DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in JP on 03/16/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a second GPS antenna that receives a signal from an artificial satellite " in line 2 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this artificial satellite is the same or different to the artificial satellite recited in lines 7-8 of claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein a length of the first ground line in a longitudinal direction is from 1/6 to 1/3, both inclusive, of an effective wavelength of an electromagnetic wave received by the first GPS antenna” in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what Applicant means and the spec does not explain about it either. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as “wherein a length of the first ground line in a longitudinal direction is from 1/6 to 1/3
Claim 17 recites the limitation “wherein the feed element is electrically connected to the first housing at a position closer to the first ground line than the center of the feed element in the longitudinal direction” in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if Applicant means the longitudinal direction of the feed element recited in claim 13. Claim 17 could depend on claim 16 to overcome the indefinite issue. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arima et al, US-20110109517-A1 (hereinafter Arima).
Regarding claim 1, Arima discloses the following:
a wireless communication device comprising:
a first housing (4, fig. 1) that contains metal (para [0006]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
a display panel (38) that is arranged in the first housing (4);
a second housing (2) that contains metal (fig. 3: second housing contains backing plate 17 which is metal, see para [0062]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
an input unit (11, 13, fig. 1) that is arranged in the second housing (2);
a connection portion (3) that connects the first housing (4) and the second housing (22, fig. 1, para [0055]);
a first Global Positioning System (GPS) antenna (59, para [0115]) that receives a signal from an artificial satellite (although Arima is silent about the artificial satellite, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the GPS antenna would receive signals from a satellite in order to identify the current location and navigation information); and
a communication circuit (control circuit board, para [0119]) that is connected to the first GPS antenna (para [0119]: connected to the first GPS antenna 59 through cable 59b), and receives a signal from the first GPS antenna (para [0119]: the communication circuit is connected to the first GPS antenna 59, it is implied that the communication circuit receives a signal from the antenna to perform wireless communication),
wherein the first housing (4, fig. 27) has an end edge (39) having a rectangular shape,
the end edge (39, fig. 34 below) includes a first end edge (“first end edge”) connected to the connection portion (fig. 27: the end edge 39 comprises protrusion for hinges 51 connected to 29 and 22, see para [0108], which are components of the connection portion 3, para [0078]), a second end edge (“second end edge “) facing the first end edge, a third end edge (“third end edge”) connected to the first end edge and the second end edge, and a fourth end edge (“fourth end edge”) facing the third end edge,
the first housing (4, para [0055]) is rotatably connected to the second housing (2) around the connection portion (3),
the first housing includes a first recess (“first recess”) and a second recess (“second recess”) that are formed at the second end edge and are recessed toward an inside of the first housing (fig. 34),
the first housing further includes a third recess (“third recess”) that is formed between a center of the third end edge in a longitudinal direction and the second end edge, and is recessed toward the inside of the first housing, and
at least a part of the first GPS antenna (59a) is arranged in the third recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Arima discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first wide area network (WWAN) antenna (59A, fig. 34) that is a main antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN (para [0131]); and
a second WWAN antenna (59A) that is a sub antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN (para [0131]).
Although Arima does not disclose wherein the first WWAN antenna is arranged in the first recess, and the second WWAN antenna is arranged in the second recess, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the two first and second WWAN antennas taught in Arima in the first and second recesses as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to increase the interference among the antennas operating in different frequencies in order to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 3, Arima discloses wherein the connection portion includes a first hinge (right hinge 51, fig. 34) arranged between a center of the first end edge in a longitudinal direction and the third end edge and a second hinge (left hinge) arranged between the center of the first end edge in the longitudinal direction and the fourth end edge.
Although Arima does not explicitly disclose the wireless communication device according to claim 2, further comprising: a first WWAN cable that is connected to the first WWAN antenna;
a second WWAN cable that is connected to the second WWAN antenna; and a first GPS cable that is connected to the first GPS antenna, and the first WWAN cable, the second WWAN cable, and the first GPS cable are introduced into the second housing via the first hinge, Arima discloses there are antenna cables 58b, 59b connecting to the corresponding antennas 58, 59 (para [0117], [0119]) and the cables are introduced into the second housing via the hinge (para [0117], [0119]).
Although Arima does not explicitly disclose the hinge is the first hinge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange cables taught in Arima to be in the first hinge as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to reduce the cable path between the antennas and the communication circuit in order to reduce the signal loss during signal transmitting and reduce the material cost.
Regarding claim 4, Arima discloses wherein the first GPS antenna (59, para [0131]) further performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN (para [0131]).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Arima discloses wherein the first housing further includes a fourth recess (fig. 34 below) that is formed between a center of the fourth end edge in a longitudinal direction and the second end edge and is recessed toward the inside of the first housing, and the second antenna (58) is arranged in the fourth recess.
Although Arima does not disclose the second antenna is a GPS antenna and the second GPS antenna that receives a signal from an artificial satellite, Arima discloses the wireless communication device comprises a plurality of antennas (58, 59A, fig. 35) working in different frequencies (para [0115], [0131]), and one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the GPS antenna would receive signals from a satellite in order to identify the current location and navigation information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second GPS antenna, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The motivation stems from the need to have a plurality of GPS antennas arranged in different locations in order to improve the received signals to provide better tracking information.
Although Arima does not explicitly disclose the wireless communication device according to claim 3, further comprising: a second GPS cable that is connected to the second GPS antenna, and the second GPS cable is introduced into the second housing via the first hinge, Arima discloses there are antenna cables 58b, 59b connecting to the corresponding antennas 58, 59 (para [0117], [0119]) and the cables are introduced into the second housing via the hinge (para [0117], [0119]).
Although Arima does not explicitly disclose the hinge is the first hinge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange cables taught in Arima to be in the first hinge as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to reduce the cable path between the antennas and the communication circuit in order to reduce the signal loss during signal transmitting and reduce the material cost.
Regarding claim 6, although Arima does not explicitly disclose the wireless communication device according to claim 3, further comprising: a third WWAN antenna that performs wireless communication via a wireless WAN; and a third WWAN cable that is connected to the third WWAN antenna, and the third WWAN cable is introduced into the second housing via the first hinge, Arima discloses the wireless communication device comprises a plurality of antennas (58, 59A, fig. 35) working in different frequencies (para [0115], [0131]) and there are antenna cables 58b, 59b connecting to the corresponding antennas 58, 59 (para [0117], [0119]) and the cables are introduced into the second housing via the hinge (para [0117], [0119]).
Although Arima does not explicitly disclose the hinge is the first hinge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange cables taught in Arima to be in the first hinge as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to reduce the cable path between the antennas and the communication circuit in order to reduce the signal loss during signal transmitting and reduce the material cost.
Although Arima does not disclose wherein the first housing further includes a fifth recess that is formed between the center of the third end edge in the longitudinal direction and the first end edge and is recessed toward the inside of the first housing, the third WWAN antenna is arranged in the fifth recess, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a fifth recess in the wireless communication device taught in Arima and arrange the third WWAN antenna in the fifth recess as claimed, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 7, Arima discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 3, further comprising:
a first WLAN antenna (58, para [0115]) that performs wireless communication via a wireless local area network (LAN) (para [0115]); and
a first WLAN cable (58b, para [0117]) that is connected to the first WLAN antenna (58), wherein
the first housing further includes a sixth recess (fig. 34 above) that is formed between a center of the fourth end edge in a longitudinal direction and the first end edge and is recessed toward the inside of the first housing,
the first WLAN antenna (58) is arranged in the sixth recess, and
the first WLAN cable (58b) is introduced into the second housing (2) via the hinge (para [0117]).
Although Arima does not explicitly disclose the hinge is the first hinge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange cables taught in Arima to be in the first hinge as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to reduce the cable path between the antennas and the communication circuit in order to reduce the signal loss during signal transmitting and reduce the material cost.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Matsumura et al, US-20110216510-A1 (hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 8, Arima does not disclose the wireless communication device according to claim 7, further comprising a relay board to which the first WWAN cable, the second WWAN cable, and the first GPS cable are connected and which is connected to the communication circuit, wherein the relay board is arranged at a position closer to the first hinge than the second hinge in the second housing.
Matsumura suggests the wireless communication device according to claim 7, further comprising a relay board (116, fig. 10) connected to a plurality of cables of antennas 109 (para [0071], fig. 8) are connected and which is connected to the communication circuit (113-115), wherein the relay board is arranged at a position closer to the first hinge (105, fig. 8) than the second hinge in the second housing (101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a relay board as suggested in Matsumura to the wireless communication device taught in Arima as claimed for the purpose of performing electrical connection precisely and compactly (Matsumura, para [0052]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shin et al, US-6957085-B2 (hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 9, Arima does not disclose wherein the first GPS antenna has a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing in a state where the second end edge of the first housing is closest to the second housing.
Shin suggests the antenna (40, figs. 5-6) has a flat plate shape (fig. 6) arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing (63) in a state where the second end edge of the first housing (62) is closest to the second housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first GPS antenna taught in Arima to have a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing as suggested in Shin as claimed for the purpose of arranging the antenna to radiating toward the desired direction and reducing the space using to mount the antenna in order to reduce the size of the electronic device.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Tsai et al, US-20120146858-A1 (hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 10, Arima does not disclose wherein the first GPS antenna includes a feed element that is arranged in the third recess and includes a feedpoint, and a ground line that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element and is arranged in the third recess.
Tsai suggests wherein the antenna includes a feed element (5, fig. 2) that is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2: the recess of the end edge 13) and includes a feedpoint (50), and a ground line (4, para [0020]) that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element and is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the feed element and the ground line as suggested in Tsai to the wireless communication device taught in Arima as claimed for the purpose of providing an antenna circuitry in order to perform wireless communication.
Regarding claim 11, Arima discloses wherein the first housing further includes a fifth recess that is formed between the center of the third end edge in the longitudinal direction and the first end edge and is recessed toward the inside of the first housing (fig. 34 below).
Arima does not disclose the first GPS antenna includes a feed element that is arranged in the third recess and includes a feedpoint, and a ground line that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element and is arranged in the fifth recess.
Tsai suggests wherein the antenna includes a feed element (5, fig. 2) that is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2: the recess of the end edge 13) and includes a feedpoint (50), and a ground line (4, para [0020]) that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element and is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the feed element and the ground line as suggested in Tsai to the wireless communication device taught in Arima as claimed for the purpose of providing an antenna circuitry in order to perform wireless communication.
Although the combination of Arima and Tsai does not disclose the feed element is arranged in the third recess and the ground line is arranged in the fifth recess, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the feed element and the ground line taught in Arima and Tsai in different recesses as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to separate the feed element and the ground line to avoid the short circuit between the feed element and the ground line in order to maintain the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 12, Arima discloses wherein the ground line (59a, para [0118]) is electrically connected to the first housing (panel casing 39, para [0118], which is a part of the first housing 4, fig.27, para [0097]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima, US-20110109517-A1 in view of Tsai, US-20120146858-A1.
Regarding claim 13, Arima discloses the following:
a wireless communication device comprising:
a first housing (4, fig. 1) that contains metal (para [0006]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
a display panel (38) that is arranged in the first housing (4);
a second housing (2) that contains metal (fig. 3: second housing contains backing plate 17 which is metal, see para [0062]) and has a rectangular plate shape (fig. 1);
an input unit (11, 13, fig. 1) that is arranged in the second housing (2);
a connection portion (3) that connects the first housing (4) and the second housing (22, fig. 1, para [0055]);
a first Global Positioning System (GPS) antenna (59, para [0115]) that receives a signal from an artificial satellite (although Arima is silent about the artificial satellite, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the GPS antenna would receive signals from a satellite in order to identify the current location and navigation information); wherein
the first housing (4, fig. 27) has an end edge (39) having a rectangular shape,
the end edge (39, fig. 34 above) includes a first end edge (“first end edge”) connected to the connection portion (fig. 27: the end edge 39 comprises protrusion for hinges 51 connected to 29 and 22, see para [0108], which are components of the connection portion 3, para [0078]), a second end edge (“second end edge “) facing the first end edge, a third end edge (“third end edge”) connected to the first end edge and the second end edge, and a fourth end edge (“fourth end edge”) facing the third end edge,
the first housing (4, para [0055]) is rotatably connected to the second housing (2) around the connection portion (3),
the first housing includes a first recess (“first recess”) and a second recess (“second recess”) that are formed in at least one of the second end edge, the third end edge, and the fourth end edge (fig. 34) and are recessed toward an inside of the first housing (fig. 34).
Arima does not disclose the first GPS antenna includes a feed element having a feedpoint, and a first ground line arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element, the feed element is arranged in the first recess, and the first ground line is arranged in the second recess.
Tsai suggests the antenna includes a feed element (5, fig. 2) having a feedpoint (50), and a first ground line (4, para [0020]) arranged to be separated from the feed element in a longitudinal direction of the feed element, the feed element is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2: the recess of the end edge 13), and the first ground line is arranged in the recess (figs. 1-2: the recess of the end edge 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the feed element and the ground line as suggested in Tsai to the wireless communication device taught in Arima as claimed for the purpose of providing an antenna circuitry in order to perform wireless communication.
Although the combination of Arima and Tsai does not disclose the feed element is arranged in the first recess and the ground line is arranged in the second recess, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the feed element and the ground line taught in Arima and Tsai in different recesses as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to separate the feed element and the ground line to avoid the short circuit between the feed element and the ground line in order to maintain the antenna’s performance.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arima and Tsai as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shin.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Arima and Tsai does not disclose wherein the first GPS antenna has a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing in a state where the second end edge of the first housing is closest to the second housing.
Shin suggests the antenna (40, figs. 5-6) has a flat plate shape (fig. 6) arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing (63) in a state where the second end edge of the first housing (62) is closest to the second housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first GPS antenna taught in Arima and Tsai to have a flat plate shape arranged along a plane intersecting the second housing as suggested in Shin as claimed for the purpose of arranging the antenna to radiating toward the desired direction and reducing the space using to mount the antenna in order to reduce the size of the electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein a length of the first ground line in a longitudinal direction is from 1/6 to 1/3, both inclusive, of an effective wavelength of an electromagnetic wave received by the first GPS antenna.”
Regarding claim 17, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the feed element is electrically connected to the first housing at a position closer to the first ground line than the center of the feed element in the longitudinal direction.”
However, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claims 16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the first ground line is electrically connected to the first housing at a position closer to the feed element than a center of the first ground line in a longitudinal direction. ”
Regarding claim 18, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein an electrical length from a point of the feed element electrically connected to the first housing to a point of the first ground line electrically connected to the first housing is less than or equal to 1/2 of an effective wavelength of an electromagnetic wave received by the first GPS antenna. ”
Regarding claim 19, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the first GPS antenna further includes a second ground line that is arranged to be separated from the feed element in the longitudinal direction of the feed element, the second ground line is arranged in the first recess, and the feed element is arranged between the first ground line and the second ground line.”
However, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claim 20 is considered allowable due to its respective dependencies.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Yamamoto et al, US-20200243947-A1, fig. 2 could read on claim 1
Iguchi et al, US-20060181468-A1, fig. 8 could read on claim 1
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH N HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845