CTNF 18/814,136 CTNF 87607 DETAILED ACTION Status of the Claims Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. § 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 6, 8-9, 11-12, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Veloz, III, US 8,191,007 B1 . Regarding claim 1 , Veloz discloses a method comprising: Generating tab information about tabs opened on a user device . Veloz teaches extracting information (e.g., metadata) from webpages of open tabs. Veloz 7:46-50, 55-60. Identifying a tab group from the tabs, the tab group including at least two tabs determined to be related based on the tab information . Veloz teaches determining a grouping for the webpages of open tabs. Veloz 7:55-58. Generating a label for the tab group based on at least a portion of the tab information . Veloz teaches generating a label (“identifier”) for the grouping. Veloz 7:61-63. Modifying a tab strip to include the label and the tab group . Veloz teaches modifying a window to include the label (“identifier”). Veloz fig. 1 (identifier 114A), 5:21-24, 6:15-19. Regarding claim 2 , which depends on claim 1, Veloz discloses initiating display of a tab group interface, the tab group interface identifying the tab group and a new tab group, the tab group interface identifying a new tab for inclusion in the tab group, the new tab having been created after creation of the tab group . Veloz 6:45-56. Regarding claim 6 , which depends on claim 1, Veloz discloses wherein generating the label includes: generating one or more words that describes the tab group; and generating an icon that represents the tab group . Veloz 5:24-28. Regarding claim 8 , which depends on claim 1, Veloz discloses: receiving a selection of an organize control displayed in a browser window that includes at least one of the tabs; and in response to the selection of the organize control, initiating identification of the tab group from the tabs . Veloz teaches the use of a selection tool to initiate identification of a tab group. Veloz 7:44-46. Regarding claim 9 , which depends on claim 1, Veloz discloses: detecting an organization event for the tab strip; and in response to detecting the organization event, displaying a control in the tab strip, the control, when selected, configured to initiate identification of the tab group from the tabs . Veloz teaches the use of a selection tool to initiate identification of a tab group. Veloz 7:44-54. Regarding claim 11 , which depends on claim 1, Veloz discloses wherein the tab information includes page titles and resource locators associated with the tabs . Veloz teaches extracting information (e.g., metadata or content) from webpages of open tabs. Veloz 7:44-63. Claims 12 and 16 are drawn to an apparatus that implements the methods recited in claims 1 and 6, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims. Claims 18-19 are drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the methods recited in claims 1-2, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. § 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 7, 13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Veloz, III, US 8,191,007 B1, in view of Barrus et al, US 2016/0139750 A1 . Regarding claim 3 , which depends on claim 1, Veloz discloses: initiating display of a tab group interface, the tab group interface identifying a tab group suggestion … the tab group suggestion including information that identifies the at least two tabs, the tab group suggestion including a control configured to create the tab group; and in response to selection of the control, modifying the tab strip to include the label and the tab group . Veloz teaches a tab group interface identifying a tab group suggestion and associated label. Veloz 7:50-63. Veloz teaches generating a label (“identifier”) for the grouping. Id. 7:61-63. Veloz teaches the interface providing controls to create a tab group. See id. 7:21-23. Veloz teaches modifying a window to include the label (“identifier”). Id. fig. 1 (identifier 114A), 5:21-24, 6:15-19. Veloz does not explicitly disclose the tab group suggestion including an editable field populated with the label . However, Barrus teaches displaying a field populated with a label (“name”) that may be edited. Barrus fig. 10, ¶ 78. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Veloz’s tab group interface with Barrus’s process of providing an editable label. Such a modification would increase usability by allowing a user to readily customize the label according to the user’s desire. Regarding claim 7 , which depends on claim 1, Veloz discloses wherein modifying the tab strip includes: inserting the label into the tab strip; and identifying the tab group in the tab strip proximate to the label . Veloz teaches modifying a window to include the label (“identifier”). Veloz fig. 1 (identifier 114A), 5:21-24, 6:15-19. Veloz does not disclose wherein a selection of the label causes the tab group to collapse or expand . However, Barrus teaches receiving user selection of a label. Barrus ¶ 76. In response, a selectable option to expand a tab group is presented. Id. ¶ 77, figs. 10-12. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Veloz’s tab group interface with Barrus’s process of providing an option to expand a tab group. Such a modification would increase usability by allowing a user to quickly view the content associated with multiple tabs. Claims 13 and 17 are drawn to an apparatus that implements the methods recited in claims 3 and 7, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims. Claim 20 is drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the method recited in claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejection of the corresponding claim . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Veloz, III, US 8,191,007 B1, in view of Bhupatiraju et al, US 2017/0199638 A1 . Regarding claim 10 , which depends on claim 9, Veloz does not explicitly disclose, but Bhupatiraju discloses wherein detecting the organization event includes determining that a suggested group of tabs in the tab strip has a quality score that achieves a quality threshold . Bhupatiraju teaches creating a suggested group of tabs when the tabs have a similarity score above a threshold. Bhupatiraju ¶ 37. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Veloz’s process of grouping tabs with Barrus’s process of suggesting tab groups when he tabs have a similarity score above a threshold. Such a modification would increase usability by ensuring that only sufficiently relevant tabs are grouped together, thus decreasing cognitive burden placed on users . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4-5 and 14-15 contain allowable subject matter. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-5 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Although particular portions of the prior art may have been cited in support of the rejections, the specified citations are merely representative of the teachings. Other passages and figures in the cited prior art may apply. Accordingly, Applicant should consider the entirety of the cited prior art for potentially teaching all or part of the claims. 07-96 The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Motghare et al., US 2018/0321804 A1, discloses “stowing” groups of browser tabs. Rothschiller et al, US 2024/0028183 A1, discloses a user interface for grouping tabs. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Asher D Kells whose telephone number is (571)270-7729. The examiner can normally be reached Mon. - Fri., 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kieu Vu can be reached at 571-272-4057. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Asher D. Kells Primary Examiner Art Unit 2171 /Asher D Kells/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/814,136 Page 2 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/814,136 Page 3 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/814,136 Page 4 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/814,136 Page 5 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/814,136 Page 6 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/814,136 Page 7 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/814,136 Page 8 Art Unit: 2171