DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The status of the claims for this application is as follows.
Claims 49-81 are currently pending.
Claims 76-79 are currently withdrawn.
Claims 1-48 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 49, 50, 80, and 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Botsolas (US 4553308).
Re Clm 49: Botsolas discloses in combination (see Figs. 1-3), a cover (see Fig. 2),
a first pipe element (6) surrounding a first central axis (of 6),
a second pipe element (8), and
an assembly (4, 10, and the other 4) for joining said first pipe element and said second pipe element (see Fig. 1), said assembly comprising a first component (4 and 10) surrounding said first central axis (of 6), wherein said first component is rotationally asymmetric about said first central axis (because of the shape of 4 and 10);
the cover (see Fig. 2), said cover comprising:
a first cover portion (14) defining a first recess (18, 22, and 24), said first cover portion having a first sidewall (30, 32, 33, and 35) defining a first channel (at 30, 32, 33, and 35) and a second (the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 14) sidewall defining a second channel (at the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 14), said first and second channels being in communication with said first recess (see Fig. 2), said first and second channels for receiving, respectively, a first pipe element and a second pipe element (see Figs. 1-3);
a second cover portion (16) defining a second recess (18, 22, and 24; of 16), said second cover portion having a third sidewall (30, 32, 33, and 35; of 16) defining a third channel (at 30, 32, 33, and 35; of 16) and a fourth sidewall (the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 16) defining a fourth channel (at the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 16), said third and fourth channels being in communication with said second recess (see Figs. 1-3), said third and fourth channels receiving, respectively, said first pipe element and said second pipe element (see Figs. 1-3);
a first perimeter face (the perimeter face of 14) positioned on said first cover portion (see Fig. 2), said first perimeter face surrounding said first recess and said first and second channels (see Fig. 2); and
a second perimeter face (the perimeter face of 16) positioned on said second cover portion (see Fig. 2), said second perimeter face surrounding said second recess (see Fig. 2) and said third and fourth channels (see Fig. 2),
said second perimeter face being engaged with said first perimeter face at a joint (40) extending along a perimeter (at 40) of said first and second perimeter faces to join said first and said second cover portions to one another (see Col. 3, lines 40-65);
said first recess and said second recess cooperate to define a receiving space that receives said assembly (see Figs. 1 and 3),
wherein the receiving space comprises a first portion (the portion that receives 4) shaped to accommodate said first component (see Figs. 1 and 3, which accommodates 4 of 4 and 10) independently of a rotational orientation (a rotation orientation of 4) of said first component about said first central axis (see Figs. 1-3).
Re Clm 50: Botsolas discloses wherein said first component is a first pipe coupling (see Fig. 1).
Re Clm 80: Botsolas discloses wherein said first and third channels surround a first bore, said second and fourth channels surround a second bore, and wherein said first and second bores are not aligned with one another (see Figs. 1 and 3).
Re Clm 81: Botsolas discloses the combination according to claim 80, wherein: said second pipe element surrounds a second central axis (see Figs. 1 and 3), said assembly further comprises an elbow fitting (10) and a second component (the other 4) surrounding said second central axis and being rotationally asymmetric about said second central axis (see Figs. 1 and 3), said receiving space further comprises a second portion shaped to accommodate said second component independently of a rotational orientation of said second component about said second central axis (see Figs. 1 and 3), said first component of said assembly being a first pipe coupling attaching said first pipe element to said elbow fitting (see Figs. 1 and 3), and said second component of said assembly being a second pipe coupling attaching said second pipe element to said elbow fitting (see Figs. 1 and 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 51-75 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 12 in line 22 through page 19 line 22, that Botsolas fails to disclose:
a cover, a first pipe element surrounding a first central axis, a second pipe element, and an assembly for joining said first pipe element and said second pipe element, said assembly comprising a first component surrounding said first central axis, wherein said first component is rotationally asymmetric about said first central axis; and
said first recess and said second recess cooperate to define a receiving space that receives said assembly, wherein the receiving space comprises a first portion shaped to accommodate said first component independently of a rotational orientation of said first component about said first central axis.
Botsolas also fails to disclose said second pipe element surrounds a second central axis, said assembly further comprises an elbow fitting and a second component surrounding said second central axis and being rotationally asymmetric about said second central axis, said receiving space further comprises a second portion shaped to accommodate said second component independently of a rotational orientation of said second component about said second central axis, said first component of said assembly being a first pipe coupling attaching said first pipe element to said elbow fitting, and said second component of said assembly being a second pipe coupling attaching said second pipe element to said elbow fitting.
This is not persuasive.
Botsolas discloses a cover (see Fig. 2),
a first pipe element (6) surrounding a first central axis (of 6),
a second pipe element (8), and
an assembly (4, 10, and the other 4) for joining said first pipe element and said second pipe element (see Fig. 1), said assembly comprising a first component (4 and 10) surrounding said first central axis (of 6), wherein said first component is rotationally asymmetric about said first central axis (because of the shape of 4 and 10); and
the cover (see Fig. 2), said cover comprising:
a first cover portion (14) defining a first recess (18, 22, and 24), said first cover portion having a first sidewall (30, 32, 33, and 35) defining a first channel (at 30, 32, 33, and 35) and a second (the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 14) sidewall defining a second channel (at the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 14), said first and second channels being in communication with said first recess (see Fig. 2), said first and second channels for receiving, respectively, a first pipe element and a second pipe element (see Figs. 1-3);
a second cover portion (16) defining a second recess (18, 22, and 24; of 16), said second cover portion having a third sidewall (30, 32, 33, and 35; of 16) defining a third channel (at 30, 32, 33, and 35; of 16) and a fourth sidewall (the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 16) defining a fourth channel (at the other 30, 32, 33, and 35 at the opposite end of 16), said third and fourth channels being in communication with said second recess (see Figs. 1-3), said third and fourth channels receiving, respectively, said first pipe element and said second pipe element (see Figs. 1-3);
said first recess and said second recess cooperate to define a receiving space that receives said assembly (see Figs. 1 and 3),
wherein the receiving space comprises a first portion (the portion that receives 4) shaped to accommodate said first component (see Figs. 1 and 3, which accommodates 4 of 4 and 10) independently of a rotational orientation (a rotation orientation of 4) of said first component about said first central axis (see Figs. 1-3).
Botsolas further discloses the combination according to claim 80, wherein: said second pipe element surrounds a second central axis (see Figs. 1 and 3), said assembly further comprises an elbow fitting (10) and a second component (the other 4) surrounding said second central axis and being rotationally asymmetric about said second central axis (see Figs. 1 and 3), said receiving space further comprises a second portion shaped to accommodate said second component independently of a rotational orientation of said second component about said second central axis (see Figs. 1 and 3), said first component of said assembly being a first pipe coupling attaching said first pipe element to said elbow fitting (see Figs. 1 and 3), and said second component of said assembly being a second pipe coupling attaching said second pipe element to said elbow fitting (see Figs. 1 and 3).
Thus, the claims are still rejectable.
Claims rejected with Thompson or Stiskin are moot as these rejections have not been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
06/08/2026
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679