Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 9/23/26. In the reply, the applicant amended the specification and claims 1-2, 5, 8, 10-11, 17-18. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larsson et al. (US 2023/0124979) (“Larsson”). Larsson discloses (Figs.5a,b): A wearable lactation aid apparatus, comprising: a nipple cone 40; a compression device 10, the nipple cone extending through an orifice of the compression device (see Fig.5b); and a cone shaped shield 11 configured to conform to a shape of a breast of a user, the shield removably connected to the nipple cone (see Figs.5a,b), wherein the nipple cone abuts an inner surface of the compression device and the shield abuts an outer surface of the compression device such that the compression device is positioned between the shield and the nipple cone (Figs.5a).
Claim 2: further comprising: a suction pump 2 connected to the shield 11 and in fluid communication with the nipple cone (Fig.5a); and a collection container in fluid communication with the suction pump and positioned between the shield and the suction pump, wherein a pressure created by the suction pump is only enough to draw pooled, expressed milk to the collection container. [0115]
Claim 5,18: the shield connected to the nipple cone forms a reservoir 46 for the pooled, expressed milk, the reservoir in fluid communication with the collection chamber [0129]
Claim 8: the nipple cone includes a trunk extending through the orifice in the compression device the trunk connected to the shield (Fig.5a)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6, 10, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Looney et al. (US 2018/0126052) (“Looney”).
Larsson discloses the invention as substantially claimed but does not directly disclose the compression device being an inflatable bag. Looney, in the analogous art, teaches a similiar wearable lactation aid apparatus wherein the compression device is an inflatable bag positioned between the shield and the nipple cone. [0048] Figs 13-17. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flexible inner part 4, 40 (compression device) of Larsson with the inflatable bag as taught by Looney for another controlled way to massage the breast.
From Looney, the compression device is an inflatable bag 304,305, the apparatus further comprising an air pump 317(within 303);309,306 connected to the shield and the inflatable bag. [0047] a collection container 308 in fluid communication with the pump and positioned between the shield and the pump; a first pressure valve in fluid communication with the collection container and the pump and positioned between the collection container and the pump; and a second pressure valve in fluid communication with the inflatable bag and the pump and positioned between the inflatable bag and the pump. Fig 17
Claim 6: the inflatable bag comprises stitching 217 forming a plurality of chambers within the inflatable bag. Figs 13,14
Claim 10: (from Larsson) the nipple cone comprises a trunk 40 extending from a flexible flange, the flexible flange abuts the inner surface (examiner interpretation: inner surface of compression device??)
Claim 16: (from Looney) further comprising a backflow prevention device 318 connected to the pump and the collection container.
Claims 7, 9, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson in view of Looney further in view of Morton et al. (US 2003/0073951) (“Morton”).
Larsson/Looney discloses the invention as substantially claimed but does not directly disclose the inflatable bag includes a hook and loop fastener configured to fix the inflatable bag into a cone shape from a flat shape. Morton, in the analogous art, similarly teaches an inflatable bladder support [0093]. The support is adjustable in size via a flexible structure with hook and loop fasteners to accommodate a wide variety of patients [0093-0095]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inflatable bag as taught by Larsson/Looney with hook and loop fasteners to secure as taught by Morton to secure the device in a way to accommodate a variety of sized patients.
Morton also teaches a heating element removably connected to the compression device [0056,0063]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection was necessitated by applicant’s amendments therefore the rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783