DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 7-12, 14, and 18-19 are under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites ‘the symbol sequence’. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore it is unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites ‘the first signature pool’. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore it is unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding claim 7-12, claim 7 recites an apparatus. This apparatus has no parts. Therefore it is unclear what you are attempting to claim. Claims 8-12 do not cure the deficiencies of claim 7 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites ‘the method’. Claim 8 is an apparatus claim which performs actions. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites ‘the symbol sequence’. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore it is unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites ‘the first signature pool’. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore it is unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites ‘the method’. Claim 14 is an apparatus claim which performs actions. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites ‘the symbol sequence’. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore it is unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding claims 18-19, claim 18 recites ‘the first signature pool’. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore it is unclear. Claim 19 does not cure the deficiencies of claim 18 and is rejected for similar reasons. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei (2020/0077402).
Regarding claim 1, Lei discloses a method comprising:
obtaining a first signature for a group comprising a user equipment (UE); (See Lei para. 6; scrambling code (e.g. first signature in that it is unique to the group) used by a group of UEs)
obtaining a second signature for the UE; (See Lei para. 6; UE specific spreading code (e.g. a second signature in that it is unique to the UE))
generating a wireless signal based on the first and second signatures; and (See Lei para. 6; UE-specific spreading code (e.g. second signature) and scrambling code (e.g. first signature) are both applied to the NOMA signal (e.g. it is generated); see also fig. 3, 5; generate NOMA transmission)
transmitting the wireless signal via a physical resource from or to the UE. (See Lei para. 5; UE transmits the NOMA signal; see also fig. 5; NOMA transmission; para. 38; resources in time, frequency, spatial (e.g. physical resource))
Regarding claim 2, Lei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises:
generating a bit sequence, (See Lei fig. 3; before the bit scrambling there is a sequence of bits that would be generated)
generating a first symbol sequence based on the bit sequence, and (See Lei fig. 3; after bit level processing there is modulation (e.g. which creates a symbol sequence); see also para. 77)
generating the wireless signal based on the first symbol sequence; and (See Lei fig. 3; NOMA processing based upon the symbol sequence and generating the NOMA baseband Waveform; see also para. 78)
wherein the method further comprises:
modifying the bit sequence and the symbol sequence based on one of the first and second signatures before said generating the first symbol sequence and based on the other of the first and second signatures before said generating the wireless signal, respectively,
modifying the bit sequence based on the first and second signatures before said generating the first symbol sequence, or (OR)
modifying the symbol sequence based on the first and second signatures before said generating the wireless signal. (See Lei fig. 3, para. 78; spreading component 345-a,m and scrambling component,360, before RE, resource element, mapping (e.g. modifying the symbol sequence) which is based upon spreading code and scrambling codes)
Regarding claim 4, Lei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said obtaining the second signature comprises:
obtaining at least a first index of the second signature indicating the second signature in a second signature pool comprising a plurality of second signatures; and (See Lei para. 112; UE-specific spreading code is based upon an index value or UE identification; set of UE specific spreading codes)
obtaining the second signature from the second signature pool using the at least first index of the second signature. (See Lei fig. 18; UE-specific spreading code is selected from a first codebook based upon a UE id or index value)
Regarding claim 5, Lei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said obtaining the first signature comprises:
obtaining at least a first index of the first signature indicating the first signature in the first signature pool comprising a plurality of first signatures; and (See Lei para. 84; group x (e.g. x being a number of the group; a first index); para. 83; M groups and a codebook that has scrambling sequence for each of the M Groups); see also fig. 18; select first codebook of set of codebooks associated with first group of UEs)
obtaining the first signature from the first signature pool using the at least first index of the first signature. (See Lei para. 83-84; fig. 18; determine scrambling code based upon grouping (e.g. from the codebook))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (2020/0077402) and further in view of Misra (2005/0195885).
Regarding claim 3, Lei discloses the method of claim 1.
Lei does not explicitly disclose wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature. However, Misra does disclose wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; (See Misra para. 64; channelization code with a length; para. 65; channelization codes c[n]; para. 17, 31 integer) wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and (See Misra para. 66-67; scrambling codes v[n]) wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature. (See Misra fig. 5, para. 67-68; intermediate code s (e.g. third signature) that is used to create final wireless signal; s[n]=c[n]*v[n]) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lei to include the teaching of wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature of Misra with the motivation being to provide computation efficiency by only computing the once for the entire data sequence and further to reduce processing load and further to save energy.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (2020/0077402) and further in view of Makki (2021/0227476).
Regarding claim 6, Lei discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
wherein said obtaining the first signature comprises:
determining the first signature based on the UE group of the UE. (See Lei para. 6; scrambling code (e.g. first signature in that it is unique to the group) used by a group of UEs; para. 83; scrambling code determined based upon grouping)
Lei does not explicitly disclose obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource. However, Makki does disclose obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and (See Makki fig. 3, s302; channel gain conditions for channels between UE and NN, network node; see also para. 8) classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, (See Makki para. 8; depending on channel conditions, UEs are grouped s302; channel gain conditions for channels between UE and NN, network node) the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource. (See Makki para. 8; downlink NOMA transmission (e.g. to the UE via a physical resource) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lei to include the teaching of obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource of Makki with the motivation being to improve NOMA performance by taking into consideration channel conditions and further to allow for flexibility in usage of NOMA by enabling downlink operation and further for spectral efficiency and system capacity gains in the downlink and further for enhanced user fairness and coverage and further to support massive connectivity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei (2020/0077402).
Regarding claim 7, Lei discloses an apparatus for executing instructions to perform actions comprising: (See Lei para. 8; apparatus with processor executing an algorithm stored in memory)
obtaining a first signature for a group comprising a user equipment (UE); (See Lei para. 6; scrambling code (e.g. first signature in that it is unique to the group) used by a group of UEs)
obtaining a second signature for the UE; (See Lei para. 6; UE specific spreading code (e.g. a second signature in that it is unique to the UE))
generating a wireless signal based on the first and second signatures; and (See Lei para. 6; UE-specific spreading code (e.g. second signature) and scrambling code (e.g. first signature) are both applied to the NOMA signal (e.g. it is generated); see also fig. 3, 5; generate NOMA transmission)
transmitting the wireless signal via a physical resource from or to the UE. (See Lei para. 5; UE transmits the NOMA signal; see also fig. 5; NOMA transmission; para. 38; resources in time, frequency, spatial (e.g. physical resource))
Regarding claim 8, Lei discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises:
generating a bit sequence, (See Lei fig. 3; before the bit scrambling there is a sequence of bits that would be generated)
generating a first symbol sequence based on the bit sequence, and (See Lei fig. 3; after bit level processing there is modulation (e.g. which creates a symbol sequence); see also para. 77)
generating the wireless signal based on the first symbol sequence; and
wherein the method further comprises: (See Lei fig. 3; NOMA processing based upon the symbol sequence and generating the NOMA baseband Waveform; see also para. 78)
modifying the bit sequence and the symbol sequence based on one of the first and second signatures before said generating the first symbol sequence and based on the other of the first and second signatures before said generating the wireless signal, respectively,
modifying the bit sequence based on the first and second signatures before said generating the first symbol sequence, or (OR)
modifying the symbol sequence based on the first and second signatures before said generating the wireless signal. (See Lei fig. 3, para. 78; spreading component 345-a,m and scrambling component,360, before RE, resource element, mapping (e.g. modifying the symbol sequence) which is based upon spreading code and scrambling codes)
Regarding claim 10, Lei discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein said obtaining the second signature comprises:
obtaining at least a first index of the second signature indicating the second signature in a second signature pool comprising a plurality of second signatures; and (See Lei para. 112; UE-specific spreading code is based upon an index value or UE identification; set of UE specific spreading codes)
obtaining the second signature from the second signature pool using the at least first index of the second signature. (See Lei fig. 18; UE-specific spreading code is selected from a first codebook based upon a UE id or index value)
Regarding claim 11, Lei discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein said obtaining the first signature comprises:
obtaining at least a first index of the first signature indicating the first signature in the first signature pool comprising a plurality of first signatures; and (See Lei para. 84; group x (e.g. x being a number of the group; a first index); para. 83; M groups and a codebook that has scrambling sequence for each of the M Groups); see also fig. 18; select first codebook of set of codebooks associated with first group of UEs)
obtaining the first signature from the first signature pool using the at least first index of the first signature. (See Lei para. 83-84; fig. 18; determine scrambling code based upon grouping (e.g. from the codebook))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (2020/0077402) and further in view of Misra (2005/0195885).
Regarding claim 9, Lei discloses the apparatus of claim 7.
Lei does not explicitly disclose wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature. However, Misra does disclose wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; (See Misra para. 64; channelization code with a length; para. 65; channelization codes c[n]; para. 17, 31 integer) wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and (See Misra para. 66-67; scrambling codes v[n]) wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature. (See Misra fig. 5, para. 67-68; intermediate code s (e.g. third signature) that is used to create final wireless signal; s[n]=c[n]*v[n]) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lei to include the teaching of wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature of Misra with the motivation being to provide computation efficiency by only computing the once for the entire data sequence and further to reduce processing load and further to save energy.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (2020/0077402) and further in view of Makki (2021/0227476).
Regarding claim 12, Lei discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the actions further comprise:
wherein said obtaining the first signature comprises:
determining the first signature based on the UE group of the UE. (See Lei para. 6; scrambling code (e.g. first signature in that it is unique to the group) used by a group of UEs; para. 83; scrambling code determined based upon grouping)
Lei does not explicitly disclose obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource. However, Makki does disclose obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and (See Makki fig. 3, s302; channel gain conditions for channels between UE and NN, network node; see also para. 8) classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, (See Makki para. 8; depending on channel conditions, UEs are grouped s302; channel gain conditions for channels between UE and NN, network node) the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource. (See Makki para. 8; downlink NOMA transmission (e.g. to the UE via a physical resource) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lei to include the teaching of obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource of Makki with the motivation being to improve NOMA performance by taking into consideration channel conditions and further to allow for flexibility in usage of NOMA by enabling downlink operation and further for spectral efficiency and system capacity gains in the downlink and further for enhanced user fairness and coverage and further to support massive connectivity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 14, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei (2020/0077402).
Regarding claim 13, Lei discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a processing structure to perform actions comprising: (See Lei para. 8; apparatus with processor executing an algorithm stored in memory)
obtaining a first signature for a group comprising a user equipment (UE); (See Lei para. 6; scrambling code (e.g. first signature in that it is unique to the group) used by a group of UEs)
obtaining a second signature for the UE; (See Lei para. 6; UE specific spreading code (e.g. a second signature in that it is unique to the UE))
generating a wireless signal based on the first and second signatures; and (See Lei para. 6; UE-specific spreading code (e.g. second signature) and scrambling code (e.g. first signature) are both applied to the NOMA signal (e.g. it is generated); see also fig. 3, 5; generate NOMA transmission)
transmitting the wireless signal via a physical resource from or to the UE. (See Lei para. 5; UE transmits the NOMA signal; see also fig. 5; NOMA transmission; para. 38; resources in time, frequency, spatial (e.g. physical resource))
Regarding claim 14, Lei discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises:
generating a bit sequence, (See Lei fig. 3; before the bit scrambling there is a sequence of bits that would be generated)
generating a first symbol sequence based on the bit sequence, and(See Lei fig. 3; after bit level processing there is modulation (e.g. which creates a symbol sequence); see also para. 77)
generating the wireless signal based on the first symbol sequence; and(See Lei fig. 3; NOMA processing based upon the symbol sequence and generating the NOMA baseband Waveform; see also para. 78)
wherein the method further comprises:
modifying the bit sequence and the symbol sequence based on one of the first and second signatures before said generating the first symbol sequence and based on the other of the first and second signatures before said generating the wireless signal, respectively,
modifying the bit sequence based on the first and second signatures before said generating the first symbol sequence, or (OR)
modifying the symbol sequence based on the first and second signatures before said generating the wireless signal. (See Lei fig. 3, para. 78; spreading component 345-a,m and scrambling component,360, before RE, resource element, mapping (e.g. modifying the symbol sequence) which is based upon spreading code and scrambling codes)
Regarding claim 16, Lei discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein said obtaining the second signature comprises:
obtaining at least a first index of the second signature indicating the second signature in a second signature pool comprising a plurality of second signatures; and (See Lei para. 112; UE-specific spreading code is based upon an index value or UE identification; set of UE specific spreading codes)
obtaining the second signature from the second signature pool using the at least first index of the second signature. (See Lei fig. 18; UE-specific spreading code is selected from a first codebook based upon a UE id or index value)
Regarding claim 17, Lei discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the at least first index of the second signature comprises the first index of the second signature and a second index of the second signature indicating the second signature pool in a plurality of second signature pools; and (See Lei para. 112; UE-specific spreading code is based upon an index value or UE identification; set of UE specific spreading codes; second index is selected UE group/codebook identifier from the set of groups and selecting the first codebook associated with that group; see also para. 146; plurality of codebooks)
wherein said obtaining the second signature from the second signature pool using the at least first index of the second signature comprises:
obtaining the second signature pool from the plurality of second signature pools using the second index of the second signature, and
obtaining the second signature from the second signature pool using the first index of the second signature. (See Lei para. 112; UE-specific spreading code is based upon an index value or UE identification; set of UE specific spreading codes; second index is selected UE group/codebook identifier from the set of groups and selecting the first codebook associated with that group; see also para. 146; plurality of codebooks)
Regarding claim 18, Lei discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein said obtaining the first signature comprises:
obtaining at least a first index of the first signature indicating the first signature in the first signature pool comprising a plurality of first signatures; and (See Lei para. 84; group x (e.g. x being a number of the group; a first index); para. 83; M groups and a codebook that has scrambling sequence for each of the M Groups); see also fig. 18; select first codebook of set of codebooks associated with first group of UEs)
obtaining the first signature from the first signature pool using the at least first index of the first signature. (See Lei para. 83-84; fig. 18; determine scrambling code based upon grouping (e.g. from the codebook))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (2020/0077402) and further in view of Misra (2005/0195885).
Regarding claim 15, Lei discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13.
Lei does not explicitly disclose wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature. However, Misra does disclose wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; (See Misra para. 64; channelization code with a length; para. 65; channelization codes c[n]; para. 17, 31 integer) wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and (See Misra para. 66-67; scrambling codes v[n]) wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature. (See Misra fig. 5, para. 67-68; intermediate code s (e.g. third signature) that is used to create final wireless signal; s[n]=c[n]*v[n]) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lei to include the teaching of wherein the second signature comprises F elements s(0), s(1), . . . , s(F−1), where F>1 is an integer; wherein the first signature comprises F elements c(0), c(1), . . . , c(F−1); and wherein said generating the wireless signal based on the first and second signatures comprises: calculating a third signature as c(0)s(0), c(1)s(1), . . . , c(F−1)s(F−1); and generating a wireless signal based on the third signature of Misra with the motivation being to provide computation efficiency by only computing the once for the entire data sequence and further to reduce processing load and further to save energy.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (2020/0077402) and further in view of Ryu (2010/0061306)
Regarding claim 19, Lei discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18.
Lei discloses a first signature associated with a first group of UEs. Lei also discloses selecting a first group of UEs, determining a scrambling code associated with that first group and states that the scrambling code may be determined based on the selected first group and that a code book may be used to determine the scrambling code. (See Lei fig. 18)
Lei does not explicitly disclose organizing the first signature into indexed groups/pools and selecting a first signature within the selected group using a second index. However, Ryu does disclose organizing the first signature into indexed groups/pools and selecting a first signature within the selected group using a second index. (See Ryu para. 40; set of primary scrambling codes is divided into 65 scrabling code groups each consisting of 8PSC. The j-th scrambling code group (e.g. an second index) and k=0-7 (e.g. first index)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Lei to include the teaching of organizing the first signature into indexed groups/pools and selecting a first signature within the selected group using a second index of Ryu with the motivation being to allow for an efficient way to organize a large number of information which is more efficient than identifying all of them with bits and further to reduce the amount of control data by using a two tier/nested indexing scheme which allows for sending less bits and allows for quick switching as needed to improve connectivity.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (2020/0077402) and further in view of Makki (2021/0227476).
Regarding claim 20, Lei discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing structure to perform further actions comprising:
determining the first signature based on the UE group of the UE. (See Lei para. 6; scrambling code (e.g. first signature in that it is unique to the group) used by a group of UEs; para. 83; scrambling code determined based upon grouping)
Lei does not explicitly disclose obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource. However, Makki does disclose obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and (See Makki fig. 3, s302; channel gain conditions for channels between UE and NN, network node; see also para. 8) classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, (See Makki para. 8; depending on channel conditions, UEs are grouped s302; channel gain conditions for channels between UE and NN, network node) the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource. (See Makki para. 8; downlink NOMA transmission (e.g. to the UE via a physical resource) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lei to include the teaching of obtaining communication conditions of the physical resource; and classifying a plurality of UEs using the physical resource for communication into one or more UE groups based on the obtained communication conditions, the plurality of UEs comprising the UE; wherein said transmitting the wireless signal via the physical resource comprises: transmitting the wireless signal to the UE via the physical resource of Makki with the motivation being to improve NOMA performance by taking into consideration channel conditions and further to allow for flexibility in usage of NOMA by enabling downlink operation and further for spectral efficiency and system capacity gains in the downlink and further for enhanced user fairness and coverage and further to support massive connectivity.
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461