DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species VI: an elevator assembly having a rotating plate, slide, and frame as illustrated in Figs. 9-11D, in the reply filed on 04/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment field 07/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 14-17, and 21-35 are currently pending in the application. Claims 2-13 and 18-20 are canceled. Claims 21-35 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the independent claims has been amended with new limitations. Such newly added limitations change the scope of the claims, renders the previous rejection identified in the non-final office action dated 04/21/2026 moot, and requires a new ground of rejection. As such the previous rejections identified in the non-final office action 04/21/2026 have been withdrawn. A new ground of rejection is presented below.
Please see section 35 U.S.C. §102 and 35 U.S.C. §103 below for further explanation.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes a typo. The limitation in claim 1 should be amended to state, “…wherein the instrument is extendable through the second lumen…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lumen" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the first lumen.” Appropriate correction is required. Claims 21-28 depend from claim 1 and are also rejected because of their dependency on the rejected base claim 1.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the plate" twice in lines 8 and 10, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the rotatable plate.” Appropriate correction is required. Claims 30-35 depend from claim 29 and are also rejected because of their dependency on the rejected base claim 29.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the slide" three times in lines 9, 10, and 11, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation in line 8 to omit the word “member,” so the limitation states, “a slide rotatable plate.” If Applicant chooses to make Examiner suggested amendment, then it is also suggested to reflect such amendment in claims 33-34. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 30-35 depend from claim 29 and are also rejected because of their dependency on the rejected base claim 29.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the plate" twice in lines 1 and 2, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the rotatable plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 recites the limitation “lumen” in line 1. However claim 29, which claim 34 directly depends from, previously introduces the term “a lumen” in line 6. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 34 is referencing the previously introduced ‘lumen’ of claim 29 or introducing a new and distinct ‘lumen.’ It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the lumen.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamaya et al. (US2003/0040657).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamaya discloses, a device (Figs. 74-85E fourteenth embodiment endoscope) comprising:
a shaft (Fig. 74 insertion unit 302) having a distal end (Fig. 74 near distal component assembly 305) and a first lumen (Fig. 74 instrument passage channel 315), the lumen terminating in a distally-facing opening (Fig. 74 near reference numeral 310,[0547]), wherein an instrument (Figs. 74-79a treatment instrument 359) is extendable through the first lumen (Fig. 74 instrument passage channel 315) and out the distally-facing opening (Fig. 74 near reference numeral 310,[0547]); and
an elevator (Figs. 74-79a first treatment instrument swing stand 310 and angling wire 341) for engaging the instrument (Figs. 74-79a treatment instrument 359), the elevator (Figs. 74-79a first treatment instrument swing stand 310 and angling wire 341) including:
an actuator (Figs. 74-79a angling wire 341) extending through at least a portion ([0535], Figs. 76 and 79a) of the shaft (Fig. 74 insertion unit 302); and
a rotatable plate (see annotated Fig. 79a) coupled to the actuator (Figs. 74-79a angling wire 341), wherein the rotatable plate (see annotated Fig. 79a) is angled such that a distal portion (see annotated Fig. 79a) of the rotatable plate (see annotated Fig. 79a) is more distal than a proximal portion (see annotated Fig. 79a) of the rotatable plate (see annotated Fig. 79a), wherein the rotatable plate (see annotated Fig. 79a) is rotatable about ([0516] “In the present embodiment, the first treatment instrument swing stand 310 moves in the rightward and leftward directions of the endoscope…”) a longitudinal axis of the shaft (Fig. 74 longitudinal axis of insertion unit 302), wherein the rotatable plate (see annotated Fig. 79a) includes a second lumen (Fig. 79a treatment instrument passage hole 357) aligned with the first lumen (Fig. 74 instrument passage channel 315, [0547]), wherein the instrument (Figs. 74-79a treatment instrument 359) is extendable though the second lumen (Fig. 79a treatment instrument passage hole 357), and wherein the rotation of the rotatable plate (see annotated Fig. 79a) is configured deflect the instrument(Figs. 74-79a treatment instrument 359).
Regarding Claim 21, Yamaya discloses, the device of claim 1, wherein the distal portion (see annotated Fig. 79a) and the proximal portion (see annotated Fig. 79a) are longitudinally fixed relative to (Examiner’s note: Examiner is interpreting the phrase “fixed relative to” broadly. Here, Yamaya discloses the distal portion and the proximal portion, as annotated below, are fixed relative to the shaft because they can not move in the up/down direction and rotation shafts 358 limit their movement because they are fixed to distal component assembly 305. [0516]. Also see arrows near reference numeral 310 in Fig. 74. ) the shaft (Fig. 74 insertion unit 302).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaya in view of Calabrese et al. (US2018/0249895) hereinafter Calabrese.
Regarding Claim 22, Yamaya disclose the device of claim 21 but is silent as to further include wherein the rotatable plate includes a recess, wherein the elevator further includes a slide member positioned within the recess.
However Calabrese, in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the rotatable plate (Figs. 1-8b elevator 140) includes a recess (Figs. 1-8b indentation 168 [0027]), wherein the elevator (Figs. 1-8b tip 108 near elevator 140) further includes a slide member (Figs. 1-8b protrusion 170, [0034]) positioned within the recess (Figs. 1-8b indentation 168 [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yamaya to include a recess within the rotatable plate, as taught by Calabrese, for the benefit of having the rotatable plate configured “…to exert a holding or gripping force on [an] instrument” (Calabrese – [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamaya to include a slide member positioned within the recess, as taught by Calabrese, for the benefit of “…holding or locking …[an]…instrument…” once the instrument is in a desired orientation (Calabrese – [0034]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are allowable.
Claims 23-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the cited 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections as suggested above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach, among other features, a device, comprising: a shaft having a distal end and a first lumen, the first lumen terminating in a distal-facing opening, wherein an instrument is extendable through the first lumen and out of the distal-facing opening, and an elevator for engaging the instrument, the elevator including: a first actuator extending through at least a portion of the shaft; a rotatable plate coupled to the first actuator, wherein the rotatable plate is angled such that a distal portion of the rotatable plate is more distal relative to a proximal portion of the rotatable plate, wherein the rotatable plate includes: a second lumen configured to align with the first lumen, and a recess; a second actuator extending through at least a portion of the shaft; a slide member coupled to the second actuator, wherein the slide member is positioned within the recess and includes a third lumen configured to align with the first lumen; and a frame fixedly positioned within the shaft, wherein the rotatable plate is rotatably coupled to the frame.
The prior art also fails to teach, among other features, a device, comprising: a shaft having a distal end and a working channel, the working channel terminating in a distal-facing opening, wherein an instrument is extendable through the working channel and out of the distal-facing opening; and an elevator for engaging the instrument, the elevator including: a rotatable plate including a lumen; a first actuator configured to rotate the rotatable plate; a slide rotatable plate; and a second actuator configured to longitudinally move the slide, wherein rotation of the rotatable plate changes an orientation of the slide, and wherein longitudinal movement of the slide exerts a force on the instrument against a wall of the working channel to change an orientation of the instrument.
Matsui et al. (US6458074) teaches the above except for wherein the rotatable plate includes: a second lumen configured to align with the first lumen, and a recess; a second actuator extending through at least a portion of the shaft; a slide member coupled to the second actuator, wherein the slide member is positioned within the recess and includes a third lumen configured to align with the first lumen.
Koji Yamaya (US2007/0112249) teaches the above except for wherein the rotatable plate includes: a recess; a second actuator extending through at least a portion of the shaft; a slide member coupled to the second actuator, wherein the slide member is positioned within the recess and includes a third lumen configured to align with the first lumen.
Yamaya et al. (US2003/0040657) teaches the above except for the rotatable plate includes: a second lumen configured to align with the first lumen, and a recess; a second actuator extending through at least a portion of the shaft; a slide member coupled to the second actuator, wherein the slide member is positioned within the recess and includes a third lumen configured to align with the first lumen.
Calabrese et al. (US2018/0249895) teaches the above except for a rotatable plate coupled to the first actuator, wherein the rotatable plate is angled such that a distal portion of the rotatable plate is more distal relative to a proximal portion of the rotatable plate, wherein the rotatable plate includes: a second lumen configured to align with the first lumen, and a recess; a second actuator extending through at least a portion of the shaft; a slide member coupled to the second actuator, wherein the slide member is positioned within the recess and includes a third lumen configured to align with the first lumen; and a frame fixedly positioned within the shaft, wherein the rotatable plate is rotatably coupled to the frame.
There is no reason or suggestion provided in the prior art to modify the above prior art to have the additional features as claimed above, and the only reason to modify the references would be based on Applicant’s disclosure, which is impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795