Claims 1, 3-4, 7-14 and 27 are pending
Claims 1, 8-9 and 14
Claims 2, 5-6 and 15-26 have been canceled
Claim 27 is new
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the first sensor” in line 10 and “the second sensor” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 has been amended to depend from new claim 27, however both claims 9 and 27 refer to “a standby message sent by the cleaning device” and “a first sensor sensing signal triggered by the cleaning device”. It is unclear if these are the same standby message and sensor or different.
Claim 10 is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto, Kyoji et al. WO2022/224411 (WO’411).
Regarding claim 1, WO’411 teaches a cleaning system for a passenger conveyor system (cleaning system 11 capable of more sanitarily cleaning a moving handrail for a passenger conveyor, abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the passenger conveyor system comprising one or more conveying devices the conveying device being an escalator or a moving walkway, (passenger conveyor (1) provided to a facility, the passenger conveyor 1 is, for example, an inclined escalator. abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the cleaning system comprising: a controller associated with the conveying device (control panel 8 is a device for controlling the operation of the passenger conveyor 1, page 3, see fig. 1).
a self-mobility cleaning device configured to move, in response to a cleaning request (The cleaning system 11 includes an autonomous moving body 12, the first communication unit 14 transmits a cleaning request by radio signal, page 3-5)
to an entrance or exit of the conveying device designated by the cleaning request and to perform a cleaning operation on the designated conveying device (After arriving at the entrance/exit 2, the moving body 12 moves so that the cleaning part 18 is placed in a cleaning position with respect to either the left or right moving handrail 5 and cleaning of the handrail 5 is performed, page 5-6, see fig. 4-7).
wherein the cleaning device is further configured to instruct the controller to cause the designated conveying device to enter a cleaning mode after moving to the entrance or the exit of the conveying device designated by the cleaning request and before performing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device (the cleaning device transmits an arrangement report to start the cleaning page 6-7)
WO’411 does not teach the cleaning device is further configured to instruct the controller to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device.
However, WO’411 further teaches each moving handrail 5 circulates at a moving speed matched to each step 4. When the first communication unit 14 receives the placement report from the second communication unit 16, the control unit 10 activates the driving device 3. At this time, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed. when the moving body 12 detects an approach of a user or the like from arrival at the entrance/exit 2. If the cleaning unit 18 is placed in the cleaning position, and a user moves from the entrance/exit 2 to the passenger conveyor 1, cleaning can be paused and the cleaning unit temporarily retreat from the entrance/exit 2 so that the passenger can get on (pages 3-6). Therefore, WO’411 teaches that the cleaning device can monitor for approaching user and pause the cleaning, which would require communicating with the control unit to activate the drive device and as a result exit the cleaning mode at least temporarily to return the drive device to regular speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of WO’411 to include the cleaning device is further configured to instruct the controller to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device because WO’411 teaches that the cleaning device can monitor for approaching user and pause the cleaning to prioritize users and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 3, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning request is generated by a controller associated with the conveying device, and a console of the passenger conveyor system (control panel 8 of the passenger conveyor 1 include control unit 10 and first communication unit 14 which transmits the cleaning request, page 3-5 see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning request is generated in response to historical operational data of the conveying device (The cleaning of the passenger conveyor 1 is performed, for example, at preset timings. The preset timing is, for example, regular timing, page 4).
Regarding claim 7, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning device is a sweeping robot (the cleaning body 19 includes, for example, a cleaning cloth, sponge or brush and moves along the handrail to remove dust, page 4).
Regarding claim 8, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. WO’411 further teaches wherein in the cleaning mode, a pedal of the conveying device moves at a set speed (the circular movement of the moving handrail 5 and the steps 4 are synchronized, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed during cleaning, page 5-7. It is noted that claim 8 recited the intended use of the apparatus. And a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim).
Regarding claim 11, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 3. WO’411 further teaches wherein the cleaning device comprises: a first wireless communication unit configured to communicate with one of the controller (the second wireless communication unit 16 is a part of the mobile unit 12, page 3, see fig. 2); a first processor coupled with the first wireless communication unit (each function of the cleaning system 11 can be realized by a processing circuit including a processor, page 8), configured to: instruct the moving mechanism to transport the cleaning device to the conveying device designated by the cleaning request in response to the cleaning request received via the first wireless communication unit (The cleaning system 11 includes an autonomous moving body 12, the first communication unit 14 transmits a cleaning request by radio signal to communication unit 16, after arriving at the entrance/exit 2, the moving body 12 moves so that the cleaning part 18 is placed in a cleaning position with respect to either the left or right moving handrail 5, page 3-6, see fig. 4-7);cause the designated conveying device to enter the cleaning mode by sending a standby message to the controller associated with the designated conveying device via the first wireless communication unit before performing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device (the cleaning device transmits an arrangement report that the mobile unit is in position to clean and that the control panel can begin operating the handrail at the appropriate speed, page 5-7).
The modified system of WO’411 does not teach the first processor is configured to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode by sending a cleaning completion message to the controller associated with the designated conveying device via the first wireless communication unit after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device.
However, WO’411 further teaches each moving handrail 5 circulates at a moving speed matched to each step 4. When the first communication unit 14 receives the placement report from the second communication unit 16, the control unit 10 activates the driving device 3. At this time, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed. when the moving body 12 detects an approach of a user or the like from arrival at the entrance/exit 2. If the cleaning unit 18 is placed in the cleaning position, and a user moves from the entrance/exit 2 to the passenger conveyor 1, cleaning can be paused and the cleaning unit temporarily retreat from the entrance/exit 2 so that the passenger can get on (pages 3-6). Therefore, WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a placement report would be equally as beneficial for the end of the cleaning as the beginning of the cleaning to inform the control unit 10 that noving unit 12 has moved away from the conveying device, designating the end of the cleaning process and that the moving speed of the handrail and steps can return to their operating speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of WO’411 to include the event triggering exit from the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a cleaning completion message sent by the cleaning device triggered by the cleaning device leaving the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device, with regard to claim 9 and the first processor is configured to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode by sending a cleaning completion message to the controller associated with the designated conveying device via the first wireless communication unit after completing the cleaning operation on the designated conveying device, with regard to claim, 11 because WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and that the moving body can generate placement reports for coordinating operations of the conveying device and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 12, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 11. WO’411 further teaches wherein a movement of the moving mechanism is based on navigation information (the moving object 12 is an autonomous moving object such as a robot, The drive unit 17 includes, for example, a motor and tires, the moving body 12 , which receives the cleaning request from the first communication unit 14 by the second communication unit 16 , is driven by the driving force generated by the driving unit 17 to reach the entrance 2 of the passenger conveyor 1 page 3-5).
Regarding claim 13, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 11. WO’411 further teaches the first processor sending the standby message, as discussed above. It is noted that the applicant claimed configuration of “the operation of the first processor ..." recites the intended use of the first processor and does not necessary require the processor to be configured to perform the recited steps. The operation of the determining recited in claim 13 encompasses a user determining if the current location of the cleaning device is correct and therefore does impact the structure of the first processor. Since the processor of WO’411 is configured to send a standby signal, the processor of WO’411 reads on the recited first processor and would be capable of sending a standby message in any process of operating including determining whether the conveying device at a current location of the cleaning device is the conveying device designated by the cleaning request by scanning a device identification attached to or near the conveying device; sending the standby message if it is the conveying device designated by the cleaning request, the standby message containing the device identification of the designated conveying device.
Regarding claim 14, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 11. WO’411 further teaches wherein the controller comprises: a second wireless communication unit configured to communicate with the cleaning device (first communication unit 14 is a part that communicates with devices such as the mobile unit 12, page 3 see fig. 1); a memory; a second processor coupled with the memory and the second wireless communication unit (Each function of the cleaning system 11 can be realized by a processing circuit, the processing circuitry comprises at least one processor and at least one memory, page 8); and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the second processor (each function of the cleaning system 11 is implemented by software, firmware, or a combination of software and firmware, page 8), the operation of which results in the following operations: causing the conveying device to enter the cleaning mode when the standby message is received via the second wireless communication unit; and causing the conveying device to exit the cleaning mode when the cleaning completion message is received via the second wireless communication unit (the arrangement report is received allowing cleaning to being and the cleaning is complete when the appropriate amount of time has passed page 5-7, see fig. 4-7. It is noted that the applicant claimed “operations" recites the intended use of the second processor and does not necessary require the processor to be configured to perform the recited steps. The operation of the second processor recited in claim 14 encompasses a user intervention and therefore does impact the structure of the first processor).
Claim(s) 27 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto, Kyoji et al. WO2022/224411 (WO’411).
Regarding claim 27, WO’411 teaches a cleaning system for a passenger conveyor system (cleaning system 11 capable of more sanitarily cleaning a moving handrail for a passenger conveyor, abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the passenger conveyor system comprising one or more conveying devices, the conveying device being an escalator or a moving walkway, (passenger conveyor (1) provided to a facility, the passenger conveyor 1 is, for example, an inclined escalator. abstract, see fig. 1-2),
the cleaning system comprising: a controller associated with the conveying device (control panel 8 is a device for controlling the operation of the passenger conveyor 1, page 3, see fig. 1);
a self-mobility cleaning device configured to move, in response to a cleaning request (The cleaning system 11 includes an autonomous moving body 12, the first communication unit 14 transmits a cleaning request by radio signal, page 3-5)
to an entrance or exit of the conveying device designated by the cleaning request and to perform a cleaning operation on the designated conveying device (after arriving at the entrance/exit 2, the moving body 12 moves so that the cleaning part 18 is placed in a cleaning position with respect to either the left or right moving handrail 5 and cleaning of the handrail 5 is performed, page 5-6, see fig. 4-7);
wherein the controller associated with the designated conveying device is configured to cause the designated conveying device to enter the cleaning mode in response to an event triggering entry into the cleaning mode (the cleaning request is sent based on timing and the end of the cleaning is based on cleaning, pages 4-5).
wherein the event triggering entry into the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a standby message sent by the cleaning device triggered by the cleaning device arriving at the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device (the cleaning device transmits an arrangement report that the mobile unit is in position to clean and that the control panel can begin operating the handrail at the appropriate speed, page 5-7).
WO’411 does not teach the controller associated with the designated conveying device is configured to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode in response to an event triggering exit from the cleaning mode; wherein the event triggering exit from the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a cleaning completion message sent by the cleaning device or a second sensor sensing signal triggered by the cleaning device leaving the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device.
However, WO’411 further teaches each moving handrail 5 circulates at a moving speed matched to each step 4. When the first communication unit 14 receives the placement report from the second communication unit 16, the control unit 10 activates the driving device 3. At this time, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed. when the moving body 12 detects an approach of a user or the like from arrival at the entrance/exit 2. If the cleaning unit 18 is placed in the cleaning position, and a user moves from the entrance/exit 2 to the passenger conveyor 1, cleaning can be paused and the cleaning unit temporarily retreat from the entrance/exit 2 so that the passenger can get on (pages 3-6). Therefore, WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a placement report would be equally as beneficial for the end of the cleaning as the beginning of the cleaning to inform the control unit 10 that moving unit 12 has moved away from the conveying device, designating the end of the cleaning process and that the moving speed of the handrail and steps can return to their operating speed. Further WO’411 teaches that the cleaning device can monitor for approaching user and pause the cleaning, which would require communicating with the control unit to activate the drive device and as a result exit the cleaning mode at least temporarily to return the drive device to regular speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of WO’411 to include the controller associated with the designated conveying device is configured to cause the designated conveying device to exit the cleaning mode in response to an event triggering exit from the cleaning mode; wherein the event triggering exit from the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a cleaning completion message sent by the cleaning device or a second sensor sensing signal triggered by the cleaning device leaving the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device because WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and that the moving body can generate placement reports for coordinating operations of the conveying device would be equally as beneficial for the end of the cleaning as the beginning of the cleaning to inform the control unit 10 that moving unit 12 has moved away from the conveying device, designating the end of the cleaning process and that the moving speed of the handrail and steps can return to their operating speed and alternatively he cleaning device can monitor for approaching user and pause the cleaning to prioritize user and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 9, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 27. WO’411 further teaches wherein the event triggering entry into the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a standby message sent by the cleaning device triggered by the cleaning device arriving at the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device(, as discussed above, the cleaning device transmits an arrangement report that the mobile unit is in position to clean and that the control panel can begin operating the handrail at the appropriate speed, page 5-7).
WO’411 does not teach the event triggering exit from the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a cleaning completion message sent by the cleaning device or a second sensor sensing signal triggered by the cleaning device leaving the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device.
However, WO’411 further teaches each moving handrail 5 circulates at a moving speed matched to each step 4. When the first communication unit 14 receives the placement report from the second communication unit 16, the control unit 10 activates the driving device 3. At this time, the control unit 10 drives the driving device 3 at a low speed that is lower than the normal speed. when the moving body 12 detects an approach of a user or the like from arrival at the entrance/exit 2. If the cleaning unit 18 is placed in the cleaning position, and a user moves from the entrance/exit 2 to the passenger conveyor 1, cleaning can be paused and the cleaning unit temporarily retreat from the entrance/exit 2 so that the passenger can get on (pages 3-6). Therefore, WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a placement report would be equally as beneficial for the end of the cleaning as the beginning of the cleaning to inform the control unit 10 that noving unit 12 has moved away from the conveying device, designating the end of the cleaning process and that the moving speed of the handrail and steps can return to their operating speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of WO’411 to include the event triggering exit from the cleaning mode comprises the controller receiving a cleaning completion message sent by the cleaning device triggered by the cleaning device leaving the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device because WO’411 teaches that the moving body should not be at the entrance/exit once the cleaning is complete and that the moving body can generate placement reports for coordinating operations of the conveying device and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 10, the modified system of WO’411 teaches the cleaning system of claim 9. WO’411 further teaches wherein the first sensor sensing signal is indicative of a combination of obscured states of light at different heights at the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device, and the second sensor sensing signal is indicative of a change in the light from an obscured state to an unobscured state at the entrance or the exit of the designated conveying device (the second detection unit 15 detects the situation of the moving object 12 based on information obtained from the infrared sensor 6 or the camera 7, page 3-4 and 7).
Response to Amendment
Applicants amendments to claim 14 have not overcome the antecedent basis with regard to “the first sensor” in line 10 and “the second sensor” in line 12. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6-22-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments that WO'411 discloses that the moving body 12 transmits only an arrangement or placement report indicating that the cleaning unit 18 has been placed in a cleaning arrangement, this is not instruction from the cleaning device to cause a designated conveying to enter a cleaning mode it is merely a report of physical placement of the cleaning unit, has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. The phrase “cleaning mode” is broad and undefined in the claim and has no recognized meaning in the art. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation any operation condition of the conveying device associated with cleaning read on the phrase. The claim does not require any particular controller state, stored program, or conveyor behavior. Therefore, any minor operating change associated with the cleaning operating reads on it. Since WO’411 teaches sending the placement report results in the control unit starting the driving device at a lower speed the report of placement is the cause of the lower speed state which is a cleaning specific state. Further “cause” is also a broad term and reads on any result, not a specific result. The claim requires no command, specific operating mode or particular message. The placement report is the trigger for the controller to know when to slow the speed and therefore reads or “cause” generally.
Applicants’ arguments that WO'411 also fails to disclose the claimed exit instruction, has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Applicant references only one disclosed embodiment, however the rejection is under 103 based on a combination of teachings of WO’411 not a single embodiment. WO’411 recognizes the problem of a user wanting to board while the cleaning is being performed. WO’411 purposes a solution to this as temporarily retreating to give priority to the use, as discussed above. Applying the retreat response, already disclosed to prioritize the user, to the cleaning process would be a combination of known methods combined for the purpose of prioritizing the user during cleaning. The term “cleaning operation” is undefined, so it reads on any continuous cleaning process, and the end of that continuous process is its completion. Nothing in the claim requires the job to be finished, the whole handrail to be treated, or the device to leave for good. A cleaning operation that starts, runs, and stops is a complete cleaning operation, and a later resumption is a new one. Additionally, “exit the cleaning mode” is not defined in a way that would limit it to a permanent end of the cleaning.
Applicants’ arguments that the placement report is not a standby message sent in response to the cleaning device arriving at the entrance or exit, has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. The terms “event” and “standby message” are vague and encompass any type of message that is part of a sequence of events that need to occur before cleaning can be performed. A report that the cleaning part is in the cleaning arrangement and awaiting the handrail to be run at a low speed so that cleaning can be performed reads on an event including a standby message. The claim does not limit the event or message to any particular message, standby wait time or sequence of events after the standby message. As a result, any message sent that is part of a sequence events that need to occur before cleaning can start reads on a “standby message”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713