DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
No claims are amended.
Claim 1 is canceled.
Claims 2-21 are newly added.
Claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp
Claims 2, 5, 12 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory non-obvious type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 11475058. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application 18/813,956
U.S. Patent No. 11475058
Claims 2, 12 maps to
Claim 1
Claims 5 and 15 maps to
Claim 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2 and 12 recite “generating for output the media asset and a timeline associated with the media asset, the timeline comprising selectable links for accessing the plurality of segments, wherein the selectable links are arranged in the timeline to present a sequence of the events related to the media asset based at least in part on the event times associated with the plurality of segments”. This feature does not find support in the specification.
Upon review of specification, the examiner is unable to find written description support for the above limitations. Examiner found that specification of instant application par. 0050 discloses, system includes an analyzer 308, which analyzes the varying media assets to identify events that the user may be interested in. In particular, the analyzer 308 receives the media asset details 322, metadata pertaining to the media asset 324 and time frame 326 and performs object analysis 314, frame analysis 316, subtitle analysis 318, speech analysis 320 and/or natural language processing 322. processing circuitry determines that a segment of the supplemental media asset matches the user preferences and the keywords of the media asset. When the supplemental media asset matches the user preferences and the keywords, the system may include the supplemental media asset in the timeline for the media asset. This paragraphs 0050 only suggesting of, identifying time frame of events in media asset and find supplemental media asset that matches keywords of the media assets and include supplemental media assets in timeline. However, this paragraph 0050 or any other paragraphs does not suggest, identifying time frame of events in media asset and generating for output the media asset and a timeline associated with the media asset comprising selectable links for accessing the plurality of segments, wherein the selectable links are arranged in the timeline to present a sequence of the events, as claimed in claims 2 and 12. Therefore, there is no sufficient support for the above claimed features in applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 9-14, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US 20160379682).
Regarding claim 2, Williams discloses, A method comprising:
accessing metadata associated with a media asset, wherein the metadata comprises one or more identifier tags of a plurality of segments of the media asset, and wherein the plurality of segments depicts events related to the media asset (Par. 0071-0072, fig. 8, details of the sporting event in the video recording, data is collecting during the sporting event regarding particular events which occur during the sporting event. An example of such data is provided in FIG. 8, which shows data collected at a soccer match, comprises a start time, an end time and an identifier for identifying the event);
identifying, based at least in part on the one or more identifier tags, event times associated with the plurality of segments of the media asset ((Par. 0071-0072, fig. 8 An example of such data is provided in FIG. 8, which shows data collected at a soccer match, comprises a start time, an end time and an identifier for identifying the event); and
generating for output the media asset and a timeline associated with the media asset, the timeline comprising selectable links for accessing the plurality of segments, wherein the selectable links are arranged in the timeline to present a sequence of the events related to the media asset based at least in part on the event times associated with the plurality of segments (Par. 0082, 0083, fig. 9, The display device 900 displays the timeline 902 generated by the timeline generator 708 and output by the display output element 714. The timeline 902 comprises a first axis 904 along which the elapsed time of the video recording is indicated and a second axis 906 along which the identifiers 908 of the event records are indicated. Par. 0097, the timeline elements 903 are selectable by a user via the user input element 716 so as to produce a video clip 910 generated from the video recording. Advantageously, this allows a user not only to view the occurrence of events using the timeline 902).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 2, further comprising:
Williams further discloses, receiving a selection of one of the selectable links in the timeline (Par. 0007, input circuitry operable to receive an input to select one of the first timeline elements when the timeline is displayed); and
retrieving a first segment of the plurality of segments associated with the selected link for presentation (Par. 0007, in response to the selection of one of the first timeline elements, generate a video clip from the video recording of the sporting event and to output the video clip for display, the video clip being a portion of the video recording of the sporting event temporally extending between a first time and a second time).
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 3, further comprising:
Williams further discloses, wherein an identifier tag of the first segment indicates a tagged portion in the first segment corresponding to an entity, the method further comprising generating for output the tagged portion corresponding to the entity (Par. 0073, The first event record 800 has a start time of 00:05:36 (that is, 0 hours, 5 minutes and 36 seconds), an end time of 00:06:14 and an identifier of “Player 1”. This indicates that an event involving soccer player “Player 1” occurred between the times 00:05:36 and 00:06:14 of the sporting event, i.e. tagged event duration is associated with player (i.e. an entity)).
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 2,
Williams further discloses, wherein a first selectable link corresponds to a first segment of the plurality of segments accessed from a first content source and a second selectable link corresponds to a second segment of the plurality of segments accessed from a second content source (Par. 0114 FIGS. 13A-D schematically illustrate a further embodiment of the present disclosure in which a timeline may be generated and viewed for each of a plurality of video recordings of a sporting event captured from different cameras. In addition, a plurality of different video recordings may be generated and saved as part of a presentation which may be played back. These video recordings may be video recordings of the same sporting event captured by different cameras and/or video recordings of different sporting events)
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 2,
Williams further discloses, wherein the timeline associated with the media asset comprises:
a first layer comprising one or more first segments of the plurality of segments corresponding to a first identifier tag of the one or more identifier tags (Par. 0086, as shown in FIG. 9, the timeline 902 comprising timeline elements 903 allows the start time, end time and identifier of each event record to be seen in an intuitive manner. In particular, with the timeline 902, event records which may be related can be easily identified, since the timeline elements associated with those event records will appear on the timeline over the same or over an overlapping time period. For example, it can be seen that the timeline elements 802E, 804E and 806E (relating to event records 802, 804 and 806, respectively) all line up on the timeline over an overlapping time period, perhaps indicating that there was an incident involving “Player 2” and “Player 3” which resulted in a free kick being awarded during the soccer game, i.e. timeline in association with identifier such as player 1, player 2 in association with timeline of events in different layer of timeline on axis 906); and
a second layer comprising one or more second segments of the plurality of segments corresponding to a second identifier tag of the one or more identifier tags (Par. 0086, as shown in FIG. 9, the timeline 902 comprising timeline elements 903 allows the start time, end time and identifier of each event record to be seen in an intuitive manner. In particular, with the timeline 902, event records which may be related can be easily identified, since the timeline elements associated with those event records will appear on the timeline over the same or over an overlapping time period. For example, it can be seen that the timeline elements 802E, 804E and 806E (relating to event records 802, 804 and 806, respectively) all line up on the timeline over an overlapping time period, perhaps indicating that there was an incident involving “Player 2” and “Player 3” which resulted in a free kick being awarded during the soccer game, i.e. timeline in association with identifier such as player 1, player 2 in association with timeline of events in different layer of timeline on axis 906).
Regarding claim 11, The method of claim 2,
Williams further discloses, wherein the media asset is outputted at a first interface, and wherein the timeline is outputted at a second interface (Par. 0097, fig. 9, the timeline elements 903 are selectable by a user via the user input element 716 so as to produce a video clip 910 generated from the video recording, i.e. timeline interface is shown in interface area where selectable elements are displayed. Par. 106, When the timeline element 808E is selected, the video clip 910 and plan view image 911 are generated by the video clip generator and are played back as video images on the display device 900 between the start and ends times of the event record 808 associated with the selected timeline element 808. Par. 0112, the user may touch or click on a position of the soccer pitch 1010 shown in the plan view image 911, and the virtual camera yaw, pitch and zoom may be changed in response to the selection of this position. i.e. media asset is outputted in different interface where it can receive user selection of position of the soccer pitch).
Regarding claim 12-14 and 19-21, Williams meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 2-4 and 9-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20160379682), in view of Morris (US 20090083787), in further view of Yokoyama et al. (US 20150026179).
Regarding claim, 5, The method of claim 3,
Williams does not disclose, further comprising:
based at least in part on receiving the selection of one of the selectable links in the timeline:
determining one or more keywords associated with the first segment; and
searching, based at least in part on the one or more keywords, for preceding segments associated with the first segment.
Morris discloses, based at least in part on receiving the selection of one of the selectable links in the timeline (Par. 0023, A viewer can also select from the event information 120 to further expand the information associated with a particular selected event. For example, a viewer may select the "Pass Play" information to initiate a pivotable events timeline 122 that includes event indicators 124 from which the viewer may select and initiate for viewing the all-time best pass plays in football history. The pivotable events timeline 122 also includes indications of the seasons (e.g., years) in which each of the best pass plays occurred, such as in "1978", "1992", and the like. In an embodiment, the pivotable events timeline 122 can replace the pivotable events timeline 108 on display device 104 and the television media content 106 would display as the corresponding video highlights of the all-time best pass plays in football history):
searching, for preceding segments associated with the first segment (Par. 0023, A viewer can also select from the event information 120 to further expand the information associated with a particular selected event. For example, a viewer may select the "Pass Play" information to initiate a pivotable events timeline 122 that includes event indicators 124 from which the viewer may select and initiate for viewing the all-time best pass plays in football history. The pivotable events timeline 122 also includes indications of the seasons (e.g., years) in which each of the best pass plays occurred, such as in "1978", "1992", and the like. In an embodiment, the pivotable events timeline 122 can replace the pivotable events timeline 108 on display device 104 and the television media content 106 would display as the corresponding video highlights of the all-time best pass plays in football history, i.e. based on user selecting link on timeline, search for preceding segments associated with first segment to generate the pivotal event timeline related to selected event).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Williams, by teachings of based at least in part on receiving the selection of one of the selectable links in the timeline, searching, for preceding segments associated with the first segment, as taught by Morris, to provide a technique to locate and track related television programs, such as related sporting events for over the several day or history of programs related to specific players or sports event, as disclosed in Morris, 0003.
Williams in view of Morris does not discloses, determining one or more keywords associated with the first segment, searching, based at least in part on the one or more keywords, for segments associated with the first segment.
Yokoyama discloses, determining one or more keywords associated with the first segment, searching, based at least in part on the one or more keywords, for segments associated with the first segment (Par. 0076-0077, user selecting clip, automatically searching one more similar clip according to keywords corresponding to the designated clip (i.e. user selected clip)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Williams in view of Morris, by teachings of determining one or more keywords associated with the first segment, searching, based at least in part on the one or more keywords, for segments associated with the first segment, as taught by Yokoyama, to find specific clips among large number of clips accumulated, keyword search matching technique helps find specific related clips, as disclosed in Yokoyama, par. 0005 and 0076-0077.
Regarding claim 15, Williams in view of Morris in further view of Yokoyama meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20160379682), in view of Fader et al. (US 20160357872, part of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/4/2024).
Regarding claim 6 The method of claim 2,
Williams does not disclose, further comprising:
accessing one or more user preferences associated with a user profile;
identifying one or more segments of the plurality of segments that depict the events matching the one or more user preferences; and
determining, based at least in part on the one or more user preferences, whether the identified one or more segments should be omitted in the timeline.
Fader discloses, further comprising:
accessing one or more user preferences associated with a user profile (Par. 0074, the event network system can select events to include in the recommended thread by matching characteristics of an event against relevant features in the user's profile);
identifying one or more segments of the plurality of segments that depict the events matching the one or more user preferences (Par. 0074, the event network system can select events to include in the recommended thread by matching characteristics of an event against relevant features in the user's profile); and
determining, based at least in part on the one or more user preferences, whether the identified one or more segments should be omitted in the timeline (Par. 0074, the event network system can rank the selected events, topics, or entities, based on the corresponding expected interest score, the event network system can select events to include in the recommended thread by matching characteristics of an event against relevant features in the user's profile. Par. 0091, An event can include one or more artifacts depicting information from the articles in the event. In some implementations, artifacts can include one or more of: headlines, summaries, quotes, images, audio clips, video clips, tags, topics, representations of identified entities. Par. 0118, uses aspects including topic, entity, person, place, publication, and time to present events as cards on the thread board, which can be explored on a timeline, and organized by topic or entity, i.e. select to include segment such as video clips or segment of headlines only when it matches with user profile otherwise exclude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Williams, by teachings of accessing user preferences associated with a user profile to identifying one or more segments of the plurality of segments that depict the events matching the one or more user preferences; and determining, based at least in part on the one or more user preferences, whether the identified one or more segments should be omitted in the timeline, as taught by Fader, to exclude the content from timeline that is not of user interest, exclude the content that does not have user interest score above threshold, as disclosed in Fader, par. 0074.
Regarding claim 16, Williams in view of Fader meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20160379682), in view of Fader et al. (US 20160357872, part of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/4/2024), in further view of Yerli (US 20130212491).
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 6,
Williams in view of Fader does not disclose, wherein determining, based at least in part on the one or more user preferences, whether the identified one or more segments should be omitted comprises:
determining one or more keywords associated with the identified one or more segments;
accessing historical activity data associated with the user profile; and
based at least in part on the one or more keywords associated with the identified one or more segments and the historical activity data associated with the user profile, determining that at least some of the identified one or more segments should not be omitted in the timeline.
Yerli discloses, wherein determining, wherein determining, based at least in part on the one or more user preferences, whether the identified one or more segments should be omitted comprises:
determining one or more keywords associated with the identified one or more segments (Par. 0032 certain keywords regarding the event. Such keywords may briefly categorize the content, purpose, place, length, etc., of the event, or categorize any action involved in the event. These keywords may be used later for deciding whether a specific event matches the individual preferences and/or interests of a user and whether the event shall be displayed in the personal timeline of the user);
accessing historical activity data associated with the user profile (Par. 0032 certain keywords regarding the event. Such keywords may briefly categorize the content, purpose, place, length, etc., of the event, or categorize any action involved in the event. These keywords may be used later for deciding whether a specific event matches the individual preferences and/or interests of a user and whether the event shall be displayed in the personal timeline of the user); and
based at least in part on the one or more keywords associated with the identified one or more segments and the historical activity data associated with the user profile, determining that at least some of the identified one or more segments should not be omitted in the timeline (Par. 0032 certain keywords regarding the event. Such keywords may briefly categorize the content, purpose, place, length, etc., of the event, or categorize any action involved in the event. These keywords may be used later for deciding whether a specific event matches the individual preferences and/or interests of a user and whether the event shall be displayed in the personal timeline of the user. Par. 0038, data are filtered by the data filter engine 206 in accordance with the user-specific preferences and/or interests of the owner of the particular timeline to be displayed. As an example, if the input data include data relating to video game events and political events, but the individual preferences and/or interests 208 of a user indicate that the particular user is highly interested in video games but not at all in political events, all (or most of the) data relating to the political events will be filtered out and only those relating to video games will be passed through the data filter engine 206 for display in the personal timeline of an individual user by means of the time feed generator 216 shown in FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Williams, by teachings of determining one or more keywords associated with the identified one or more segments; accessing historical activity data associated with the user profile; and based at least in part on the one or more keywords associated with the identified one or more segments and the historical activity data associated with the user profile, determining that at least some of the identified one or more segments should not be omitted in the timeline, as taught by Yerli, to include the segment of content of a specific event that matches the individual preferences and/or interests of a user, as disclosed in Yerli, par. 0032.
Regarding claim 17, Williams in view of Fader in further view of Yerli meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 7.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20160379682), in view of Fader et al. (US 20160357872), in further view of Maisenbacher et al. (US 20150382061, part of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/4/2024).
Regarding claim 8, The method of claim 6,
Williams in view of Fader does not disclose, wherein the events matching the one or more user preferences are associated with at least one entity based at least in part on the one or more user preferences, the method further comprising:
based at least in part on determining that the identified one or more segments should be omitted in the timeline, modifying the identified one or more segments, wherein the modifying comprises omitting the at least one entity in the identified one or more segments.
Maisenbacher discloses, wherein the events matching the one or more user preferences are associated with at least one entity based at least in part on the one or more user preferences (par. 0043 discloses the user of the client device manually input the primary title, series title, episode title and/or number, and/or other information pertaining to media programs for which the user would like to avoid encountering spoilers, i.e. user inputs preferences for avoid encountering spoilers), the method further comprising:
based at least in part on determining that the identified one or more segments should be omitted in the timeline, modifying the identified one or more segments, wherein the modifying comprises omitting the at least one entity in the identified one or more segments (Par. 0051, the spoiler filter 109 may delete or otherwise remove the identified portion of content, or otherwise alter the presentation of the identified portion of content to reduce visibility when presented on the client device 104. Par. 0058, names of individuals (i.e. entity) involved in and/or associated with the media program, genre information, or the like the may be utilized to identify and filter content that may contain potential spoilers that would not otherwise be identified based solely on the title, program identifiers, and/or other descriptive information contained in the listing of media programs. Par. 0068, the spoiler filter analyze the streamed media content and identify portions 822, 824 with the streamed media content that match or otherwise satisfy filtering, and removes or mask the visibility of the ticker portions 822 and 824 pertaining to the outcome of the sporting event, i.e. based on determining by matching user preferences to avoid spoiler, segment would be removed, but it can also be presented with modification by masking the entity in the segment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Williams in view of Fader, by teachings of the events matching the user preferences are associated with at least one, based on determining that the identified one or more segments should be omitted in the timeline, modifying the identified one or more segments, wherein the modifying comprises omitting the at least one entity in the identified one or more segments, as taught by Maisenbacher, to avoid spoiler by masking or removing information about entity in the wile segment and presenting it with modification by masking the entity in the segment, as disclosed in Maisenbacher, par. 0003-0005 and 0058.
Regarding claim 18 Williams in view of Fader in further view of Maisenbacher meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422