DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-9 are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 31-Mar-2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 23-Jun-2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawing/photograph disclosure is objected to because Figures 6A-E, 7, 8, 9A-B, 10-14, 16-24, and 26B-F lack detail or contrast, resulting in indiscernible features.
Specification
The use of the term “LightStone”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The use of the term “HANDCRAFT BLENDS”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sachau et al. (DE102004038285A1, Published: 27-Apr-2006).
In regards to claims 1-3, 7, and 9, Sachau teaches a polymer substrate composition of Example 15 comprising of a silicone PSA matrix containing eucalyptus oil (Paragraph 268).
In regards to claim 8, Sachau teaches that the shape can be altered into the form of an elongated strip (Paragraph 245 and Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachau as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buggyband (Amazon, 30-Mar-2021).
Sachau teaches a polymer substrate composition comprising of a silicone PSA matrix containing eucalyptus oil with constant release properties as applied to claim 1 discussed above.
In regards to Claims 4-6, Sachau teaches a general goal of the composition is that the polymer substrate can release a diffusion mediated amount of the active ingredient over a long period of time (Paragraph 12).
However, Sachau does not teach a release rate that is constant, the release rate is related to an external stimuli, and the nature of the external stimuli, such as heat, light, moisture, or a mechanical stress.
Buggyband teaches a wearable pest repellent device comprising of a polymer with citronella oil that provides 350 hours of use. Buggyband further teaches that airflow to the device must be allowed because excessive moisture reduces the device’s effectiveness, establishing the release rate relating to external stimulus.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Sachau such that the release rate of the active ingredient is configured to relate to an external stimulus by applying Buggyband’s teaching that moisture on skin attenuates repellent effectiveness. This represents combination of known prior art elements to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the composition of Sachau to release the active ingredient at a constant rate. Release rate represents a result-effective variable and would have been a matter of routine optimization in order to achieve a constant release rate. For the foregoing reasons, Claims 4-6 are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
/W.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614