DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morris et al. (US 2,758,723).
Regarding claim 1, Morris discloses a bottle topper comprising: a top portion (11), the top portion having an opening (14) therein and extending between a front side and a back side, the opening sized to receive a top of a bottle; and a bottom portion (10) capable of holding a packet, the bottom portion having a first slot (17 - top/bottom, 18 - top/bottom or 21) to receive a first end of the packet and a second slot (17 - top/bottom, 18 - top/bottom or 21) to receive a second end of the packet, the first slot and the second slot are separated from each other along a length of the bottom portion. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, the opening is a circle. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 5, scored portions (15) are around at least a portion of the opening. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6, a fold line (at 10) separates the top portion from the bottom portion. See Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 7, the top portion has a curved portion (at 11) along a portion of an outside surface thereof. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 8, the slots are straight, at least along the length direction and top and bottom of 17. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 9, the slots are other than straight, at least along a width direction. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 10, a packet has one end in each of the first slot and the second slot. See Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris as applied above in further view of Patton (US 2020/0283210).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Morris does not disclose a water bottle. Patton, which is drawn to a bottle topper, discloses the bottle being a water bottle. See [0085].
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the topper of Morris be attached to a water bottle, as disclosed by Patton, in order to attach items that may go along with water.
Regarding claim 3, Morris does not disclose a non-circle as claimed. Patton discloses an opening (26) that is not a circle. See Fig. 1. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the opening of Morris not be a circle, as disclosed by Patton, in order to better the topper to various shaped bottles. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the opening be not be a circle, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. See Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734