DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed September 9, 2026, claims 1, 4-6, 9, 12-14, 17, and 19- 20 have been amended, claims 2, 10 and 18 are canceled, and claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page Section 1 page 1, filed September 9, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-20 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see Section II page 1, filed September 9, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 9 and 17 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claims 1, 9 and 17, the applicant argued that, see page 3 and page 4 Item 1 (Feature 4), “…As discussed in paragraph [0115] of Bai, the UE may request SIB2-9 on demand using MSG1 or MSG3 in an RACH procedure. Bai further explains that the UE may use a dedicated preamble in MSG1 of RACH to request system information, or may use contention-based random access and indicate the purpose in MSG4. Bai therefore does not disclose or suggest, in the on-demand system information operation described in paragraph [0115], the claimed sequence in which the UE receives the second system information before the RA procedure and subsequently performs the RA procedure with the first TRP based on the already received second system information. This is different from the operation recited in Feature 4. According to amended claim 1, the UE first receives the second system information based on SIB1, and then performs the RA procedure with the first TRP based on the received second system information. Thus, the claimed second system information is already available to the UE before the RA procedure is performed. The second system information is therefore used as a basis for performing the RA procedure. In contrast, Bai describes a situation in which the UE may initiate an RACH procedure to request system information. Bai therefore does not disclose or suggest the claimed sequence in which the UE receives the second system information before the RA procedure and subsequently performs the RA procedure with the first TRP based on the already received second system information. The distinction is not merely a difference in the type of system information. Rather, the embodiments corresponding to amended claim 1 require a particular order and functional relationship between the reception of the second system information and the RA procedure. Specifically, the second system information is received first, and the RA procedure is thereafter performed based on the received second system information. Accordingly, Bai does not disclose or suggest Feature 4”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claims 1, 9 and 17, Bai clearly teaches, receiving a first synchronization signal block (SSB) including a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) (see Fig.2, para. 0114-0115, the UE receiving a first SSB including a PBCH from /broadcast by the base stations 105 (e.g., TRPs 145 a-d) in a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of an SSB);
receiving a system information block (SIB1) based on a master information block (MIB) included in the PBCH (see para. 0114-0116, identifying /receiving a SIB1 based a MIB included in the PBCH);
receiving second system information based on the SIB1 (see para. 0114-0118, the SIB1 includes system information such as, cell selection information, cell access information, connection establishment information, system information scheduling information, serving cell configuration information, emergency support information, call over IMS support information, timer and constant information, barring information, resume identifiers, non-critical extensions, critical extensions, the UE 115-a uses at least a portion of such information from the MIB or the SIB1 to communicate in a cell (e.g., by applying the system information / second system information based on the SIB1, as is clearly shown in Figure 2, UE 115-b receives second System Information 145-b, the UE 115-a identifies that the cell corresponding to TRP 145-b shares the system information 210 based on the cell having the same area code (e.g., tracking area code (TAC) or routing area code (RAC)), see also Fig.3, para. 0120-0125, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the base station 105-b transmits a configuration message 310 to the UE 115-b, the configuration message 310 indicate which portions of the system information that is shared, the configuration message 310 may indicate that some of the system information of the MIB is the shared system information, the configuration message 310 indicates that information of the SIB1 is shared system information, the configuration message 310 also indicates that information of both the MIB and the SIB is shared system information, clearly there are two information SIB1 210 and configuration message 310, second system information based on the SIB1, indicates that information of both the MIB and the SIB is shared system information); and performing a random access (RA) procedure with the first TRP based on the second system information (see para. 0114-0119, UE 115-a request the SIB2-9 on demand using MSG1 or MSG3 in a random access channel (RACH) procedure / performing a RA procedure with the base station based on the second system information with TRP 145-b, the UE 115-a uses at least a portion of the MIB or the SIB1 to communicate in a cell (e.g., by applying the second system information), also, the UE 115-a receives the system information 210 and applies the system information 210 to communications with TRPs 145-b, 145-c, and 145-d, the UE 115-a detects that it is in a new cell corresponding to a TRP 145, such as TRP 145-b, as the UE 115-a travels with the HST 205, see also Fig.3, para. 0120-0126, transmitting a random access (RA) request/procedure with the first TRP based on the received second system information).
Regarding amended claims 1, 9 and 17, the applicant argued that, see page 5 - page 7, Item 2 (Feature 6), “…More importantly, regardless of the distinction between a TA value and a TA offset, Molavian does not disclose the claimed manner of providing timing information: Feature 6 specifically requires that information on a TA offset for each SSB group be included in the second system information, whereas Molavian discloses determining a TA value from an RAR associated with a corresponding RA procedure. In other words, Molavian does not disclose that TA offset information is provided to the UE through the second system information. Rather, the timing information disclosed in paragraph [0329] is obtained from an RAR associated with a corresponding RA procedure. Furthermore, the manner and timing of obtaining the timing information are different. In Molavian, the UE determines the TA value from an RAR associated with the corresponding RA procedure. Thus, the TA value is obtained in connection with the RA procedure, rather than being provided in advance through second system information. In contrast, amended claim 1 requires, in corresponding embodiments, that the UE
receive the second system information, wherein the second system information includes the TA offset information for each SSB group, and then perform the RA procedure with the first TRP based on the received second system information. Accordingly, under amended claim 1, the TA offset information for the respective SSB groups is available to the UE prior to performing the RA procedure because the information is included in the second system information received by the UE. Molavian contains no disclosure or suggestion of such an arrangement. In particular, paragraph [0329] does not teach or suggest providing TA offset information for each SSB group in second system information received before the RA procedure, instead of determining TA values from RARs associated with the respective RA procedures. Therefore, Molavian does not disclose or suggest Feature 6.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claims 1, 9 and 17, Molavian clearly teaches, wherein a second system information includes information on SSB group(s) and mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and the information on the SSB group(s) includes information on an SSB index transmitted by TRP(s) belonging to each of the SSB group(s) (see Fig.9, para. 0020, 0210, SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 / a second system information and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2, a number of “SSB groups” are considered for a cell, where each “SSB group” corresponds to a different TRP / mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and a UE determines a first SSB index from the first SSB group for a first RA procedure, the UE determines that the first RA procedures is associated with the first TRP, see also Fig.7, para. 0236, 0237, In step 710, a UE (such as the UE 116) performs a first random access (RA)/initial access (IA) procedure on a first cell. In step 720, UE initiates/performs a second RA/IA procedure on a second cell while the first RA/IA procedure is not completed. The second cell can be different from the first cell. An IA procedure can include, for example, one or more of: SSB reception from corresponding cells, acquisition of time and frequency synchronization, reception and detection of PBCH/MIB, reception and detection of SIB1, performing RA procedure, and successfully establishing RRC connection, and the UE uses a first system information such as a first RA configuration received in the first IA procedure towards a first cell/TRP to determine (parts of) a second system information such as a second RA configuration received in a second IA procedure towards a second cell/TRP, see also Fig.9, para. 0239-0245, In step 920, the UE determines one or more SSBs from the first SSB group and one or more SSBs from the second SSB group. Herein, determining SSB(s) refers to SSB detection during initial access, or SSB selection for CBRA after RRC connection and in step 930, the UE initiates a first RA procedure corresponding to the one or more SSBs from the first SSB group, see also 0250-0255, 0258-0262), wherein the second system information further includes information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s) (see Fig.9, Fig.11-12, para. 0327-0329, second information includes information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s), see also para. 0219, 0237, 0268, 0431).
Examiner Note: Instant published application disclose (SUMMARY), [0007] A method of a mobile station (MS), according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure for achieving the above-described objective, may comprise: receiving a first synchronization signal block (SSB) including a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) from a first transmission and reception point (TRP); receiving a system information block (SIB1) based on a master information block (MIB) included in the PBCH; receiving second system information based on the SIB1; and performing a random access (RA) procedure with the first TRP based on the second system information, wherein the second system information may include information on SSB group(s) and mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and the information on the SSB group(s) may include information on an SSB index transmitted by TRP(s) belonging to each of the SSB group(s). [0008] The second system information may further include information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s). However, no other details are provided. Applicant seems to be arguing page 26 lines 23-24 and page 27 lines 1-6 (published application paragraph 0109), “According to the 5G NR standards, the TRP 510 is stipulated to sequentially increase the SSB indices from the first transmitted beam to the last transmitted beam. For example, the TRP 510 may transmit an SSB having an SSB index #0 through the first beam 521, an SSB having an SSB index #1 through the second beam 522, an SSB having an SSB index #2 through the third beam 523, an SSB having an SSB index #3 through the fourth beam 524, an SSB having an SSB index #4 through the fifth beam 525, an SSB having an SSB index #5 through the sixth beam 526, an SSB having an SSB index #6 through the seventh beam 527, and an SSB having an SSB index #7 through the eighth beam 528”. However, there are no relationship between Summary paragraphs 0007 - 0008 and argued paragraph 0109, in view of providing support for the broadly claimed invention and instant specification (other than repeating the claimed language).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed by Bai and Molavian reads upon “receiving a first synchronization signal block (SSB) including a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) from a first transmission and reception point (TRP); receiving a system information block (SIB1) based on a master information block (MIB) included in the PBCH; receiving second system information based on the SIB1; and performing a random access (RA) procedure with the first TRP based on the received second system information, wherein the second system information includes information on SSB groups and mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and the information on the SSB groups includes information on an SSB index transmitted by TRPs belonging to each of the SSB groups, and wherein the second system information further includes information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB groups” as recites in the claim.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, the applicant argued that, see page 7 Item (3), “…The teachings of Bai and Molavian, even when combined, do not disclose or suggest the claimed arrangement. As discussed above, Bai discloses receiving system information through the MIB and
SIBs and describes an RACH procedure for requesting additional system information. However, Bai does not disclose or suggest the claimed operation in which the UE receives the second
system information and thereafter performs an RA procedure with the first TRP based on the received second system information. Molavian, on the other hand, provides teachings concerning SSB groups and associations between SSB indexes and TRPs. However, Molavian does not disclose that the second system information includes TA offset information for each SSB group. Instead, paragraph [0329] of Molavian describes determining TA values from RARs associated with respective RA procedures.
Importantly, neither Bai nor Molavian provides a teaching or suggestion that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the second system information to include a TA offset for each SSB group and to use the received second system information, including such TA offset information, as a basis for performing the RA procedure with the first TRP. The claimed arrangement therefore cannot be obtained merely by combining the teachings of Bai and Molavian. Such a combination would require modifying the manner in which the timing information is provided in Molavian, as well as modifying the relationship between system information and the RA procedure disclosed in Bai. The cited references provide no sufficient teaching or motivation for making such modifications.
Accordingly, Bai in view of Molavian fails to disclose or suggest at least Features 4 and 6 of amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 is not rendered obvious by Bai in view of Molavian, and the Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of amended claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, so as to enable a UE to perform multiple concurrent random access procedures with multiple transmission reception points or multiple cells, see Molavian, paragraphs 4-7.
In response to applicant's argument that the second system information includes TA offset information for each SSB group, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., According to the 5G NR standards, the TRP 510 is stipulated to sequentially increase the SSB indices from the first transmitted beam to the last transmitted beam. For example, the TRP 510 may transmit an SSB having an SSB index #0 through the first beam 521, an SSB having an SSB index #1 through the second beam 522, an SSB having an SSB index #2 through the third beam 523, an SSB having an SSB index #3 through the fourth beam 524, an SSB having an SSB index #4 through the fifth beam 525, an SSB having an SSB index #5 through the sixth beam 526, an SSB having an SSB index #6 through the seventh beam 527, and an SSB having an SSB index #7 through the eighth beam 528”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the applicant argued that, see page 9 Item B, “…. Regarding dependent claims 3-8: Claims 3 and 4 depend, directly or indirectly, from amended claim 1 and therefore include all of the limitations of amended claim 1. Accordingly, for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to amended claim 1, the additional references relied upon by the Action do not cure the deficiencies of Bai and Molavian and do not otherwise render claims 3-4 obvious. In this regard, the Examiner has indicated that Claims 5-8, which also depend, directly or indirectly, from amended claim 1, are allowable. Therefore, the Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of claims 3-4 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 should be withdrawn.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Per above cited reasons, the listed claims are not allowable.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the applicant argued that, see page , see page 9 Item D, “… Regarding dependent claims 11-16: Claims 11 and 12 depend, directly or indirectly, from amended claim 9 and therefore include all of the limitations of amended claim 9. Accordingly, for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to amended claim 9, the additional references relied upon by the Action do not cure the deficiencies of Bai and Molavian and do not otherwise render claims 11-12 obvious. In this regard, the Action has indicated that claims 13-16, which also depend, directly or indirectly, from amended claim 9, are allowable.
Therefore, the Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of claims 11-12 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 should be withdrawn.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Per above cited reasons, the listed claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0314853), and further in view of Molavian et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0210844).
As per claim 1, Bai disclose A method of a mobile station (MS) (see Fig.2, UE115-a), comprising:
receiving a first synchronization signal block (SSB) including a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) (see para. 0114-0115, the UE receiving a first SSB including a PBCH from /broadcast by the base stations 105 (e.g., TRPs 145) in a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of an SSB);
receiving a system information block (SIB1) based on a master information block (MIB) included in the PBCH (see para. 0114-0116, identifying /receiving a SIB1 based a MIB included in the PBCH);
receiving second system information based on the SIB1 (see para. 0114-0118, the SIB1 includes system information such as, cell selection information, cell access information, connection establishment information, system information scheduling information, serving cell configuration information, emergency support information, call over IMS support information, timer and constant information, barring information, resume identifiers, non-critical extensions, critical extensions, the UE 115-a uses at least a portion of such information from the MIB or the SIB1 to communicate in a cell (e.g., by applying the system information / second system information based on the SIB1, as is clearly shown in Figure 2, UE 115-b receives second System Information 145-b, the UE 115-a identifies that the cell corresponding to TRP 145-b shares the system information 210 based on the cell having the same area code (e.g., tracking area code (TAC) or routing area code (RAC)), see also Fig.3, para. 0120-0125, As illustrated in FIG. 3, the base station 105-b transmits a configuration message 310 to the UE 115-b, the configuration message 310 indicate which portions of the system information that is shared, the configuration message 310 may indicate that some of the system information of the MIB is the shared system information, the configuration message 310 indicates that information of the SIB1 is shared system information, the configuration message 310 also indicates that information of both the MIB and the SIB is shared system information, clearly there are two information SIB1 210 and configuration message 310, second system information based on the SIB1, indicates that information of both the MIB and the SIB is shared system information); and
performing a random access (RA) procedure with the first TRP based on the second system information (see para. 0114-0119, UE 115-a request the SIB2-9 on demand using MSG1 or MSG3 in a random access channel (RACH) procedure / performing a RA procedure with the base station based on the second system information with TRP 145-b, the UE 115-a uses at least a portion of the MIB or the SIB1 to communicate in a cell (e.g., by applying the second system information), also, the UE 115-a receives the system information 210 and applies the system information 210 to communications with TRPs 145-b, 145-c, and 145-d, the UE 115-a detects that it is in a new cell corresponding to a TRP 145, such as TRP 145-b, as the UE 115-a travels with the HST 205, see also Fig.3, para. 0120-0126, transmitting a random access (RA) request/procedure with the first TRP based on the received second system information),
Although Bai disclose performing a random access (RA) procedure with the first TRP based on the second system information;
Bai however does not explicitly disclose wherein the second system information includes information on SSB group(s) and mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and the information on the SSB group(s) includes information on an SSB index transmitted by TRP(s) belonging to each of the SSB group(s).
Molavian however disclose wherein a second system information includes information on SSB group(s) and mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and the information on the SSB group(s) includes information on an SSB index transmitted by TRP(s) belonging to each of the SSB group(s) (see Fig.9, para. 0020, 0210, SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 / a second system information and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2, a number of “SSB groups” are considered for a cell, where each “SSB group” corresponds to a different TRP / mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and a UE determines a first SSB index from the first SSB group for a first RA procedure, the UE determines that the first RA procedures is associated with the first TRP, see also Fig.7, para. 0236, 0237, In step 710, a UE (such as the UE 116) performs a first random access (RA)/initial access (IA) procedure on a first cell. In step 720, UE initiates/performs a second RA/IA procedure on a second cell while the first RA/IA procedure is not completed. The second cell can be different from the first cell. An IA procedure can include, for example, one or more of: SSB reception from corresponding cells, acquisition of time and frequency synchronization, reception and detection of PBCH/MIB, reception and detection of SIB1, performing RA procedure, and successfully establishing RRC connection, and the UE uses a first system information such as a first RA configuration received in the first IA procedure towards a first cell/TRP to determine (parts of) a second system information such as a second RA configuration received in a second IA procedure towards a second cell/TRP, see also Fig.9, para. 0239-0245, In step 920, the UE determines one or more SSBs from the first SSB group and one or more SSBs from the second SSB group. Herein, determining SSB(s) refers to SSB detection during initial access, or SSB selection for CBRA after RRC connection and in step 930, the UE initiates a first RA procedure corresponding to the one or more SSBs from the first SSB group, see also 0250-0255, 0258-0262), wherein the second system information further includes information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s) (see Fig.9, Fig.11-12, para. 0327-0329, second information includes information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s), see also para. 0219, 0237, 0268, 0431).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a second system information includes information on SSB group(s) and mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and the information on the SSB group(s) includes information on an SSB index transmitted by TRP(s) belonging to each of the SSB group(s), wherein the second system information further includes information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s), as taught by Molavian, in the system of Bai, so as to enable a UE to perform multiple concurrent random access procedures with multiple transmission reception points or multiple cells, see Molavian, paragraphs 4-7.
Examiner Note: Instant published application disclose (SUMMARY), [0007] A method of a mobile station (MS), according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure for achieving the above-described objective, may comprise: receiving a first synchronization signal block (SSB) including a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) from a first transmission and reception point (TRP); receiving a system information block (SIB1) based on a master information block (MIB) included in the PBCH; receiving second system information based on the SIB1; and performing a random access (RA) procedure with the first TRP based on the second system information, wherein the second system information may include information on SSB group(s) and mapping information of an SSB group to which the first TRP belongs, and the information on the SSB group(s) may include information on an SSB index transmitted by TRP(s) belonging to each of the SSB group(s). [0008] The second system information may further include information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s). However, no other details are provided. Applicant seems to be arguing page 26 lines 23-24 and page 27 lines 1-6 (published application paragraph 0109), “According to the 5G NR standards, the TRP 510 is stipulated to sequentially increase the SSB indices from the first transmitted beam to the last transmitted beam. For example, the TRP 510 may transmit an SSB having an SSB index #0 through the first beam 521, an SSB having an SSB index #1 through the second beam 522, an SSB having an SSB index #2 through the third beam 523, an SSB having an SSB index #3 through the fourth beam 524, an SSB having an SSB index #4 through the fifth beam 525, an SSB having an SSB index #5 through the sixth beam 526, an SSB having an SSB index #6 through the seventh beam 527, and an SSB having an SSB index #7 through the eighth beam 528”. However, there are no relationship between Summary paragraphs 0007 - 0008 and argued paragraph 0109, in view of providing support for the broadly claimed invention and instant specification (other than repeating the claimed language).
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Bai also disclose A mobile station (MS) (see Fig.5, a UE 115, see para. 0133) comprising a processor (see Fig.5, the device 505 includes a receiver 510, a communications manager 515, and a transmitter 520, the device 505 also includes a processor, see para. 0133).
As per claim 17, claim 17 (corresponds to a method of a performed by a base station (BS)) is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
Claims 3-4, 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0314853), in view of Molavian et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0210844) and further in view of Jia et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0381446).
As per claim 3, the combination of Bai and Molavian disclose the method according to claim 1.
Molavian further disclose receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message from the first TRP and wherein the RRC configuration message includes SSB group mapping relationship information for the first TRP and adjacent TRPs (see Fig.9, para. 0120, 0242-0246, FIG. 9 illustrates the method 900 describing a flowchart for two concurrent RA procedures on two TRPs captured as two “SSB groups”. In step 910, a UE (such as the UE 116) receives a configuration (such as higher layer configuration in SIB1 or common RRC) of a first “SSB group” and a second “SSB group.” For example, “SSB group(s)” can be a new information element (IE) in SIB1 or common RRC configuration under “non-critical extensions” that is read and interpreted only by capable UEs and are discarded by other UEs. In another example, SSB groups can be provided by a new other system information (OSI) that is broadcasted or transmitted on demand or provided by dedicated RRC configuration , see also para. 0293).
The combination of Bai and Molavian however does not explicitly disclose transmitting an RRC configuration complete message to the first TRP in response to the RRC configuration message;
Jia however disclose transmitting an RRC configuration complete message to the first TRP in response to a RRC configuration message (see para. 0242-0243, 0257, a first message (Msg5) after the random access procedure is completed is an RRC establishment / configuration complete message, see also para. 0295-0297, 0312).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of transmitting an RRC configuration complete message to the first TRP in response to a RRC configuration message, as taught by Jia, in the system of Bai and Molavian, so as to enable a UE to response to a RRC configuration message, see Jia, paragraph 0312.
As per claim 4, the combination of Bai, Molavian and Jai disclose the method according to claim 3.
Molavian further disclose wherein a RRC configuration message further includes information on a TA offset for each of the SSB group(s) (see para. 0329, a RRC configuration message includes information on a timing advance (TA) offset for each of the SSB group(s) ).
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 13-16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al (US Pub. No.:2023/0188283) – see para. 0076-0078, “The UE 302 may receive scheduling information scheduling uplink transmission of the UE with a TRP on a carrier according to a TAG associated with the TRP. In some embodiments, the UE 302 may receive first configuration information of the carrier of the serving cell 310 via a RRC configuration signaling. FIGS. 7A and 7B illustrate embodiment configuration information that may be sent to the UE, indicating an association of a TAG with an uplink transmission by the UE. The first configuration information may include/indicate an association between a first group of uplink signals and channels to be transmitted on the carrier by the UE in the serving cell 310 and the uplink TAGi, and the TAGi is associated with a first TA value. That is, the first configuration information of the carrier indicates that transmission of the first group of uplink signals and channels by the UE is according to the first TA value of the TAGi. The first configuration information may be transmitted by the TRP0 312 to the UE 302. The UE 302 may also receive second configuration information of the carrier, which includes/indicates an association between a second group of uplink signals and channels to be transmitted on the carrier by the UE and the uplink TAG2, and the TAG2 is associated with a second TA value. That is, the second configuration information of the carrier indicates that transmission of the second group of uplink signals and channels by the UE is according to the second TA value of the TAG2. The second configuration information may be transmitted by the TRP0 312 or the TRP1 314 to the UE 302.”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469