Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and controller, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2-20-26.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 2-20-26 is acknowledged. No reason for traversal has been presented in applicants response. This is not found persuasive because as discussed in the restriction mailed 12-23-25, the inventions have acquired a separate status in view of their different classification and the invention requires a different field of search (e.g., searching different class/subclasses or resources, or employing different search strategies or search quarries), the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention, the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the standby message", in line 9, “the first sensor” in line 10 and “the second sensor” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumoto, Kyoji et al. WO2022/224411 (WO’411).
Regarding claim 1, WO’411 teaches a cleaning system for a passenger conveyor system (cleaning system 11 capable of more sanitarily cleaning a moving handrail for a passenger conveyor, abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the passenger conveyor system comprising one or more conveying devices the conveying device being an escalator or a moving walkway, (passenger conveyor (1) provided to a facility, the passenger conveyor 1 is, for example, an inclined escalator. abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the cleaning system comprising: a self-mobility cleaning device configured to move, in response to a cleaning request (The cleaning system 11 includes an autonomous moving body 12, the first communication unit 14 transmits a cleaning request by radio signal, page 3-5)
to an entrance or exit of the conveying device designated by the cleaning request and to perform a cleaning operation on the designated conveying device (After arriving at the entrance/exit 2, the moving body 12 moves so that the cleaning part 18 is placed in a cleaning position with respect to either the left or right moving handrail 5 and cleaning of the handrail 5 is performed, page 5-6, see fig. 4-7).
Regarding claim 2, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches a controller associated with the conveying device (control panel 8 is a device for controlling the operation of the passenger conveyor 1, page 3, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning request is generated by a controller associated with the conveying device, and a console of the passenger conveyor system (control panel 8 of the passenger conveyor 1 include control unit 10 and first communication unit 14 which transmits the cleaning request, page 3-5 see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning request is generated in response to historical operational data of the conveying device (The cleaning of the passenger conveyor 1 is performed, for example, at preset timings. The preset timing is, for example, regular timing, page 4).
Regarding claim 6, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 2. WO’411 further teaches wherein the controller associated with the designated conveying device is configured to cause the designated conveying device to enter the cleaning mode in response to an event triggering entry into the cleaning mode, and to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode in response to an event triggering exit from the cleaning mode (the cleaning request is sent based on timing and the end of the cleaning is based on cleaning, pages 4-5).
Regarding claim 7, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning device is a sweeping robot (the cleaning body 19 includes, for example, a cleaning cloth, sponge or brush and moves along the handrail to remove dust, page 4).
Regarding claim 8, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein in the cleaning mode, a pedal of the conveying device moves at a set speed (the circular movement of the moving handrail 5 and the steps 4 are synchronized, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed during cleaning, page 5-7. It is noted that claim 8 recited the intended use of the apparatus. And a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim).
Regarding claim 14, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 14. WO’411 further teaches wherein the controller comprises: a second wireless communication unit configured to communicate with the cleaning device (first communication unit 14 is a part that communicates with devices such as the mobile unit 12, page 3 see fig. 1); a memory; a second processor coupled with the memory and the second wireless communication unit (Each function of the cleaning system 11 can be realized by a processing circuit, the processing circuitry comprises at least one processor and at least one memory, page 8); and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the second processor (each function of the cleaning system 11 is implemented by software, firmware, or a combination of software and firmware, page 8), the operation of which results in the following operations: causing the conveying device to enter the cleaning mode when the standby message is received via the second wireless communication unit; and causing the conveying device to exit the cleaning mode when the cleaning completion message is received via the second wireless communication unit (the arrangement report is received allowing cleaning to being and the cleaning is complete when the appropriate amount of time has passed page 5-7, see fig. 4-7. It is noted that the applicant claimed “operations" recites the intended use of the second processor and does not necessary require the processor to be configured to perform the recited steps. The operation of the second processor recited in claim 14 encompasses a user intervention and therefore does impact the structure of the first processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’411.
Regarding claim 5, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 2. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning device is further configured to instruct the controller to cause the designated conveying device to enter a cleaning mode after moving to the entrance or the exit of the conveying device designated by the cleaning request and before performing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device (the cleaning device transmits an arrangement report to start the cleaning page 6-7)
WO’411 does not teach and to instruct the controller to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device.
However, WO’411 further teaches Each moving handrail 5 circulates at a moving speed matched to each step 4. When the first communication unit 14 receives the placement report from the second communication unit 16, the control unit 10 activates the driving device 3. At this time, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed. when the moving body 12 detects an approach of a user or the like from arrival at the entrance/exit 2. If the cleaning unit 18 is placed in the cleaning position, and a user moves from the entrance/exit 2 to the passenger conveyor 1, cleaning can be paused and the cleaning unit temporarily retreat from the entrance/exit 2 so that the passenger can get on (pages 3-6). Therefore, WO’411 teaches that the cleaning device can monitor for approaching user and pause the cleaning, which would require communicating with the control unit to activate the drive device and as a result exit the cleaning mode at least temporarily to return the drive device to regular speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of WO’411 to include to instruct the controller to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device because WO’411 teaches that the cleaning device can monitor for approaching user and pause the cleaning and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 3 and 6. WO’411 further teaches wherein the event triggering entry into the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a standby message sent by the cleaning device triggered by the cleaning device arriving at the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device(the cleaning device transmits an arrangement report that the mobile unit is in position to clean and that the control panel can begin operating the handrail at the appropriate speed, page 5-7), with regard to claim 9 wherein the cleaning device comprises: a first wireless communication unit configured to communicate with one of the controller (the second wireless communication unit 16 is a part of the mobile unit 12, page 3, see fig. 2); a first processor coupled with the first wireless communication unit (each function of the cleaning system 11 can be realized by a processing circuit including a processor, page 8), configured to: instruct the moving mechanism to transport the cleaning device to the conveying device designated by the cleaning request in response to the cleaning request received via the first wireless communication unit (The cleaning system 11 includes an autonomous moving body 12, the first communication unit 14 transmits a cleaning request by radio signal to communication unit 16, after arriving at the entrance/exit 2, the moving body 12 moves so that the cleaning part 18 is placed in a cleaning position with respect to either the left or right moving handrail 5, page 3-6, see fig. 4-7);cause the designated conveying device to enter the cleaning mode by sending a standby message to the controller associated with the designated conveying device via the first wireless communication unit before performing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device (the cleaning device transmits an arrangement report that the mobile unit is in position to clean and that the control panel can begin operating the handrail at the appropriate speed, page 5-7), with regard to claim 11.
WO’411 does not teach the event triggering exit from the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a cleaning completion message sent by the cleaning device or a second sensor sensing signal triggered by the cleaning device leaving the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device, with regard to claim 9 and the first processor is configured to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode by sending a cleaning completion message to the controller associated with the designated conveying device via the first wireless communication unit after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device, with regard to claim, 11.
However, WO’411 further teaches each moving handrail 5 circulates at a moving speed matched to each step 4. When the first communication unit 14 receives the placement report from the second communication unit 16, the control unit 10 activates the driving device 3. At this time, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed. when the moving body 12 detects an approach of a user or the like from arrival at the entrance/exit 2. If the cleaning unit 18 is placed in the cleaning position, and a user moves from the entrance/exit 2 to the passenger conveyor 1, cleaning can be paused and the cleaning unit temporarily retreat from the entrance/exit 2 so that the passenger can get on (pages 3-6). Therefore, WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a placement report would be equally as beneficial for the end of the cleaning as the beginning of the cleaning to inform the control unit 10 that noving unit 12 has moved away from the conveying device, designating the end of the cleaning process and that the moving speed of the handrail and steps can return to their operating speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of WO’411 to include the event triggering exit from the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a cleaning completion message sent by the cleaning device triggered by the cleaning device leaving the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device, with regard to claim 9 and the first processor is configured to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode by sending a cleaning completion message to the controller associated with the designated conveying device via the first wireless communication unit after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device, with regard to claim, 11 because WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and that the moving body can generate placement reports for coordinating operations of the conveying device and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 10, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 9. WO’411 further teaches wherein the first sensor sensing signal is indicative of a combination of obscured states of light at different heights at the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device, and the second sensor sensing signal is indicative of a change in the light from an obscured state to an unobscured state at the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device (the second detection unit 15 detects the situation of the moving object 12 based on information obtained from the infrared sensor 6 or the camera 7, page 3-4 and 7)
Regarding claim 12, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 11. WO’411 further teaches wherein a movement of the moving mechanism is based on navigation information (the moving object 12 is an autonomous moving object such as a robot, The drive unit 17 includes, for example, a motor and tires, the moving body 12 , which receives the cleaning request from the first communication unit 14 by the second communication unit 16 , is driven by the driving force generated by the driving unit 17 to reach the entrance 2 of the passenger conveyor 1 page 3-5).
Regarding claim 13, WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 11. WO’411 further teaches the first processor sending the standby message, as discussed above. It is noted that the applicant claimed configuration of “the operation of the first processor ..." recites the intended use of the first processor and does not necessary require the processor to be configured to perform the recited steps. The operation of the determining recited in claim 13 encompasses a user determining if the current location of the cleaning device is correct and therefore does impact the structure of the first processor. Since the processor of WO’411 is configured to send a standby signal, the processor of WO’411 reads on the recited first processor and would be capable of sending a standby message in any process of operating including determining whether the conveying device at a current location of the cleaning device is the conveying device designated by the cleaning request by scanning a device identification attached to or near the conveying device; sending the standby message if it is the conveying device designated by the cleaning request, the standby message containing the device identification of the designated conveying device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumoto, Kyoji et al. WO2022/224411 (WO’411).
Regarding claim 15, WO’411 teaches a cleaning device for a passenger conveyor system (cleaning system 11 capable of more sanitarily cleaning a moving handrail for a passenger conveyor, abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the passenger conveyor system comprising one or more conveying devices, the conveying device being an escalator or a moving walkway (passenger conveyor (1) provided to a facility, the passenger conveyor 1 is, for example, an inclined escalator. abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the cleaning device comprising:
a wireless communication unit (The second wireless communication unit 16 is a part of the mobile unit 12, page 3, see fig. 2);
a moving mechanism (a driving section 17, page 5 see fig. 2);
a cleaning mechanism (cleaning part 18, page 4, see fig. 2);
a processor coupled with the wireless communication unit (each function of the cleaning system 11 can be realized by a processing circuit including a processor, page 8), configured to
instruct the moving mechanism to transport the cleaning device to the conveying device designated by the cleaning request in response to a cleaning request (The cleaning system 11 includes an autonomous moving body 12, the first communication unit 14 transmits a cleaning request by radio signal to communication unit 16, after arriving at the entrance/exit 2, the moving body 12 moves so that the cleaning part 18 is placed in a cleaning position with respect to either the left or right moving handrail 5, page 3-6, see fig. 4-7)
instruct the cleaning mechanism to perform a cleaning operation on the conveying device designated by the cleaning request (cleaning of the handrail 5 is performed, page 5-6, see fig. 4-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include WO2018/224524.
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713