DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 13 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 July 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 August 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asai et al. (US 2009/0065472 – hereinafter Asai.)
Regarding claim 1,
Asai discloses a laminated substrate [1 in fig. 1] comprising:
a silicon substrate [10 in figs. 1-2; paragraph 0030]; and
a silicon oxide film [15 in fig. 2] laminated to the silicon substrate [paragraphs 0031 and 0035],
wherein the silicon oxide film has a through hole [14a in fig. 2] penetrating in a thickness direction [as seen in fig. 2],
wherein the silicon substrate has a hole [14 in fig. 2] communicating with the through hole [as seen in fig. 2],
wherein the hole includes a first portion adjacent to the through hole and a second portion adjacent to the first portion on an opposite side of the through hole [seen in fig. 2],
wherein the first portion includes a plurality of first recesses whose width changes cyclically in the thickness direction [as seen in figs. 2 and 9, reproduced below],
wherein the second portion includes a plurality of second recesses whose width changes cyclically in the thickness direction [see figs. 2 and 9, reproduced below], and
wherein a maximum value of the width of the first recesses is smaller than a maximum value of the width of the second recesses [as seen in fig. 2, reproduced below.]
Regarding claim 2,
Asai further discloses wherein the silicon oxide film has a contact surface in contact with the silicon substrate and a back surface of the contact surface, and a width of the through hole monotonically decreases from the back surface to the contact surface [as seen in the figures; paragraphs 0030 and 0035.]
Regarding claim 5,
Asai further discloses wherein the through hole is a first through hole, and
wherein the hole is a second through hole [as seen in fig. 2.]
Regarding claim 6,
Asai discloses a liquid discharge head comprising:
a laminated substrate [1 in fig. 1] including a silicon substrate [10 in figs. 1-2; paragraph 0030] and a silicon oxide film [15 in fig. 2] laminated to the silicon substrate [paragraphs 0031 and 0035]; and
an energy generation element [11 in fig. 2; paragraph 0030-0032],
wherein the silicon oxide film has a first through hole [14a in fig. 2] penetrating in a thickness direction [as seen in fig. 2],
wherein the silicon substrate has a second through hole [14 in fig. 2] communicating with the first through hole [as seen in fig. 2],
wherein the second through hole includes a first portion adjacent to the first through hole and a second portion adjacent to the first portion on an opposite side of the first through hole [as seen in fig. 2, reproduced above fir clarity],
wherein the first portion includes a plurality of first recesses whose width changes cyclically in the thickness direction [as seen in figs. 2 and 9, reproduced below],
wherein the second portion includes a plurality of second recesses whose width changes cyclically in the thickness direction [as seen in figs. 2 and 9, reproduced below],
wherein a maximum value of the width of the first recesses is smaller than a maximum value of the width of the second recesses [as seen in fig. 2, reproduced below],
wherein the first through hole and the second through hole form a liquid discharge flow path through which a liquid is discharged [paragraph 0032; as seem in fig. 2], and
wherein the energy generation element imparts energy to the liquid to be discharged [paragraphs 0030-0032.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai.
Regarding claim 3,
Asai discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to expressly disclose wherein an average inclination angle of a side surface of the through hole with respect to the contact surface is equal to or greater than 60° and less than 90°.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an inclination angle of a side surface of the through hole with respect to the contact surface that is equal to or greater than 60° and less than 90°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize the inclination angle in order to improving liquid flow efficiency and preventing trapped air bubbles, while still having structural stability.
Regarding claim 4,
Asai discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to expressly disclose wherein the first portion includes a portion that is 0.8 μm or more away from the contact surface between the silicon oxide film and the silicon substrate, and a length of each recess in the first portion in the thickness direction is 0.25 μm or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first portion that includes a portion that is 0.8 μm or more away from the contact surface between the silicon oxide film and the silicon substrate, and a length of each recess in the first portion in the thickness direction being 0.25 μm or less, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One would have been motivated to optimize the portion between the silicon oxide film and the silicon substrate, and the length of each recess for the purpose of preventing stress and cracking in the structure of the substrate.
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853