arranged in the first recess, and the feed element is arranged between the first ground line and the second ground line.”
However, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claims 5, 7-8 and 20 are considered allowable due to their respective dependencies.
Claims 4 and 6 would be allowable due to their dependencies if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845