DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the surrounding surface of claims 3 and 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 6 recites, “the conductor insertion direction,” claim should be amended to recite –a conductor insertion direction--.
Claim 3 lines 1 and 2 recite, “the clamping edge,” and, “the surrounding surface,” claim should be amended to recite –a clamping edge-- and –a surrounding surface--.
Claim 4 line 2 recites, “the surrounding surface,” claim should be amended to recite –a surrounding surface--.
Claim 8 line 2 recites, “the circumferential direction,” claim should be amended to recite –a circumferential direction--.
Claim 11 lines 1-3 recite, “the clamping edge,” “the first elevation,” “the second elevation,” “the third elevation,” “the material,” claim should be amended to recite –a clamping edge--, --a first elevation--, --a second elevation--, --a third elevation--, --a material--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation, “one second elevation designed to be higher than the surrounding surface of the busbar after the receiving contour in the conductor insertion direction,” of claim 4 lines 1-3 is vague and indefinite because according the drawings and specification, 32 is disclosed as the claimed second elevation; however, it appears that the second elevation 32 is lower than all other parts of busbar 3. How can the second elevation 32 be higher than anything on the busbar 3? What and where is the surrounding surface exactly? Is there another structure below the second elevation 32 like the claim states, if so what figure discloses this construction?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202013101751 U1.
Regarding claim 1, DE ‘751 discloses a conductor terminal to connect an electrical conductor, the conductor terminal comprising: a busbar (figs. 6a-c; 21); a clamping point (fig. 6b; 22) formed on the busbar (21) to clamp the electrical conductor (fig. 6b; 5); and at least one three-dimensionally shaped receiving contour (figs. 6a-c; 23) arranged after the clamping point (22) in the conductor insertion direction (fig. 6a; 40) of the electrical conductor (5) , which is configured to contact with and/or to receive the electrical conductor (5).
Regarding claim 2, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the busbar (21) has, at the clamping point (22), at least one clamping edge (fig. 6b; tip of 22 that engages 5) facing the electrical conductor (5), at which the electrical conductor (5) is adapted to be clamped firmly in place.
Regarding claim 3, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the clamping edge (tip of 22 that engages 5) is part of a first elevation (position of 22) designed to be higher than the surrounding surface (fig. 6a; concave contour 233, 234 makes) of the busbar (21).
Regarding claim 5, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the receiving contour (23) is designed as a curved trough (shape of 233, 234), which has a base surface (concave surface 233, 234 makes that contacts 5) which forms a support surface for the clamped electrical conductor (5).
Regarding claim 6, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the trough (shape of 233, 234) is symmetrical with respect to a longitudinal direction (parallel to 40), which runs substantially in parallel to the conductor insertion direction (40).
Regarding claim 8, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the base surface (concave surface 233, 234 makes that contacts 5) of the trough (shape of 233, 234) is curved in a concave manner in the circumferential direction (circumference of 5) of the clamped electrical conductor (5).
Regarding claim 9, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the base surface (concave surface 233, 234 makes that contacts 5) of the trough (shape of 233, 234) is curved in a convex manner or runs in a straight line (23 extends in 40 direction, which is a straight line) in the longitudinal direction (40) of the clamped electrical conductor (5).
Regarding claim 10, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the receiving contour (23) is configured by its shaping to surround the electrical conductor (5) over a circumferential region (region of 5 that is covered by 23) or a circumferential region having a circumferential angle of 30 degrees to 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 11, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the clamping edge (tip of 22 that engages 5), the first elevation (position of 22), the receiving contour (23), the second elevation (fig. 6b; middle of 25), and/or the third elevation (fig. 6b; bottom of 25) are formed as a single piece from the material (21 is one piece) of the busbar (21) by stamping, bending (Translation Par [0042] Ln 367-369), and/or embossing.
Regarding claim 12, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the conductor terminal (1) is configured to clamp the electrical conductor (5) at the clamping point (22) by a spring force clamping (fig. 6a; force of 32).
Regarding claim 13, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the conductor terminal (1) includes a clamping spring (fig. 6b; 3), which has a clamping leg (fig. 6a; 32) for clamping the electrical conductor (5) at the clamping point (22).
Regarding claim 14, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the clamping leg (32) ends with a free end (fig. 6c; 34) between the clamping point (22) and the receiving contour (23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202013101751 U1 in view of Fehling et al. US 12021339.
DE ‘751 discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the busbar has at least one second elevation designed to be higher than the surrounding surface of the busbar after the receiving contour in the conductor insertion direction.
However, Fehling teaches wherein the busbar (fig. 3a; 8) has at least one second elevation (see mark-up below from fig. 3a; SE) designed to be higher than the surrounding surface (fig. 3a; surface of 8 that is surrounded by 14) of the busbar (8) after the receiving contour (fig. 3a; area between two protrusions of 8, where 7d is located in fig. 1a) in the conductor insertion direction (fig. 1a; x direction).
Mark-up
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the busbar has at least one second elevation designed to be higher than the surrounding surface of the busbar after the receiving contour in the conductor insertion direction as suggested by Fehling for the benefit of providing an improved compact conductor terminal connector.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202013101751 U1.
Regarding claim 7, DE ‘751 discloses wherein the trough (shape of 233, 234) is arranged in a third elevation (position of 3) designed to be at the same position as the surrounding surface (fig. 6a; concave contour 233, 234 makes) of the busbar (21).
DE ‘751 do not disclose the third elevation being higher than the surrounding surface of the busbar.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the third elevation being higher than the surrounding surface of the busbar since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70, and also for the benefit of improving the clamping function of an inserted conductor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831