DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 1-15, received 13 August 2024. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 1-15 is as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reid et al (US 20180164790 A1, hereafter referred to as Reid).
Regarding claim 1, Reid teaches a system for utility network system engineering, comprising:
a server connected to a plurality of client devices via a network (Reid [0037, Fig 2-30] teaches a control monitoring device connected to a plurality of sensors and actuators [0040-0041, Fig 2-34, 36], HMI [0037, 0041, Fig 2-26] and client terminals [Fig 2-46, Fig 5-46, Fig 5-156]), the server configured to:
generate a utility network system model having project information data (Reid [0074] discloses the control monitoring device maintaining and managing a persisted model including a golden copy that describe various aspects of the control and monitoring system [0054, 0073]);
upon receiving a first request from a client device of the plurality of client devices (Reid [0058, 0051] discloses a client requesting data in the data model. Likewise, [0080] discloses a client providing a subscription request to a collaborative session), transmit the utility network system model to the client device (Reid [0058] discloses the client receiving a copy of the data model. Additionally, Reid [0080, 0082] teaches a user receiving a full or partial data model);
receive first change data from the client device (Reid [0057, 0081] discloses a client updating state data, wherein the state data includes modifications to state, value of data and management of parameters (Reid [0057, 0091])), wherein the first change data comprises change data for at least one of utility network asset data, engineering change data, and network configuration change data (Reid [0057, 0040]);
synchronize the first change data with the project information data on a queue-based basis (Reid [0076, 0081] teaches receiving and queueing incoming change requests, carrying out the requested change, wherein change requests are queued [0076, 0087] while pending until being committed [0073, 0075]);
and transmit the synchronized project information to one or more client devices (Reid [0075, 0076, 0081] teaches the state element changes are provided to other components with the network) associated with a list of registered project list users (Reid [0080-0081] teaches providing the updates to the golden copy to subscribing audience members, wherein subscribing audience members previously requested inclusion in a collaborative session [0080]).
Regarding claim 2, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, Reid teaches the system wherein each client device of the plurality of client devices comprises a thin client configured to: generate a graphical user interface for display on a display of the each client device of the plurality of client devices, wherein the graphical user interface is at least one of web-based schematic, single-line diagram view, geospatial view, fluid flow, cross-sectional view, 3D view, layout view, street view, process diagram, protection view, and trending chart (Reid [0036, 0042, 0062, 0064, 0071, 0099] teaches displaying dynamic server content in a design time environment in a viewer, such that device elements are presented via web-based viewer and enable users to configure attributes of the HMI and control and monitoring devices [0071]);
generate the first request (Reid [0051] discloses an access request and subscription request [0080]);
transmit the first request to the server (Reid [0051] teaches transmitting an access request to the HMI and transmitting a subscription request to the control monitoring device hosting a collaborative session [0080]);
receive the utility network system model (Reid [0058] discloses the client receiving a copy of the data model. Additionally, Reid [0080, 0082] teaches a user receiving a full or partial data model);
store the utility network system model in a client device local database (Reid [0054] discloses locally cached copy of data models. Moreover, [0074] teaches each component includes a container containing state elements);
upon receiving one or more local change data (Reid [0057] discloses changes submitted by the user made to a local data store), generate the first change data (Reid [0076] discloses a modified project file);
transmit the first change data to the server (Reid [0076] discloses transmitting a modified project file); and
upon receiving the synchronized project information (Reid [0081] discloses receiving and applying changes), update the graphical user interface with one or more data from the synchronized project information (Reid [0089] discloses the changes, delta script, update spatial location of elements on a display).
Regarding claim 3, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 2, as set forth above.
Additionally, Reid teaches the system, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises at least one of human-machine interface (HMI) dashboards (Reid [0034, 0036] teaches a user interacting with change aspects of an HMI via an interface), underground assets, underground cross-sectional piping and cable views, 3D views, logical diagrams and wiring diagrams.
Regarding claim 7, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 2, as set forth above.
Additionally, Reid teaches the system wherein each client device of the plurality of client devices further comprises at least one of camera access service with image recognition, gyro access service, biometric recognition access service, payment access service, microphone access service with speech recognition, augmented reality access service, holographic display access service, inking service, and touch screen access service (Reid [0048, 0043] discloses input by touching a location on a touch screen).
Regarding claim 14, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
Additionally, Reid teaches the system wherein the server further comprises a computation engine configured to generate the utility network system model (Reid [0058] discloses determining which copy of the data model of the control and monitoring system to serve the client) .
Regarding claim 15, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 14, as set forth above.
Additionally, Reid teaches the system wherein the server further comprises a computation distributor that monitors a computation load (Reid [0058] discloses monitoring the load of components) and dynamically creates multiple instances of the computation engine (Reid [0058] discloses moving to an overflow source upon a determination a threshold is met).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 20180164790 A1, hereafter referred to as Reid) as applied above regarding claim 2, further in view of Billi-Duran et al (EP 3300005 A1, hereafter referred to as Billi).
Regarding claim 4, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 2, as set forth above.
However, Reid does not explicitly teach the system wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a geographic information system (GIS) model which automatically displays equipment information of a network asset when the client device is in physical proximity to the network asset.
Billi, in an analogous art, teaches the system wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a geographic information system (GIS) model (Billi [0072] discloses global positions techniques to track the location of a device with the plant environment) which automatically displays equipment information of a network asset when the client device is in physical proximity to the network asset (Billi [00023, 0045, 0003] discloses generating and delivering, for presentation, information for device and machines that are in the user’s field of view).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Reid in view of Billi in order to configure the graphical user interface, as taught by Reid, to further comprises a geographic information system (GIS) model which automatically displays equipment information of a network asset when the client device is in physical proximity to the network asset, as taught by Billi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to reduce or eliminate the number of data items being rendered on the user’s augmented reality presentation ensuring the user’s line of sight is not obstructed by data items while the user is moving at a predetermined rate of movement (Billi [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
However, Reid does not explicitly teach the system wherein the server is further configured to transmit the synchronized project information based on designated areas of responsibility.
Billi, in an analogous art, teaches the system wherein the server is further configured to transmit the synchronized project information based on designated areas of responsibility (Billi [0082, 0101, Abstract] teaches selecting and restricting types of data to be presented to a user based on the user’s role).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Reid in view of Billi in order to configure the transmission of synchronized project information, as taught by Reid, to be based on designated areas of responsibility, as taught by Billi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to reduce or eliminate the number of data items being rendered on the user’s augmented reality presentation ensuring the user’s line of sight is not obstructed by data items (Billi [0073, 0082, 0101] discloses using contextual information to configure, including reducing [0073], the number of items being rendered, wherein contextual information includes a role of the recipient).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 20180164790 A1, hereafter referred to as Reid) as applied above regarding claim 2, further in view of Kim (US 2016019586 A1, hereafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 2, as set forth above.
However, Reid does not explicitly teach the system wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more engineering rules.
Kim, in an analogous art, teaches the system wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more engineering rules (Kim [0294] discloses displaying rules pertaining to network devices).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Reid in view of Kim in order to configure the graphical user interface, as taught by Reid, to comprise one or more engineering rules, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to relate functionalities of multiple network devices to each other (Kim [0294]).
Claim 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 20180164790 A1, hereafter referred to as Reid) as applied above regarding claim 2, further in view of Kamat et al (US 20140200863 A1, hereafter referred to as Kamat).
Regarding claim 9, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 2, as set forth above.
However, Reid does not explicitly teach the system wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more extended reality applications to display one or more virtual objects.
Kamat, in an analogous art, teaches the system wherein the graphical user interface further comprises one or more extended reality applications to display one or more virtual objects (Kamat [0033-0035] teaches a virtual 3D scene including 3D models of real-world objects and virtual objects in the scene [0050-0053]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Reid in view of Kamat in order to configure the graphical user interface, as taught by Reid, to comprise one or more extended reality applications to display one or more virtual objects, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enhance safety by providing visual representations to prevent a user from operating in a misinformed state such that users are able to view a complex network more clearly (Kamat [0072-0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 2, as set forth above.
However, Reid does not explicitly teach the system wherein the thin client further comprises augmented reality with predictive what-if analysis combined with safety information.
Kamat, in an analogous art, teaches the system wherein the thin client further comprises augmented reality (Kamat [0046] discloses presenting on-demand attribute display of scene objects including visual warnings [0092] and data [0069]) with predictive what-if analysis combined with safety information (Kamat [0045-0046, 0092] discloses analysis resulting in warnings to the operator with vital information, wherein the warnings include collision warnings to prevent impacts [0074, 0072, 0069, 0034]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Reid in view of Kamat in order to configure the graphical user interface, as taught by Reid, to comprise augmented reality with predictive what-if analysis combined with safety information, as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enhance safety by providing visual representations to prevent a user from operating in a misinformed state such that users are able to view a complex network more clearly (Kamat [0072-0073]).
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al (US 20180164790 A1, hereafter referred to as Reid) as applied above regarding claim 1, further in view of Daouk et al (US 20160041840 A1, hereafter referred to as Daouk).
Regarding claim 13, Reid teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above.
However, Reid does not explicitly teach the system wherein the project information data is stored on one or more high efficiency databases based on task type.
Daouk, in an analogous art, teaches the system wherein the project information data is stored on one or more high efficiency databases based on task type (Daouk [0032-0033 and 0041] discloses receiving task data and storing the task data in the selected database corresponding to the type of task data).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Reid in view of Daouk in order to configure the high efficiency database storing the project information, as taught by Reid, to including selecting from one or more databases designed for a particular task type, as taught by Daouk.
One of ordinary skill in the art, would have been motivated in order secure or protect the data by isolating tasks from each other by type (Daouk [0032, 0074]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6, 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Instant Application 18813939
US Patent 12074940
1. A system for utility network system engineering, comprising: a server connected to a plurality of client devices via a network, the server configured to: generate a utility network system model having project information data; upon receiving a first request from a client device of the plurality of client devices, transmit the utility network system model to the client device; receive first change data from the client device, wherein the first change data comprises change data for at least one of utility network asset data, engineering change data, and network configuration change data; synchronize the first change data with the project information data on a queue- based basis, and transmit the synchronized project information to one or more client devices associated with a list of registered project list users.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein each client device of the plurality of client devices comprises a thin client configured to: generate a graphical user interface for display on a display of the each client device of the plurality of client devices, wherein the graphical user interface is at least one of web-based schematic, single-line diagram view, geospatial view, fluid flow, cross-sectional view, 3D view, layout view, street view, process diagram, protection view, and trending chart; generate the first request; transmit the first request to the server; receive the utility network system model; store the utility network system model in a client device local database; upon receiving one or more local change data, generate the first change data; transmit the first change data to the server; and upon receiving the synchronized project information, update the graphical user interface with one or more data from the synchronized project information.
11. The system of claim 2, wherein the thin client is further configured to transmit protective device information, network fault information and fault location to the server
11. A system for utility network system engineering, comprising: a server connected to a plurality of client devices via a network, the server configured to: generate a utility network system model having project information data; upon receiving a first request from a client device of the plurality of client devices, transmit the utility network system model to the client device; receive first change data from the client device, wherein the first change data comprises change data for at least one of utility network asset data, engineering change data, and network configuration change data; synchronize the first change data with the project information data on a queue- based basis; and transmit the synchronized project information to one or more client devices associated with a list of registered project list users, wherein each client device of the plurality of client devices comprises a thin client configured to: generate a graphical user interface for display on a display of the each client device of the plurality of client devices, wherein the graphical user interface is at least one of web-based schematic, single-line diagram view, geospatial view, fluid flow, cross-sectional view, 3D view, layout view, street view, process diagram, protection view, and trending chart; generate the first request; transmit the first request to the server; receive the utility network system model; store the utility network system model in a client device local database; upon receiving one or more local change data, generate the first change data; transmit the first change data to the server; and upon receiving the synchronized project information, update the graphical user interface with one or more data from the synchronized project information, wherein the thin client is further configured to transmit protective device information, network fault information and fault location to the server
1. A system for utility network system engineering, comprising: a server connected to a plurality of client devices via a network, the server configured to: generate a utility network system model having project information data; upon receiving a first request from a client device of the plurality of client devices, transmit the utility network system model to the client device; receive first change data from the client device, wherein the first change data comprises change data for at least one of utility network asset data, engineering change data, and network configuration change data; synchronize the first change data with the project information data on a queue- based basis, and transmit the synchronized project information to one or more client devices associated with a list of registered project list users.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein each client device of the plurality of client devices comprises a thin client configured to: generate a graphical user interface for display on a display of the each client device of the plurality of client devices, wherein the graphical user interface is at least one of web-based schematic, single-line diagram view, geospatial view, fluid flow, cross-sectional view, 3D view, layout view, street view, process diagram, protection view, and trending chart; generate the first request; transmit the first request to the server; receive the utility network system model; store the utility network system model in a client device local database; upon receiving one or more local change data, generate the first change data; transmit the first change data to the server; and upon receiving the synchronized project information, update the graphical user interface with one or more data from the synchronized project information.
5. The system of claim 2, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a network view which displays connectivity details from a power, water or gas distribution station.
5. A system for utility network system engineering, comprising: a server connected to a plurality of client devices via a network, the server configured to: generate a utility network system model having project information data; upon receiving a first request from a client device of the plurality of client devices, transmit the utility network system model to the client device; receive first change data from the client device, wherein the first change data comprises change data for at least one of utility network asset data, engineering change data, and network configuration change data; synchronize the first change data with the project information data on a queue- based basis; and transmit the synchronized project information to one or more client devices associated with a list of registered project list users, wherein each client device of the plurality of client devices comprises a thin client configured to: generate a graphical user interface for display on a display of the each client device of the plurality of client devices, wherein the graphical user interface is at least one of web-based schematic, single-line diagram view, geospatial view, fluid flow, cross-sectional view, 3D view, layout view, street view, process diagram, protection view, and trending chart; generate the first request; transmit the first request to the server; receive the utility network system model; store the utility network system model in a client device local database; upon receiving one or more local change data, generate the first change data; transmit the first change data to the server; and upon receiving the synchronized project information, update the graphical user interface with one or more data from the synchronized project information, wherein the graphical user interface further comprises a network view which displays connectivity details from a power, water or gas distribution station
Claim 1-2, 5 and 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12074940. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof. Although the conflicting claims are not identical they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2 and 5 are generic to all that is recited in claim 5 of the patent. That is claims 1-2 and 5 are anticipated by claim 5 of the patent.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 11, they are not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the patent since the claims 1-2 and 11 are generic to all that is recited in claims 11 of the patent such that claims 1-2 and 11 are anticipated by claims 11 of the patent.
The mapping of claims 1-2, 5 and 11 of the instant application and the referenced patent is/are provided.
Regarding the dependent claims, the claims depend on independent claim 1 such that the dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the independent claim 1 and do not cure the deficiencies of the independent claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446