DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-21, 26-31, 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zou, WO 2016177177 A1.
For claim 18. Zou teaches: A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: perform a logical channel prioritization procedure, wherein the processor being configured to perform the logical channel prioritization procedure comprises the processor being configured to: (Zhou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, UE performs logical channel prioritization procedure; page 37, 2nd paragraph to page 38, 3rd paragraph, method implemented using processor executing programs/instructions stored in memory)
receive a physical layer signaling indicating a transmission time interval associated with an uplink transmission; (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration… Optionally, when the system only supports a single default short TTI format, the short TTI format in the DCI can be replaced by a single-bit short TTI indication information. Optionally, the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI. Optionally, the short TTI format may contain only each control channel within the short TTI, and the data channel for which short TTI communication is performed may be further indicated by information in each control channel within the short TTI.”)
select, based on the physical layer signaling, one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission; and transmit data associated with the uplink transmission using the selected one or more logical channels. (Zou, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 102: The user equipment uses the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication… The user equipment utilizes the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication, including: The user equipment determines the short TTI communication format based on the indication information of the short TTI communication format in the resource allocation information for short TTI communication. The user equipment obtains the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format; The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication”; clearly “The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication” includes selecting a logical channel since page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph states “the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI”)
For claim 19. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Zou further teaches: wherein the one or more logical channels are selected in response to the transmission time interval of the uplink transmission being below a threshold. (Zou, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 102: The user equipment uses the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication… The user equipment utilizes the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication, including: The user equipment determines the short TTI communication format based on the indication information of the short TTI communication format in the resource allocation information for short TTI communication. The user equipment obtains the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format; The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication”; clearly “The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication” includes selecting a logical channel since page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph states “the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI”; short TTI means the TTI is below a certain length)
For claim 20. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Zhou further teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to: receive transmission information from a physical layer, the transmission information comprising at least the transmission time interval of the uplink transmission and information associated with subcarrier spacing. (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration… Optionally, when the system only supports a single default short TTI format, the short TTI format in the DCI can be replaced by a single-bit short TTI indication information. Optionally, the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI. Optionally, the short TTI format may contain only each control channel within the short TTI, and the data channel for which short TTI communication is performed may be further indicated by information in each control channel within the short TTI.”; page 3, 2nd paragraph, “Short Transmission Time Interval (TTI) access technology reduces the transmission time interval (TTI) of the LTE system, thereby significantly shortening processing latency and backhaul latency to support the ultra-low latency requirements of certain services. There are currently two methods to reduce TTI. One method is to reduce the duration of a single OFDM symbol by increasing the subcarrier spacing of the Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) system.”; short TTI information is information associated with subcarrier spacing since “There are currently two methods to reduce TTI. One method is to reduce the duration of a single OFDM symbol by increasing the subcarrier spacing of the Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) system”)
For claim 21. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Zou further teaches: wherein the physical layer signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI). (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))
For claim 26. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Zou further teaches: wherein the uplink transmission is a first uplink transmission, and wherein the processor is further configured to receive a second physical layer signaling indicating a second transmission time interval associated with a second uplink transmission, wherein the transmission time interval associated with the first uplink transmission is different from the second transmission time interval associated with the second uplink transmission. (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration.”; just a repeat of the steps with different short TTI length for different transmission)
For claim 27. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Zou further teaches: wherein the uplink transmission further comprises an index that indicates a selected transport format associated with the uplink transmission. (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration… Optionally, when the system only supports a single default short TTI format, the short TTI format in the DCI can be replaced by a single-bit short TTI indication information. Optionally, the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI. Optionally, the short TTI format may contain only each control channel within the short TTI, and the data channel for which short TTI communication is performed may be further indicated by information in each control channel within the short TTI.”; single-bit short TTI indication information is an index)
For claim 28. Zou teaches: A method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: performing a logical channel prioritization procedure, wherein performing the logical channel prioritization procedure comprises: (Zhou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, UE performs logical channel prioritization procedure)
receiving a physical layer signaling indicating a transmission time interval associated with an uplink transmission; (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration… Optionally, when the system only supports a single default short TTI format, the short TTI format in the DCI can be replaced by a single-bit short TTI indication information. Optionally, the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI. Optionally, the short TTI format may contain only each control channel within the short TTI, and the data channel for which short TTI communication is performed may be further indicated by information in each control channel within the short TTI.”)
selecting, based on the physical layer signaling, one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission; and transmitting data associated with the uplink transmission using the selected one or more logical channels. (Zou, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 102: The user equipment uses the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication… The user equipment utilizes the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication, including: The user equipment determines the short TTI communication format based on the indication information of the short TTI communication format in the resource allocation information for short TTI communication. The user equipment obtains the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format; The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication”; clearly “The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication” includes selecting a logical channel since page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph states “the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI”)
For claim 29. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 28, and Zou further teaches: wherein the one or more logical channels are selected in response to the transmission time interval of the uplink transmission being below a threshold. (Zou, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 102: The user equipment uses the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication… The user equipment utilizes the resource allocation information for short TTI communication to perform short TTI communication, including: The user equipment determines the short TTI communication format based on the indication information of the short TTI communication format in the resource allocation information for short TTI communication. The user equipment obtains the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format; The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication”; clearly “The user equipment uses the configuration information corresponding to the short TTI communication format to configure short TTI communication” includes selecting a logical channel since page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph states “the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI”; short TTI means the TTI is below a certain length)
For claim 30. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 28, and Zou further teaches: further comprising: receiving transmission information from a physical layer, the transmission information comprising at least the transmission time interval of the uplink transmission and information associated with subcarrier spacing. (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration… Optionally, when the system only supports a single default short TTI format, the short TTI format in the DCI can be replaced by a single-bit short TTI indication information. Optionally, the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI. Optionally, the short TTI format may contain only each control channel within the short TTI, and the data channel for which short TTI communication is performed may be further indicated by information in each control channel within the short TTI.”; page 3, 2nd paragraph, “Short Transmission Time Interval (TTI) access technology reduces the transmission time interval (TTI) of the LTE system, thereby significantly shortening processing latency and backhaul latency to support the ultra-low latency requirements of certain services. There are currently two methods to reduce TTI. One method is to reduce the duration of a single OFDM symbol by increasing the subcarrier spacing of the Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) system.”; short TTI information is information associated with subcarrier spacing since “There are currently two methods to reduce TTI. One method is to reduce the duration of a single OFDM symbol by increasing the subcarrier spacing of the Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) system”)
For claim 31. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 28, and Zou further teaches: wherein the physical layer signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI). (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))
For claim 36. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 28, and Zou further teaches: wherein the uplink transmission is a first uplink transmission, and wherein the method further comprises receiving a second physical layer signaling indicating a second transmission time interval associated with a second uplink transmission, wherein the transmission time interval associated with the first uplink transmission is different from the second transmission time interval associated with the second uplink transmission. (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration.”; just a repeat of the steps with different short TTI length for different transmission)
For claim 37. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 28, wherein the uplink transmission further comprises an index that indicates a selected transport format associated with the uplink transmission. (Zou, translation, page 24, 4th paragraph to page 26, 4th paragraph, “Step 101: The user equipment receives resource allocation information from the PDCCH for short TTI communication”; TTI is transmission time interval, PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) is physical layer; page 26, 5th paragraph to page 28, 1st paragraph, “As shown in Figure 2, the resources for short TTI communication in both the uplink and downlink directions are dynamically indicated by the dedicated downlink control information (DCI) unit format in the PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)… Optionally, the UE (User Equipment) obtains specific parameters for short TTI access from the DCI (Downlink Control Information), including the length of the short TTI, the length of the control channel in each short TTI, and its configuration… Optionally, when the system only supports a single default short TTI format, the short TTI format in the DCI can be replaced by a single-bit short TTI indication information. Optionally, the short TTI format may include each control channel and corresponding data channel within the short TTI. Optionally, the short TTI format may contain only each control channel within the short TTI, and the data channel for which short TTI communication is performed may be further indicated by information in each control channel within the short TTI.”; single-bit short TTI indication information is an index)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-24, 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou, WO 2016177177 A1 in view of Park, US 20100254480.
For claim 22. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 18, however Zou doesn’t teach: wherein the processor being configured to select, based on the physical layer signaling, one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission comprises the processor being configured to: select one or more medium access control (MAC) service data units (SDUs) associated with the one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission.
Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the processor being configured to select, based on the physical layer signaling, one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission comprises the processor being configured to: select one or more medium access control (MAC) service data units (SDUs) associated with the one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission. (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38, “Data stored in transmission buffers (TxBuffer1 to TxBuffer3) corresponding to each logical channel respectively are transferred to the MAC layer through a corresponding logical channel in a type of MAC SDU (MAC Service Data Unit). The MAC layer generates MAC PDU (MAC Protocol Data Unit) and then transfers the generated MAC PDU to the physical layer, wherein the MAC PDU includes at least part of the MAC SDU received through each logical channel. In FIG. 6, since LoCH1 and LoCH2 undergo multiplexing in the MAC layer, MAC SDUs transferred through LoCH1 and LoCH2 are included in one MAC PDU.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Park into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for data transmission, and Park suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique using MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUs into a MAC PDU since it’s well-known in the art to use MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUS into a MAC PDU for data transmission (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 23. Zou and Park disclose all the limitations of claim 22, however Zou doesn’t teach: wherein the processor is further configured to: multiplex the selected one or more MAC SDUs into a MAC protocol data unit (PDU).
Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to: multiplex the selected one or more MAC SDUs into a MAC protocol data unit (PDU). (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38, “Data stored in transmission buffers (TxBuffer1 to TxBuffer3) corresponding to each logical channel respectively are transferred to the MAC layer through a corresponding logical channel in a type of MAC SDU (MAC Service Data Unit). The MAC layer generates MAC PDU (MAC Protocol Data Unit) and then transfers the generated MAC PDU to the physical layer, wherein the MAC PDU includes at least part of the MAC SDU received through each logical channel. In FIG. 6, since LoCH1 and LoCH2 undergo multiplexing in the MAC layer, MAC SDUs transferred through LoCH1 and LoCH2 are included in one MAC PDU.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Park into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for data transmission, and Park suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique using MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUs into a MAC PDU since it’s well-known in the art to use MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUS into a MAC PDU for data transmission (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 24. Zou and Park disclose all the limitations of claim 23, however Zou doesn’t teach: wherein a first set of MAC SDUs comprises the selected one or more MAC SDUs, and wherein the processor is further configured to: select a second set of one or more MAC SDUs; and multiplex the selected second set of one or more MAC SDUs into the MAC PDU.
Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a first set of MAC SDUs comprises the selected one or more MAC SDUs, and wherein the processor is further configured to: select a second set of one or more MAC SDUs; and multiplex the selected second set of one or more MAC SDUs into the MAC PDU. (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38, “Data stored in transmission buffers (TxBuffer1 to TxBuffer3) corresponding to each logical channel respectively are transferred to the MAC layer through a corresponding logical channel in a type of MAC SDU (MAC Service Data Unit). The MAC layer generates MAC PDU (MAC Protocol Data Unit) and then transfers the generated MAC PDU to the physical layer, wherein the MAC PDU includes at least part of the MAC SDU received through each logical channel. In FIG. 6, since LoCH1 and LoCH2 undergo multiplexing in the MAC layer, MAC SDUs transferred through LoCH1 and LoCH2 are included in one MAC PDU.”; multiple MAC SDUs for multiple logical channels)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Park into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for data transmission, and Park suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique using MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUs into a MAC PDU since it’s well-known in the art to use MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUS into a MAC PDU for data transmission (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 32. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 28, however Zou doesn’t teach: wherein selecting, based on the physical layer signaling, one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission comprises: selecting one or more medium access control (MAC) service data units (SDUs) associated with the one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission.
Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein selecting, based on the physical layer signaling, one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission comprises: selecting one or more medium access control (MAC) service data units (SDUs) associated with the one or more logical channels for the uplink transmission. (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38, “Data stored in transmission buffers (TxBuffer1 to TxBuffer3) corresponding to each logical channel respectively are transferred to the MAC layer through a corresponding logical channel in a type of MAC SDU (MAC Service Data Unit). The MAC layer generates MAC PDU (MAC Protocol Data Unit) and then transfers the generated MAC PDU to the physical layer, wherein the MAC PDU includes at least part of the MAC SDU received through each logical channel. In FIG. 6, since LoCH1 and LoCH2 undergo multiplexing in the MAC layer, MAC SDUs transferred through LoCH1 and LoCH2 are included in one MAC PDU.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Park into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for data transmission, and Park suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique using MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUs into a MAC PDU since it’s well-known in the art to use MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUS into a MAC PDU for data transmission (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 33. Zou and Park disclose all the limitations of claim 32, however Zou doesn’t teach: further comprising: multiplexing the selected one or more MAC SDUs into a MAC protocol data unit (PDU).
Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising: multiplexing the selected one or more MAC SDUs into a MAC protocol data unit (PDU). (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38, “Data stored in transmission buffers (TxBuffer1 to TxBuffer3) corresponding to each logical channel respectively are transferred to the MAC layer through a corresponding logical channel in a type of MAC SDU (MAC Service Data Unit). The MAC layer generates MAC PDU (MAC Protocol Data Unit) and then transfers the generated MAC PDU to the physical layer, wherein the MAC PDU includes at least part of the MAC SDU received through each logical channel. In FIG. 6, since LoCH1 and LoCH2 undergo multiplexing in the MAC layer, MAC SDUs transferred through LoCH1 and LoCH2 are included in one MAC PDU.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Park into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for data transmission, and Park suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique using MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUs into a MAC PDU since it’s well-known in the art to use MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUS into a MAC PDU for data transmission (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 34. Zou and Park disclose all the limitations of claim 33, however Zou doesn’t teach: wherein a first set of MAC SDUs comprises the selected one or more MAC SDUs, and wherein method further comprises: selecting a second set of one or more MAC SDUs; and multiplexing the selected second set of one or more MAC SDUs into the MAC PDU.
Park from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a first set of MAC SDUs comprises the selected one or more MAC SDUs, and wherein method further comprises: selecting a second set of one or more MAC SDUs; and multiplexing the selected second set of one or more MAC SDUs into the MAC PDU. (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38, “Data stored in transmission buffers (TxBuffer1 to TxBuffer3) corresponding to each logical channel respectively are transferred to the MAC layer through a corresponding logical channel in a type of MAC SDU (MAC Service Data Unit). The MAC layer generates MAC PDU (MAC Protocol Data Unit) and then transfers the generated MAC PDU to the physical layer, wherein the MAC PDU includes at least part of the MAC SDU received through each logical channel. In FIG. 6, since LoCH1 and LoCH2 undergo multiplexing in the MAC layer, MAC SDUs transferred through LoCH1 and LoCH2 are included in one MAC PDU.”; multiple MAC SDUs for multiple logical channels)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Park into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for data transmission, and Park suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique using MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUs into a MAC PDU since it’s well-known in the art to use MAC SDUs to transfer data corresponding to each logical channel to the MAC layer and multiplex such MAC SDUS into a MAC PDU for data transmission (Park, fig 6, paragraph 36-38) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
Claims 25, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou, WO 2016177177 A1 in view of Wikstrom, US 20190044642.
For claim 25. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 18, however Zou doesn’t teach: wherein the processor is further configured to determine a transport block size associated with the uplink transmission.
Wikstrom from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to determine a transport block size associated with the uplink transmission. (Wikstrom, fig 7, paragraph 7-8, “According to a first aspect, an apparatus for selecting a Transport Block Size (TBS) for a transmitter of a communication system is provided. The communication system supports variable Transmission Time Interval (TTI) lengths regarding the number of symbols to be transmitted in one TI. The apparatus is configured to receive first information indicative of a TTI length, receive second Information indicative of a number of reference symbols included in the TTI, decode, from the first information, the TTI length, and decode, from the second information, the number of reference symbols included in the TTI. The apparatus is further configured to calculate, based on the TTI length and based on the number of reference symbols included in the TTI, a number of data symbols included in the TTI, calculate, based on an allocation bandwidth and based on the number of data symbols included in the TTI, a number of data Resource Elements (REs) in the TTI, and select the TBS from a data structure, based on the calculated number of data REs. According to a second aspect, a User Equipment (UE) is provided, the UE comprising the apparatus of the first aspect.”; paragraph 19-33, “The apparatus may be configured to calculate the number of data symbols included in the TTI by using the equation D=L−R, wherein D is the number of data symbols included in the TTI, L is the TTI length represented by the number of symbols to be transmitted in one TTI, and R is the number of reference symbols included in the TTI. The above calculation may be performed for determining the number D of data symbols included in the uplink (UL) TTI. In this disclosure, uplink (UL) describes communication (i.e., data flow) from the UE to the base station (e.g., an eNB) and downlink (DL) describes communication from the base station to the UE. The apparatus may be configured to calculate the number of data REs in the TTI by using the equation N=B*D*S, wherein N is the number of data REs in the TTI, B is the allocation bandwidth represented by a number of Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), D is the number of data symbols included in the TTI, and S is the number of subcarriers in one PRB… The apparatus may be configured to select the TBS from the data structure, based on the calculated number of data REs and based on a TBS Index… The TTI may be a short TTI (sTTI).”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Wikstrom into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for communication using short TTI, and Wikstrom suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique the selecting a TBS based on number of data Resource Elements in the TTI for such communication to accommodate different TTI lengths and varying number of reference symbols (Wikstrom, paragraph 102) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 35. Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 28, however Zou doesn’t teach: further comprising determining a transport block size associated with the uplink transmission.
Wikstrom from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising determining a transport block size associated with the uplink transmission. (Wikstrom, fig 7, paragraph 7-8, “According to a first aspect, an apparatus for selecting a Transport Block Size (TBS) for a transmitter of a communication system is provided. The communication system supports variable Transmission Time Interval (TTI) lengths regarding the number of symbols to be transmitted in one TI. The apparatus is configured to receive first information indicative of a TTI length, receive second Information indicative of a number of reference symbols included in the TTI, decode, from the first information, the TTI length, and decode, from the second information, the number of reference symbols included in the TTI. The apparatus is further configured to calculate, based on the TTI length and based on the number of reference symbols included in the TTI, a number of data symbols included in the TTI, calculate, based on an allocation bandwidth and based on the number of data symbols included in the TTI, a number of data Resource Elements (REs) in the TTI, and select the TBS from a data structure, based on the calculated number of data REs. According to a second aspect, a User Equipment (UE) is provided, the UE comprising the apparatus of the first aspect.”; paragraph 19-33, “The apparatus may be configured to calculate the number of data symbols included in the TTI by using the equation D=L−R, wherein D is the number of data symbols included in the TTI, L is the TTI length represented by the number of symbols to be transmitted in one TTI, and R is the number of reference symbols included in the TTI. The above calculation may be performed for determining the number D of data symbols included in the uplink (UL) TTI. In this disclosure, uplink (UL) describes communication (i.e., data flow) from the UE to the base station (e.g., an eNB) and downlink (DL) describes communication from the base station to the UE. The apparatus may be configured to calculate the number of data REs in the TTI by using the equation N=B*D*S, wherein N is the number of data REs in the TTI, B is the allocation bandwidth represented by a number of Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), D is the number of data symbols included in the TTI, and S is the number of subcarriers in one PRB… The apparatus may be configured to select the TBS from the data structure, based on the calculated number of data REs and based on a TBS Index… The TTI may be a short TTI (sTTI).”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Wikstrom into Zou, since Zou suggests a technique for communication using short TTI, and Wikstrom suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique the selecting a TBS based on number of data Resource Elements in the TTI for such communication to accommodate different TTI lengths and varying number of reference symbols (Wikstrom, paragraph 102) in the analogous art of communication.
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462