DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The IDS filed 9/9/2024, 1/28/2025, 3/05/2025, and 1/20/2026 are considered.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the unread message display area”. It appears as though this should recite “the message display area” in order to properly refer back to the recited “a message display area”.
Claim 10 recites “the unread message display area” twice. It appears as though these should recite “the message display area” in order to properly refer back to the recited “a message display area”.
Claim 19 recites “the unread message display area”. It appears as though this should recite “the message display area” in order to properly refer back to the recited “a message display area”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2.
In regard to claim 1:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
A message display method, comprising: displaying a message list page, wherein an unread message thumbnail is displayed on the message list page, and an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message;
Claim 1: An unread message display method, comprising: displaying a message list page, wherein an unread message thumbnail is displayed on the message list page, and an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message;
receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target unread message thumbnail; in response to the first trigger operation, displaying a message display area and displaying a target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area, wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the message display area;
Claim 1: receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target unread message thumbnail; in response to the first trigger operation, displaying an unread message display area and displaying a target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area, wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the unread message display area
receiving a second trigger operation for switching a currently-displayed message in the message display area; and in response to the second trigger operation, switching the currently-displayed message to another message which is sent by a target sending user and of a same type as the currently-displayed message, wherein the target sending user is a user sending the target unread message
Claim 1: receiving a second trigger operation for switching a current unread message displayed in the unread message display area, wherein the current unread message comprises the target unread message; in response to the second trigger operation, switching the current unread message displayed in the unread message display area to an unread message sent by a target sending user other than the current unread message
In regard to claim 2:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 1, wherein the currently-displayed message is of a video type and comprises a video
Claim 1: an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message… wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the unread message display area
In regard to claim 3:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 1, further comprising: after all unread messages sent by the target sending user are displayed, displaying at least one of a user switching control or a session control in the message display area; in response to receiving a third trigger operation acting on the user switching control, displaying, in the message display area, an unread message sent by a sending user other than the target sending user; or in response to receiving a fourth trigger operation acting on the session control, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
Claim 1: after all unread messages sent by the target sending user are displayed, displaying at least one of a user switching control in the unread message display area or a session control on the message list page, in response to receiving a third trigger operation acting on the user switching control, displaying an unread message sent by a sending user other than the target sending user in the unread message display area, or in response to receiving a fourth trigger operation acting on the session control, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
In regard to claim 4:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 1, wherein after displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area, the method further comprises: switching the target unread message from an unread state to a read state.
Claim 3: The method according to claim 1, wherein after displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area, the method further comprises: switching the target unread message from an unread state to a read state.
In regard to claim 5:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a fifth trigger operation acting on a return control in the message display area; and in response to the fifth trigger operation, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
Claim 4: The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a fifth trigger operation acting on a return control in the unread message display area; and in response to the fifth trigger operation, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
In regard to claim 6:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 1, wherein the target unread message is an interactive unread message, and the method further comprises: displaying an interactive control in the message display area; and in response to receiving an interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing an interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control.
Claim 5: The method according to claim 1, wherein the target unread message is an interactive unread message, and the method further comprises: displaying an interactive control in the unread message display area; and in response to receiving an interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing an interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control.
In regard to claim 7:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 6, wherein the target unread message is a to-be-collected red envelope, the interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a first interactive trigger operation acting on the opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, collecting the to-be-collected red envelope.
Claim 6: The method according to claim 5, wherein the target unread message is a to-be-collected red envelope, the interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a first interactive trigger operation acting on the opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, collecting the to-be-collected red envelope.
In regard to claim 8:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 6, wherein the target unread message is a special-effect sharing message, the interactive control is a shooting control, and displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area comprises: displaying, in the message display area, a preview effect of a target special effect shared by the special-effect sharing message; and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a second interactive trigger operation acting on the shooting control, using the target special effect for shooting.
Claim 7: The method according to claim 5, wherein the target unread message is a special-effect sharing message, the interactive control is a shooting control, and displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: displaying, in the unread message display area, a preview effect of a target special effect shared by the special-effect sharing message; and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a second interactive trigger operation acting on the shooting control, using the target special effect for shooting.
In regard to claim 9:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The message display method according to claim 6, wherein the target unread message is a room invitation message, the interactive control comprises a user avatar of another user in a target room, and displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area comprises: displaying, in the message display area, a room image of the target room corresponding to the room invitation message, wherein the target room is a live room or a chat room; and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a third interactive trigger operation acting on a user avatar of a target another user in the target room, displaying an interactive window to enable a user initiating a third interactive operation to interact with the target another user.
Claim 8: The method according to claim 5, wherein the target unread message is a room invitation message, the interactive control comprises a user avatar of another user in a target room, and displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: displaying, in the unread message display area, a room image of the target room corresponding to the room invitation message, wherein the target room is a live room or a chat room; and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a third interactive trigger operation acting on a user avatar of a target another user in the target room, displaying an interactive window to enable a user initiating a third interactive operation to interact with the target another user.
In regard to claim 10:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory configured to store at least one program, wherein when executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform the following: displaying a message list page, wherein an unread message thumbnail is displayed on the message list page, and an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message;
Claim 9: An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory configured to store at least one program, wherein when executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform the following: displaying a message list page, wherein an unread message thumbnail is displayed on the message list page, and an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message;
receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target unread message thumbnail; in response to the first trigger operation, displaying a message display area and displaying a target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area, wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the message display area;
Claim 9: receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target unread message thumbnail; in response to the first trigger operation, displaying an unread message display area and displaying a target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area, wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the unread message display area
receiving a second trigger operation for switching a currently-displayed message in the message display area; and in response to the second trigger operation, switching the currently-displayed message to another message which is sent by a target sending user and of a same type as the currently-displayed message, wherein the target sending user is a user sending the target unread message.
Claim 9: receiving a second trigger operation for switching a current unread message displayed in the unread message display area, wherein the current unread message comprises the target unread message; in response to the second trigger operation, switching the current unread message displayed in the unread message display area to an unread message sent by a target sending user other than the current unread message, wherein the target sending user is a user sending the target unread message;
In regard to claim 11:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the currently-displayed message is of a video type and comprises a video.
Claim 9: an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message… wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the unread message display area
In regard to claim 12:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the at least one program causes the at least one processor to further perform the following: after all unread messages sent by the target sending user are displayed, displaying a user switching control or a session control in the message display area; in response to receiving a third trigger operation acting on the user switching control, displaying, in the message display area, an unread message sent by a sending user other than the target sending user; or in response to receiving a fourth trigger operation acting on the session control, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
Claim 9: after all unread messages sent by the target sending user are displayed, displaying at least one of a user switching control in the unread message display area or a session control on the message list page, in response to receiving a third trigger operation acting on the user switching control, displaying an unread message sent by a sending user other than the target sending user in the unread message display area, or in response to receiving a fourth trigger operation acting on the session control, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
In regard to claim 13:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein after displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to further perform the following: switching the target unread message from an unread state to a read state.
Claim 11: The electronic device according to claim 9, wherein after displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to further perform the following: switching the target unread message from an unread state to a read state.
In regard to claim 14:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the at least one program causes the at least one processor to further perform the following: receiving a fifth trigger operation acting on a return control in the message display area; and in response to the fifth trigger operation, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
Claim 12: The electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the at least one program causes the at least one processor to further perform the following: receiving a fifth trigger operation acting on a return control in the unread message display area; and in response to the fifth trigger operation, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user.
In regard to claim 15:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the target unread message is an interactive unread message, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to further perform the following: displaying an interactive control in the message display area; and in response to receiving an interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing an interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control.
Claim 13: The electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the target unread message is an interactive unread message, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to further perform the following: displaying an interactive control in the unread message display area; and in response to receiving an interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing an interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control.
In regard to claim 16:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the target unread message is a to-be-collected red envelope, the interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control by: in response to receiving a first interactive trigger operation acting on the opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, collecting the to-be-collected red envelope.
Claim 14: The electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the target unread message is a to-be-collected red envelope, the interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control by: in response to receiving a first interactive trigger operation acting on the opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, collecting the to-be-collected red envelope.
In regard to claim 17:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the target unread message is a special-effect sharing message, the interactive control is a shooting control, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area by: displaying, in the message display area, a preview effect of a target special effect shared by the special-effect sharing message; and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control by: in response to receiving a second interactive trigger operation acting on the shooting control, using the target special effect for shooting.
Claim 15: The electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the target unread message is a special-effect sharing message, the interactive control is a shooting control, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area by: displaying, in the unread message display area, a preview effect of a target special effect shared by the special-effect sharing message; and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control by: in response to receiving a second interactive trigger operation acting on the shooting control, using the target special effect for shooting.
In regard to claim 18:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the target unread message is a room invitation message, the interactive control comprises a user avatar of another user in a target room, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area by: displaying, in the message display area, a room image of the target room corresponding to the room invitation message, wherein the target room is a live room or a chat room; and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control by: in response to receiving a third interactive trigger operation acting on a user avatar of a target another user in the target room, displaying an interactive window to enable a user initiating a third interactive operation to interact with the target another user.
Claim 16: The electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the target unread message is a room invitation message, the interactive control comprises a user avatar of another user in a target room, and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area by: displaying, in the unread message display area, a room image of the target room corresponding to the room invitation message, wherein the target room is a live room or a chat room; and the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control by: in response to receiving a third interactive trigger operation acting on a user avatar of a target another user in the target room, displaying an interactive window to enable a user initiating a third interactive operation to interact with the target another user.
In regard to claim 19:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program, wherein when executed by a processor, the computer program causes the processor to implement the following: displaying a message list page, wherein an unread message thumbnail is displayed on the message list page, and an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message;
Claim 17: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program, wherein when executed by a processor, the computer program causes the processor to implement the following: displaying a message list page, wherein an unread message thumbnail is displayed on the message list page, and an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message;
receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target unread message thumbnail; in response to the first trigger operation, displaying a message display area and displaying a target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area, wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the message display area;
Claim 17: receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target unread message thumbnail; in response to the first trigger operation, displaying an unread message display area and displaying a target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area, wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the unread message display area,
receiving a second trigger operation for switching a currently-displayed message in the message display area; and in response to the second trigger operation, switching the currently-displayed message to another message sent by a target sending user and of a same type as the currently-displayed message, wherein the target sending user is a user sending the target unread message.
Claim 17: receiving a second trigger operation for switching a current unread message displayed in the unread message display area, wherein the current unread message comprises the target unread message; in response to the second trigger operation, switching the current unread message displayed in the unread message display area to an unread message sent by a target sending user other than the current unread message, wherein the target sending user is a user sending the target unread message;
In regard to claim 20:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12074832 B2
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein the currently-displayed message is of a video type and comprises a video.
Claim 17: an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message… wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the unread message display area comprises: in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the unread message display area
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 10, 11, 13-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0396191 A1) and further in view of WeChat Message Types (Wayback Machine, https://web.archive.org/web/20191026074855/https://doc.stella.sanuker.com/docs/en/wechat-message-types/, 10/26/2019) (Cited in the IDS dated 3/05/2025) hereinafter referred to as WMT.
In regard to claim 1, Yang discloses a message display method, comprising:
displaying a message list page, wherein an unread message thumbnail is displayed on the message list page (Fig. 4A, Fig. 9 element 902, Paragraph 0045, Paragraph 0046, Paragraph 0064 lines 1-31, Paragraph 0092, and Paragraph 0093: communication record interface is displayed listing plural chat objects (e.g. message list page). A count icon is displayed on the chat objects that indicates a number of unread messages (e.g. unread message thumbnail) with respect to the chat object (e.g. individual chat with a specific sender);
receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target unread message thumbnail; in response to the first trigger operation, displaying a message display area and displaying a target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area (Fig. 4B, Fig. 7, Fig. 9 elements 910 and 918, Paragraph 0047, Paragraph 0064 lines 25-35, Paragraph 0068 lines 4-13, Paragraph 0083, Paragraph 0084 lines 1-4, Paragraph 0084 lines 13-16, Paragraph 0085, Paragraph 0086, and Paragraph 0101: user selects a count icon to obtain the number of unread messages and display a designated display area (e.g. unread message display area) that displays a first unread message (e.g. target unread message) of the chat object);
receiving a second trigger operation for switching a currently-displayed message in the message display area; and in response to the second trigger operation, switching the currently-displayed message to another message which is sent by a target sending user and of a same type as the currently-displayed message, wherein the target sending user is a user sending the target unread message (Fig. 4B, Fig. 9 element 918, Paragraph 0052, Paragraph 0061 lines 10-16, Paragraph 0084 lines 21-33, Paragraph 0087, and Paragraph 0108 lines 4-8: user selects the displayed “Next” icon in the designated display area to display the next unread message of the chat object in the designated display area, where the unread messages are of the same type (e.g. WeChat messages)).
While Yang teaches an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises WeChat message (Paragraph 0052) and wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the [unread] message display area comprises: displaying the message content of the target unread message (Paragraph 0086 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0088 lines 1-4, and Paragraph 0089 lines 1-3), they fail to explicitly show an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message and in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the message display area, as recited in the claims. WMT teaches WeChat messages similar to that of Yang. In addition, WMT further teaches
WeChat messages include video messages where the content includes a video (Pgs. 3 and 4 Video section). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yang and WMT before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises WeChat message and wherein displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the [unread] message display area comprises: displaying the message content of the target unread message taught by Yang to include the WeChat messages include video messages where the content includes a video of WMT, in order to obtain an unread message corresponding to the unread message thumbnail comprises a video message and in response to the target unread message being the video message, playing the video message in the message display area. Yang does not provide any limitations on types of messages that can be displayed in the designated display area. Accordingly, one skilled in the art would recognize that any type of message available through the messaging service, such as WeChat, could be displayed in the designated display area and therefore the first unread message could be a WeChat video message. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as all available unread WeChat messages could be displayed therefore ensuring the user does not miss viewing any unread message.
In regard to claim 2, the combination of Yang and WMT further discloses wherein the currently-displayed message is of a video type and comprises a video (The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein in its entirety. WMT discloses that the WeChat video message includes a video).
In regard to claim 4, While Yang teaches an “unread message” is a message that had been received but for which has not been presented (Paragraph 0043 lines 11-13) and unread/read status of messages (Paragraph 0075 and Paragraph 0110), they fail to explicitly show the wherein after displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area, the method further comprises: switching the target unread message from an unread state to a read state, as recited in the claims. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yang before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include after displaying the target unread message switching the target unread message from an unread state to a read state because by definition an “unread message” is a message that had been received but for which has not been presented and therefore once it is presented it is by definition no longer an “unread message” and therefore the unread/read status should be updated accordingly, as well-known in the state of the art. Updating the status would ensure that messages that have been viewed are no longer treated as “unread messages” and therefore conform with the definition of an “unread message”, as provided by Yang.
In regard to claim 5, Yang discloses further comprising: receiving a fifth trigger operation acting on a return control in the message display area; and in response to the fifth trigger operation, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user (Paragraph 0113: user select “Reply” control (e.g. return control) in the designated display area which causes a dialogue page (e.g. session page) corresponding the chat object to be displayed).
In regard to claim 6, Yang discloses wherein the target unread message is an interactive unread message, and the method further comprises: displaying an interactive control in the message display area; and in response to receiving an interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing an interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control (Paragraph 0072-0078: the unread message(s) can be considered interactive as they can be replied to, the unread status changed, and liked. The designated display area includes controls that the user can select to perform the reply, unread status change, and liked interactions on the unread message(s)).
In regard to claims 10, 11, 13, 14, and 15, device claims 10, 11, 13, 14, and 15 correspond generally to method claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6, respectively, and recite similar features in device form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claims 19 and 20, medium claims 19 and 20 correspond generally to method claims 1 and 2, respectively, and recite similar features in medium form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
7. Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0396191 A1), WeChat Message Types (Wayback Machine, https://web.archive.org/web/20191026074855/https://doc.stella.sanuker.com/docs/en/wechat-message-types/, 10/26/2019) (Cited in the IDS dated 3/05/2025) hereinafter referred to as WMT, and further in view of Wen (US 2018/0300710 A1).
In regard to claim 7, while Yang teaches displaying the target unread message and providing interactive controls, they fail to show the wherein the target unread message is a to-be-collected red envelope, the interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a first interactive trigger operation acting on the opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, collecting the to-be-collected red envelope, as recited in the claims. Wen teaches messages similar to that of Yang. In addition, Wen further teaches
wherein a message is a to-be-collected red envelope, a displayed interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and in response to receiving an interactive trigger operation acting on the displayed interactive control, performing an interactive operation of collecting the to-be-collected red envelope (Fig. 4A-4B, Paragraph 033, and Paragraph 0034 lines 1-9: a received red envelop message is displayed with an “open” button that can be interacted with to collect the red envelop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yang, WMT, and Wen before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the displaying the target unread message and providing interactive controls taught by Yang to include the wherein a message is a to-be-collected red envelope, a displayed interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and in response to receiving an interactive trigger operation acting on the displayed interactive control, performing an interactive operation of collecting the to-be-collected red envelope of Wen, in order to obtain wherein the target unread message is a to-be-collected red envelope, the interactive control is an opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a first interactive trigger operation acting on the opening control of the to-be-collected red envelope, collecting the to-be-collected red envelope. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as allowing interaction with popular and well-known electronic red envelops (Wen Paragraph 0004) thereby increasing the functionality provided by a communication interface.
In regard to claim 16, device claim 16 corresponds generally to method claim 7 and recites similar features in medium form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim NOT Rejected Over the Prior Art
8. Claims 3, 8, 9, 12, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and would NOT be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as the claims are rejected over DOUBLE PATENTING.
In regard to claims 3 and 12, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to disclose “after all unread messages sent by the target sending user are displayed, displaying at least one of a user switching control or a session control in the message display area; in response to receiving a third trigger operation acting on the user switching control, displaying, in the message display area, an unread message sent by a sending user other than the target sending user; or in response to receiving a fourth trigger operation acting on the session control, switching a current display page to a session page of the target sending user”, as recited by claim 3 and similarly recited by claim 12, in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claims 8 and 17, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to disclose “wherein the target unread message is a special-effect sharing message, the interactive control is a shooting control, and displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area comprises: displaying, in the message display area, a preview effect of a target special effect shared by the special-effect sharing message; and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a second interactive trigger operation acting on the shooting control, using the target special effect for shooting”, as recited by claim 8 and similarly recited by claim 17, in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claims 9 and 18, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to disclose “wherein the target unread message is a room invitation message, the interactive control comprises a user avatar of another user in a target room, and displaying the target unread message corresponding to the target unread message thumbnail in the message display area comprises: displaying, in the message display area, a room image of the target room corresponding to the room invitation message, wherein the target room is a live room or a chat room; and in response to receiving the interactive trigger operation acting on the interactive control, performing the interactive operation corresponding to the interactive control comprises: in response to receiving a third interactive trigger operation acting on a user avatar of a target another user in the target room, displaying an interactive window to enable a user initiating a third interactive operation to interact with the target another user”, as recited by claim9 and similarly recite by claim 18, in combination with the other elements recited.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (US 2016/0328140 A1), seat least Paragraph 0030.
Chastney et al. (US 10178346 B2), see at least the abstract.
Wang (US 2023/0262013 A1), see at least the abstract.
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2173