DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 8, 14, 17, 20, 22, 48, 66, and 72-82 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of amino acid substitution at position 41, SEQ ID NO: 5 and PEGylation in the reply filed on 09/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Upon searching, the examiner discovered that the cited prior art reads on the nonelected species SEQ ID NO: 4.
Claim 78 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 14, 17, 20, 22, 48, 66, 72-77, and 79-82 are examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 09/12/2025 has been considered.
In the IDS filed on 09/18/2024, NPL reference 6 was not considered as it does not comply with 37 CFR 1.98(b). Each publication listed in an information disclosure statement must be identified by publisher, author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date, and place of publication.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 14, 17, 48, and 79-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the at least one PEG-conjugatable amino acid " in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 recites that the at least one PEG-conjugatable amino acid is surface-exposed. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because the claim is drawn to a polypeptide. A polypeptide is understood as a linear chain of amino acids and thus does not have surface exposed amino acids like the folded protein comprising the polypeptide. An asparaginase polypeptide is understood as the primary (unfolded) structure compared to the folded asparaginase monomer or tetramer.
Claim 14 requires a percentage identity to a wildtype asparaginase amino acid sequence. The claim is indefinite because the structure of the wildtype asparaginase amino acid sequence is not defined by a sequence identifier. It is not clear which wildtype asparaginase the claim requires.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "at least one amino acid substitution, or the at least one PEG-conjugatable amino acid substitution" in lines 2- 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 48 recites “the variant asparaginase polypeptide is modified” in line 2. The claim is indefinite because it is not clear what modification the claim requires and if the claim requires additional modification other than the cysteine substitution.
Claims 80-82 recite the limitation " at least one amino acid substitution, or the at least one PEG-conjugatable amino acid" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 79 which depends from claim 48 does not resolve the indefiniteness and is also rejected.
Claims 17, 20, and 80-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 17 and 80-82 are not proper dependent claims because they fail to include all the limitations of claim 1 from which they depend. Claims 17 and 80-82 recite “at least one amino acid substitution” in line 2. Claim 1 limits the amino acid substitution to a cysteine substitution.
Claim 20 is not proper dependent claim because it fails to include all the limitations of claim 1 from which it depends. Claim 1 requires that the polypeptide comprises at least one cysteine substitution. SEQ ID NO: 8 and 9 recited in claim 20 do not comprise a cysteine.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, 14, 17, 22, 48, 66, 79, and 81-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lavie (WO 2017/151707 A1, of record in IDS) as evidenced by Appendix A (sequence alignments, 2026).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Lavie teaches an Erwinia chrysanthemi asparaginase polypeptide comprising at least one cysteine substitution located on the surface ([0008, [00135]).
Regarding claim 8, Lavie teaches that the asparaginase polypeptide lacks an N-terminal leader sequence ([0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Lavie teaches Erwinia chrysanthemi asparaginase polypeptide with SEQ ID NO: 1. Lavie’s SEQ ID NO: 1 and the instant SEQ ID NO: 2 are 98.5% identical (Appendix A page 1).
Regarding claims 17 and 81-82, Lavie’s SEQ ID NO: 1 and the instant SEQ ID NO: 2 have the same numbering of amino acid positions (Appendix A page 1). Lavie teaches the polypeptide comprises a cysteine substitution at positions 72, 79, 84, 85, 206, 210, 215, 216, 239, 240, 261, 264, 265, 268, 269, 318, or 322 of SEQ ID NO: 1 (Example 6 Table 14).
Regarding claim 22, Lavie teaches that the asparaginase variant forms a tetramer ([00135]).
Regarding claims 48 and 79, Lavie teaches that the asparaginase variant is PEGylated.
Regarding claim 66, Lavie teaches that the asparaginase variant can be formulated in a pharmaceutical composition containing a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([0040], [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 80 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavie in view of Gervais (Molecular biotechnology 56.10 (2014): 865-877).
Regarding claim 80, the teachings of Lavie are discussed above and incorporated herein. Lavie does not teach that the polypeptide comprises a cysteine substitution at position 41.
However, Gervais teaches an Erwinia chrysanthemi asparaginase N41D variant (Abstract, Fig. 1) and teaches that a mutation at this site did not alter the activity of the variant compared to wildtype enzyme (Abstract). Gervais teaches that N41 occupies a solvent-exposed position on the protein regardless of whether the enzyme is assembled as a tetramer or in its monomeric state and that it is pointed outwards (page 868 right column last 6 lines, Fig. 1A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lavie’s polypeptide by substituting a cysteine for the amino acid Asn at position 41, as suggested by Gervais. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to PEGylate the protein. Lavie teaches that the cysteine (a) is introduced at an amino acid that is located at the surface, (b) does not affect the activity of the enzyme or its oligomerization, and (c) is pointed outward ([00135]). Gervais teaches that N41 occupies a solvent-exposed position on the protein and on the tetramer and is pointed outward, and teaches that replacing Asn, a polar uncharged amino acid, with Asp, a charge amino acid, did not inhibit the activity of the enzyme or alter its substrate affinity (Abstract, page 873 right column last para.). One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in introducing a cysteine at position 41 of Erwinia chrysanthemi asparaginase polypeptide.
Claims 20, 72, 74, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavie in view of Gervais and 1HFJA (PDB accession 1HFJ_A, Chain A, L-asparagine Amidohydrolase from Erwinia chrysanthemi, 10/10/2012) and as evidenced by Appendix A.
The teachings of Lavie and Gervais are discussed above and applied here. Instant SEQ ID NO: 4 consists of instant SEQ ID NO:2 with N41C, K72C, and K265C substitutions.
Regarding claims 20, 72 and 74, Lavie and Gervais do not teach SEQ ID NO:2. However, 1HFJA teaches a variant Erwinia chrysanthemi asparaginase polypeptide that lacks a leader sequence (whole document). The variant polypeptide has an amino acid sequence 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (See Appendix A page 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lavie’s polypeptide by substituting 1HFJA’s variant polypeptide for Lavie’s polypeptide, as suggested by 1HFJA. MPEP 2144.06 II states that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. Since Lavie and 1HFJA both teach an Erwinia chrysanthemi asparaginase polypeptide, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 76, Lavie teaches that 3 cysteine residues can be incorporated at the indicated positions in order to provide 3 PEG attachment sites ([00138]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to limit the number of cysteine substitutions in order to increase the stability of the protein without affecting its activity. While Lavie does not limit the cysteine substitution to positions 41, 72, and 265 only, MPEP 2144.08 II discusses the obviousness of species when prior art teaches genus, while taking into consideration the teachings of structural similarity and similar properties or uses. Lavie teaches 19 amino acids that can be substituted with a cysteine based on their location at the surface of the folded protein including positions 72 and 265. Gervais teaches N41 is also positioned on the surface of the protein. The prior art teaches a finite number of identified and predictable positions of amino acids that can be substituted with cysteine. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would envision selecting and mutating these three positions in order to PEGylate the protein and increase its stability.
Claims 20, 73, 75, and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavie in view of Gervais, 1HFJA, Filho (US 6,699,692) and Shao (Nature chemistry 7.5 (2015): 438-446) and as evidenced by Appendix A.
The teachings of Lavie, Gervais, and 1HFJA are discussed above and applied here. Instant SEQ ID NO: 5 consists of SEQ ID NO: 4 (i.e., SEQ ID NO:2 with N41C, K72C, and K265 substitutions) and N-terminal His tag “MAHHHHHHH”.
Regarding claims 20, 73, and 75, Lavie teaches the polypeptide comprises an N-terminal histidine tag ([0016]). Lavie, Gervais and 1HFJA do not teach “MAHHHHHHH” as required by instant SEQ ID NO: 5.
However, Filho teaches that amino acid sequence MAHHHHHH is an N-terminal histidine tag containing sequence of six consecutive His residues and teaches that a His tag is useful for separating, isolating and/or purifying proteins (column 27 SEQ ID NO:8, column 7 lines 35-36).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lavie’s polypeptide by adding an N-terminal His tag sequence MAHHHHHH, as suggested by Filho. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to purify the protein. Since Lavie teaches a desire to add an N-terminal histidine tag to the polypeptide, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Lavie, Gervais, 1HFJA, and Filho do not teach the His tag sequence comprises seven consecutive histidine residues as required by instant SEQ ID NO: 5.
However, Shao teaches that a His tag used to purify protein can have 6 to 10 consecutive histidine residues (page 438 right column second para.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lavie’s polypeptide by optimizing the number of histidine residues in the tag, as suggested by Shao. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to increase the purity of the purified protein.
Regarding claim 77, Lavie teaches that 3 cysteine residues can be incorporated at the indicated positions in order to provide 3 PEG attachment sites ([00138]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to limit the number of cysteine substitutions in order to limit the PEGylated sites, as suggested by Lavie, and increase the stability of the protein without affecting its activity. While Lavie does not limit the cysteine substitution to positions 41, 72, and 265 only, MPEP 2144.08 II discusses the obviousness of species when prior art teaches genus, while taking into consideration the teachings of structural similarity and similar properties or uses. Lavie teaches 19 amino acids that can be substituted with a cysteine based on their location at the surface of the folded protein including positions 72 and 265. Gervais teaches N41 is also positioned on the surface of the protein. The prior art teaches a finite number of identified and predictable positions of amino acids that can be substituted with cysteine. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would envision selecting and mutating these three positions in order to PEGylate the protein and increase its stability.
Conclusion
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657