DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/15/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vacuum water pump and vacuum air pump being inserted within the housing must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 11, recites the mixed solid waste and water is received at the upper end of the housing. Line 12 recites the drive device rotates the one or more impellers. Line 14 recites the mixed solid waste separates into a plurality of fractions. Line 16 recites the extraction device extracts one or more of the fractions. These are recitations of method steps of using the system. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). It is unclear if the invention would be infringed if an apparatus capable of performing the recited method steps is provided or if infringement would occur only when the method steps are performed by the apparatus. For examination purposes line 11 is assumed to recite the upper end of the housing is configured to receive a mixture of drenched mixed solid waste and water. Line 12 is assumed to recite the drive device is configured to rotate the one or more impellers. Line 14 is assumed to recite the mixed solid waste is able to separate into a plurality of fractions. And line 16 is assumed to recite the extraction device is configured to extract one or more of the fractions.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the plurality of openings defined by the housing". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the plurality of openings”.
Claim 8 recites the extraction device extracts the fraction which is a method step of using the apparatus. Therefore, claim 8 is directed to both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite the extraction device is configured to extract the fraction.
Claim 9 recites the vacuum water pump is inserted into the spinning mixture which is a method step of using the apparatus. Therefore, claim 9 is directed to both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite the pump is located within the housing.
Claim 11 recites the vacuum air pump is inserted into the spinning mixture which is a method step of using the apparatus. Therefore, claim 11 is directed to both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite the pump is located within the housing.
Claim 12 recites the extraction device extracts the fraction which is a method step of using the apparatus. Therefore, claim 12 is directed to both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite the extraction device is configured to extract the fraction.
Claim 13 recites the fraction with the third density is collected from a pipe which is a method step of using the apparatus. Therefore, claim 13 is directed to both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite the pipe is configured to collect the fraction having the third density.
The additional claims are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitations of claim 6 are recited in line 3 of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillie et al. US 2,854,136.
Claims 1 and 6, Gillie teaches a separation system comprising: a vertically oriented funnel shaped housing (1) defining an upper, open end, a tapering sidewall (2) defining the funnel shaped housing and a lower end having a smaller circumference relative to the upper open end, a plurality of vertically offset openings (12, 18, 19, 13) arranged along the tapering sidewall, one or more impellers (24) extending into and along a vertical axis of the housing, a drive device (9) configured to rotate the impellers, an extraction device (18, 19) configured to extract fractions of the contents of the system, the upper end of the housing is configured to receive waste and the drive device is configured to rotate the impellers to generate centrifugal force such that the mixture spins within the housing and the waste separates into a plurality of fractions and wherein during rotation of the impellers the extraction device is configured to extract one or more fractions from the housing (fig. 1). The recitation of the system being for separating hydrated organic materials from drenched mixed solid waste is a recitation of an intended use of the system and does not provide any further structural limitations to the apparatus.
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 10, the plurality of openings are configured for ingress or egress of fluid and fractions of waste (fig. 1); the plurality of openings are configured to receive pumped waste and water (fig. 1); the plurality of openings are shaped cylindrically (fig. 1); the impellers comprise a plurality of blades extending radially perpendicular to the vertical axis of the housing (fig. 1); a conveyor (8) configured to convey a drenched mixed solid waste into the housing at the upper open end (fig. 1); the extraction device (19) is configured to extract a fraction having a first density from the housing (fig. 1), the recitation of the density of the fraction is a recitation of an intended use for the extraction device and does not provide any further structural limitations to the apparatus; a second extraction device (18) is configured to extract a fraction having a second density that is less than the first density from the housing (fig. 1); and a fraction having a third density that is greater than the first density is configured to be collected from a pipe (4) extending from the lower end of the housing (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillie et al. US 2,854,136.
Claims 9 and 11, Gillie teaches each extraction device (18, 19) is connected to the housing to collect a fraction with a particular density but does not teach a vacuum air or water pump. Using a vacuum pump to move fluid through a pipe is a very common technique in the art as a way to ensure a desired flow of fluid within the pipe and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The recitation of the pump being a vacuum air pump or vacuum water pump is a recitation of a type of pump, both of which are common in the art and well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillie et al. US 2,854,136 in view of Valerio US 2022/0055038.
Claim 13, Gillie further teaches the pipe is coupled to a screen but does not teach an auger.
The use of an auger to transport solids collected at the bottom of a chamber is known as demonstrated by Valerio (fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the auger of Valerio as a way to collect and transport solids collected from the pipe of Gillie. The auger of Valerio is capable of transporting the solids into a collection chamber.
Claims 14-15, Valerio further teaches the pipe and the auger are hydrostatically coupled (fig. 1-2); and the auger is arranged within an elongated tube, the elongated tube comprising a port (at the end) capable of being coupled to a vacuum (fig. 1-2).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779