DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwartz et al. (US 2019/0234474 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schwartz et al. discloses an electromechanical drum brake (fig. 1) for a motor vehicle, comprising:
a drum (18), in which brake shoes (46, 48) are arranged; and
an adjusting device (32, 60), which is arranged between the brake shoes (24, 26) and driven by a drive unit (16 in fig. 2) and via which the brake shoes can be spread for braking;
wherein an end of each of the brake shoes that faces the adjusting device (32, 60) is supported on a support arrangement (24, 26, 44) cooperating with the adjusting device, movably in relation to the support arrangement, wherein a spreading force of the adjusting device is transferable to the brake shoes via the support arrangement.
Re-claim 2, Schwartz et al. discloses a support bearing (22), on which the brake shoes are movably supported, is arranged at an end (50) of the brake shoes that is opposite to the adjusting device (32, 60).
Re-claim 3, Schwartz et al. discloses the support arrangement (22) includes semi-annular expansion clips (note the members 24 and 26 are supported on anchor pin(s) 22 and thereby pivotally coupled to spider 20 at one end, wherein the web 44 may have one end 50 that defines a semicircular recess 52 configured to receive a corresponding anchor pin 22in [[0018]).
Re-claim 4, Schwartz et al. discloses a support bearing (22), on which the expansion clips are rotatably supported, is arranged at an end of the brake shoes that is opposite to the adjusting device (note are supported on anchor pin(s) 22 and thereby pivotally coupled to spider 20 at one end, wherein the web 44 may have one end 50 that defines a semicircular recess 52 configured to receive a corresponding anchor pin 22in [[0018]).
Re-claim 7, Schwartz et al. discloses the adjusting device including a cam (60), and wherein, at an expansion clip end facing the cam, the expansion clips respectively include a roller carrier (34, 36), on which a roller is arranged, which is in contact with the cam (note the roller members that contact the cam 60).
Re-claim 8, Schwartz et al. discloses the adjusting device is an S-shaped cam (60).
Re-claim 9, Schwartz et al. discloses an adjustment path of the cam is configured in such a way that the adjustment path includes wear of the brake shoes (note the slack adjuster translates linear motion of a pushrod extending from the brake actuator into rotational movement of the camshaft to control the position of the camshaft and cam and to adjust the position to account for brake lining wear in [0002]).
Re-claim 10, Schwartz et al. discloses the drive unit (16 in fig. 2) includes a transmission unit, which is configured without locking (note anti-locking in [0037]).
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urban et al. (US 4,476,968).
Regarding claim 1, Urban et al. discloses an electromechanical drum brake (fig. 1) for a motor vehicle, comprising:
a drum (12), in which brake shoes (22, 24) are arranged; and
an adjusting device (32), which is arranged between the brake shoes and driven by a drive unit (air motor 41) and via which the brake shoes can be spread for braking;
wherein an end of each of the brake shoes that faces the adjusting device (32) is supported on a support arrangement (26) cooperating with the adjusting device, movably in relation to the support arrangement, wherein a spreading force of the adjusting device is transferable to the brake shoes via the support arrangement.
Re-claim 2, Urban et al. discloses a support bearing (18), on which the brake shoes are movably supported, is arranged at an end of the brake shoes that is opposite to the adjusting device (32).
Re-claim 3, Urban et al. discloses the support arrangement (26) includes semi-annular expansion clips (52 in fig. 2).
Re-claim 4, Urban et al. discloses a support bearing (18), on which the expansion clips (52) are rotatably supported, is arranged at an end of the brake shoes that is opposite to the adjusting device (32).
Re-claim 5, Urban et al. discloses at least one holding element (132), which cooperates with a corresponding expansion clip and via which the brake shoes can be held in a normal direction of the drum, is attached to the brake shoes.
Re-claim 6, Urban et al. discloses the holding element is a retaining clip (132).
Re-claim 8, Urban et al. discloses the adjusting device is an S-shaped cam (32).
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616