Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, and 16 recite “Δf”, but do not describe what it represents. Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 depend from one of the independent claims 1, 8, and 13 and incorporate the abovementioned limitation. Paragraph [0160] of the published specification of the present application, describes Δf “frequency change value.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0119744 A1) in view of Qualcomm (“BWP operation and other issues for NTN” - R1-2107344).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches “[a]n operation method of a first communication node, the operation method comprising: performing communication with a second communication node using a first beam among multiple beams formed by the second communication node, based on one or more first bandwidth parts (BWPs) allocated by the second communication node and a first polarization” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0071], and [0092], and FIG. 1; the radio network node (i.e., second communication node) is configured to inform a wireless device (i.e., first communication node) about multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14 (i.e., one or more first bandwidth parts (BWPs) allocated by the second communication node); in some embodiments, the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N are multiple downlink BWPs, e.g., each dedicated for downlink communication from the radio network node to the wireless device; in other embodiments, the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N are multiple uplink BWPs, e.g., each dedicated for uplink communication from the wireless device 18 to the radio network node 12; in any of the embodiments, though, each of the BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N is a respective subset of the total cell bandwidth 16 of the cell 14, e.g., included within the frequency span of the same carrier; the information from the radio network node (second communication node) is transmitted via downlink BWP of the cell; thus, performing communication using a first beam among multiple beams formed by the second communication node; the information from the radio network node (second communication node) also indicate a polarization mode for a BWP, for example, a first polarization mode (i.e., a first polarization) for a first BWP of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14, and indicate a second polarization mode for a second BWP of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14; therefore, first communication node is performing communication with a second communication node using a beam from multiple beams based on one or more first bandwidth parts (BWPs) allocated by the second communication node and a first polarization).
Lin further teaches “generating . . . at least a measurement value for the first beam” (see ¶ [0081]; the wireless device selects, from the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N indicated, one or more BWPs based on signal measurements (i.e., a measurement value) performed by the wireless device (first communication device) on signals received in respective ones of the multiple BWPs (i.e., for the first beam); thus, the first communication device generates at least a measurement value for the first beam).
Lin further teaches “performing communication with the second communication node using a second beam among the multiple beams” (see ¶¶ [0081], [0092], [0093], FIGs. 1-3; the wireless device (first communication node) may for example measure the strength of signals received in respective ones of the multiple BWPs indicated and select the BWP that provides the maximum received signal power (i.e., second BWPs); for example, wireless device may select one of BWPs #1, #2, and #3 after the signal measurement, shown in FIG. 3, which are mapped to different beams; therefore, the wireless device (first communication node) selection of the second BWP inherently teaches using a second beam to communication with the radio network node (second communication node); thus, performing communication with the second communication node using a second beam among the multiple beams); and
Lin also teaches “wherein frequency-domain positions of paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs have a difference of Δf” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0072], [0091], and [0093], and FIGs. 1-3; the one or more parameters of a BWP in the system information may include, for instance, a location of the BWP in frequency, a bandwidth spanned by the BWP (i.e., frequency-domain positions), numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing, cyclic prefix length, etc. for the BWP), and/or a control resource set for the BWP; furthermore, the system information may indicate selectable BWP pairs, with each BWP pair including a downlink BWP and an uplink BWP so as to link a downlink BWP with an uplink BWP; a BPW mapping table is configured, where each entry of the table indicates a BWP pair linking a downlink (DL) BWP to an uplink (UL) BWP; for example, with one downlink BWP #0 and three uplink BWPs #0, #1, and #2, a mapping table with four entries (DL BWP#0, null), (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#0), (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#1), and (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#2) may be configured (i.e., paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs); each BWP, and the transmissions made in each BWP, are associated with a frequency range and a polarization mode, and as shown in FIG. 3, BWP#0 and BWP#2 are associated with the same frequency range, but different polarization modes; BWP#1 and BWP#3 are similarly associated with the same frequency range, but different polarization modes; and similarly, BWP#0 and BWP#2 are associated with a different frequency range from BWP#1 and BWP#3; therefore, frequency-domain positions of paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs have a difference of Δf)
Lin does not explicitly disclose “a measurement report,” “transmitting the generated measurement report to the second communication node,” “receiving, from the second communication node, BWP configuration change information generated based on a beam switching decision performed at the second communication node based on the measurement report,” “based on information on one or more second BWPs and a second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information,” and “the Δf is a real number identified based on the BWP configuration change information” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Qualcomm teaches “generating measurement report,” “transmitting the generated measurement report to the second communication node” (see p. 7, lines 8 and 9; to help the network (second communication node) decide on the best BWP or satellite beam for a UE to switch to, it is important that the UE (first communication node) measures the quality (i.e., measurement value) of its current serving satellite beam and neighboring satellite beams and reports the measurements back to the network; therefore, the first communication node generates measurement report including a measurement value and transmits the generated measurement report to the second communication node).
Qualcomm further teaches “receiving, from the second communication node, BWP configuration change information generated based on a beam switching decision performed at the second communication node based on the measurement report” (see p. 6, lines 22, 23, and 28-32, p. 7, lines 8 and 9, and p. 8 lines 24 and 25; based on the UE’s reporting the measurements of quality of its current serving satellite beam and neighboring satellite beams back to the network, the network decides on the best BWP or satellite beam for a UE to switch to (i.e., a beam switching decision performed at the second communication node based on the measurement report); when a the second/best BWP or satellite beam for the UE to switch to is decided, the network can signal to the UE the difference of other BWPs (e.g., second BWP) relative to a first/reference/ BWP (i.e., BWP configuration change information); polarization is also configured at the least on per BWP; therefore, BWP configuration change information will also include a second polarization information of the second BWP; thus, teaches receiving BWP configuration change information generated based on a beam switching decision performed at the second communication node based on the measurement report);
Qualcomm also teaches performing communication with the second communication node using a second beam among the multiple beams “based on information on one or more second BWPs and a second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information” (see p. 6, lines 22, 23, and 28-32, p. 7, lines 8 and 9, and p. 8 lines 24-26; the network can signal the difference (i.e., the BWP configuration change information) of other BWPs relative to a first/reference BWP (i.e., information on one or more second BWPs identified based on the BWP configuration change information); the BWP configuration change information will also include a second polarization information of the second BWP (i.e., information on a second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information); after the UE switches to the signaled BWP and beam using the configuration change information from network, the UE (first communication node) is performing communication with the network (second communication node) using a second beam among the multiple beams based on information on one or more second BWPs and a second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information).
Qualcomm further teaches “the Δf is a real number identified based on the BWP configuration change information” (see p. 6, lines 17, 22, 23, 28, and 29; a BWP configuration includes frequency location and bandwidth (i.e., frequency-domain positions), and the network can also signal a frequency shift Δf, which is units of frequency shift (i.e., a real number), when signaling configuration change for the next/second BWP (i.e., identified based on the BWP configuration change information); thus, teaches the BWP configuration change information indicates Δf a real number and UE (first communication node) can identify it based on the BWP configuration change information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to receive BWP configuration change information based on a transmitted measurement report and communicate using a second beam based on information on one or more second BWPs and a second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information, where the frequency difference between paired BWPs of a first set of BWPs and paired BWPs of a second set of BWPs is a real number indicated in the changes in BWP configuration information. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein a first resource configuration is applied to the first beam, a second resource configuration different from the first resource configuration is applied to the second beam, and each of the first and second resource configurations is defined based on information on a frequency bandwidth available for an applicable beam to which each of the first and second resource configurations is applied and information on a polarization applied to the applicable beam” (see ¶ [0072] of Lin; system information may indicate the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, and for each of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, one or more parameters of that BWP (i.e., a first resource configuration is applied to the first beam, a second resource configuration different from the first resource configuration is applied to the second beam); the one or more parameters of a BWP may include, for instance, an identity or index of the BWP, a location of the BWP in frequency, a bandwidth spanned by the BWP, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing, cyclic prefix length, etc. for the BWP), and/or a control resource set for the BWP (i.e., and each of the first and second resource configurations is defined based on information on a frequency bandwidth available for an applicable beam to which each of the first and second resource configurations is applied and information on a polarization applied to the applicable beam).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein one of the first to N-th resource configurations is applied to each of the multiple beams, the first to N-th resource configurations are different from each other, and N is a natural number determined based on a number of types of polarizations applicable to the multiple beams, including the first and second polarizations” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0072], [0092], and [0093], and FIGs. 1-3 of Lin; system information may indicate the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, and for each of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, one or more parameters of that BWP; the system information or other signaling may indicate a polarization mode for a BWP; for example, the system information or other signaling may for example indicate a first polarization mode for a first BWP of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14, and indicate a second polarization mode for a second BWP of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14, then communication in the first BWP is to be performed with the first polarization (e.g., RHCP) and communication in the second BWP is to be performed with the second polarization (e.g., LHCP) (i.e., N number of types of polarizations); therefore, teaches one of the first to N-th resource configurations is applied to each of the multiple beams, the first to N-th resource configurations are different from each other, and N is a natural number determined based on a number of types of polarizations applicable to the multiple beams, including the first and second polarizations)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein the first resource configuration corresponds to a first frequency bandwidth and the first polarization, the second resource configuration corresponds to a second frequency bandwidth and the second polarization, and frequency-domain positions of the first frequency bandwidth and the second frequency bandwidth have a difference equal to the Δf” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0072], [0092], and [0093], and FIG. 3 of Lin, and see p. 6, lines 17, 22, 23, 28, and 29 of Qualcomm; system information may indicate the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, and for each of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, one or more parameters of that BWP, that indicate a location of the BWP in frequency, a bandwidth spanned by the BWP, and polarization modes, for example indicate a first polarization mode for a first BWP of the multiple BWPs and indicate a second polarization mode for a second BWP; therefore, the first resource configuration corresponds to a first frequency bandwidth and the first polarization, the second resource configuration corresponds to a second frequency bandwidth and the second polarization; furthermore, as can be seen in FIG. 3, BWP#2 and BWP#1 have different frequency domain positions, therefore, frequency-domain positions of the first frequency bandwidth and the second frequency bandwidth have a difference; Qualcomm teaches a BWP configuration includes frequency location and bandwidth (i.e., frequency-domain positions), and the network can also signal a frequency shift Δf (i.e., difference equal to the Δf)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to have a frequency domain position differences between different resource configuations based on configuration change information. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein when the first frequency bandwidth corresponding to the first resource configuration and the second frequency bandwidth corresponding to the second resource configuration are equal, and frequency-domain positions of paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs are identical” (see ¶¶ [0091] and [0093], and FIG. 3 of Lin; a BPW mapping table is configured, where each entry of the table indicates a BWP pair linking a downlink (DL) BWP to an uplink (UL) BWP; for example, with one downlink BWP #0 and three uplink BWPs #0, #1, and #2, a mapping table with four entries (DL BWP#0, null), (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#0), (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#1), and (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#2) may be configured (i.e., paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs); each BWP, and the transmissions made in each BWP, are associated with a frequency range and a polarization mode, and as shown in FIG. 3, BWP#0 and BWP#2 (paired BWPs) are associated with the same frequency range; BWP#1 and BWP#3 are similarly associated with the same frequency range; therefore, when the first frequency bandwidth corresponding to the first resource configuration and the second frequency bandwidth corresponding to the second resource configuration are equal, and frequency-domain positions of paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs are identical).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein the BWP configuration change information includes a polarization change indicator determined based on information on the second polarization” (see p. 6, line 23, p. 8, lines 19, 20, and 24-26 and FIGS. 5 and 7 of Qualcomm; one coverage area can be served by two different polarizations and two polarizations can have different beam layout; as shown in FIG. 7, case 2, one BWP can have one polarization and another BWP can have a different polarization; therefore, when a UE traverses across the BWPs shown in FIG. 5, the network can signal polarization of a next/second BWP (i.e., a polarization change indicator) if the polarization of the next/second BWP is different since the network only signals the difference of other BWP relative to the reference BWP (first BWP); thus, teaches the BWP configuration change information includes a polarization change indicator determined based on information on the second polarization). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to have a polarization change indicator determined based on information on a polarization of another BWP. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches “wherein the polarization change indicator indicates whether to change polarization and is determined based on comparison between the first polarization and the second polarization” (see p. 6, line 23, p. 8, lines 19, 20, and 24-26 and FIGS. 5 and 7 of Qualcomm; one coverage area can be served by two different polarizations and two polarizations can have different beam layout; as shown in FIG. 7, case 2, one BWP can have one polarization and another BWP can have a different polarization; therefore, when a UE traverses across the BWPs shown in FIG. 5, the network can signal polarization of a next/second BWP (i.e., a polarization change indicator indicates whether to change polarization) if the polarization of the next/second BWP is different since the network only signals the difference of other BWP relative to the reference BWP (first BWP); therefore, Qualcomm, at the least, inherently teaches a comparison between a polarization of a current BWP (the first polarization) and a polarization of the next BWP along the line in FIG. 5 (the second polarization); thus, teaches the polarization change indicator indicates whether to change polarization and is determined based on comparison between the first polarization and the second polarization). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to have a polarization change indicator indicate polarization change based on comparison of polarizations of two BWPs. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 8, Lin teaches “[a]n operation method of a first communication node, the operation method comprising: performing communication with a second communication node using a first beam among multiple beams formed by the second communication node, based on one or more first bandwidth parts (BWPs) allocated by the second communication node and a first polarization” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0071], and [0092], and FIG. 1; the radio network node (i.e., first communication node) is configured to inform a wireless device (i.e., second communication node) about multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14 (i.e., one or more first bandwidth parts (BWPs) allocated by the second communication node); in some embodiments, the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N are multiple downlink BWPs, e.g., each dedicated for downlink communication from the radio network node to the wireless device; in other embodiments, the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N are multiple uplink BWPs, e.g., each dedicated for uplink communication from the wireless device 18 to the radio network node 12; in any of the embodiments, though, each of the BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N is a respective subset of the total cell bandwidth 16 of the cell 14, e.g., included within the frequency span of the same carrier; the information from the radio network node (first communication node) is transmitted via downlink BWP of the cell; thus, performing communication using a first beam among multiple beams formed by the second communication node; the information from the radio network node (first communication node) also indicate a polarization mode for a BWP, for example, a first polarization mode (i.e., a first polarization) for a first BWP of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14, and indicate a second polarization mode for a second BWP of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N of the cell 14; therefore, first communication node is performing communication with a second communication node using a beam from multiple beams based on one or more first bandwidth parts (BWPs) allocated by the second communication node and a first polarization).
Lin further teaches “. . . at least a measurement value for the first beam” (see ¶ [0081]; the wireless device selects, from the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N indicated, one or more BWPs based on signal measurements (i.e., a measurement value) performed by the wireless device on signals received in respective ones of the multiple BWPs (i.e., for the first beam); thus, the first communication device generates at least a measurement value for the first beam).
Lin further teaches “performing communication with the second communication node using . . . second beam” (see ¶¶ [0081], [0092], [0093], FIGs. 1-3; the wireless device (second communication node) may for example measure the strength of signals received in respective ones of the multiple BWPs indicated and select the BWP that provides the maximum received signal power (i.e., second BWPs); for example, wireless device may select one of BWPs #1, #2, and #3 after the signal measurement, shown in FIG. 3, which are mapped to different beams; therefore, the wireless device (second communication node) selection of the second BWP inherently teaches using a second beam to communication with the radio network node (first communication node); thus, performing communication with the second communication node using a second beam among the multiple beams); and
Lin also teaches “wherein frequency-domain positions of paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs have a difference of Δf” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0072], [0091], and [0093], and FIGs. 1-3; the one or more parameters of a BWP in the system information may include, for instance, a location of the BWP in frequency, a bandwidth spanned by the BWP (i.e., frequency-domain positions), numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing, cyclic prefix length, etc. for the BWP), and/or a control resource set for the BWP; furthermore, the system information may indicate selectable BWP pairs, with each BWP pair including a downlink BWP and an uplink BWP so as to link a downlink BWP with an uplink BWP; a BPW mapping table is configured, where each entry of the table indicates a BWP pair linking a downlink (DL) BWP to an uplink (UL) BWP; for example, with one downlink BWP #0 and three uplink BWPs #0, #1, and #2, a mapping table with four entries (DL BWP#0, null), (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#0), (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#1), and (DL BWP#0, UL BWP#2) may be configured (i.e., paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs); each BWP, and the transmissions made in each BWP, are associated with a frequency range and a polarization mode, and as shown in FIG. 3, BWP#0 and BWP#2 are associated with the same frequency range, but different polarization modes; BWP#1 and BWP#3 are similarly associated with the same frequency range, but different polarization modes; and similarly, BWP#0 and BWP#2 are associated with a different frequency range from BWP#1 and BWP#3; therefore, frequency-domain positions of paired BWPs of each BWP pair between the one or more first BWPs and the one or more second BWPs have a difference of Δf)
Lin does not explicitly disclose “receiving a measurement report from the second communication node,” “in response to determining beam switching from the first beam to a second beam among the multiple beams based on the measurement report, generating BWP configuration change information including information related to one or more second BWPs corresponding to the second beam and a second polarization,” “transmitting the BWP configuration change information to the second communication node,” and “the Δf is a real number identified based on the BWP configuration change information” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Qualcomm teaches “receiving a measurement report from the second communication node,” (see p. 7, lines 8 and 9; to help the network (second communication node) decide on the best BWP or satellite beam for a UE to switch to, it is important that the UE (second communication node) measures the quality (i.e., measurement value) of its current serving satellite beam and neighboring satellite beams and reports the measurements back to the network (first communication node); therefore, the first communication node receiving a measurement report from the second communication node).
Qualcomm further teaches “in response to determining beam switching from the first beam to a second beam among the multiple beams based on the measurement report, generating BWP configuration change information including information related to one or more second BWPs corresponding to the second beam and a second polarization; transmitting the BWP configuration change information to the second communication node” (see p. 6, lines 22, 23, and 28-32, p. 7, lines 8 and 9, and p. 8 lines 24 and 25; based on the UE’s reporting the measurements of quality of its current serving satellite beam and neighboring satellite beams back to the network, the network decides on the best BWP or satellite beam for a UE to switch to (i.e., in response to determining beam switching from the first beam to a second beam among the multiple beams based on the measurement report); when a the second/best BWP or satellite beam for the UE to switch to is decided, the network (first communication node) can signal (transmit) to the UE (second communication node) the difference of other BWPs (e.g., second BWP) relative to a first/reference/ BWP (i.e., BWP configuration change information); polarization is also configured at the least on per BWP; therefore, BWP configuration change information will also include a second polarization information of the second BWP; thus, teaches generating BWP configuration change information including information related to one or more second BWPs corresponding to the second beam and a second polarization, and transmitting the BWP configuration change information to the second communication node);
Qualcomm also teaches performing communication with the second communication node using the second beam “based on the one or more second BWPs and the second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information” (see p. 6, lines 22, 23, and 28-32, p. 7, lines 8 and 9, and p. 8 lines 24-26; the network can signal the difference (i.e., the BWP configuration change information) of other BWPs relative to a first/reference BWP (i.e., information on one or more second BWPs identified based on the BWP configuration change information); the BWP configuration change information will also include a second polarization information of the second BWP (i.e., the second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information); after the UE switches to the signaled BWP and beam using the configuration change information from network, the UE (second communication node) is performing communication with the network (first communication node) using a second beam among the multiple beams based on information on one or more second BWPs and a second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information).
Qualcomm further teaches “the Δf is a real number identified based on the BWP configuration change information” (see p. 6, lines 17, 22, 23, 28, and 29; a BWP configuration includes frequency location and bandwidth (i.e., frequency-domain positions), and the network can also signal a frequency shift Δf, which is units of frequency shift (i.e., a real number), when signaling configuration change for the next/second BWP (i.e., identified based on the BWP configuration change information); thus, teaches the BWP configuration change information indicates Δf a real number and it is identified based on the BWP configuration change information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to receive BWP configuration change information based on a transmitted measurement report and communicate using a second beam based on information on one or more second BWPs and a second polarization identified based on the BWP configuration change information, where the frequency difference between paired BWPs of a first set of BWPs and paired BWPs of a second set of BWPs is a real number indicated in the changes in BWP configuration information. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 8, and further teaches “wherein a first resource configuration is applied to the first beam, a second resource configuration different from the first resource configuration is applied to the second beam, and each of the first and second resource configurations is defined based on information on a frequency bandwidth available for an applicable beam to which each of the first and second resource configurations is applied and information on a polarization applied to the applicable beam” (see ¶ [0072] of Lin; system information may indicate the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, and for each of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, one or more parameters of that BWP (i.e., a first resource configuration is applied to the first beam, a second resource configuration different from the first resource configuration is applied to the second beam); the one or more parameters of a BWP may include, for instance, an identity or index of the BWP, a location of the BWP in frequency, a bandwidth spanned by the BWP, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing, cyclic prefix length, etc. for the BWP), and/or a control resource set for the BWP (i.e., and each of the first and second resource configurations is defined based on information on a frequency bandwidth available for an applicable beam to which each of the first and second resource configurations is applied and information on a polarization applied to the applicable beam).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the first resource configuration corresponds to a first frequency bandwidth and the first polarization, the second resource configuration corresponds to a second frequency bandwidth and the second polarization, and frequency-domain positions of the first frequency bandwidth and the second frequency bandwidth have a difference equal to the Δf” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0072], [0092], and [0093], and FIG. 3 of Lin, and see p. 6, lines 17, 22, 23, 28, and 29 of Qualcomm; system information may indicate the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, and for each of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, one or more parameters of that BWP, that indicate a location of the BWP in frequency, a bandwidth spanned by the BWP, and polarization modes, for example indicate a first polarization mode for a first BWP of the multiple BWPs and indicate a second polarization mode for a second BWP; therefore, the first resource configuration corresponds to a first frequency bandwidth and the first polarization, the second resource configuration corresponds to a second frequency bandwidth and the second polarization; furthermore, as can be seen in FIG. 3, BWP#2 and BWP#1 have different frequency domain positions, therefore, frequency-domain positions of the first frequency bandwidth and the second frequency bandwidth have a difference; Qualcomm teaches a BWP configuration includes frequency location and bandwidth (i.e., frequency-domain positions), and the network can also signal a frequency shift Δf (i.e., difference equal to the Δf)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to have a frequency domain position differences between different resource configuations based on configuration change information. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 8, and further teaches “wherein the BWP configuration change information includes a polarization change indicator determined based on information on the second polarization” (see p. 6, line 23, p. 8, lines 19, 20, and 24-26 and FIGS. 5 and 7 of Qualcomm; one coverage area can be served by two different polarizations and two polarizations can have different beam layout; as shown in FIG. 7, case 2, one BWP can have one polarization and another BWP can have a different polarization; therefore, when a UE traverses across the BWPs shown in FIG. 5, the network can signal polarization of a next/second BWP (i.e., a polarization change indicator) if the polarization of the next/second BWP is different since the network only signals the difference of other BWP relative to the reference BWP (first BWP); thus, teaches the BWP configuration change information includes a polarization change indicator determined based on information on the second polarization). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to have a polarization change indicator determined based on information on a polarization of another BWP. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches “wherein the polarization change indicator indicates whether to change polarization and is determined based on comparison between the first polarization and the second polarization” (see p. 6, line 23, p. 8, lines 19, 20, and 24-26 and FIGS. 5 and 7 of Qualcomm; one coverage area can be served by two different polarizations and two polarizations can have different beam layout; as shown in FIG. 7, case 2, one BWP can have one polarization and another BWP can have a different polarization; therefore, when a UE traverses across the BWPs shown in FIG. 5, the network can signal polarization of a next/second BWP (i.e., a polarization change indicator indicates whether to change polarization) if the polarization of the next/second BWP is different since the network only signals the difference of other BWP relative to the reference BWP (first BWP); therefore, Qualcomm, at the least, inherently teaches a comparison between a polarization of a current BWP (the first polarization) and a polarization of the next BWP along the line in FIG. 5 (the second polarization); thus, teaches the polarization change indicator indicates whether to change polarization and is determined based on comparison between the first polarization and the second polarization). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to have a polarization change indicator indicate polarization change based on comparison of polarizations of two BWPs. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, they are apparatus claims corresponding to claims 1 and 2 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 and 2. Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lin and Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 13, and further teaches “wherein one of the first to N-th resource configurations is applied to each of the multiple beams, the first to N-th resource configurations are different from each other, and N is a natural number determined based on a value of a frequency reuse factor (FRF)” (see ¶¶ [0070], [0072], [0092], [0096], and [0097], and FIGs. 1-4 of Lin, and p. 1, lines 20-27, and p. 6, lines 9 and 10 of Qualcomm; system information may indicate the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, and for each of the multiple BWPs 16-1, 16-2, . . . 16-N, one or more parameters of that BWP; furthermore, system information indicates respective frequency positions FP_1, FP_2, . . . FP_M of the multiple SSBs 34-1, 34-2, . . . 34-M for the cell 14, as shown in FIG. 4; the respective frequency positions of the multiple SSBs 34-1, 34-2, . . . 34-M for the cell 14 may advantageously enable adaptive use of BWPs for frequency reuse planning; Qualcomm teaches frequency reuse factor (FRF)>1 (i.e., a value of a frequency reuse factor (FRF)) and further teaches that depending, at least partly on, on the frequency reuse factor, the number of BWPs can increase and also increases the corresponding number of configurations; therefore, N-th resource configurations are different from each other, and N is a natural number determined based on a value of a frequency reuse factor (FRF)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin to incorporate teachings of Qualcomm to have the number of resource configurations based on the FRF value. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and support efficient resource configuration (see p. 6, line 19 and p. 7, line 14 of Qualcomm).
Regarding claim 16, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 4 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yao et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0396393 A1) teaches beam management in non-terrestrial networks based on measurement reports indicating signal power values.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475