DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 23 August 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8,10,12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janusz Dyszewski et. al (US2017/0126141A1; hereafter “Janusz”) in view of Yang Cheng et. al (US12587097B2; hereafter “Yang”).
-Regarding claim 1:
Janusz discloses:
A LLC voltage converter Fig. 4; 1 or 2) for converting a DC input voltage (Fig.4; input voltage 3) to a DC output voltage (Fig. 4; output voltage 20), the LLC voltage converter comprising: a transformer (Fig. 4; red arrows) comprising a first input winding (Fig. 4; primary winding 10) and a second output winding (Fig. 4; two secondary windings 15 and 16); a current sensor (Fig. 4; measuring current by 30, 31) configured to measure a primary current through the first winding (Fig. 4; 34, 35) of the transformer; and a controller (Fig. 4; 25); wherein the current sensor is configured to provide a measurement of the primary current to the controller (Fig. 4; 34 to 30 then into 25 at upper LLC converter wherein the controller is configured to determine a parameter (paragraph 0042; “modified switching frequency”) relating to an output current (fig. 4; current through capacitor 19) of the LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the measurement of the primary current (Fig. 4; measuring current by 30, 31); wherein the controller is also configured to receive a parameter relating to an output current of at least one other LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; 2 for 1 or 1 for 2) configured in parallel with the LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; LLC converter 1 is configured in parallel with LLC converter 2) when the LLC voltage converter is in use; and wherein the controller is further configured to control the LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0036; “The two switching elements 5, 6 are controlled using a control circuit 13.”) at least partially based on the parameter (current and voltage through the first winding of transformer) relating to the output current (fig. 4; current through upper capacitor 19) of the LLC voltage converter and the parameter(current and voltage through the first winding of other transformer in the second LLC voltage converter) relating to the output current (fig. 4; current through lower capacitor 19) of the at least one other LLC voltage converter.
However, Janusz does not disclose an individual controller in LLC voltage converter.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
integrated into the LLC voltage converter (Fig. 2; for each power conversion circuit 202, 203,…20N, corresponding to each individual controller 2142, 2143, …214N)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Janusz such that a commonly used individual controller into power converter described in Yang is applied to a switched mode power supply unit. Doing so allows for improving the control of LLC voltage converter.
-Regarding claim 10:
Janusz discloses:
A system for converting a DC input voltage to a DC output voltage (Fig. 4) comprising: a first LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; 1); and a second LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; 2); wherein the first LLC voltage converter is configured in parallel (Fig. 4; two LLC converters are in parallel) with the second LLC voltage converter; wherein each of the first and second LLC voltage converters comprises: a transformer (Fig. 4; red arrows) comprising a first input winding (Fig. 4; primary winding 10) and a second output winding (Fig. 4; two secondary windings 15 and 16); a current sensor (Fig. 4; measuring current by 30, 31) configured to measure a primary current (Fig. 4; 34, 35) through the first winding of the transformer; and a controller (Fig. 4; 25); wherein the current sensor is configured to provide a measurement of the primary current to the controller (Fig. 4; 34 to 30 then into 25 at upper LLC converter); and wherein the controller is configured to determine a parameter relating to an output current (fig. 4; current through capacitor 19) of that LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the measurement of the primary current; wherein the first LLC voltage converter is arranged to provide a parameter relating to the output current of the first LLC voltage converter to the second LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; output capacitor 19 at each LLC converter connected in parallel); wherein the second LLC voltage converter is arranged to provide a parameter relating to the output current of the second LLC voltage converter to the first LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; output capacitor 19 at each LLC converter connected in parallel); wherein
However, Janusz does not disclose an individual controller in LLC voltage converter.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
integrated into the LLC voltage converter (Fig. 2; for each power conversion circuit 202, 203,…20N, corresponding to each individual controller 2142, 2143, …214N)…….the controller of the first LLC voltage converter is arranged to control the first LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the parameter relating to the output current of the first LLC voltage converter and the parameter relating to the output current of the second LLC SERIAL No.18/813,919 PATENT voltage converter; and wherein the controller of the second LLC voltage converter is arranged to control the second LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the parameter relating to the output current of the second LLC voltage converter and the parameter relating to the output current of the first LLC voltage converter. (Fig. 2; for each power conversion circuit 202, 203,…20N, corresponding to each individual controller 2142, 2143, …214N, and each controller provide signal to control each power converter based on feedback control circuit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Janusz such that a commonly used individual controller into power converter described in Yang is applied to a switched mode power supply unit. Doing so allows for improving the control of LLC voltage converter.
-Regarding claim 17:
For method claim 17, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device “1 inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 UPSQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore, the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
-Regarding claim 2:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, wherein the LLC voltage converter is configured to send the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter to the at least one other LLC voltage converter configured in parallel with the LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; one controller collects the parameter from two LLC converters in parallel) when the LLC voltage converter is in use.
-Regarding claim 3:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an output voltage sensor configured to measure the DC output voltage and provide a measurement of the DC output voltage to the controller (paragraph 0012;” By taking the respective input or output voltage into account,”); wherein the controller is configured to control (paragraph 0041; “where the switching frequency corresponds to the desired output voltage. The load controller then specifies a correction value”) the LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the measurement of the DC output voltage.
-Regarding claim 4:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a voltage switching circuit element, the voltage switching circuit element (Fig. 4; 13) comprising: an input configured to be connected to the DC input voltage (Fig. 4; input voltage 3 connected to 13); and an output; wherein the voltage switching circuit element is configured to provide an alternating voltage, which alternates between a high value and a low value at a switching frequency (paragraph 0040; “to each control circuit 13, by which the respective switching frequency is changed such that”), at the output of the voltage switching circuit element; and wherein the controller is configured to control the LLC voltage converter by controlling the switching frequency (Fig. 4; The load controller 25 is configured such that it specifies an already modified switching frequency to each control circuit 13 as a control variable 26, 27.) of the alternating voltage.
-Regarding claim 5:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, wherein the transformer is a step-down transformer (Fig. 4; see the magnitudes of input voltage 3 and output voltage 20).
-Regarding claim 6:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a primary transformer voltage sensor configured to measure a primary transformer voltage across the first winding of the transformer (Fig. 3; 32 and 33) and to provide a measurement of the primary transformer voltage to the controller (Fig. 3; 32 to 30 then into 25 for upper LLC converter) ; wherein the controller is configured to determine the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the measurement of the primary transformer voltage.
-Regarding claim 7:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter by determining a secondary current through the second winding of the transformer (paragraph 0024; “measuring an input current of the associated transformer, and a voltage that is proportionate to the measuring current is supplied to the load controller”).
-Regarding claim 8:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to balance the output currents between the LLC voltage converter and each of the at least one other LLC voltage converter (paragraph 0012; “If an LLC resonant converter transmits less currents for instance, then the output voltage of this converter is increased in relation to the other converters.”).
-Regarding claim 12:
Janusz discloses:
The system as claimed in claim 10, wherein, for each LLC voltage converter, the LLC voltage converter further comprises an output voltage sensor configured to measure the DC output voltage and provide a measurement of the DC output voltage to the controller (paragraph 0012;” By taking the respective input or output voltage into account,”), the controller configured to control the LLC voltage converter (paragraph 0041; “where the switching frequency corresponds to the desired output voltage. The load controller then specifies a correction value”) at least partially based on the measurement of the DC output voltage.
-Regarding claim 13:
Janusz discloses:
The system as claimed in claim 10, wherein, for each LLC voltage converter, the LLC voltage converter further comprises a voltage switching circuit element (Fig. 4; 13), the voltage switching circuit element comprising an input configured to be connected to the DC input voltage (Fig. 4; input voltage 3 connected to 13) and an output, the voltage switching circuit element configured to provide an alternating voltage that alternates between a high value and a low value at a switching frequency (paragraph 0040; “to each control circuit 13, by which the respective switching frequency is changed such that”) at the output of the voltage switching circuit element, the controller configured to control the LLC voltage converter by controlling the switching frequency (Fig. 4; The load controller 25 is configured such that it specifies an already modified switching frequency to each control circuit 13 as a control variable 26, 27.) of the alternating voltage.
-Regarding claim 14:
Janusz discloses:
The system as claimed in claim 10, wherein, for each LLC voltage converter, the transformer is a step-down transformer (Fig. 4; see the magnitudes of input voltage 3 and output voltage 20).
-Regarding claim 15:
Janusz discloses:
The system as claimed in claim 10, wherein, for each LLC voltage converter, the LLC voltage converter further comprises a primary transformer voltage sensor configured to measure a primary transformer voltage across the first winding of the transformer (Fig. 3; 32 and 33) and to provide a measurement of the primary transformer voltage to the controller (Fig. 3; 32 to 30 then into 25 for upper LLC converter), the controller configured to determine the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the measurement of the primary transformer voltage.
-Regarding claim 16:
Janusz discloses:
The system as claimed in claim 10, wherein, for each LLC voltage converter, the controller is configured to determine the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter by determining a secondary current through the second winding of the transformer (paragraph 0024; “measuring an input current of the associated transformer, and a voltage that is proportionate to the measuring current is supplied to the load controller”).
-Regarding claim 18:
Janusz discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 17, further comprising: sending the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter to the at least one other LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; one common controller 25 connects two LLC converters).
-Regarding claim 19:
Janusz discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 17, wherein: the LLC voltage converter comprises a voltage switching circuit element, the voltage switching circuit element (Fig. 4; 13) comprising: an input configured to be connected to the DC input voltage (Fig. 4; input voltage 3 connected to 13); and an output; the voltage switching circuit element is configured to provide an alternating voltage, which alternates between a high value and a low value at a switching frequency (paragraph 0040; “to each control circuit 13, by which the respective switching frequency is changed such that”), at the output of the voltage switching circuit element; and controlling the LLC voltage converter comprises varying the switching frequency of the alternating voltage (Fig. 4; The load controller 25 is configured such that it specifies an already modified switching frequency to each control circuit 13 as a control variable 26, 27.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9,11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janusz Dyszewski et. al (US2017/0126141A1; hereafter “Janusz”) in view of Martin Moreno et. al (IEEE Access, Volume 9, page 15283 - 15294; hereafter “Martin”) and Yang Cheng et. al (US12587097B2; hereafter “Yang”).
-Regarding claim 9:
Janusz discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive parameters relating to output currents of at controller is configured to control the LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter (Fig. 4; one controller collects the parameter from two LLC converters in parallel) and anLLC voltage converters.
However, Janusz does not disclose multi-phase parallel-connected LLC voltage converter.
Martin, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The LLC voltage converter as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive parameters relating to output currents of at least two other LLC voltage converters (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1 and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”); and wherein the controller is configured to control the LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the parameter relating to the output current of the LLC voltage converter and at least two other LLC voltage converters (introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”).
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
an average of the parameters relating to the output currents (Fig. 2, and detailed description; “…the first voltage signal V SEN represents information (denoted as Iout/N) about an average value of a total output current of the multiphase power supply…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Janusz such that a commonly used multi-phase parallel-connected LLC voltage converter system described in Martin and Yang is applied to the switched mode power supply unit. Doing so allows the current or load to be accurately split when a plurality of LLC resonant converters is connected in parallel, and improving the control of multi-phase LLC voltage converter system.
-Regarding claim 11:
Janusz discloses:
The system as claimed in claim 10, further comprising: a transformer (Fig. 4; red arrows) comprising a first input winding (Fig. 4; primary winding 10) and a second output winding (Fig. 4; two secondary windings 15 and 16); a current sensor (Fig. 4; measuring current by 30, 31) configured to measure a primary current through the first winding of the transformer (Fig. 4; 34, 35); and a controller (Fig. 4; 25); wherein the current sensor is configured to provide a measurement of the primary current to the controller (Fig. 4; 34 to 30 then into 25 at upper LLC converter); and wherein the controller is configured to determine a parameter (paragraph 0042; “modified switching frequency”) relating to an output current of the voltage converter and the output current (fig. 4; current through capacitor 19) of the first LLC voltage converter to the
However, Janusz does not disclose multi-phase parallel-connected LLC voltage converter.
Martin, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
The system as claimed in claim 10, further comprising: a third LLC voltage converter (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1, and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”) comprising: a transformer comprising a first input winding and a second output winding; a current sensor configured to measure a primary current through the first winding of the transformer; and a controller; wherein the current sensor is configured to provide a measurement of the primary current to the controller; and wherein the controller is configured to determine a parameter relating to an output current of the third LLC voltage converter (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1 and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”) at least partially based on the measurement of the primary current;; wherein the third LLC voltage converter is configured in parallel with the first LLC voltage converter and the second LLC voltage converter (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1 and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”); wherein the first LLC voltage converter is configured to provide the parameter relating to the output current of the first LLC voltage converter to the third LLC voltage converter; wherein the second LLC voltage converter is configured to provide the parameter relating to the output current of the second LLC voltage converter to the third LLC voltage converter (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1 and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”); wherein the third LLC voltage converter is configured to provide a parameter relating to the output current of the third LLC voltage converter to the first LLC voltage converter and the second LLC voltage converter (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1 and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”); wherein the controller of the first LLC voltage converter is configured to control the first LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the parameter relating to the output current of the third LLC voltage converter; wherein the controller of the second LLC voltage converter is configured to control the second LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the parameter relating to the output current of the third LLC voltage converter (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1 and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”); and wherein the controller of the third LLC voltage converter is configured to control the third LLC voltage converter at least partially based on the parameter relating to the output current of the first LLC voltage converter, the parameter relating to the output current of the second LLC voltage converter and the parameter relating to the output current of the third LLC voltage converter (Just connect one more LLC converter parallel to Janusz’s one as in Fig. 1 and introduction paragraph; “Each phase of the multi-phase LLC resonant converter is composed of a front to front connection of an inverter and a non-controlled rectifier, linked by a medium or high frequency transformer and an LLC series resonant tank, as shown in Figure 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Janusz such that a commonly used multi-phase parallel-connected LLC voltage converter system described in Martin is applied to the switched mode power supply unit. Doing so allows the current or load to be accurately split when a plurality of LLC resonant converters is connected in parallel, and improving the control of multi-phase LLC voltage converter system.
-Regarding claim 20:
For method claim 20, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device “1 inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 UPSQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore, the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEUNG HO CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838