DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The last 2 lines of the claims do not make grammatical sense, it seems that some language is missing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 9 – 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (KR 20220023621) in view of He et al. (CN 112240580), and further in view of Howarth (US 8,030,825).
With respect to claims 1, 11, 12 and 16, Jeon et al. teach a system comprising a unit cell (Fig.4, Item 110) of a metasurface (Fig.1) configured for sound absorption of an incoming acoustic wave within a narrowband frequency range (Abstract), the unit cell comprising a resonator comprising an air cavity (Fig.4, Item S) within supporting material, the resonator comprising a chamber (Fig.4, Item S) and a neck port (Figs.3 and 4, Item 125) that exposes the air cavity to the incoming acoustic wave; but fail to disclose an electroacoustic transducer being a membrane-based transducer coupled to the resonator, the electroacoustic transducer configured to convert air pressure, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave, to electricity that is harvested as energy.
On the other hand, He et al. teach a resonator comprising a chamber (Fig.1, Item 21) and a neck port (Fig.1, Items 22 and 10) that exposes the air cavity to the incoming acoustic wave; and an electroacoustic transducer (Fig.1, Item 5) coupled to the resonator, the electroacoustic transducer configured to convert air pressure, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave, to electricity that is harvested as energy (Specification: ¶ starting with “With reference to FIG.1, the working principle…”).
Howarth teaches an energy harvester (Fig.2) comprising a membrane-based transducer (Fig.2, Items 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ He et al. and Howarth teachings with the Jeon et al. design because it would provide an energy harvesting configuration that advantageously would generate energy from the change in pressure of the fluid coming into the resonator, energy that could be used to power a system component as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application. Furthermore, the membrane-based transducer would act as a mechanical transformer amplifying applied forces while protecting the core of the transducer.
With respect to claim 2, Howarth teaches wherein the membrane-based transducer comprises a cymbal harvester transducer (Fig.1, Item 10; Col.4, Lines 43 – 63).
With respect to claims 3 and 14, Howarth teaches wherein the cymbal harvester transducer comprises piezoelectric material (Fig.1, Item 12), and He et al. teach wherein the piezoelectric transducer (Fig.1, Item 5) is positioned proximate to the air cavity on a wall of the neck (Fig.1, Item 10) cavity.
With respect to claims 4 and 16, He et al. teach further comprising an energy storage device (Fig.1, Item 8) electrically coupled to the electroacoustic transducer (Fig.1, Item 5) to obtain and store the energy (Specification: ¶ starting with “a plurality of piezoelectric ceramic sheets 5 connected in series…”).
With respect to claims 5 and 17, He et al. teach further comprising a resonant frequency reconfiguration device (Fig.1, Items 31, 32 and 7) electrically coupled to draw current from the energy storage device to adjust a resonant frequency of the resonator, to resonate the resonator at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave (Specification: description under “Specific implementation examples”).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, He et al. teach the use of multiples piezoelectric transducers (Fig.1, Items 5) positioned proximate to a first and second portions on the neck cavity (Fig1, Item 10), and wherein the electricity is first electricity harvested as first energy (as discussed regarding claim 4), the Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a second piezoelectric transducer configured to convert the air pressure, corresponding to the incoming acoustic wave entering the resonator, to second electricity harvested as second energy because it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d - 164 7 (1987).
With respect to claim 13, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to deploy an acoustic metasurface proximate to a server to phase cancel the at least some noise corresponding to the acoustic waves emanating from a server, as disclosed by Doll (US 7,314,113) or Tang et al. (US 7,891,464).
With respect to claim 15, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to form the acoustic metasurface by a three-dimensional printer that prints the supporting material as a solid structure in layers, in conjunction with omitting printing of the air cavity resonators as disclosed by Walsh et al. (US 11,498,282).
With respect to claim 19, He et al. teach further comprising a controller (Fig.1, Item 7) and a sensor (Fig.1, Item 6), wherein the controller is coupled to the sensor, and wherein the controller is coupled to control operation of the resonant frequency reconfiguration device (Fig.1, Items 4, 31 and 32) based on data obtained by the controller from the sensor.
With respect to claim 20, He et al. teach wherein the piezoelectric transducers (Fig,.1, Items 5) are coupled to the at least some of the unit cell resonators proximate to respective areas (Fig.1, Item 10) of the respective air cavities that are respective higher acoustic pressure areas relative to lower acoustic pressure areas of the respective air cavities. The Examiner considers that any person with ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that the neck of a Helmholtz resonator is the higher acoustic pressure area.
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (KR 20220023621) in view of He et al. (CN 112240580) and Howarth (US 8,030,825), and further in view of Fischer (GB 2 288 660).
Jeon et al., He et al. and Howarth teach the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fail to disclose further comprising a heater electrically coupled to the electroacoustic transducer to convert at least some of the energy to heat, to heat air in the resonator as part of determining a resonant frequency of the resonator, to resonate the resonator at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave.
Nevertheless, Fischer teaches a Helmholtz resonator (Fig.5, Item 4) comprising a heater (Fig.5, Item 5) to heat air in the resonator as part of determining a resonant frequency of the resonator, to resonate the resonator at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Fischer teachings with the Jeon et al., He et al. and Howarth design and electrically coupled a heater to the electroacoustic transducer to convert at least some of the energy to heat because it would provide a system in where the actuators would need minimal, if any, energy consumption from a source outside of the system.
Claims 7, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (KR 20220023621) in view of He et al. (CN 112240580) and Howarth (US 8,030,825), and further in view of Kostun et al. (US 6,792,907).
Jeon et al., He et al. and Howarth teach the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fail to disclose wherein the resonator comprises a moveable partition that is moveable to change a volume of the resonator, and further comprising an actuator electrically coupled to the electroacoustic transducer to move the moveable partition, using at least some of the energy, to change the volume of the resonator as part of determining a resonant frequency of the resonator, to resonate the resonator at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave, or wherein the resonator comprises a device comprising a moveable portion that is moveable to change airflow in the resonator, the device coupled to the electroacoustic transducer to move the moveable portion, using at least some of the energy, to change the airflow of the resonator as part of determining a resonant frequency of the resonator, to resonate the resonator at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave.
However, Kostun et al. teach a Helmholtz resonator (Fig.3, Item 12”) comprises a moveable partition (Fig.3, Item 14”) that is moveable to change a volume of the resonator, and further comprising an actuator (Fig.3, Item 18”) to move the moveable partition to change the volume of the resonator as part of determining a resonant frequency of the resonator, to resonate the resonator at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave (Abstract), or wherein the resonator comprises a device comprising a moveable portion (Fig.3, Item 34’’’) that is moveable to change airflow in the resonator as part of determining a resonant frequency of the resonator, to resonate the resonator at the resonant frequency to phase cancel the incoming acoustic wave, responsive to the unit cell being exposed to the incoming acoustic wave (Abstract) (Col.5, Line 11 – Col.6, Line 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Kostun et al. configuration with the Jeon et al., He et al. and Howarth design because it would provide a system in where the actuators would need minimal, if any, energy consumption from a source outside of the system.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/814,038 in view of Howarth (US 8,030,825).
Howarth teaches an energy harvester (Fig.2) comprising a membrane-based transducer (Fig.2, Items 10), wherein the membrane-based transducer comprises a cymbal harvester transducer (Fig.1, Item 10; Col.4, Lines 43 – 63); and wherein the cymbal harvester transducer comprises piezoelectric material (Fig.1, Item 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Howarth cymbal harvester transducer as the piezoelectric transducer because the cymbal transducer would act as a mechanical transformer amplifying applied forces while protecting the piezoelectric core of the transducer.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are describing the same invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
June 27, 2026