DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 16-18 & 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Benedictis (US 2021/0376708).
Regarding Claim 1, De Benedictis discloses a linear electric motor [2] (FIG. 1a, Abstract; electrical linear motor), comprising:
a) a stator [4] comprising a plurality of stacked stator segments [11], wherein at least one of the plurality of stacked stator segment [11] (FIG. 1a-2, ¶ [0052-0053]; an electrical linear motor 2 comprises a stator 4 … The stator 6 comprises an electromagnet array 10. The electromagnet array comprises a plurality of disk-ring shaped electromagnets 11) comprises:
b) a stator portion [30] (FIG. 2a, ¶ [0053]; Each electromagnet 11 comprises a coil support 30 and a coil 26 mounted on the coil support.);
c) a stator back portion [40] adjacent the stator portion [30] on a first face of the stator portion [30] (FIG. 2a, ¶ [0053]; The coil support is substantially disc shaped, provided with the axial recess 32 that extends radially from a radially inner annular rim 40 to a radially outer annular rim 34 of the coil support 30); and
d) a conductor [26] (FIG. 3c-3e, ¶ [0053]; Each electromagnet 11 comprises a coil support 30 and a coil 26 mounted on the coil support); and
e) an armature [6] configured to travel linearly through the stator [4] during operation, wherein the conductor [26] substantially encircles the armature [6] (FIG. 1-3e, ¶ [0067]; The actuation shaft 6 extends between a first end 44 and a second end 46. At least one of the ends (in the embodiment illustrated the first end 44) is an actuation end configured for coupling to a first external component (not shown) that is movable relative to a second external component (not shown) to which the stator 4 is fixed).
Regarding Claim 2, De Benedictis discloses the linear electric motor of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein at least one of stator portion [30] OR comprises a plurality of laminations [34, 35] (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, De Benedictis discloses a stator for a linear electric motor [2] (Abstract; electrical linear motor) comprising:
a plurality of stacked stator segments [11] (refer to rejected Claim1, element “a” above), each stator segment comprising:
a stator portion [30] (refer to rejected Claim1, element “b” above);
a back portion [40] adjacent to a first face of the stator portion [30] (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “c” above); and
a conductor [26] adjacent to the back portion [30] (refer to rejected Claim1, element “d” above).
Regarding Claim 9, De Benedictis discloses the stator of claim 8 [see rejected Claim 8],
wherein at least one stator portion or at least one stator back portion comprises a plurality of laminations (refer to rejected Claim 2 above).
Regarding Claim 10, De Benedictis discloses the stator of claim 9 [see rejected Claim 9],
wherein at least one stator segment [11] further comprises a plurality of stator teeth [teeth by 52 and below where is not labeled] (FIG. 3c-3e).
Regarding Claim 16, De Benedictis discloses the stator of claim 8 [see rejected Claim 8],
wherein at least one stacked stator segment [11] further comprises a second back portion [32] adjacent a second face of the stator portion (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, De Benedictis discloses the stator of claim 8 [see rejected Claim 8],
wherein the back portion [32] includes an aperture of size to receive an armature [36] (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, De Benedictis discloses a method of assembling a stator [6] for a linear electric motor [2] (Abstract; electrical linear motor), comprising:
assembling a plurality of stator segments [11], each stator segment comprising a stator portion [30], a back portion [40] adjacent a first face of the stator portion [30], and a conductor [26] (FIG. 2); and
stacking the plurality of stator segments [11] to create the stator (as shown in FIG. 1-3s).
Regarding Claim 22, De Benedictis discloses a method of assembling a linear electric motor (Abstract; electrical linear motor), comprising:
stacking a plurality of stator segments [11] together to form a stator [4], each stator segment comprising a stator portion [30], a back portion [40] adjacent a first face of the stator portion [11s], and a conductor [26] (FIG. 2);
stacking a plurality of armature segments [10s] together to form an armature, wherein the conductor substantially encircles the armature (¶ [0064]; The electromagnets 11 of the electromagnet array 10 may be bonded together by various bonding technics such as welding); and
connecting windings of the conductors [26] of each of the plurality of stator segments [11] (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 23, De Benedictis discloses the method of claim 22 [see rejected Claim 22],
wherein stacking a plurality of stator segments [11] together further comprises stacking laminated stator portions (see rejected Claim 2 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 11-15 & 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834