Detailed Action
Claims 4, 7, 14, and 17 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered, but are considered moot in view of the following new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JAKOBSSON (US 20230281606 A1) in view of “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR COMMUNICATING BETWEEN DEVICES” (KR 102239488 B1), hereafter REFERENCE 2.
Regarding claim 1, JAKOBSSON teaches:
A method for dynamically authorizing personal data based on a blockchain, which enables a personal data owner to dynamically authorize a personal data requester to access personal data stored in the blockchain (JAKOBSSON [0066] “a method performed by an entity, such as a wallet or associated with a wallet, for enabling a user, such as an owner of the wallet, to sign a request.”, [0080] “systems and methods can provide improved security for blockchain wallets by partitioning addresses within the wallet according to roles that those addresses may perform.”, [0107] “When content creators wish to access particular pieces of data stored within the permissioned blockchain 208, they can make a request to a data access service. The data access service may grant access to data stored using the permissioned blockchain 208 when the content creators' public keys correspond to public keys of guests. In a number of embodiments, guests may be defined within a compound identity. The access record for the compound entity may also authorize the compound entity to access the particular piece of data. In this way, the user has complete control over access to their data at any time by admitting or revoking content creators to a compound entity”, [0257] “The smart contract may then subsequently mint an NFT to an address in the wallet. The wallet may then download DRM code from a server on the basis of providing evidence of ownership of the NFT, with the DRM code allowing the wallet to obtain or generate a dynamically generated decryption key for locating, streaming and decrypting”), the method comprising: receiving a use requirement, submitted by the personal data requester through a requirement application interface, for using the personal data of the personal data owner(JAKOBSSON [0093] “Users can use media wallet applications 110 to obtain and/or transfer NFTs 106.”, [0107] “When content creators wish to access particular pieces of data stored within the permissioned blockchain 208, they can make a request to a data access service… In several embodiments, the permissioned blockchain 208 supports access control lists and users can utilize a media wallet application to modify permissions granted by way of the access control list.”, [0112] “In a number of embodiments, approval may come without the use of a consensus mechanism involving multiple authorities. As such, through a direct request from users 310 to the central authority 330, the determination of whether blocks 320 can be allowed access to the permissioned blockchain 340 can be determined.”); notifying the personal data owner of the use requirement; receiving a grant made by the personal data owner through a use authorization interface (JAKOBSSON [0106] “In several embodiments, users can authorize content creators 204 to access NFT transaction data recorded within the permissioned blockchain 208 using one of a number of appropriate mechanisms including (but not limited to) compound identities where the user is the owner of the data and the user can authorize other entities as guests that can also access the data.” [0226] “The parent partition and/or user can determine if the transaction 1965 is safe and/or can complete the transaction 1965 via transaction 1970 on behalf of the child partition and/or user. In various embodiments, the partitioned wallet can grant permission to a child address to transact directly with unsafe external addresses on a case-by-case basis, in response to a notification, in general, and/or in other ways.”) or receiving the grant after the use requirement is modified by the personal data owner through the use authorization interface (JAKOBSSON “In this way, the user has complete control over access to their data at any time by admitting or revoking content creators to a compound entity, and/or modifying the access policies defined within the permissioned blockchain 208 for the compound entity. In several embodiments, the permissioned blockchain 208 supports access control lists and users can utilize a media wallet application to modify permissions granted by way of the access control list.”); generating an authorization credential based on a blockchain non-fungible token in response to the use requirement (JAKOBSSON [0175] “In some embodiments, a certifying third party may generate an NFT associated with certain rights upon the occurrence of a specific event.”, [0411] “An example crypto address is a public key used for assignment of ownership rights to tokens, whether non-fungible tokens (NFTs) or fungible tokens, i.e., crypto funds. Actions can be taken on tokens assigned to a crypto address by using a corresponding private key to generate a digital signature related to the token, e.g., for purposes of transferring ownership or access rights of the token.”) and linking the authorization credential to a blockchain wallet of the personal data requester (JAKOBSSON [0155] “Additionally, private keys 1370 may be applied to initiating ownership transfers and granting NFT and/or fungible token access to alternate wallets.”, [0411] “This private key may be associated with one or more wallets, e.g., of a given user and her family members. Different tokens can be controlled by different users by the distribution of the private keys that can be used to generate digital signatures related to the tokens, where the owner of the tokens is identified using the public key related to the private key used for signing. “, [0449] “By receiving the information string and parsing it, the wallet determines the certificate and the private key; determines that the certificate is valid, and uses the private key to transfer a right associated with the physical item to the wallet. This may be an ownership right.”); receiving a request, submitted by the personal data requester through a personal data access interface (JAKOBSSON [0119] “embodiments of the invention is illustrated in FIG. 5A. Application running on devices 505, may interact with or make a request related to NFTs 510 interacting with such a blockchain. An NFT 510 in accordance with several embodiments of the invention may include many values including generalized data 511 (e.g. URLs)…In accordance with many embodiments of the invention, the generalized data 511 may be used to access corresponding rich media through the NFT 510.”), for accessing the personal data of the personal data owner (JAKOBSSON [0094] “The permissions granted by individual users may enable the content creators 104 to directly access data written to an immutable ledger.”); verifying that the blockchain wallet of the personal data requester is provided with the authorization credential created by the personal data owner (JAKOBSSON [0067] “exemplifying embodiment of an entity, such as a wallet or associated with a wallet, configured for enabling a user, such as an owner of the wallet, to sign a request.”, [0154] “Access governance rights may include, but are not limited to, whether a party can indicate their relationship with the wallet”, [0252] “This fourth rights management object is associated with a decryption key that may be specific to the wallet on which the object is installed, and where this key is used to decrypt content such as movies… after verifying that the content has been licensed to be used by the wallet or an associated rendering device. The verification that a content item has been rendered may be associated with the content, in the form of a digital signature”); and providing the personal data stored in the blockchain to be accessed by the personal data requester after the authorization credential is successfully verified (JAKOBSSON [0252] “This fourth rights management object is associated with a decryption key that may be specific to the wallet on which the object is installed, and where this key is used to decrypt content such as movies… after verifying that the content has been licensed to be used by the wallet or an associated rendering device.).
Further regarding claim 1, JAKOBSSON does not explicitly teach, but in a related art REFERENCE 2 teaches:
wherein the use requirement comprises parts or entirety of the personal data to be used (REFERENCE 2; page 3 “The key token may be generated based on information of the first device 104, information of the second device 106, an ID of an input policy, a user ID, and the like,”, REFERENCE 2 page 4, “The server 102 may receive a policy from a legacy system (not shown) or the like, and generate a key token according to the input policy. Here, the backbone system is a system that provides various services to a user by interworking with the server 102, and may provide one or more policies corresponding to a user's request among a plurality of predefined policies to the server 102. As an example, the server 102 may receive a policy of automatically unlocking the door lock when the user approaches the door lock from the home network system (not shown).”), a purpose of use(REFERENCE 2; page 8 “The command manager 212 may include one or more commands corresponding to each policy, and may update the command for each policy when it is necessary to modify it. The commands for each policy may be mapped to a corresponding policy, and the first device 104 and the second device 106 refer to information on the policy received from the server 102 to identify one or more corresponding commands. can do. The command may be, for example, door lock/door lock release of a reserved vehicle, start on/off, driving information inquiry, location information inquiry, and the like.), a date and time range of use(REFERENCE 2; page 4 “As another example, when the user reserves the use of the vehicle, the server 102 is a policy of contents that can remotely control the door opening/closing/starting on/off of the vehicle according to the user's input during the reservation period input by the user. May be input from the vehicle sharing system (not shown). In this case, the key token may have a set validity period (eg, 5 days), and the validity period may vary according to an input policy (eg, the above-described reservation period).”), and a number of times of use (REFERENCE 2; page 4 “In this case, the maximum count is the number of sequentially connected first hash values, and may vary depending on the input policy, the validity period of the key token, and the like. As an example, when the user reserves the use of the vehicle for 5 days, the validity period of the key token may be 5 days and the maximum count may be 100. As another example, when the user reserves the use of the vehicle for 3 days, the validity period of the key token may be 3 days and the maximum count may be 50.”);
receiving a request, submitted by the personal data owner through the use authorization interface, for modifying the use requirement; burning the authorization credential; generating a second authorization credential based on the blockchain non-fungible token in response to the modified use requirement and linking the second authorization credential to the blockchain wallet of the personal data requester(REFERENCE 2; page 16 “In this case, the user may input a reservation request and reservation period for vehicle use through a mobile application installed on the first device 104. The server 102 receives the information on the reservation request and reservation period from a basic system (not shown) interlocked with the first device 104, and as the user's reservation for the vehicle is completed, a key token and a maximum count Can be created… when the user's reservation for the vehicle is changed, the server 102 may discard and regenerate the generated key token. “, page 7, “the policy manager 202 may request the token manager 204 to generate, update, and destroy a key token when a policy is input, changed, and expired. Specifically, the policy manager 202 requests the token manager 204 to generate or update a key token when a policy is newly input or the input policy is changed, and when the valid period of the input policy expires”, page 6 “As described above, the second device 106 stores the initial hash value of the key token, information on the second maximum count, the policy input to the server 102, information on the validity period of the key token, and the like. Can be received from In this case, the second device 106 may receive the information from the server 102 through the relay device 108. In addition, the second device 106 stores the initial hash value of the received key token, information on the second maximum count, the policy input to the server 102, information on the validity period of the key token, and the like in an internal security area (i.e. , Storage).”, page 3 “The key token may be generated based on information of the first device 104, information of the second device 106, an ID of an input policy, a user ID, and the like.”);
Since JAKOBSSON and REFERENCE 2 are from the same field of endeavor as both are directed to blockchain transaction security, which is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine the teachings of JAKOBSSON by incorporating the teachings of REFERENCE 2 into JAKOBSSON. The motivation to combine is to improve rule-based access and blockchain security and management (JAKOBSSON [AB]; REFERENCE 2 [AB]).
Regarding claim 2, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: automatically burning the authorization credential when the personal data access interface discovers that the authorization credential is invalid (JAKOBSSON [0185] “Relative NFTs associated with social NFTs may include digital signatures that is verified using a public key of a specific social NFT.”, [0188] “The digital signature and message may then be in the form of an inheritance NFT, or part of an inheritance NFT.” [0491] “A policy may include a verification mechanism that resources are who/what they claim to be—related to authenticity, functionality, or other value-driving characteristics… If within this time or before this event a complaint is filed or an abuse verification is initiated, then the escrow authority may conditionally take an action governed by a policy. In some instances, the resulting action may be… the modification of assets (e.g., burning of a token, evolution of a token, or modification of access credentials to cause a lock-out)... In some instances the action may be taken automatically based on the policy alone”).
Regarding claim 3, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a request, submitted by the personal data owner through the use authorization interface, for burning the authorization credential; and burning the authorization credential (JAKOBSSON [0276] “In one embodiment an NFT clue may contain a single-use, or limited-use, video clue. Upon viewing, the NFT may be burned, or peeled, such as when an NFT shifts form, in this example a video clue may peel into a collectible of the film or production NFT”, [0293] “One of these NFTs has been minted in step 2801. Alice has watched the film and purchased the NFT 2802. Alice elects to peel the NFT 2803 rather than holding it to resell later in its current unpeeled form. She consumes a single-use video clip that reveals a partial solution to the mystery. Upon completion, the NFT peels into a collectible from the movie, and the single-use video is no longer available to Alice, or any subsequent buyer of the NFT from Alice.”, [0260] “An entity associated with the wallet, such as the interface, may associate one or more access rights with one or more users of a wallet, where the rights may include rights to read content, write or modify content, and to install or uninstall.” In the example ‘Alice’, personal data owner, uses the interface to elect to burn the NFT rather than peel, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 provides for “receiving a request, submitted by the personal data owner through the use authorization interface, for burning the authorization credential; and burning the authorization credential”).
Regarding claim 5, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the blockchain is a public blockchain, a private blockchain, a hybrid blockchain, or a consortium blockchain (JAKOBSSON [0103] “NFT platforms in accordance with many embodiments of the invention utilize public blockchains and permissioned blockchains.”).
Regarding claim 6, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the blockchain comprises a single chain or multiple chains (JAKOBSSON [0090] “The NFT platform 100 utilizes one or more immutable ledgers (e.g. one or more blockchains)”).
Regarding claim 8, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the authorization credential is a non-tradable soul-bound non-fungible token (JAKOBSSON [0432] “A rule may also be specific to a given token. For example, a first non-fungible token (NFT) may be associated with a first rule identifying what entities (such as bridges or consensus systems) may perform what operations. Such rules may be conditional on one or more jurisdictions, and/or of the actions associated with the NFT. An example action is a transfer of ownership to an entity that has an associated verified identity recorded, e.g., in the form of an anchored token. An anchored token has also been referred to as a soul-bound token,”).
Regarding claim 9, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the requirement application interface, the use authorization interface, and the personal data access interface are provided by decentralized applications respectively or by a single decentralized application (JAKOBSSON [0103] “NFT platforms in accordance with many embodiments of the invention utilize public blockchains and permissioned blockchains. In several embodiments, the public blockchain is decentralized and universally accessible.”, [0192] “In some embodiments, promotional NFTs may operate through decentralized applications for which access restricted to those using an identity NFT.”).
Regarding claim 10, JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein each of the decentralized applications utilizes a corresponding smart contract to implement functions of the requirement application interface, the use authorization interface, and the personal data access interface (JAKOBSSON [0091] “Issuance of NFTs 106 via the NFT platform 100 enables verification of the authenticity of NFTs independently of the content creator 104 by confirming that transactions written to one or more of the immutable ledgers are consistent with the smart contracts 108 underlying the NFTs.”).
Regarding claims 11-20, claims 11-20 recite substantially similar limitations as claims 1-10, but for recitation in the form of a system. JAKOBSSON-REFERENCE 2 further teaches:
A system (JAKOBSSON [0080] In various embodiments, systems and methods can provide improved security for blockchain wallets by partitioning addresses within the wallet according to roles that those addresses may perform.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reached on (571) 270-5440. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/K.J.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408