DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims 1,4,7, in the submission filed 11/07/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
New Claims 8-20 are acknowledged and accepted.
Drawings
The drawings with 4 Sheets of Figs. 1-5 received on 11/07/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
Abstract recites “Exemplary systems that may reduce or eliminate” in line 1 and “An exemplary system includes a display” in line 3 which is implied language.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 4,19, objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4,19, recite “pixel size of one or more pixels the plurality of pixels” in line 1. This seems to be a typo error It is suggested to be replaced with -- pixel size of one or more pixels in the plurality of pixels--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,6-7,9-10,12-13,15-17,22,23, of U.S. Patent No. 11,449,005 and claims 1-8,10,11,13,15,20, of U.S. Patent No. 12,099,328 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
#18/813936
Claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,449,005 (#16/368359) Claims
U.S. Patent No. 12,099,328 (#17/945,968) Claims
1
1, 16
1,17,22
2
2
2
3
3
3
4
4,17
5
5
12
6
6
6
7
7
7,23
8
8
13
13
9
4
4
10
9
10,20
11
10,22
11
12
13
13
13,14
15
15
15,16
1,15 and 16
1,15
17
2
2
18
3
3
19
4
5
20
12
6
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from
presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,8,15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miller (US 2018/0059320).
Consider claim 1, Miller discloses (e.g. figures 2c-2d) a system comprising:
a display screen comprising a plurality of pixels forming a first periodic structure (see figures 2c-2d, the display has a grating pattern 106); and
a frame surrounding at least a portion of the display screen (see figures 2c-2d, the display includes a frame surrounding at least a portion),
the frame comprising a holographic structure (the frame includes edge pattern 202) surrounded by a transparent material (edge material 108, para 58, glue, resin, polymer sealant), the holographic structure comprising having a second periodic structure (the grating pattern and the edge pattern have a micro-nanoscale grating pattern) [0027-0063].
Consider claim 8, Miller discloses a system, wherein the second periodic structure of the holographic structure matches the first periodic structure of the display screen (see figures 2c-2d, the size and shape of the grating pattern 106 and edge pattern match so that the frame conforms to the grating pattern portion) [0057-0063].
Consider claim 15, Miller discloses (e.g. figures 2c-2d) a system comprising:
a display screen comprising a plurality of pixels forming a first periodic structure that comprises a first directionality (see figures 2c-2d, the display has a grating pattern 106); and
a frame surrounding at least a portion of the display screen (see figures 2c-2d, the display includes a frame surrounding at least a portion),
the frame comprising a holographic structure (the frame includes edge pattern 202) surrounded by a transparent material (edge material 108, para 58, glue, resin, polymer sealant), the holographic structure comprising having a second periodic structure that comprises a second directionality (the grating pattern and the edge pattern have a micro-nanoscale grating pattern) [0027-0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,10,11,17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 2018/0059320) in view of Watanabe (US 2002/0003637) (of record).
Consider claim 2, Miller does not teach that the holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film.
Miller and Watanabe are related as holographic devices.
Watanabe discloses (e.g. figure 3) a holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film (photosensitive layer 13 is a film is applied to glass substrate 12) [0036-0037].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of the Miller to include the glass substrate and photosensitive film as taught by Watanabe, in order to utilize a hologram that provides good alignment and precision.
Consider claim 10, Miller does not explicitly disclose that the holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film, and the holographic film is positioned in between two or more layers of transparent material that do not include the substrate
Miller and Watanabe are related as holographic devices.
Watanabe discloses (e.g. figure 3) a holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film (photosensitive layer 13 is a film is applied to glass substrate 12) and the holographic film is positioned in between two or more layers of transparent material (the film 13 is located between glass substrate 26 and layer 19 which is transparent to laser light 29, para 36) [0036-0037].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller to include the glass substrate and photosensitive film as taught by Watanabe, in order to utilize a hologram that provides good alignment and precision.
Consider claim 11, Miller does not explicitly disclose that the holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film and wherein the holographic film is disposed directly on frame without any intervening layers in between the holographic film and the frame.
Miller and Watanabe are related as holographic devices.
Watanabe discloses (e.g. figure 3) a holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film (photosensitive layer 13 is a film is applied to glass substrate 12) wherein the holographic film is disposed upon the frame (the modified Miller combination would have the holographic film located within the frame without intervening layers along the planar direction) [0036-0037].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller to include the glass substrate and photosensitive film as taught by Watanabe, in order to utilize a hologram that provides good alignment and precision.
Consider claim 17, Miller does not teach that the holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film.
Miller and Watanabe are related as holographic devices.
Watanabe discloses (e.g. figure 3) a holographic structure comprises a substrate coated with a holographic film (photosensitive layer 13 is a film is applied to glass substrate 12) [0036-0037].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of the Miller to include the glass substrate and photosensitive film as taught by Watanabe, in order to utilize a hologram that provides good alignment and precision.
Claims 3,9,18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 2018/0059320) in view of Javid (GB 2542455) (of record).
Consider claim 3, Miller does not explicitly disclose that the holographic structure comprises only holographic glass.
Miller and Javid are related as holographic devices.
Javid discloses (e.g. figure 3) a holographic structure comprises only holographic glass (a hologram can be etched into a glass sheet) [page 13, lines 13-18].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller to include the glass substrate as taught by Javid, in order to utilize a hologram that provides unique/separate holographic images when it is appropriately illuminated.
Consider claim 9, Miller discloses the system of claim 3.
Miler does not explicitly disclose that the second periodic structure is formed by one of laser etching, ablation and deposition
Miller and Javid are related as holographic devices.
Javid discloses (e.g. figure 3) that the second periodic structure is formed by one of laser etching, ablation and deposition (etching can be used to form the hologram) [page 13, lines 13-18 of Javid].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the process of making the device of the Miller to include the process as taught by Javid, in order to utilize a common method for a hologram that provides unique/separate holographic images when it is appropriately illuminated.
The preceding claim is a product-by-process claim and even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process; see In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Consider claim 18, Miller does not explicitly disclose that the holographic structure comprises only holographic glass.
Miller and Javid are related as holographic devices.
Javid discloses (e.g. figure 3) a holographic structure comprises only holographic glass (a hologram can be etched into a glass sheet) [page 13, lines 13-18].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller to include the glass substrate as taught by Javid, in order to utilize a hologram that provides unique/separate holographic images when it is appropriately illuminated.
Claim(s) 4-7,12-14,16,19,20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 2018/0059320) in view of Aizawa (US 2017/0185038) (of record).
Consider claim 4, Miller does not explicitly disclose that
the first pitch of the first periodic structure includes a pixel size of one or more pixels the plurality of pixels, and wherein the second pitch of the second periodic structure is less than the pixel size by 0.5 percent to 20 percent.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 3, 6B-8) a system comprising positioning generation hologram area (210, positioning hologram generation display area) which can be divided into an arbitrary number of sections. [0041-0045, 0057-0062, 0073].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the hologram area as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Thus, Aizawa recognizes the pitch of the positioning hologram area as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to modify the number of sections within the positioning generation hologram area to achieve a relationship between the first pixel size and the second pitch that is within the claimed range. Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have a relationship of the first pixel size and second pitch be within the claimed range in order to utilize routine experimentation to determine the workable ranges of the relative sizes of the pixel size and pitch.
Consider claim 5, Miller does not explicitly disclose that
the plurality of pixels each have a first shape, and wherein the holographic structure comprises a plurality of structures having the first shape.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 6B-7) that the plurality of pixels each have a first shape, and wherein the holographic structure comprises a plurality of structures having the first shape (see figures 6B-7, the panel is shown to be rectangular so that the pixels would also be rectangular. The positioning hologram generation areas are similarly shown to be rectangular) [0041-0048 of Aizawa].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the pixel shape as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Consider claim 6, Miller does not explicitly disclose that
wherein the plurality of pixels are each oriented in a first direction, and wherein the holographic structure comprises a plurality of structures oriented in the first direction Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 6B-7) wherein the plurality of pixels are each oriented in a first direction, and wherein the holographic structure comprises a plurality of structures oriented in the first direction (see figure 6B-7, the pixels and structures of the hologram positioning generation area are oriented in the x-y plane) [0041-0045].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the pixel orientation as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Consider claim 7, Miller does not explicitly disclose that
that the first pitch of the first periodic structure is within 0.5 percent to 2 percent of the second pitch of the second periodic structure.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 6B-7) that the positioning generation hologram area can be divided into an arbitrary number of sections.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the pixels as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Thus, Aizawa recognizes the pitch of the positioning hologram area as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to modify the number of sections within the positioning generation hologram area to achieve a relationship between the first pixel size and the second pitch that is within the claimed range. Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of the modified Miller reference, to have a relationship of the first pixel size and second pitch be within the claimed range in order to utilize routine experimentation to determine the workable ranges of the relative sizes of the pixel size and pitch.
Consider claim 12, Miller does not explicitly disclose wherein a periodicity of elements of the first periodic structure match the periodicity of the elements of the second periodic structure.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 6B-7) that the positioning generation hologram area can be divided into an arbitrary number of sections.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the pixels as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Thus, Aizawa recognizes the pitch of the positioning hologram area as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to modify the number of sections within the positioning generation hologram area to achieve a relationship between the first pixel size and the second pitch that is within the claimed range. Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of the modified Miller reference, to have a relationship of the first pixel size and second pitch be within the claimed range in order to utilize routine experimentation to determine the workable ranges of the relative sizes of the pixel size and pitch.
Consider claims 13,14, Miller discloses that
the first periodic structure comprises a first periodic feature (see figures 2c-2d, the display has a grating pattern 106) that comprises a first directionality and the second periodic structure comprises a second periodic feature (the frame includes edge pattern 202) that comprises a second directionality (the grating pattern and the edge pattern have a micro-nanoscale grating pattern with different directionality as in fig 2c-d) [0027-0063].
Miller does not explicitly disclose that the first directionality matches the second directionality.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 6B-7) that the first periodic structure comprises a first periodic feature that comprises a first directionality and the second periodic structure comprises a second periodic feature that comprises a second directionality., and the first directionality matches the second directionality (see figure 6B-7, the pixels and structures of the hologram positioning generation area are oriented in the x-y plane) [0041-0045].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the pixel orientation as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Consider claim 16, Miller does not explicitly disclose that the first directionality matches the second directionality.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 6B-7) that the first periodic structure comprises a first periodic feature that comprises a first directionality and the second periodic structure comprises a second periodic feature that comprises a second directionality., and the first directionality matches the second directionality (see figure 6B-7, the pixels and structures of the hologram positioning generation area are oriented in the x-y plane) [0041-0045].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the pixel orientation as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Consider claim 19, Miller does not explicitly disclose that
the first pitch of the first periodic structure includes a pixel size of one or more pixels of the plurality of pixels, and wherein the second pitch of the second periodic structure is less than the pixel size by 0.5 percent to 20 percent.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 3, 6B-8) a system comprising positioning generation hologram area (210, positioning hologram generation display area) which can be divided into an arbitrary number of sections. [0041-0045, 0057-0062, 0073].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the hologram area as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Thus, Aizawa recognizes the pitch of the positioning hologram area as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to modify the number of sections within the positioning generation hologram area to achieve a relationship between the first pixel size and the second pitch that is within the claimed range. Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have a relationship of the first pixel size and second pitch be within the claimed range in order to utilize routine experimentation to determine the workable ranges of the relative sizes of the pixel size and pitch.
Consider claim 20, Miller does not explicitly disclose that
the plurality of pixels each have a first shape, and wherein the holographic structure comprises a plurality of structures having the first shape.
Miller and Aizawa are related as display devices.
Aizawa discloses (e.g. figures 6B-7) that the plurality of pixels each have a first shape, and wherein the holographic structure comprises a plurality of structures having the first shape (see figures 6B-7, the panel is shown to be rectangular so that the pixels would also be rectangular. The positioning hologram generation areas are similarly shown to be rectangular) [0041-0048 of Aizawa].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the device of Miller, to have the pixel shape as taught by Aizawa, in order to form an inconspicuous hologram that could be used for positioning purposes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ichikawa et al. (US 5,737,040) discloses a LCD apparatus which employ a color hologram filter with a defined pitch.
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 6/13/2026