DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 9-10 recite the phrase “in particular” which renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claims 2, 5, 8, and 11 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20070262589 to Moran.
Regarding claim 1, Moran discloses:
A handle and/or locking device (10) for a sliding door of recreational vehicles (Note: This limitation is considered intended use and is not given patentable weight), in particular motorhomes or caravans, with a handle shell (16), an actuating element (30) and a mounting plate (72), wherein the mounting plate is connected to the handle shell in a fixed position relative to the handle shell (72 is fixed relative to 16 and does not move), wherein the actuating element is pivotably mounted between the handle shell and the mounting plate (fig 2b), and wherein the handle shell has a recess (20) which allows actuation of the actuating element (fig 2b).
Regarding claim 2, Moran discloses:
The handle and/or locking device according to claim 1, characterized in that the handle shell has a grip recess (26) that opens outwards and that the actuating element extends through the recess of the handle shell into the grip recess of the handle shell, at least in the non- actuated state (fig 2a, 30 extends into recess 20 and into grip recess 26).
Regarding claim 3, Moran discloses:
The handle and/or locking device according to claim 1, characterized in that the actuating element is pivotably mounted on a pin (44) provided, in particular formed, on the handle shell (fig 2a).
Regarding claim 9, Moran discloses:
A sliding door (64) for a recreational vehicle (Note: This limitation is considered intended use and is not given patentable weight), in particular a motorhome or a caravan, with a door leaf (68) which has a recess (20), and a handle (30) and/or locking device according to claim 1, which is inserted into the recess of the door leaf and is connected to the door leaf (via 16, see figs 1 and 2a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070262589 to Moran in view of US 2647003 to Way.
Regarding claim 5, Moran does not explicitly disclose:
The handle and/or locking device according to claim 1, characterized in that at least one spring element is provided which is connected on the one hand to the handle shell and on the other hand to the actuating element, and that the spring element is prestressed such that the non-actuated actuating element is held in the non-actuated position.
However, Way teaches that it is well known in the art for at least one spring element (58) is provided which is connected on the one hand to the handle shell (46) and on the other hand to the actuating element (54), and that the spring element is prestressed such that the non-actuated actuating element is held in the non-actuated position (fig 6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Way into Moran at least because doing so would provide additional control over the actuating element by biasing it to the desired position.
Regarding claim 6, Moran in view of Way discloses:
The handle and/or locking device according to claim 5 characterized in that the spring element is connected to a pin provided, in particular formed, on the handle shell (59).
Regarding claim 10, Moran does not explicitly disclose:
A recreational vehicle, in particular a motorhome or caravan, with at least one sliding door according to claim 9.
However, Way teaches that it is well known in the art for a sliding door according to claim 9 to be utilized in a recreational vehicle (fig 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Way into Moran at least because doing so would provide additional utility of the invention in different desirable situations and apparatuses.
Regarding claim 11, Moran in view of Way discloses:
The recreational vehicle according to characterized in that at least one piece of furniture (window of 11) is provided which has at least one sliding door (11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675