DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 219222805) in view of Tang et al. (US 7,891,464) and Lee et al. (US 11,204,204), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 11,073,145).
With respect to claims 1, 11, 17 and 19, Yang et al. teach a device comprising an acoustic metasurface comprising an air intake (Fig.2, Item 4) coupled to a quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator (Fig.2, Item 2) comprising an air trace line configured for noise suppression of a fundamental frequency corresponding to a quarter wavelength of the fundamental frequency, wherein, when the acoustic metasurface is deployed proximate to a household item, the acoustic metasurface suppresses at least some noise generated by at least one fan of the household item at the fundamental frequency corresponding to the quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator (Abstract and Background).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, the Examiner considers that Yang et al. inherently teaches an executable method of designing an acoustic resonator comprising predetermined design parameters, as any other working engineering design.
However, Yang et al. fail to disclose wherein the metasurface is deployed proximate to a server and heat dissipation material configured to dissipate heat from the air trace line, and the quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator configured for noise suppression of odd harmonics of the fundamental frequency, comprising at least a third harmonic of the fundamental frequency and a fifth harmonic of the fundamental frequency.
On the other hand, Tang et al. teach placing an array of acoustic resonators (Figs.1 and 2, Items 22) proximate to a server (Fig.1, Item 16) to suppress noise generated by cooling fans (Figs.1 and 2, Item 20).
Lee et al. teach an array of acoustic resonators (Fig.1, Items 32) being of a heat dissipation material and configured to dissipate heat (Col.4, Lines 14 – 38).
Wang et al. teach a quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator (Fig.2) comprising an air trace line configured for noise suppression of a fundamental frequency corresponding to a quarter wavelength of the fundamental frequency and for noise suppression of odd harmonics of the fundamental frequency, comprising at least a third harmonic of the fundamental frequency and a fifth harmonic of the fundamental frequency (Fig.2; Col.8, Line 42 – Col.9, Line 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the Yang et al. resonator proximate to a server, as disclosed by Tang et al. and to provide the resonators being of a heat dissipation material, as taught by Lee et al. because it would provide a compact configuration in which a heat sink fins could also act as acoustic resonators; and the Wang et al. resonator configuration would help eliminate or suppress noise over a broad range of operating frequencies.
With respect to claim 2, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the acoustic metasurface comprising at least one of copper or aluminum because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claims 3 – 6, 13 and 16, the Examiner considers that the obvious combination to Yang et al., Tang et al. and Lee et al. teach the limitations described in the claims; the limitations do not depart from the scope and spirit of the Yang et al., Tang et al. and Lee et al.. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to choose from the finite number of identified and predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397).
With respect to claim 7, Yang et al. teach wherein the air trace line comprises a meandering air trace line (Fig.2, Item 2).
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Yang et al. teach wherein the fundamental frequency is a first fundamental frequency, wherein the quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator is a first quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator comprising a first air trace line configured for first noise suppression of the first fundamental frequency corresponding to a first quarter wavelength of the first fundamental frequency, wherein the acoustic metasurface further comprises a second quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator comprising a second air trace line configured for second noise suppression of a second fundamental frequency corresponding to a second quarter wavelength of the second fundamental frequency, and wherein, when the acoustic metasurface is deployed proximate to a server, the acoustic metasurface suppresses at least some noise generated by at least one fan of the server at the fundamental frequency corresponding to the quarter wavelength quarter-wavelength-based acoustic pressure suppression resonator; and wherein the first air trace line and the second air trace line share the air intake (Fig.2, Item 4) (Specification: Embodiment 1).
With respect to claims 10, 14 and 15, Tang et al. and Lee et al. teach wherein the acoustic metasurface is configured for deployment proximate to a fan that cools the heat dissipation material, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 12, Yang et al. teach wherein the respective separate air trace lines are meandering to facilitate deployment of the acoustic metasurface as a module having dimensions that are substantially shorter than the respective different lengths (Fig.2, Item 2).
With respect to claim 18, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to provide wherein the operations further comprise controlling, by the system based on the design parameters, a printer to print the acoustic metasurface module, as disclosed by Walsh et al. (US 11,498,282).
With respect to claim 20, Lee et al. teach wherein the acoustic metasurface module (Fig.1, Items 32) is coupled to a heat sink (Fig.1, Item 35).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a reference that was not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
September 18, 2026