DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/813,815 has a total of 13 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 10 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
INFORMATION CONCERNING DRAWINGS
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 222 and 224 in FIG. 2; 718 in FIG. 7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
INFORMATION CONCERNING THE SPECIFICATION
Specification
The applicant’s specification submitted is acceptable for examination purposes.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 17-19, 21-24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (Publication Number US 2011/0243035 A1) in view of Haimovsky et al. (Patent Number US 7,386,711 B1).
As per claim 17, Hall et al. discloses “A method that comprises: downloading firmware from a host to a local controller in a local end connector of a cable, the local controller storing the firmware in a local memory (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).” Hall et al. discloses “transferring a copy of the firmware via an internal channel from the local controller to a remote controller in a remote end connector of the cable, the remote controller storing the firmware in a remote memory in the remote end connector (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).” However, Hall et al. does not disclose “and configuring the local controller and the remote controller to each boot from the firmware when the cable is restarted.”
Haimovsky et al. discloses “and configuring the local controller and the remote controller to each boot from the firmware when the cable is restarted (a small and robust boot-loader software which is embedded into each processor module and is being executed by the local processor at boot time; Column 2, lines 11-14).”
Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of device connections between local and remote components.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. in order to synchronize between master and slave devices [Column 2, lines 14-18].
As per claim 18, Hall et al. discloses “The method of claim 17 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above), further comprising transferring a copy of the firmware via an internal channel from the local controller to a second remote controller in a second remote end connector of the cable, the second remote controller storing the firmware in a second remote memory (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).”
As per claim 19, Haimovsky et al. discloses “The method of claim 17 (s disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above), further comprising, prior to said downloading, accessing at least one of the local controller and the remote controller to determine whether an installed firmware version is current (see the synchronization process between the master and slave system of the software versions; Column 2, lines 5-11).”
As per claim 21, Hall et al. discloses “A network that comprises: multiple network nodes including one or more switches (distributed network for computing [Paragraph 0040] with switches (hardware, firmware, software); Paragraph 0062).” Hall et al. discloses “active network cables that interconnect the multiple network nodes, each active network cable having a local end connector coupled to a host port of the one or more switches and having a remote end connector, each of the switches being configured to, in each connected one of the active network cables, perform a firmware update by: downloading firmware to a local controller in the local end connector, the local controller storing the firmware in a local memory (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).” Hall et al. discloses “initiating copying of the firmware via an internal channel from the local controller to a remote controller in the remote end connector, the remote controller storing the firmware in a remote memory in the remote end connector (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).”
However, Hall et al. does not disclose “and configuring the local controller and the remote controller to each boot from the firmware when restarted.” Haimovsky et al. discloses “and configuring the local controller and the remote controller to each boot from the firmware when restarted (a small and robust boot-loader software which is embedded into each processor module and is being executed by the local processor at boot time; Column 2, lines 11-14).”
Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of device connections between local and remote components.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. in order to synchronize between master and slave devices [Column 2, lines 14-18].
As per claim 22, Hall et al. discloses “The network of claim 21 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above), wherein no non-switch network nodes are configured to perform the firmware update (actuating a switch [Paragraph 0062] as opposed to other components that are not explicitly actuated (e.g. selecting one of a plurality of connectors as seen in [Paragraph 0062]).”
As per claim 23, Hall et al. discloses “The network of claim 21 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above), wherein as part of performing the firmware update each of the switches is further configured to initiate copying of the firmware via the internal channel from the local controller to a second remote controller in a second remote end connector of the cable, the second remote controller storing the firmware in a second remote memory (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).”
As per claim 24, Haimovsky et al. discloses “The network of claim 21 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above), wherein as part of performing the firmware update each of the switches is further configured to access at least one of the local controller and the remote controller to determine whether an installed firmware version is current (see the synchronization process between the master and slave system of the software versions; Column 2, lines 5-11).”
As per claim 26, Hall et al. discloses “A switch that comprises: multiple ports each configured to couple with a local end connector of a cable, the switch providing a maintenance service that performs a firmware update for each active network cable coupled to a respective one of the multiple ports by: downloading firmware to a local controller in the local end connector, the local controller storing the firmware in a local memory (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).” Hall et al. discloses “initiating copying of the firmware via an internal channel from the local controller to a remote controller in the remote end connector, the remote controller storing the firmware in a remote memory in the remote end connector (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).”
However, Hall et al. does not disclose “and configuring the local controller and the remote controller to each boot from the firmware when restarted.” Haimovsky et al. discloses “and configuring the local controller and the remote controller to each boot from the firmware when restarted (a small and robust boot-loader software which is embedded into each processor module and is being executed by the local processor at boot time; Column 2, lines 11-14).”
Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of device connections between local and remote components.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. in order to synchronize between master and slave devices [Column 2, lines 14-18].
As per claim 27, Hall et al. discloses “The switch of claim 26 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above), wherein as part of performing the firmware update the maintenance service initiates copying of the firmware via the internal channel from the local controller to a second remote controller in a second remote end connector of the cable, the second remote controller storing the firmware in a second remote memory (actuating a firmware switch (e.g. firmware upgrade); actuating a software switch (e.g. auto-detect and/or selection by user interface); selecting one of a plurality of connectors available on the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 when physically connecting the local proxy unit 18 and the remote proxy unit 20 to the communications link 12 [Paragraph 0062], where there is local memory 44; Paragraph 0070).”
As per claim 28, Haimovsky et al. discloses “The switch of claim 26 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above), wherein as part of performing the firmware update the maintenance service accesses at least one of the local controller and the remote controller to determine whether an installed firmware version is current (see the synchronization process between the master and slave system of the software versions; Column 2, lines 5-11).”
Claims 20, 25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (Publication Number US 2011/0243035 A1) and Haimovsky et al. (Patent Number US 7,386,711 B1) in view of Zadigian et al. (Publication Number US 2013/0346637 A1).
As per claim 20, Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. discloses “The method of claim 17 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above).” However, Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. do not disclose “further comprising initiating a restart of the cable.”
Zadigian et al. discloses “further comprising initiating a restart of the cable (CLD programming change after a restart; Paragraphs 0687-0689).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. with elements of Zadigian et al. in order to reliable means to program on-board devices [Paragraph 0689].
As per claim 25, Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. disclose “The network of claim 21 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above).” However, Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. do not disclose “wherein as part of performing the firmware update each of the switches is further configured to initiate a restart of that cable.”
Zadigian et al. discloses “wherein as part of performing the firmware update each of the switches is further configured to initiate a restart of that cable (CLD programming change after a restart; Paragraphs 0687-0689).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. with elements of Zadigian et al. in order to reliable means to program on-board devices [Paragraph 0689].
As per claim 29, Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. disclose “The switch of claim 26 (as disclosed by Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. above).”
However, Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. do not disclose “wherein as part of performing the firmware update the maintenance service initiates a restart of that cable.”
Zadigian et al. discloses “wherein as part of performing the firmware update the maintenance service initiates a restart of that cable (CLD programming change after a restart; Paragraphs 0687-0689).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Hall et al. and Haimovsky et al. with elements of Zadigian et al. in order to reliable means to program on-board devices [Paragraph 0689].
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF REFERENCES CITED BY APPLICANT
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated July 15, 2025, is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
RELEVENT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and relied upon is citied to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The following references teach master device and slave device connections.
U.S. PATENT NUMBERS:7,529,868 B2 – [Column 8, lines 37-64]
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
/H.W.Y/Examiner, Art Unit 2181 October 16, 2026
/IDRISS N ALROBAYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2181