DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 04/28/2026.
Claims 1, 3-16, and 20-23 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1, 3-16, and 20 are either amended directly or via a claim they depend from.
Claims 2 and 17-19 are canceled.
Claims 21-23 are new.
Claims 1, 3-16, and 20-23 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument’s and corresponding amendments, see pages 13-17, filed on 04/28/2026, have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
Regarding the Claim Objections: The limitation comprising an informality has be canceled, therefore the objection is moot.
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 § USC 101: Applicant’s arguments that the amended independent claims, (Page 15, Line 14) “amount to significantly more,” have been deemed persuasive due to the incorporation of the TCU carrying out the pertinent calling and updating steps. Accordingly, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 § USC 102/103: Applicant’s arguments/amendments have overcome all previously applied rejections. However, after further search and consideration, new grounds of rejections that do not rely upon an issue particularly challenged by the Applicant have been respectfully made in response to the amendments. The new grounds can be viewed in the subsequent, Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, section for applicant’s consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 11-16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al., (CN 105764033 A, hereinafter Cao), in view of Sterkel et al. (US 2012/0232782 A1, hereinafter Sterkel) in view of Samsalovic et al. (US 8,775,074 B2, hereinafter Samsalovic)
Claim 1 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“A travel information sharing method, performed by an on-board terminal comprising a processor, the method comprising:”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention is applied to a first terminal, the first terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle … The first terminal obtains the first target route … The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” wherein, (Paragraph [0170], Lines 1-3) “The first terminal, the second terminal, and the server are shown as an example of hardware entity S11 in Figure 14. The device includes a processor 61.”
“executing, by the processor of the on-board terminal, an on-board map application and an on-board social application, wherein the on-board terminal is mounted on board of a vehicle”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“ and is a transmission control unit (TCU) of a vehicle management system of the vehicle;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0138], Lines 1-2) “the first terminal further includes an information sending unit,” And additionally, (Paragraph [0140], Lines 1-2)“a first determining unit, configured to initiate a target route planning request by the first terminal.”
“logging in, by the on-board terminal, the on-board social application by using a first user account of a first user;”
Cao teaches using, (Paragraph [0062], Lines 2-3) “QQ login account information provided by the user through voice instruction (or through touch operation input on the display unit 108).”
“displaying, by the on-board terminal, a travel interface of the the vehicle
Cao teaches that, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“locally calling, by the processor of the on-board terminal, [[an]] the on-board social application in response to detecting a sharing operation in the travel interface, the sharing operation a user terminal of a second user associated with [[a]]the first user,”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
“the travel information comprising a travel route and a moving progress of the on-board terminal along the travel route; and in response to the travel information being updated, sharing the updated travel information with the second user, comprising: updating, at an update frequency, the moving progress of the on-board terminal, to obtain an updated moving progress;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 2-3) “enabling users in the information sharing group to share information based on the trajectory formed by the navigation route.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 3-9) “obtaining the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory; obtaining the relative position information of the at least one second terminal relative to the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory, wherein the relative position information is generated by the position information reported by the second user in real time; displaying the first realtime driving trajectory, the estimated trajectory, and the relative position information in the user interface of the first terminal,” and subsequently, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 10-11) “providing the first real-time driving trajectory, which is updated in real time, to the at least one second terminal for use.”
Therefore, Cao teaches continuous updating/displaying/sharing of a driving trajectory, but does not explicitly share a moving progress along the route.
However, Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The user interface of the first terminal displays: real-time location information of the vehicle as it follows the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0102]) “Here, the first target route includes the origin and destination. Considering the need to support segmented navigation and the dynamic changes of personnel in the information sharing group, the destination in this embodiment of the invention is not limited to the final destination, but may include multiple intermediate destinations.” Therefore, Cao is capable of interpreting the real-time location of a vehicle and sharing information regarding arriving at intermediate locations along the way to a final destination.
Sterkel does teach a moving progress.
Sterkel teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “a moving map that includes a graphical representation of a vehicle,” and that, (Paragraph [0032]) “the moving map engine determines that a vehicle has moved from one location to another as the vehicle is in transit on a trip from a departure or source location to an arrival or destination location … the moving map engine may estimate the current position of the vehicle by predicting a progress of the vehicle along a trip plan that may be based on the delayed position, a predicted or actual heading of the vehicle, and/or a predicted or actual speed of the vehicle. If the vehicle was last reported to be on schedule along the predicted path, then the moving map engine may predict that the vehicle is still on schedule along the predicted path.”
Sterkel additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “In one embodiment, a checkin to a road trip, bus trip, train trip, boat trip, plane trip, or any other trip may cause rolling status updates based on the path or itinerary of the moving person or moving vehicle. A single post may be periodically modified, replaced, or updated such that the expected location of the user on the trip is updated to other users of a social networking site.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the real-time navigation sharing system of Cao, with the explicit measurement of periodic travel progress updates shared to other users as taught by Sterkel, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the social networking benefits of updating other users of a first user’s particular location. As Sterkel describes, (Paragraph [0073]) “users of the moving map application may share status updates with each other via messages, posts, or notifications, viewable either through the social networking application or through the moving map application,” and that, “The social networking status of the user may be updated periodically or according to user-defined settings even if the user's trip includes biking or walking to a train, and continuing the journey on the train. The social networking engine may receive periodic updates from a client engine running on the user's mobile device.”
“adding the updated moving progress to a message queue; and transmitting, by using the on-board map application to a map server, a latest moving progress in the message queue at a reporting frequency, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency
Cao and Sterkel do not explicitly teach adding the updated moving progress to a message queue; and transmitting, by using the on-board map application to a map server, a latest moving progress in the message queue at a reporting frequency, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency.
However, it would have been obvious to arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Samsalovic.
Samsalovic is not explicitly directed to an on-board map application and an on-board social application, but is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to its teachings regarding the nature of implementing message queues in regards to choosing the frequency at which map information is updated.
Samsalovic teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “A method and system for refreshing location code data … The system includes a location code change system that receives map change data and location code change data,” wherein, (Page 11, Column 5, Lines 11-21) “The data connection 203 is used to stream map changes from the map data store 201 to the map changes store 205. Preferably, the map data store 201 continuously streams map changes to the map changes store 205; however, the map changes may be provided to the map changes store 205 in a non-continuous manner as well. The data connection 203 is preferably optimized for high throughput and low latency networks with a guaranteed data delivery mechanism. Different technologies may be used to transmit only the delta information that is sufficient to describe each change. The map data may be compressed for more efficient delivery. Therefore, data may be provided to the map change store at a frequency which is continuous.
Samsalovic additionally teaches, (Page 11, Column 6, Lines 62-67 and Page 12, Column 7, Lines 1-4) “The map change queue 307 is a data structure that stores change messages before they are processed by the location code updater 310. The map change queue 307 holds messages in a common format that preserves change information, but abstracts variations in message structure between different map providers and map versions. In one example, the map change queue 307 adheres to FIFO (First-In-First-Out) principle. Of course, the map change queue 307 may use other rules for providing the change messages to the location code updater 310.”
Samsalovic additionally teaches, (Page 12, Column 7, Lines 12-21) “The queue filter 309 disregards map changes that are not applicable to the location code data. The queue filter 309 checks against the process metadata repository 306 to obtain a list of applicable map change types. As a result, the location code change system 300 can be dynamically reconfigured to ignore or become aware of certain types of map change types. Map change messages that are ignored can be logged or returned back to the map change queue 307 based on the configuration stored in process metadata repository 306.” Therefore, not all map changes are passed on from the queue, and therefore map updates are effectively reported at a lower frequency.
Samsalovic additionally teaches a particular example wherein reporting frequency is limited to a particular moment in time, wherein, (Page 11, Column 6, Lines 29-39) “The request scheduler 303 (referred to herein as the scheduler 303) is used for creating and maintaining schedules for requesting map changes. The scheduler 303 stores schedule data in the process metadata repository 306. The scheduler 303 signals the requester 302 when it is time to issue a request for map changes. Different update schedules may be defined for each map data provider. Additionally, different update schedules may be specified for individual map versions within a single map provider. For example, a map provider can specify that map changes for Q1 2008 map version are retrieved every Sunday at 2:00:00.000 CST.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle management system which shares a moving progress of a traveling mobile terminal along a route a taught by Cao and Sterkel, with the methodology of implementing a message queue at reporting frequency to update map information, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency as taught by Samsalovic, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in order to achieve the well-known data/power saving benefits of implementing a message queue wherein the frequency of outputted information is less than inputted information, while still maintaining the user benefits of having an up to date map. As Samsalovic describes, (Page 9, Column 2, Lines 22-24) “By refreshing the location code data frequently, users of the location code data are more likely to obtain accurate data,” wherein, (Page 1, Column 5, Lines 19-21) “Different technologies may be used to transmit only the delta information that is sufficient to describe each change. The map data may be compressed for more efficient delivery.”
Claim 3 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim [[2]]1, wherein the sharing updated travel information with the second user in a case that the travel information is updated comprises
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0148], Lines 8-11) “the first terminal drives towards a designated destination through the estimated trajectory, and provides the first real-time driving trajectory obtained through real-time driving updates to the at least one second terminal for use.” The preceding teaching being mapping to, “sharing an updated travel route with the second user when the travel route is updated.”
Claim 4 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim [[2]]1, wherein
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 5-9) “the voice navigation data includes driving direction, current driving route speed limit information, and driving route change reminder information. In particular, when the vehicle 200 deviates from the navigation path, the navigation path to the target position is recalculated and the corresponding voice navigation data is played,” and that, (Paragraph [0058], Lines 7-11) “the controller 101 can calculate the navigation path according to the characteristics of the navigation path set by the user when setting the target location (such as the shortest distance, the smoothest road conditions, etc.), or load navigation paths with multiple characteristics in the display unit 108 to facilitate the user to choose according to their needs.”
Claim 5 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim [[2]]1, wherein the updating, at the update frequency, the moving progress of the on-board terminal based on the location of the on-board terminal on the travel route.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 2-3) “enabling users in the information sharing group to share information based on the trajectory formed by the navigation route.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 3-9) “obtaining the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory; obtaining the relative position information of the at least one second terminal relative to the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory, wherein the relative position information is generated by the position information reported by the second user in real time; displaying the first realtime driving trajectory, the estimated trajectory, and the relative position information in the user interface of the first terminal,” and subsequently, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 10-11) “providing the first real-time driving trajectory, which is updated in real time, to the at least one second terminal for use.”
Claim 6 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising one of the following: transmitting, in a case that the on-board terminal ends a current trip, a trip end message to a terminal logged in by the second user, the trip end message being configured for prompting the on-board terminal to end the current trip; or transmitting, in response to a sharing cancel operation, a sharing cancel message to the terminal logged in by the second user, the sharing cancel message being configured for prompting the on-board terminal to cancel sharing of the travel information.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0082]) “Here, a second user can apply to join the information sharing group at any time, and can also leave the information sharing group at any time. The method further includes: updating the information sharing group after receiving a request from the at least one second terminal to exit the navigation route sharing,” and that in, (Paragraph [0125]) “Step 304: When it is detected that the distance deviation between the predetermined second target route of the at least one second terminal and the navigation route exceeds a threshold or is inconsistent with the entire trajectory of the destination and/or route, the user selects to exit the navigation route, sends out an exit request for the sharing of the navigation route, and updates the information sharing group.”
Claim 11 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a location of the second user, the location of the second user being a location of the terminal logged in by the second user; and displaying a location of the on-board terminal and the location of the second user in the travel interface of the on-board terminal.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0026], Lines 6-11) “the user interface of the first terminal displaying: real-time location information of the first terminal driving a vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route, and real-time location information of the at least one second terminal driving or riding in a vehicle following the first real-time driving trajectory after obtaining the first real-time driving trajectory based on the location information of the driving vehicle.”
Claim 12 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the travel information comprises a first travel route of the on-board terminal, and the method further comprises: determining a second travel route based on the first travel route and the location of the second user in response to the sharing operation, the second travel route being a route with a highest degree of overlap with the first travel route among candidate travel routes, the candidate travel route being a route of which a start point is at the location of the second user, and an end point is the same as an end point of the first travel route, and the location of the second user being the location of the terminal logged in by the second user; and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: sharing the travel information and the second travel route with the second user by using the on-board social application.”
Cao teaches that, (Paragraph [0012]) “The user interface of the first terminal displays: real-time location information of the vehicle as it follows the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0102]) “Here, the first target route includes the origin and destination. Considering the need to support segmented navigation and the dynamic changes of personnel in the information sharing group, the destination in this embodiment of the invention is not limited to the final destination, but may include multiple intermediate destinations.”
Cao additionally teaches that, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 8-16) “The navigation route (estimated trajectory) indicated by A11 and the actual driving route of the lead vehicle (real-time trajectory) indicated by A12 can completely overlap or partially overlap. The lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach the same destination, as shown in the terminal (the final destination in the entire navigation route) on the right side of Figure 6. Alternatively, the lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach different destinations, but share the same intermediate destination (where the trajectories partially overlap). This supports segmented navigation and segmented multi-person travel scenarios,” which during, (Paragraph [0120]) “Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal.”
Cao subsequently teaches in, (Paragraph [0122]) “Step 302: When it is detected that the second target route predetermined by the at least one second terminal and the navigation route partially overlap in the destination and/or the entire route trajectory, select to join the navigation route and provide feedback on the joining request for sharing the navigation route.”
Claim 13 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with [[a]]the second user associated with [[a]]the first user comprises: transmitting the travel information to [[a]]the map server by using the on-board map application; and transmitting a sharing request to the map server by using the on-board social application, the sharing request
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0135]) “Figure 11 shows the system architecture of an embodiment of the present invention, including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a server. In a multi-person travel scenario consisting of a first terminal user driving and at least one second terminal user driving, the first terminal and at least one second terminal respectively report real-time information to the server. The first terminal shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” and that, (Paragraph [0057], Lines 4-6) “the controller 101 loads the map data related to the location of the vehicle 200 from the network server through the data communication function provided by the cellular module 103 when locating the vehicle 200,” as well as, (Paragraph [0066], Lines 10-11) “The server stores the real-time information reported by the first user and at least one second user in the real-time shared information database 600.”
Claim 14 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claim 13, wherein the travel information comprises a route identifier of [[a]]the travel route being navigated to, and the transmitting the travel information to [[a]]the map server by using the on-board map application comprises: transmitting the route identifier to the map server by using the on-board map application, the sharing request
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0135]) “Figure 11 shows the system architecture of an embodiment of the present invention, including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a server. In a multi-person travel scenario consisting of a first terminal user driving and at least one second terminal user driving, the first terminal and at least one second terminal respectively report real-time information to the server. The first terminal shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” and that, (Paragraph [0057], Lines 4-6) “the controller 101 loads the map data related to the location of the vehicle 200 from the network server through the data communication function provided by the cellular module 103 when locating the vehicle 200,” as well as, (Paragraph [0066], Lines 10-11) “The server stores the real-time information reported by the first user and at least one second user in the real-time shared information database 600.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “The first terminal obtains the first target route; The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal.”
Claim 15 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method according to claims 14, wherein
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0135]) “Figure 11 shows the system architecture of an embodiment of the present invention, including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a server. In a multi-person travel scenario consisting of a first terminal user driving and at least one second terminal user driving, the first terminal and at least one second terminal respectively report real-time information to the server. The first terminal shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” and that, (Paragraph [0057], Lines 4-6) “the controller 101 loads the map data related to the location of the vehicle 200 from the network server through the data communication function provided by the cellular module 103 when locating the vehicle 200,” as well as, (Paragraph [0066], Lines 10-11) “The server stores the real-time information reported by the first user and at least one second user in the real-time shared information database 600.”
“the sharing request
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “The first terminal obtains the first target route; The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal.”
Claim 16 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application comprises: displaying a route planning interface by using the on-board map application, the route planning interface displaying a planned travel route; or displaying a route navigation interface by using the on-board map application, the route navigation interface displaying the travel route being navigated to.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 8-16) “The navigation route (estimated trajectory) indicated by A11 and the actual driving route of the lead vehicle (real-time trajectory) indicated by A12 can completely overlap or partially overlap. The lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach the same destination, as shown in the terminal (the final destination in the entire navigation route) on the right side of Figure 6. Alternatively, the lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach different destinations, but share the same intermediate destination (where the trajectories partially overlap). This supports segmented navigation and segmented multi-person travel scenarios,” which during, (Paragraph [0120]) “Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal.”
Claim 20 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“A computer device of an on-board terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory having at least one computer program stored therein, and the at least one computer program being loaded and executed by the processor to implement
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0168], Lines 1-4) “It should be noted that the first terminal and the second terminal mentioned above can be electronic devices such as PCs, portable electronic devices such as PADs, tablets, and laptops, smart mobile terminals such as mobile phones, and vehicle terminals, and are not limited to the descriptions here,” and that, (Paragraph [0169]) “Specifically, the processor used for data processing can be a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), or a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) during processing; the storage medium contains operation instructions, which can be computer-executable code, and the operation instructions are used to implement the various steps in the information processing method flow of the above embodiments of the present invention.”
“executing an on-board map application and an on-board social application, wherein the on-board terminal is mounted on board of a vehicle”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“and is a transmission control unit (TCU) of a vehicle management system of the vehicle;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0138], Lines 1-2) “the first terminal further includes an information sending unit,” and additionally, (Paragraph [0140], Lines 1-2)“a first determining unit, configured to initiate a target route planning request by the first terminal.”
“logging in the on-board social application by using a first user account of a first user;”
Cao teaches using, (Paragraph [0062], Lines 2-3) “QQ login account information provided by the user through voice instruction (or through touch operation input on the display unit 108).”
“displaying a travel interface of the the vehicle
Cao teaches that, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“locally calling [[an]] the on-board social application in response to detecting a sharing operation in the travel interface, the sharing operation information; [[and]] sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a user terminal of a second user associated with [[a]]the first user,”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
“the travel information comprising a travel route and a moving progress of the on-board terminal along the travel route; and in response to the travel information being updated, sharing the updated travel information with the second user, comprising: updating, at an update frequency, the moving progress of the on-board terminal, to obtain an updated moving progress;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 2-3) “enabling users in the information sharing group to share information based on the trajectory formed by the navigation route.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 3-9) “obtaining the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory; obtaining the relative position information of the at least one second terminal relative to the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory, wherein the relative position information is generated by the position information reported by the second user in real time; displaying the first realtime driving trajectory, the estimated trajectory, and the relative position information in the user interface of the first terminal,” and subsequently, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 10-11) “providing the first real-time driving trajectory, which is updated in real time, to the at least one second terminal for use.”
Therefore, Cao teaches continuous updating/displaying/sharing of a driving trajectory, but does not explicitly share a moving progress along the route.
However, Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The user interface of the first terminal displays: real-time location information of the vehicle as it follows the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0102]) “Here, the first target route includes the origin and destination. Considering the need to support segmented navigation and the dynamic changes of personnel in the information sharing group, the destination in this embodiment of the invention is not limited to the final destination, but may include multiple intermediate destinations.” Therefore, Cao is capable of interpreting the real-time location of a vehicle and sharing information regarding arriving at intermediate locations along the way to a final destination.
Sterkel teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “a moving map that includes a graphical representation of a vehicle,” and that, (Paragraph [0032]) “the moving map engine determines that a vehicle has moved from one location to another as the vehicle is in transit on a trip from a departure or source location to an arrival or destination location … the moving map engine may estimate the current position of the vehicle by predicting a progress of the vehicle along a trip plan that may be based on the delayed position, a predicted or actual heading of the vehicle, and/or a predicted or actual speed of the vehicle. If the vehicle was last reported to be on schedule along the predicted path, then the moving map engine may predict that the vehicle is still on schedule along the predicted path.”
Sterkel additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “In one embodiment, a checkin to a road trip, bus trip, train trip, boat trip, plane trip, or any other trip may cause rolling status updates based on the path or itinerary of the moving person or moving vehicle. A single post may be periodically modified, replaced, or updated such that the expected location of the user on the trip is updated to other users of a social networking site.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the real-time navigation sharing system of Cao, with the explicit measurement of periodic travel progress updates shared to other users as taught by Sterkel, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the social networking benefits of updating other users of a first user’s particular location. As Sterkel describes, (Paragraph [0073]) “users of the moving map application may share status updates with each other via messages, posts, or notifications, viewable either through the social networking application or through the moving map application,” and that, “The social networking status of the user may be updated periodically or according to user-defined settings even if the user's trip includes biking or walking to a train, and continuing the journey on the train. The social networking engine may receive periodic updates from a client engine running on the user's mobile device.”
“ adding the updated moving progress to a message queue; and transmitting, by using the on-board map application to a map server, a latest moving progress in the message queue at a reporting frequency, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency
Cao and Sterkel do not explicitly teach adding the updated moving progress to a message queue; and transmitting, by using the on-board map application to a map server, a latest moving progress in the message queue at a reporting frequency, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency.
However, it would have been obvious to arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Samsalovic.
Samsalovic is not explicitly directed to an on-board map application and an on-board social application, but is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to its teachings regarding the nature of implementing message queues in regards to choosing the frequency at which map information is updated.
Samsalovic teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “A method and system for refreshing location code data … The system includes a location code change system that receives map change data and location code change data,” wherein, (Page 11, Column 5, Lines 11-21) “The data connection 203 is used to stream map changes from the map data store 201 to the map changes store 205. Preferably, the map data store 201 continuously streams map changes to the map changes store 205; however, the map changes may be provided to the map changes store 205 in a non-continuous manner as well. The data connection 203 is preferably optimized for high throughput and low latency networks with a guaranteed data delivery mechanism. Different technologies may be used to transmit only the delta information that is sufficient to describe each change. The map data may be compressed for more efficient delivery. Therefore, data may be provided to the map change store at a frequency which is continuous.
Samsalovic additionally teaches, (Page 11, Column 6, Lines 62-67 and Page 12, Column 7, Lines 1-4) “The map change queue 307 is a data structure that stores change messages before they are processed by the location code updater 310. The map change queue 307 holds messages in a common format that preserves change information, but abstracts variations in message structure between different map providers and map versions. In one example, the map change queue 307 adheres to FIFO (First-In-First-Out) principle. Of course, the map change queue 307 may use other rules for providing the change messages to the location code updater 310.”
Samsalovic additionally teaches, (Page 12, Column 7, Lines 12-21) “The queue filter 309 disregards map changes that are not applicable to the location code data. The queue filter 309 checks against the process metadata repository 306 to obtain a list of applicable map change types. As a result, the location code change system 300 can be dynamically reconfigured to ignore or become aware of certain types of map change types. Map change messages that are ignored can be logged or returned back to the map change queue 307 based on the configuration stored in process metadata repository 306.” Therefore, not all map changes are passed on from the queue, and therefore map updates are effectively reported at a lower frequency.
Samsalovic additionally teaches a particular example wherein reporting frequency is limited to a particular moment in time, wherein, (Page 11, Column 6, Lines 29-39) “The request scheduler 303 (referred to herein as the scheduler 303) is used for creating and maintaining schedules for requesting map changes. The scheduler 303 stores schedule data in the process metadata repository 306. The scheduler 303 signals the requester 302 when it is time to issue a request for map changes. Different update schedules may be defined for each map data provider. Additionally, different update schedules may be specified for individual map versions within a single map provider. For example, a map provider can specify that map changes for Q1 2008 map version are retrieved every Sunday at 2:00:00.000 CST.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle management system which shares a moving progress of a traveling mobile terminal along a route a taught by Cao and Sterkel, with the methodology of implementing a message queue at reporting frequency to update map information, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency as taught by Samsalovic, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in order to achieve the well-known data/power saving benefits of implementing a message queue wherein the frequency of outputted information is less than inputted information, while still maintaining the user benefits of having an up to date map. As Samsalovic describes, (Page 9, Column 2, Lines 22-24) “By refreshing the location code data frequently, users of the location code data are more likely to obtain accurate data,” wherein, (Page 1, Column 5, Lines 19-21) “Different technologies may be used to transmit only the delta information that is sufficient to describe each change. The map data may be compressed for more efficient delivery.”
Claim 21 Discloses: (New)
“A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, having at least one computer program stored therein, the at least one computer program, when being loaded and executed by a processor of an on-board terminal, causing the processor to implement:”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention is applied to a first terminal, the first terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle … The first terminal obtains the first target route … The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” wherein, (Paragraph [0170], Lines 1-3) “The first terminal, the second terminal, and the server are shown as an example of hardware entity S11 in Figure 14. The device includes a processor 61.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0183]) “Those skilled in the art will understand that all or part of the steps of the above method embodiments can be implemented by hardware related to program instructions. The aforementioned program can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium. When the program is executed, it performs the steps of the above method embodiments. The aforementioned storage medium includes various media capable of storing program code, such as mobile storage devices, read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), magnetic disks, or optical disks.”
“executing an on-board map application and an on-board social application, wherein the on-board terminal is mounted on board of a vehicle”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“and is a transmission control unit (TCU) of a vehicle management system of the vehicle;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0138], Lines 1-2) “the first terminal further includes an information sending unit,” and additionally, (Paragraph [0140], Lines 1-2)“a first determining unit, configured to initiate a target route planning request by the first terminal.”
“logging in the on-board social application by using a first user account of a first user;”
Cao teaches using, (Paragraph [0062], Lines 2-3) “QQ login account information provided by the user through voice instruction (or through touch operation input on the display unit 108).”
“displaying a travel interface of the on-board map application, the travel interface displaying current travel information of the vehicle;”
Cao teaches that, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“locally calling the on-board social application in response to detecting a sharing operation in the travel interface, the sharing operation indicating sharing the travel information; sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a user terminal of a second user associated with the first user,”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
“the travel information comprising a travel route and a moving progress of the on-board terminal along the travel route; and in response to the travel information being updated, sharing the updated travel information with the second user, comprising: updating, at an update frequency, the moving progress of the on-board terminal, to obtain an updated moving progress;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 2-3) “enabling users in the information sharing group to share information based on the trajectory formed by the navigation route.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 3-9) “obtaining the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory; obtaining the relative position information of the at least one second terminal relative to the first real-time driving trajectory and the estimated trajectory, wherein the relative position information is generated by the position information reported by the second user in real time; displaying the first realtime driving trajectory, the estimated trajectory, and the relative position information in the user interface of the first terminal,” and subsequently, (Paragraph [0108], Lines 10-11) “providing the first real-time driving trajectory, which is updated in real time, to the at least one second terminal for use.”
Therefore, Cao does teach continuous updating/displaying/sharing of a driving trajectory, but does not explicitly share a moving progress along the route.
However, Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The user interface of the first terminal displays: real-time location information of the vehicle as it follows the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0102]) “Here, the first target route includes the origin and destination. Considering the need to support segmented navigation and the dynamic changes of personnel in the information sharing group, the destination in this embodiment of the invention is not limited to the final destination, but may include multiple intermediate destinations.” Therefore, Cao is capable of interpreting the real-time location of a vehicle and sharing information regarding arriving at intermediate locations along the way to a final destination.
Sterkel teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “a moving map that includes a graphical representation of a vehicle,” and that, (Paragraph [0032]) “the moving map engine determines that a vehicle has moved from one location to another as the vehicle is in transit on a trip from a departure or source location to an arrival or destination location … the moving map engine may estimate the current position of the vehicle by predicting a progress of the vehicle along a trip plan that may be based on the delayed position, a predicted or actual heading of the vehicle, and/or a predicted or actual speed of the vehicle. If the vehicle was last reported to be on schedule along the predicted path, then the moving map engine may predict that the vehicle is still on schedule along the predicted path.”
Sterkel additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “In one embodiment, a checkin to a road trip, bus trip, train trip, boat trip, plane trip, or any other trip may cause rolling status updates based on the path or itinerary of the moving person or moving vehicle. A single post may be periodically modified, replaced, or updated such that the expected location of the user on the trip is updated to other users of a social networking site.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the real-time navigation sharing system of Cao, with the explicit measurement of periodic travel progress updates shared to other users as taught by Sterkel, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the social networking benefits of updating other users of a first user’s particular location. As Sterkel describes, (Paragraph [0073]) “users of the moving map application may share status updates with each other via messages, posts, or notifications, viewable either through the social networking application or through the moving map application,” and that, “The social networking status of the user may be updated periodically or according to user-defined settings even if the user's trip includes biking or walking to a train, and continuing the journey on the train. The social networking engine may receive periodic updates from a client engine running on the user's mobile device.”
“adding the updated moving progress to a message queue; and transmitting, by using the on-board map application to a map server, a latest moving progress in the message queue at a reporting frequency, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency.”
Cao and Sterkel do not explicitly teach adding the updated moving progress to a message queue; and transmitting, by using the on-board map application to a map server, a latest moving progress in the message queue at a reporting frequency, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency.
However, it would have been obvious to arrive at the preceding limitations in light of Samsalovic.
Samsalovic is not explicitly directed to an on-board map application and an on-board social application, but is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due to its teachings regarding the nature of implementing message queues in regards to choosing the frequency at which map information is updated.
Samsalovic teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “A method and system for refreshing location code data … The system includes a location code change system that receives map change data and location code change data,” wherein, (Page 11, Column 5, Lines 11-21) “The data connection 203 is used to stream map changes from the map data store 201 to the map changes store 205. Preferably, the map data store 201 continuously streams map changes to the map changes store 205; however, the map changes may be provided to the map changes store 205 in a non-continuous manner as well. The data connection 203 is preferably optimized for high throughput and low latency networks with a guaranteed data delivery mechanism. Different technologies may be used to transmit only the delta information that is sufficient to describe each change. The map data may be compressed for more efficient delivery. Therefore, data may be provided to the map change store at a frequency which is continuous.
Samsalovic additionally teaches, (Page 11, Column 6, Lines 62-67 and Page 12, Column 7, Lines 1-4) “The map change queue 307 is a data structure that stores change messages before they are processed by the location code updater 310. The map change queue 307 holds messages in a common format that preserves change information, but abstracts variations in message structure between different map providers and map versions. In one example, the map change queue 307 adheres to FIFO (First-In-First-Out) principle. Of course, the map change queue 307 may use other rules for providing the change messages to the location code updater 310.”
Samsalovic additionally teaches, (Page 12, Column 7, Lines 12-21) “The queue filter 309 disregards map changes that are not applicable to the location code data. The queue filter 309 checks against the process metadata repository 306 to obtain a list of applicable map change types. As a result, the location code change system 300 can be dynamically reconfigured to ignore or become aware of certain types of map change types. Map change messages that are ignored can be logged or returned back to the map change queue 307 based on the configuration stored in process metadata repository 306.” Therefore, not all map changes are passed on from the queue, and therefore map updates are effectively reported at a lower frequency.
Samsalovic additionally teaches a particular example wherein reporting frequency is limited to a particular moment in time, wherein, (Page 11, Column 6, Lines 29-39) “The request scheduler 303 (referred to herein as the scheduler 303) is used for creating and maintaining schedules for requesting map changes. The scheduler 303 stores schedule data in the process metadata repository 306. The scheduler 303 signals the requester 302 when it is time to issue a request for map changes. Different update schedules may be defined for each map data provider. Additionally, different update schedules may be specified for individual map versions within a single map provider. For example, a map provider can specify that map changes for Q1 2008 map version are retrieved every Sunday at 2:00:00.000 CST.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle management system which shares a moving progress of a traveling mobile terminal along a route a taught by Cao and Sterkel, with the methodology of implementing a message queue at reporting frequency to update map information, wherein the reporting frequency is lower than the update frequency as taught by Samsalovic, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in order to achieve the well-known data/power saving benefits of implementing a message queue wherein the frequency of outputted information is less than inputted information, while still maintaining the user benefits of having an up to date map. As Samsalovic describes, (Page 9, Column 2, Lines 22-24) “By refreshing the location code data frequently, users of the location code data are more likely to obtain accurate data,” wherein, (Page 1, Column 5, Lines 19-21) “Different technologies may be used to transmit only the delta information that is sufficient to describe each change. The map data may be compressed for more efficient delivery.”
Claims 7-10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Sterkel, further in view of Samsalovic, further in view of Felman. (US 11,082,463 B2, hereinafter Felman)
Claim 7 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting first voice information by using the on-board map application, the first voice information carrying an operation keyword, an application keyword, and a user keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, the application keyword being configured for indicating that sharing is to be performed by using the on-board social application, and the user keyword being configured for indicating that a shared user is the second user; the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling, in response to an operation of collecting the first voice information, the on-board social application indicated by the application keyword; and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with the second user indicated by the user keyword.”
Cao, Sterkel, and Samsalovic do not explicitly indicate using operation keywords, but Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user's activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding operation, application, and user keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes, such a naming a particular user, application, or operation to be conducted. As for example Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 8 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting second voice information by using the on-board map application, the second voice information carrying an operation keyword and a user keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, and the user keyword being configured for indicating that a shared user is the second user; and the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling a default on-board social application in response to an operation of collecting the second voice information; or querying from historical sharing records, in response to an operation of collecting the second voice information, the on-board social application of the second user indicated by the user keyword, and calling the on-board social application.”
Cao, Sterkel, and Samsalovic do not explicitly indicate using operation keywords, but Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user's activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding operation and user keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes. As for example Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 9 Discloses: (Original)
“… and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: selecting, by using the on-board social application, the second user from users having a social relationship with the first user, and sharing the travel information with the second user.”
The left side of Figure 6 portrays the electability of particular user for sharing information within a social application, for example, user ‘Andy.’
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting third voice information by using the on-board map application, the third voice information carrying an operation keyword and an application keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, and the application keyword being configured for indicating that sharing is to be performed by using the on-board social application; the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling, in response to an operation of collecting the third voice information, the on-board social application indicated by the application keyword;"
Cao, Sterkel, and Samsalovic do not explicitly indicate using operation keywords, but Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user's activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding operation and application keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes. As Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 10 Discloses: (Original)
“The method according to claim 9, wherein the selecting, by using the on-board social application, the second user from users having a social relationship with the first user, and sharing the travel information with the second user comprises: displaying a user selection interface by using the on-board social application, the user selection interface displaying at least one user having the social relationship with the first user and a first keyword of each user, the first keyword being configured for indicating selecting the user;”
The left side of Figure 6 portrays the electability of particular user for sharing information within a social application, for example, user ‘Andy,’ the name of which serves as a keyword.
“and sharing the travel information with the second user in response to an operation of collecting a fourth voice information, the fourth voice information carrying a first keyword of the second user.”
Cao, Sterkel, and Samsalovic do not explicitly indicate using verbal keywords, but Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle’s in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other’s location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user’s activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding verbal keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes. As for example Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 22 Discloses: (New)
“The method according to claim 1, wherein sharing the travel information with the second user comprises: displaying a user selection interface of the on-board social application, the user selection interface displaying a plurality of users associated with the first user and a plurality of voice trigger words, each voice trigger word corresponding to one of the plurality of users;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
Additionally, upon viewing the drawings, the left side of Figure 6 portrays the electability of particular user for sharing information within a social application, for example, user ‘Andy.’
Cao, Sterkel, and Samsalovic do teach not explicitly teach the preceding user names as serving as examples of voice trigger words, each voice trigger word corresponding to one of the plurality of users.
“and a plurality of voice trigger words, each voice trigger word corresponding to one of the plurality of users; detecting target voice information carrying a target voice trigger word, the target voice trigger word corresponding to the second user; and in response to detecting the target voice information, sharing the travel information with the second user.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user's activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding operation, application, and user keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes, such a naming a particular user, application, or operation to be conducted. As for example Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view Sterkel, further in view of Samsalovic, further in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0025458 A1, hereinafter Li)
Claim 23 Discloses: (New)
“The method according to claim 5, wherein determining the location of the on-board terminal comprises: inputting, by the on-board map application, sensor data to a positioning software development kit (SDK), the sensor data including a moving speed, an attitude, and an acceleration of the on-board terminal; and determining, by the positioning SDK, the location of the on-board terminal on the travel route based on the sensor data.”
Cao, Sterkel, and Samsalovic do not explicitly teach the positioning software develop kit (SDK) methodology introduced in claim 23.
However, it would have been obvious to incorporate a positioning SDK in light of Li.
Li teaches, (Abstract, Line 1) “A positioning method and an on-board device,” wherein a, (Paragraph [0095], Lines 1-11) “positioning SDK may also integrate a positioning sensor inertial navigation function. After receiving, by the positioning SDK, the target positioning data sent by the on-board device, the method may further include: receiving, by the positioning SDK, sensor data sent by a positioning sensor in the terminal device; and performing, by the positioning SDK, inertial navigation during a traveling process of the vehicle based on the sensor data and the target positioning data, and displaying a lane-level position of the vehicle via the positioning application during a navigation process,” a particular example of the vehicle at a particular location on a travel route can viewed in Figure 8.
Li additionally teaches that, (Paragraph [0096]) “The inertial navigation is to measure an acceleration of a carrier itself via an inertial element (such as an accelerometer) based on Newton's inertial principle, and to acquire a speed and a position through integration and calculation, so as to achieve a purpose of navigation and positioning for the carrier,” wherein, (Paragraph [0097], Lines 4-5) “the above described inertial element such as the accelerometer, a gyroscope, etc,” wherein notably, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand a gyroscope measures relevant attitude.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with a positioning SDK methodology as taught by Li in order to determine relevant locations along a travel route, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the positioning accuracy benefits of the well-known system of a positioning software development kit, in the context of a mobile terminal device traveling along a route. As Li describes, (Paragraph [0093]) “the terminal device may be installed with a positioning application, such as a map application or a navigation application. In order to easily acquire the target positioning data for any positioning application to position the vehicle, a positioning SDK (Software Development Kit) may be developed. The positioning SDK may be included in any positioning application. The target positioning data sent by the on-board device may be received through the positioning SDK, and the positioning application including the positioning SDK may directly acquire the target positioning data from the positioning SDK, so as to perform the high-precision positioning for the vehicle.”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Lian et al. (US 2025/0142290 A1) teaches with regards to the state of the art that, (Background, Paragraph [0003]) “With development of terminal technologies, electronic devices have been increasingly widely used in our daily life. A geographical location service provided by an electronic device, for example, displaying a map, querying geographical location information, and planning a navigation route by using the electronic device, has become an indispensable basic service,” and Lian teaches with regards to a particular invention that, (Paragraph [0085], Lines 1-7) “As shown in FIG. 3, an electronic device 100 may include a map software development kit (software development kit, SDK) and a map display module. The map SDK module may include an SDK interface module, a map resource management and rendering module, and a data management module (which may also be referred to as data I/O),” wherein, (Paragraph [0269], Lines 1-7) “Specifically, the electronic device 100 may include a navigation module, and the navigation module may be configured to generate a map image including an identifier of a route from a place of departure to a destination. The navigation module may be included in a specified application, or may be a software development kit (software development kit, SDK).”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664