DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This written action is responding to the amendment dated on 07/31/2026.
the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
3. Objection to claims 22, 33, 37 and 39 is withdrawn.
4. The 112(b) rejection to claims 25-26 and 32-36 is withdrawn.
5. The double patent rejection to claims 21, 23-24, and 28-40 is withdrawn.
6. Claims 21-22, 25-26, 31-33, 37, and 39 are amended.
7. Claims 21-40 are submitted for examination.
8. Claims 21-40 are rejected.
9. The Examiner would like to point out that this action is made final (See MPEP
706.07a).
10.
Applicant’s Argument:
On pages 6-7 of the Remarks/Arguments, Applicant argues that the combination of Jacquin and APA does not teach: “a baseboard management controller comprising a semiconductor package, wherein the semiconductor package comprises: a management plane comprising a first hardware processor, wherein the first hardware processor to execute a firmware management stack to, responsive to communications with a remote management entity, manage the host; and a security plane isolated from the management plane, wherein the security plane comprises a second hardware processor and a memory, and wherein the second hardware processor to manage a storage of a secret of the host in the memory”.
Response to Argument: Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments
Because Jacquin substantially teaches a computing platform for security processing, wherein the computing platform includes a plurality of components such as a processor, a security co-processor and a memory [0013-0014] and fig. 1-2, wherein in response to receiving a command, a firmware running on the computing platform may use commands to manage data such as retrieving and storing data that is secured by the trusted platform module, wherein the data such as a cryptographic key, or a password [0018], [0025], [0040], fig. 1, 3 and 4, wherein the security co-processor may store an encryption key in a secure memory in a secure manner, so unauthorized user cannot access the key [0012], [0017] and fig. 2). Note according to the specification of the instant application, entities can be considered isolated from each other, even if they are mounted on one motherboard or attached to one entity (see [0031] and fig. 1). Thus, Jacquin teaches that the components mounted on the computing platform are isolated, and further APA substantially teaches a computer platform (e.g., a server) may include a specialized service processor, called a "baseboard management controller," or "BMC," which monitors the physical state of the computer platform. The BMC may communicate with a remote management server through a management network for purposes of reporting information about the computer platform to the remote management server and allowing the remote management server to control actions that are performed by the BMC [0001]. Thus the combination of Jacquin and APA teaches the above limitations.
- Note examiner asserted that claim 32 is rejected for the same reason as claim 26, however claim 26 depends on claim 21, and 23-24, for example claim 24 teaches the management plane proxy to perform a plurality of functions as recited in claim 32.
11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27-31, 37 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquin et al,. US 2020/0097657 (hereinafter Jacquin), in view of the background of the instant application (hereinafter Admitted prior art (APA)).
Regarding claim 21 Jacquin teaches an apparatus comprising:
a host [0013] and fig. 1; and a baseboard management controller comprising a semiconductor package, wherein the semiconductor package comprises: a management plane comprising a first hardware processor, wherein the first hardware processor to execute a firmware management stack (Jacquin teaches a computing platform for security processing, wherein the computing platform includes a plurality of components such as a processor, a security co-processor and a memory [0013-0014] and fig. 1-2, wherein in response to receiving a command, a firmware running on the computing platform may use commands to manage data such as retrieving and storing data that is secured by the trusted platform module, wherein the data such as a cryptographic key, or a password [0018], [0025], [0040] and fig. 4); and
a security plane isolated from the management plane, wherein the security plane comprises a second hardware processor and a memory, and wherein the second hardware processor to manage a storage of a secret of the host in the memory (Jacquin teaches a security co-processor to store an encryption key in a secure memory in a secure manner, so unauthorized user cannot access the key [0012], [0017] and fig. 2). Note according to the specification of the instant application, entities can be considered isolated from each other, even if they are mounted on one motherboard or attached to one entity (see [0031] and fig. 1). Thus, Jacquin teaches that the components mounted on the computing platform are isolated. Jacquin does not teach responsive to communications with a remote management entity, manage the host. APA substantially teaches a computer platform (e.g., a server) may include a specialized service processor, called a "baseboard management controller," or "BMC," which monitors the physical state of the computer platform. The BMC may communicate with a remote management server through a management network for purposes of reporting information about the computer platform to the remote management server and allowing the remote management server to control actions that are performed by the BMC [0001].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jacquin such that the invention further
includes responsive to communications with a remote management, manage the host.
One would have been motivated to do so to report information about a computer
platform to the remote management server and allowing the remote management
server to control actions that are performed by the BMC (APA: [0001]).
Regarding claim 27 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first hardware processor comprises a plurality of processing cores (Jacquin: [0013]).
Regarding claim 28 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the memory comprises terminals to communicate data, address and control signals with the memory; and none of the terminals are exposed outside of the semiconductor package (Jacquin teaches a security co-processor such as trusted platform module may comprise a memory, wherein the memory may be used to store and retrieve secret data [0013-0014], [0025], [0054], and fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 29 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the secret comprises a cryptographic key, a certificate or a password (Jacquin: [0017]).
Regarding claim 30 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the security plane further comprises a secure enclave having an associated cryptographic boundary; the second hardware processor and the memory are inside the cryptographic boundary; and the first hardware processor is outside of the cryptographic boundary (Jacquin: fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 31 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first hardware processor to further perform at least one of controlling a system power state of the host, controlling a boot path of the host, performing thermal management of the host, managing a use of a virtual media by the host, controlling a boot of the host, performing security checks for the host, performing fault checks for the host, validating firmware executed by the first hardware processor, validating firmware executed by the second processor, performing fault recovery of the host, or providing a remote console for the remote management entity (Jacquin teaches verifying that a requester is authorized by the authorization policy to access a secured data [0035], and further APA teaches the BMC may monitor sensors (e.g., temperature
sensors, cooling fan speed sensors); monitor an operating system status; monitor
power statuses; log computer system events; perform remotely-controlled computer
platform functions (e.g., powering up and powering down the computer platform);
and so forth [0001]).
Regarding claim 37 Jacquin as modified teaches a management controller comprising:
a semiconductor package comprising a main hardware processor and a secure enclave, wherein the secure enclave comprises a secure memory and a hardware security processor (Jacquin teaches a computing platform for security processing, wherein the computing platform includes a processor, a security co-processor and a memory [0013-0014] and fig. 1-2);
a communication interface; wherein the main hardware processor to manage a host of a computer platform; and wherein the hardware security processor to provide an application programming interface (API) to manage a secret stored in the secure memory (Jacquin teaches software may include the various computer programs running on the computing platform, from the computer applications used to run communication networks in large datacenters down to the apps on a smartphone and desktop applications on a personal computer [0016]. A security co-processor to store an encryption key in a secure memory in a secure manner, so unauthorized user cannot access the key [0012], [0017]). Jacquin does not teach communicating with a remote management server and responsive to the communication, manage an entity. APA substantially teaches a computer platform (e.g., a server) may include a specialized service processor, called a "baseboard management controller," or "BMC," which monitors the physical state of the computer platform. The BMC may communicate with a remote management server through a management network for purposes of reporting information about the computer platform to the remote management server and allowing the remote management server to control actions that are performed by the BMC [0001].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jacquin such that the invention further includes communicating with a remote management server and responsive to the communications, manage an entity. One would have been motivated to do so to report information about a computer platform to the remote management server and allowing the remote management server to control actions that are performed by the BMC (APA: [0001]).
Regarding claim 39 Jacquin as modified teaches the management controller of claim 37, wherein the semiconductor package further comprises: a first die comprising the secure memory (Jacquin: fig. 1-2);a second die comprising the hardware security processor and the main hardware processor (Jacquin: fig. 1); and an interconnect to couple the first die and the second die (Jacquin teaches a security co-processor to store an encryption key in a secure memory in a secure manner, so unauthorized user cannot access the key [0012], [0017], fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 40 Jacquin as modified teaches the management controller of claim 37, wherein: the secure enclave has an associated cryptographic boundary; the hardware security processor and the secure memory are inside the cryptographic boundary; and the main hardware processor is outside of the cryptographic boundary (Jacquin: fig. 1-2).
12.
Claims 23-26, 32-36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquin and APA as mentioned above, and further in view of Goel et al. US 2022/0179674 (hereinafter Goel).
Regarding claim 23 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first hardware processor to further a requestor of the host, communicate with the security plane to manage the storage of the secret in the memory (Jacquin teaches a computing platform for security processing, wherein the computing platform includes a processor, a security co-processor and a memory [0013-0014] and fig. 1-2. Verifying that a requester is authorized by the authorization policy to access a secured data [0035]). The combination of Jacquin and APA does not teach a proxy entity to receive data from an entity and forward the data to another entity. Goel substantially teaches a key management agent (i.e. proxy) may provide encryption keys to be stored in a key vault provided by the BMC and forward the retrieved encryption keys from the key vault to requesting VM [0046-0047], and fig. 4 and 7A-7C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jacquin and APA such that the invention further includes a proxy entity to receive data from an entity and forward the data to another entity. One would have been motivated to do so to monitor traffic flows between internal and external entities.
Regarding claim 24 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein: the management plane proxy to receive, from the requestor, a request to manage the storage of the secret in the memory; the management plane proxy to forward the request to the security plane; the security plane to provide, to the management plane proxy, a response to the request; and the management plane proxy to forward the response to the requestor (Jacquin teaches a computing platform for security processing, wherein the computing platform includes a processor, a security co-processor and a memory [0013-0014] and fig. 1-2), and further Goel teaches a key management agent may provide encryption keys to be stored in a key vault provided by the BMC and forward the retrieved encryption keys from the key vault to requesting VM [0046-0047], and fig. 4 and 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 25 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein: the security plane further comprises a bridge; and the bridge to: verify a credential of the requestor; and regulate processing of the request, by the security plane, based on a result of the verification (Jacquin teaches verifying that a requester is authorized by the authorization policy to access a secured data, wherein an a policy engine may verify the signature using a public key in the authorization policy, and wherein if the verification is successful, the requester may be authorized to access the secured data [0035]).
Regarding claim 26 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein: the request is associated with an action to be taken in association with the secret; and the second hardware processor to further: determine whether the requestor has an access privilege to allow the action; and regulate processing of the request, by the security plane, based on a result of the determination (Jacquin teaches verifying that a requester is authorized by the authorization policy to access a secured data [0035]).
In response to Claim 32: Rejected for the same reason as claim 26
In response to Claim 33: Rejected for the same reason as claim 24
In response to Claim 34: Rejected for the same reason as claim 31
Regarding claim 35 Jacquin as modified teaches the method of claim 32, wherein:
managing the secret further comprises executing, by a security hardware processor of the security plane, instructions associated with an application programming interface (API) (Jacquin: [0016]); and
executing the instructions comprises the security hardware processor performing at least one of storing a cryptographic key in the secure memory, storing a key encrypting key in the secure memory, storing a cryptographic key created by the security plane in the secure memory, storing a certificate in the secure memory, storing a certificate in the secure memory, deleting a certificate from the secure memory or updating a certificate stored in the secure memory (Jacquin teaches a security co-processor to store an encryption key in a secure manner, so unauthorized user cannot access the key [0012], [0017-0018]).
Regarding claim 36 Jacquin as modified teaches the method of claim 32, wherein: the security plane further comprises a security hardware processor; and managing the secret further comprises managing storage of the secret inside a cryptographic boundary containing the security hardware processor and the secure memory (Jacquin: fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 38 Jacquin as modified teaches the management controller of claim 37, wherein: the secret comprises a first secret of the host; the main hardware processor to serve as a proxy for the hardware security processor for a first request from the host directed to managing the first secret; and the main hardware processor to submit a second request to the hardware security processor directed to managing a second secret associated with the management controller (Jacquin teaches a computing platform for security processing, wherein the computing platform includes a processor, a security co-processor and a memory [0013-0014] and fig. 1-2, and further Goel teaches a key management may provide encryption keys to be stored in a key vault provided by the BMC and forward the retrieved encryption keys from the key vault to [0046-0047], and fig. 4 and 7A-7C).
13.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquin and APA as mentioned above, and further in view of Nishikata et al. US 2019/0281012 (hereinafter Nishikata).
Regarding claim 22 Jacquin as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 21, further comprising: a fire wall between the management plane and the security plane, wherein the second hardware processor to further provide an application programming interface (API) (Jacquin teaches software may include the various computer programs running on the computing platform, from the computer applications used to run communication networks in large datacenters down to the apps on a smartphone and desktop applications on a personal computer [0016]). The combination of Jacquin and APA does not a firewall to control communication between two entities. Nishikata substantially teaches a firewall of BMC [0144].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jacquin and APA such that the invention further includes a firewall to control communication between two entities. One would have been motivated to do so to limit and restrict communication between entities based on specific conditions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYOUB ALATA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494