DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/813,623. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 1, “An embodiment wheel” should be changed to - -A wheel- -. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1, “the central axis of the wheel” should be changed to - -a central axis of the wheel- - for claim consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 14 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3 and 9 of copending Application No. 19/296,459 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each the limitations of Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 14 and 18 of the instant application are fully contained by 1-3 and 9 of copending Application No. 19/296,459 as follows:
Claim 1 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/296,459;
Claim 4 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 3 of copending Application No. 19/296,459;
Claim 6 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 9 of copending Application No. 19/296,459;
Claim 7 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 2 of copending Application No. 19/296,459;
Claim 14 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/296,459; and
Claim 18 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 9 of copending Application No. 19/296,459.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 14 of copending Application No. 19/328,566 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each the limitations of Claims 1, 7 and 14 of the instant application are fully contained by Claim 14 of copending Application No. 19/328,566.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAGAYA (US 2004/009455 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, NAGAYA discloses a wheel assembly structure of a vehicle (Figs. 1-3 and 23), the structure comprising: a wheel (2); a tire (1) mounted around the wheel; a rotor housing (3b) connected to the wheel; a buffer device (13) interposed between a circumference of a central axis of the rotor housing and a central portion of the wheel or between an upper surface of the rotor housing and a lower surface of the wheel (Fig. 1), the buffer device being configured to rotate together with the wheel and to alleviate a shock between the rotor housing and the wheel (paragraph [0156], “elastic member 13”); and a stator housing (3a) fixable to the vehicle and configured to rotate the rotor housing by applying a current (paragraph [0155], “inwheel motor”).
Regarding Claim 2, NAGAYA discloses a rotor brake disc (8a) disposed at the central axis of the rotor housing facing an inner side of the vehicle (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, NAGAYA discloses the stator housing includes a caliper (8b) configured to contact the rotor brake disc and brake the vehicle by applying frictional force to the rotor housing.
Regarding Claim 4, NAGAYA discloses the stator housing includes a vehicle connection part (5, 12) on a surface of the stator housing facing an inner side of the vehicle (Fig. 1), the vehicle connection part being configured to connect the stator housing to the vehicle (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, NAGAYA discloses the stator housing and the rotor housing are configured to not move relative to each other up and down and left and right (see, at least, element 3j in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, NAGAYA discloses a permanent magnet (3R) disposed on an inner surface of the rotor housing facing a rotation axis of the rotor housing (Fig. 1); and a coil (3S) disposed on an outer surface of the stator housing at a position facing the permanent magnet (Fig. 1), wherein the rotor housing is configured to operate to rotate by electromagnetic force generated by applying power to the coil (paragraph [0155], “inwheel motor”).
Regarding Claim 7, NAGAYA discloses a wheel assembly structure of a vehicle (Figs. 1-3 and 23), the structure comprising: a wheel (2), wherein a central portion of the wheel includes a wheel hub (4) extending toward an inner side of the vehicle (Fig. 1); a tire (1) mounted around the wheel; a rotor housing (3b) connected to the wheel; a buffer device (13) interposed between a circumference of a central axis of the rotor housing and the central portion of the wheel or between an upper surface of the rotor housing and a lower surface of the wheel (Fig. 1), the buffer device being configured to rotate together with the wheel and to alleviate a shock between the rotor housing and the wheel (paragraph [0156], “elastic member 13”); and a stator housing (3a) fixable to the vehicle and configured to rotate the rotor housing by applying a current (paragraph [0155], “inwheel motor”).
Regarding Claim 8, NAGAYA discloses a shock absorber (Fig. 23; (21b)) disposed between an upper surface of the wheel hub and a lower surface of the stator housing (Fig. 23), the shock absorber being configured to alleviate the shock between the stator housing and the wheel.
Regarding Claim 9, NAGAYA discloses a bump stopper (21a) configured to support an upper end of the shock absorber on the stator housing.
Regarding Claim 10, NAGAYA discloses the shock absorber is configured to operate such that a central axis of the shock absorber moves reciprocally by being inserted through an opening in the stator housing (Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 11, NAGAYA discloses a spring disposed around the shock absorber (Fig. 23), the spring being configured to support the lower surface of the stator housing, support a load of the stator housing and the vehicle, and alleviate the shock (Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 14, NAGAYA discloses a vehicle (Figs. 1-3 and 23) comprising: a vehicle body (inherent to “vehicle” of NAGAYA); a wheel (2) coupled to the vehicle body; a tire (1) mounted around the wheel; a rotor housing (3b) connected to the wheel; a buffer device (13) interposed between a circumference of a central axis of the rotor housing and a central portion of the wheel or between an upper surface of the rotor housing and a lower surface of the wheel (Fig. 1), the buffer device being configured to rotate together with the wheel and to alleviate a shock between the rotor housing and the wheel (paragraph [0156], “elastic member 13”); and a stator housing (3a) fixed to the vehicle and configured to rotate the rotor housing by applying a current (paragraph [0155], “inwheel motor”).
Regarding Claim 15, NAGAYA discloses a rotor brake disc (8a) disposed at the central axis of the rotor housing facing an inner side of the vehicle (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, NAGAYA discloses the stator housing includes a caliper (8b) configured to contact the rotor brake disc and brake the vehicle by applying frictional force to the rotor housing.
Regarding Claim 17, NAGAYA discloses the stator housing includes a vehicle connection part (5, 12) on a surface of the stator housing facing an inner side of the vehicle (Fig. 1), the vehicle connection part being configured to connect the stator housing to the vehicle (Fig. 1); and wherein the stator housing and the rotor housing are configured to not move relative to each other up and down and left and right (see, at least, element 3j in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, NAGAYA discloses a permanent magnet (3R) disposed on an inner surface of the rotor housing facing a rotation axis of the rotor housing (Fig. 1); and a coil (3S) disposed on an outer surface of the stator housing at a position facing the permanent magnet (Fig. 1), wherein the rotor housing is configured to operate to rotate by electromagnetic force generated by applying power to the coil (paragraph [0155], “inwheel motor”).
Regarding Claim 19, NAGAYA discloses the central portion of the wheel includes a wheel hub (4) extending toward an inner side of the vehicle (Fig. 1), and wherein the vehicle further comprises a shock absorber (Fig. 23; (21b)) disposed between an upper surface of the wheel hub and a lower surface of the stator housing (Fig. 23), the shock absorber being configured to alleviate the shock between the stator housing and the wheel (Fig. 23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MIYAZONO (US 2023/0327511 A1) discloses an in-wheel motor structure (see ABSTRACT).
MATAYOSHI et al. (US 2016/0052359 A1) discloses a suspension device for an in-wheel motor (see ABSTRACT).
MAEDA et al. (US 2006/0158050 A1) discloses an in-wheel motor structure (see ABSTRACT).
CLAYPOLE et al. (US 2003/0159866 A1) discloses a wheel motor system (see ABSTRACT).
EDWIN YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/Edwin A Young/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655