DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits based on the 18/813,570 application filed on 08/23/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The effective filing date of the present application is 10/02/2017. Claims 1-8, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1, “134. An exercise machine is disclosed. The exercise machine comprises” uses a phrase which can be implied (i.e. “is disclosed”). See below. Applicant is suggested to amend the terms in line 1 to --- An exercise machine comprises ---.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the terms NAUTILUS, BOWFLEX, and THERABAND, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. They should be capitalized wherever they appear and be accompanied by the generic terminology.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1, line 2: “a tension generating device.”
In claim 3, lines 1-2, “the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically.”
In claim 4, lines 1-2, “the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically at least in part using teeth.”
In claim 5, line 1, “the teeth are trapezoidal in shape.”
In claim 6, lines 1-2, “the teeth are engaged using a compressed spring and arm-based lever.”
In claim 7, line 1, “the translatable arm mount permits locking.”
In claim 8, line 1, “the locking is based at least in part on a pin.”
Such corresponding structure is/are:
Regarding the tension generating device, the specification, as originally filed, paragraphs 0053-0055, discloses: primary sources of tension and/or resistance based on electronic resistance, pneumatic cylinders, springs, weights, flexing nylon rods, elastics, pneumatics, hydraulics, and/or friction.
Regarding the translatable arm mount, the specification, as originally filed, paragraph 00135, and Figures 9J-9P, discloses: “Figure 9J is a side view section of an exercise machine slider (403) with its locking mechanism and pin locked. Figure 9K is a side view section of an exercise machine slider (403) with its locking mechanism and pin unlocked. Figure 9L is a perspective view of an exercise machine slider (403), revealing the pin (404) as well as teeth (422) for an arm vertical pivot. Figure 9M is a perspective view of the exercise machine slider (403) in a column/rail (402) with revealed teeth (422), with arm (702) set at a vertical pivot at a point parallel to the horizontal plane. Figure 9N is a side view section of the exercise machine slider (403) in a column/rail (402), with arm (702) set at a vertical pivot at a point parallel to the horizontal plane. The female locking member (722) and compression spring (733) are visible within the section of Figure 9N. Figure 9O is a sectional side view of the exercise machine slider (403). Figure 9P illustrates an exploded perspective view drawing of the exercise machine slider (403).” According to the specification, as originally filed, paragraphs 00121 and 00122:
Using trapezoidal teeth for locking is disclosed. The teeth (422) and matching female locking member (722) use a trapezoidal shape instead of a rectangular shape because a rectangular fitting should leave room for the teeth to enter the female locking member. Using a rectangular tooth causes “wiggle” in the locking joint, and this wiggle is leveraged at the end of arm (702). A trapezoidal set of teeth (422) to enter female locking mechanism (722) makes it simpler for the two members to be tightly coupled, minimizing joint wiggle.
Using a trapezoidal set of teeth increases the risk of the joint slipping / back-drive while under the stress of high loads. Empirically a slope of between 1 and 15 degrees, for example 5 degrees, minimizes joint slippage while maximizing ease of entry and tightening. The slope of the trapezoid is set such that the amount of back-drive force is lower than the amount of friction of the trapezoidal surfaces on one another.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,110,317 (reference application).
Regarding claim 1, the reference application discloses an exercise machine, comprising: a tension generating device; a translatable arm mount coupled to the tension generating device; an arm coupled to the translatable arm mount; a cable coupled to the tension generating device via the arm; and a track for the translatable arm mount to slide along one dimension of translation (claim 1 of the reference application: “An exercise machine, comprising: a tension generating device; a translatable arm mount coupled to the tension generating device; an arm coupled to the translatable arm mount; a cable coupled to the tension generating device via the arm; and a track for the translatable arm mount to slide along one dimension of translation”), wherein the track is rotatable horizontally (claim 9 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 1, wherein the track is rotatable horizontally.”), wherein the arm is capable of being stowed by pivoting the arm vertically and rotating the arm in a compact manner such that the arm is facing a back of the exercise machine (claim 10 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 9, wherein the arm is capable of being stowed by pivoting the arm vertically and rotating the arm such that the arm is facing a back of the exercise machine.”).
Regarding claim 2, the reference application further discloses wherein the tension generating device is based on at least one of the following: electronic resistance, pneumatic cylinders, springs, weights, flexing nylon rods, elastics, pneumatics, hydraulics, and friction (claim 2 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 1, wherein the tension generating device is based on at least one of the following: electronic resistance, pneumatic cylinders, springs, weights, flexing nylon rods, elastics, pneumatics, hydraulics, and friction.”).
Regarding claim 3, the reference application further discloses wherein the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically (claim 3 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 1, wherein the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically.”).
Regarding claim 4, the reference application further discloses wherein the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically at least in part using teeth (claim 4 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 1, wherein the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically at least in part using vertical pivot locking teeth.”).
Regarding claim 5, the reference application further discloses wherein the teeth are trapezoidal in shape (claim 5 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 4, wherein the vertical pivot locking teeth are trapezoidal in shape.”).
Regarding claim 6, the reference application further discloses wherein the teeth are engaged using a compressed spring and arm-based lever (claim 6 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 5, wherein the vertical pivot locking teeth are engaged using a compressed spring and an arm-based lever.”).
Regarding claim 7, the reference application further discloses wherein the translatable arm mount permits locking (claim 7 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 1, wherein the translatable arm mount permits locking.”).
Regarding claim 8, the reference application further discloses wherein the locking is based at least in part on a pin (claim 7 of the reference application: “The exercise machine of claim 7, wherein the locking is based at least in part on a pin.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reyes (US 2011/0294630).
Regarding claim 1, Reyes discloses an exercise machine, comprising:
a tension generating device (the springs 112 together with the one or more resilient members 304; Figures 3C and 3D; paragraphs 0097-0099; refer to the annotated Figure 3C, see below);
a translatable arm mount (the tension adjuster 144; Figures 3C and 3D; paragraphs 0097-0099; refer to the annotated Figure 3C, see above) coupled to the tension generating device (Figures 3C and 3D);
an arm (the arm assembly 108; Figures 3C and 3D; refer to the annotated Figure 3C, see above) coupled to the translatable arm mount (Figures 3C and 3D; refer to the annotated Figure 3C, see above);
a cable (the cable 308; Figures 3C and 3D; paragraphs 0097-0099; refer to the annotated Figure 3C, see above) coupled to the tension generating device via the arm (Figures 3C and 3D; refer to the annotated Figure 3C, see above); and
a track (the track 304; Figure 3C-3E; paragraph 0088) for the translatable arm mount to slide along one dimension of translation (Figures 3C and 3D; paragraph 0088), wherein the track is rotatable horizontally (Figures 6B and 6C), wherein the arm is capable of being stowed by pivoting the arm vertically (Figure 5B) and rotating the arm in a compact manner such that the arm is facing a back of the exercise machine (Figures 6B and 6C; paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 2, Reyes further discloses wherein the tension generating device is based on at least one of the following: electronic resistance, pneumatic cylinders, springs (Figures 3C and 3D), weights, flexing nylon rods, elastics (“The resilient member 304 may be a resiliently stretchable device or material, such as a spring or elastic band.”; paragraph 0098), pneumatics, hydraulics, and friction.
Regarding claim 3, Reyes further discloses wherein the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically (adjustment of the tension adjuster 144 along the track 304 alters resistance from the one or more springs 112 which correspondingly permits the arm assembly 108 to pivot vertically with more or less resistance via the pivot 120; Figures 3C, 3D, and 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 4, Reyes further discloses wherein the wherein the translatable arm mount permits the arm to pivot vertically (adjustment of the tension adjuster 144 along the track 304 alters resistance from the one or more springs 112 which correspondingly permits the arm assembly 108 to pivot vertically with more or less resistance via the pivot 120; Figures 3C, 3D, and 5A-5C) at least in part using teeth (adjustment of the tension adjuster 144 along the track 304 involves a gear or finger of a ratcheting mechanism engaging at least one of the indentations 308 of the track 304; paragraphs 0089-0092; Figure 3E).
Regarding claim 7, Reyes further discloses wherein the translatable arm mount permits locking (“the tension adjuster 144 may be locked in place by one or more clips, clamps, pins, or the like if desired”; paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 8, Reyes further discloses wherein the locking is based at least in part on a pin (the tension adjuster 144 may be locked in place by one or more clips, clamps, pins, or the like if desired”; paragraph 0101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes (US 2011/0294630) in view of Strom (US 2014/0121071).
Regarding claim 5, Reyes discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further discloses a gear or finger of the ratcheting mechanism to engage at least one of the indentations 308 of the track 304 (paragraph 0091; Figure 3E).
However, Reyes is silent as to: the teeth are trapezoidal in shape.
Strom teaches an analogous exercise machine having teeth that are trapezoidal in shape (the teeth of the gear 216/316 are trapezoidal in shape; Figures 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teeth of Reyes’s invention such that they are trapezoidal in shape, as taught by Strom, in order to reduce shear forces experienced across longitudinal axes of the teeth during use of the exercise machine for the advantage of reducing the risk of catastrophic failure of one or several of the teeth, and thus the ability to adjust the translatable arm mount, during use of the exercise machine.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes (US 2011/0294630) in view of Strom (US 2014/0121071), and further in view of Schroeder (US 7,998,033).
Regarding claim 6, Reyes in view of Strom teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further teaches wherein the teeth are engaged using an arm-based lever (Reyes: the handle 316 may function as a lever; paragraph 0091; Figure 3E).
However, Reyes in view of Strom is silent as to: the teeth are engaged using a compressed spring and arm-based lever.
Schroeder teaches an analogous invention wherein teeth (the teeth of the gear 97; Figures 7 and 10; column 8, lines 38-60) are engaged using a compressed spring (the compression spring 112; Figure 10; column 8, lines 38-60) and an arm-based lever (the lever 99; Figure 7; column 8, lines 38-60).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the engagement of the teeth of Reyes’s invention modified in view of Strom to include a compressed spring, as taught by Schroeder, in order to ensure that the teeth are precisely and securely controlled and engaged (Schroeder: column 8, lines 7-13 and 51-60; Figure 10).
Conclusion
/GARY D URBIEL GOLDNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784