DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim 1-20 are rejected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, Lines 1-2 read, “wherein the travel information comprises the travel route and the moving progress,” when it should read, “wherein the travel information comprises a moving progress,” as this is the first time these limitations are introduced in this particular claim tree.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without adding significantly more.
Regarding Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test for product and processes, (See MPEP 2106) the claims are directed to the abstract idea of a mental process of, “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people," specifically social activities.
The independent claims read as follows:
Claim 1 Recites:
“A travel information sharing method, performed by an on-board terminal, the method comprising: displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application, the travel interface displaying current travel information of the on-board terminal; calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface, the sharing operation being configured for indicating sharing the travel information; and sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user, the first user being a user of the on-board terminal logging into the on-board social application.”
Claim 17 Recites:
“A travel information sharing method, performed by an on-board terminal, the method comprising: displaying a sharing message by using an on-board map application, the sharing message being provided by an on-board social application; and displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the sharing message, travel information associated with the sharing message, the travel information being shared by a third user to a fourth user, the fourth user being a user of the on-board terminal logging into the on-board social application, and the third user having a social relationship with the fourth user.”
Claim 20 Recites:
“A computer device, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory having at least one computer program stored therein, and the at least one computer program being loaded and executed by the processor to implement a travel information sharing method, performed by an on-board terminal, the method comprising:
displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application, the travel interface displaying current travel information of the on-board terminal;
calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface, the sharing operation being configured for indicating sharing the travel information; and
sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user, the first user being a user of the on-board terminal logging into the on-board social application, and the second user being a user having a social relationship with the first user.”
Regarding Step 2A – Prong One of the subject matter eligibility test for product and processes, the claim limitations regarding both calling an on board social application, and sharing travel information using a social application to another user, are the equivalent of an invention directed to managing the personal behavior between people, specifically social activities.
Regarding Step 2A – Prong Two of the subject matter test for product and processes, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the only remaining limitations directed to displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal are considered to be insignificant post solution activity, as they are the equivalent of merely outputting data on a display. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3))
Regarding Step 2B The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim does not recite additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above. With respect to displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application, the travel interface displaying current travel information of the on-board terminal in response to a sharing operation, are well understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry are considered to be insignificant post solution activity, as it the equivalent of merely outputting data on a display is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as there are no specific and/or inventive details of how the data is displayed which could potentially integrate the judicial exception in a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3))
The dependent claims read as follows:
Claim 2 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: sharing updated travel information with the second user in a case that the travel information is updated.”
Sharing the updated travel information with a second user does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception. This is deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
Claim 3 Recites:
“The method according to claim 2, wherein the sharing updated travel information with the second user in a case that the travel information is updated comprises at least one of the following: the travel information comprising a travel route, sharing an updated travel route with the second user in a case that the travel route is updated; or the travel information comprising a moving progress, and the moving progress being a progress of the on-board terminal moving along the travel route, obtaining an updated moving progress every first duration, and sharing the updated moving progress with the second user.”
Sharing the updated travel route or moving progress with a second user does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception. This is deemed to be the equivalent of, (MPEP 2106.05 (I)(A)(iii.) “Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea.”
Claim 4 Recites:
“The method according to claim 2, wherein the travel information comprises the travel route, and the method further comprises one of the following: updating, in response to a switch operation on a route requirement, the travel route to a travel route that satisfies a switched route requirement; updating, in response to a modification operation on a waypoint, the travel route to a travel route passing by a modified waypoint; updating, in response to a route switch operation, the travel route to a travel route indicated by the route switch operation; or the travel route comprising an end point, updating the travel route to a travel route from a current location of the on-board terminal to the end point in a case that the on-board terminal deviates from the travel route.”
The claimed, “updating, in response to a switch operation on a route requirement, the travel route to a travel route that satisfies a switched route requirement; updating, in response to a modification operation on a waypoint, the travel route to a travel route passing by a modified waypoint; updating, in response to a route switch operation, the travel route to a travel route indicated by the route switch operation; or the travel route comprising an end point, updating the travel route to a travel route from a current location of the on-board terminal to the end point in a case that the on-board terminal deviates from the travel route,” can be determined mentally by the human mind in lieu of for example explicit vehicle control steps along the route. Additionally, the preceding limitations are determined to be the equivalent of (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I.)), “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2).”
Claim 5 Recites:
“The method according to claim 2, wherein the travel information comprises the travel route and the moving progress, the moving progress is the progress of the on-board terminal moving along the travel route, and the method further comprises: determining a location of the on-board terminal on the travel route every second duration based on the current location of the on-board terminal and the travel route; and updating the moving progress of the on-board terminal based on the location of the on-board terminal on the travel route.”
Determining a location of the on-board terminal on the travel route every second duration based on the current location of the on-board terminal and the travel route does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception. This is deemed to be the equivalent of, (MPEP 2106.05 (I)(A)(iii.) “Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea.”
Sharing the periodic updated moving progress based on the location of the terminal with a second user is deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
Claim 6 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising one of the following: transmitting, in a case that the on-board terminal ends a current trip, a trip end message to a terminal logged in by the second user, the trip end message being configured for prompting the on-board terminal to end the current trip; or transmitting, in response to a sharing cancel operation, a sharing cancel message to the terminal logged in by the second user, the sharing cancel message being configured for prompting the on-board terminal to cancel sharing of the travel information.”
Transmitting, in a case that the on-board terminal ends a current trip, a trip end message to a terminal logged in by the second user, or transmitting, in response to a sharing cancel operation, a sharing cancel message to the terminal logged in by the second user, is deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
Claim 7 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting first voice information by using the on-board map application, the first voice information carrying an operation keyword, an application keyword, and a user keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, the application keyword being configured for indicating that sharing is to be performed by using the on-board social application, and the user keyword being configured for indicating that a shared user is the second user; the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling, in response to an operation of collecting the first voice information, the on-board social application indicated by the application keyword; and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with the second user indicated by the user keyword.”
Utilizing Voice commands which relay information through keywords to conduct operations does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception because it is a well understood, routine, conventional activity previously known to the industry.
As Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 8 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting second voice information by using the on-board map application, the second voice information carrying an operation keyword and a user keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, and the user keyword being configured for indicating that a shared user is the second user; and the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling a default on-board social application in response to an operation of collecting the second voice information; or querying from historical sharing records, in response to an operation of collecting the second voice information, the on-board social application of the second user indicated by the user keyword, and calling the on-board social application.”
Utilizing Voice commands which relay information through keywords to conduct operations does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception because it is a well understood, routine, conventional activity previously known to the industry.
As Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Additionally, querying from historical sharing records does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(1)II.C.ii., which reads, “Other examples of managing personal behavior recited in a claim include … ii. considering historical usage information while inputting data.”)
Claim 9 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting third voice information by using the on-board map application, the third voice information carrying an operation keyword and an application keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, and the application keyword being configured for indicating that sharing is to be performed by using the on-board social application; the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling, in response to an operation of collecting the third voice information, the on-board social application indicated by the application keyword; and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: selecting, by using the on-board social application, the second user from users having a social relationship with the first user, and sharing the travel information with the second user.”
Utilizing Voice commands which relay information through keywords to conduct operations does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception because it is a well understood, routine, conventional activity previously known to the industry.
As Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Additionally, selecting, by using the on-board social application, the second user from users having a social relationship with the first user, and sharing the travel information with the second user is explicitly directed to the abstract idea of a mental process of “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people," specifically social activities. The preceding limitations are determined to be the equivalent of (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I.)), “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2).”
Claim 11 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a location of the second user, the location of the second user being a location of the terminal logged in by the second user; and displaying a location of the on-board terminal and the location of the second user in the travel interface of the on-board terminal.”
The preceding limitations does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception because they deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
The limitations directed to displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application are considered to be insignificant post solution activity, as it the equivalent of merely outputting data on a display. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3))
Claim 12 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the travel information comprises a first travel route of the on-board terminal, and the method further comprises: determining a second travel route based on the first travel route and the location of the second user in response to the sharing operation, the second travel route being a route with a highest degree of overlap with the first travel route among candidate travel routes, the candidate travel route being a route of which a start point is at the location of the second user, and an end point is the same as an end point of the first travel route, and the location of the second user being the location of the terminal logged in by the second user; and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: sharing the travel information and the second travel route with the second user by using the on-board social application.”
The determining of a candidate route with the highest overlap can be determined mentally by the human mind, in lieu of for example, explicit vehicle control steps along said route. Additionally, the preceding limitations are determined to be the equivalent of (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I.)), “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2).”
Claim 13 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: transmitting the travel information to a map server by using the on-board map application; and transmitting a sharing request to the map server by using the on-board social application, the sharing request being configured for indicating sharing the travel information with the second user.”
The preceding limitations does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception because they deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
Claim 14 Recites:
“The method according to claim 13, wherein the travel information comprises a route identifier of a travel route being navigated to, and the transmitting the travel information to a map server by using the on-board map application comprises: transmitting the route identifier to the map server by using the on-board map application, the sharing request being configured for indicating sharing the travel route indicated by the route identifier with the second user.”
The preceding limitations does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception because they deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
Claim 15 Recites:
“The method according to claims 14, wherein the travel information further comprises the moving progress, the moving progress being configured for indicating the progress of the on-board terminal moving along the travel route; and the transmitting the route identifier to the map server by using the on-board map application comprises: transmitting the route identifier and the moving progress to the map server by using the on-board map application, the sharing request being configured for indicating sharing the travel route indicated by the route identifier and the moving progress with the second user.”
The preceding limitations does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception because they deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
Claim 16 Recites:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application comprises: displaying a route planning interface by using the on-board map application, the route planning interface displaying a planned travel route; or displaying a route navigation interface by using the on-board map application, the route navigation interface displaying the travel route being navigated to.”
The limitations directed to displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application are considered to be insignificant post solution activity, as it the equivalent of merely outputting data, in lieu of particular details of how the data is displayed, which could potentially integrate the judicial exception in a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3))
Claim 18 Recites:
“The method according to claim 17, wherein the displaying a sharing message by using an on-board map application comprises: receiving, by using the on-board social application, the sharing message transmitted by a map server, and transmitting the sharing message to the on-board map application; and receiving, by using the on-board map application, the sharing message transmitted by the on-board social application, and displaying the sharing message.”
Sharing the sharing message with a second user does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception. This is deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
The limitations directed to displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application are considered to be insignificant post solution activity, as it the equivalent of merely outputting data on a display. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3))
Claim 19 Recites:
“The method according to claim 17, wherein the displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the sharing message, travel information associated with the sharing message comprises: transmitting an information obtaining request to the map server in response to the trigger operation on the sharing message, the information obtaining request being configured for requesting to obtain the travel information associated with the sharing message; and receiving the travel information transmitted by the map server, and displaying the travel information.”
Sharing the sharing message with a second user does not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and does not amount to more than the judicial exception. This is deemed to be the equivalent of (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data.”
The limitations directed to displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application are considered to be insignificant post solution activity, as it the equivalent of merely outputting data on a display. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (CN 105764033 A, hereinafter Cao)
Claim 1 Discloses:
“A travel information sharing method, performed by an on-board terminal, the method comprising:”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention is applied to a first terminal, the first terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle … The first terminal obtains the first target route … The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal.”
“displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application, the travel interface displaying current travel information of the on-board terminal;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface, the sharing operation being configured for indicating sharing the travel information; and sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user, the first user being a user of the on-board terminal logging into the on-board social application.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
Claim 2 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: sharing updated travel information with the second user in a case that the travel information is updated.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0148], Lines 8-11) “the first terminal drives towards a designated destination through the estimated trajectory, and provides the first real-time driving trajectory obtained through real-time driving updates to the at least one second terminal for use.”
Claim 3 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 2, wherein the sharing updated travel information with the second user in a case that the travel information is updated comprises at least one of the following: the travel information comprising a travel route, sharing an updated travel route with the second user in a case that the travel route is updated; or the travel information comprising a moving progress, and the moving progress being a progress of the on-board terminal moving along the travel route, obtaining an updated moving progress every first duration, and sharing the updated moving progress with the second user.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0148], Lines 8-11) “the first terminal drives towards a designated destination through the estimated trajectory, and provides the first real-time driving trajectory obtained through real-time driving updates to the at least one second terminal for use.” The preceding teaching being mapping to, “the travel information comprising a travel route, sharing an updated travel route with the second user in a case that the travel route is updated.”
Claim 4 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 2, wherein the travel information comprises the travel route, and the method further comprises one of the following: updating, in response to a switch operation on a route requirement, the travel route to a travel route that satisfies a switched route requirement;
updating, in response to a modification operation on a waypoint, the travel route to a travel route passing by a modified waypoint; updating, in response to a route switch operation, the travel route to a travel route indicated by the route switch operation; or the travel route comprising an end point, updating the travel route to a travel route from a current location of the on-board terminal to the end point in a case that the on-board terminal deviates from the travel route.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0059], Lines 5-9) “the voice navigation data includes driving direction, current driving route speed limit information, and driving route change reminder information. In particular, when the vehicle 200 deviates from the navigation path, the navigation path to the target position is recalculated and the corresponding voice navigation data is played.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0058], Lines 7-11) “the controller 101 can calculate the navigation path according to the characteristics of the navigation path set by the user when setting the target location (such as the shortest distance, the smoothest road conditions, etc.), or load navigation paths with multiple characteristics in the display unit 108 to facilitate the user to choose according to their needs.”
Claim 6 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising one of the following: transmitting, in a case that the on-board terminal ends a current trip, a trip end message to a terminal logged in by the second user, the trip end message being configured for prompting the on-board terminal to end the current trip; or transmitting, in response to a sharing cancel operation, a sharing cancel message to the terminal logged in by the second user, the sharing cancel message being configured for prompting the on-board terminal to cancel sharing of the travel information.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0082]) “Here, a second user can apply to join the information sharing group at any time, and can also leave the information sharing group at any time. The method further includes: updating the information sharing group after receiving a request from the at least one second terminal to exit the navigation route sharing.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0125]) “Step 304: When it is detected that the distance deviation between the predetermined second target route of the at least one second terminal and the navigation route exceeds a threshold or is inconsistent with the entire trajectory of the destination and/or route, the user selects to exit the navigation route, sends out an exit request for the sharing of the navigation route, and updates the information sharing group.”
Claim 11 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a location of the second user, the location of the second user being a location of the terminal logged in by the second user; and displaying a location of the on-board terminal and the location of the second user in the travel interface of the on-board terminal.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0026], Lines 6-11) “the user interface of the first terminal displaying: real-time location information of the first terminal driving a vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route, and real-time location information of the at least one second terminal driving or riding in a vehicle following the first real-time driving trajectory after obtaining the first real-time driving trajectory based on the location information of the driving vehicle.”
Claim 12 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the travel information comprises a first travel route of the on-board terminal, and the method further comprises: determining a second travel route based on the first travel route and the location of the second user in response to the sharing operation, the second travel route being a route with a highest degree of overlap with the first travel route among candidate travel routes, the candidate travel route being a route of which a start point is at the location of the second user, and an end point is the same as an end point of the first travel route, and the location of the second user being the location of the terminal logged in by the second user; and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: sharing the travel information and the second travel route with the second user by using the on-board social application.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The user interface of the first terminal displays: real-time location information of the vehicle as it follows the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0102]) “Here, the first target route includes the origin and destination. Considering the need to support segmented navigation and the dynamic changes of personnel in the information sharing group, the destination in this embodiment of the invention is not limited to the final destination, but may include multiple intermediate destinations.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 8-16) “The navigation route (estimated trajectory) indicated by A11 and the actual driving route of the lead vehicle (real-time trajectory) indicated by A12 can completely overlap or partially overlap. The lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach the same destination, as shown in the terminal (the final destination in the entire navigation route) on the right side of Figure 6. Alternatively, the lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach different destinations, but share the same intermediate destination (where the trajectories partially overlap). This supports segmented navigation and segmented multi-person travel scenarios,” which during, (Paragraph [0120]) “Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0122]) “Step 302: When it is detected that the second target route predetermined by the at least one second terminal and the navigation route partially overlap in the destination and/or the entire route trajectory, select to join the navigation route and provide feedback on the joining request for sharing the navigation route.”
Claim 13 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: transmitting the travel information to a map server by using the on-board map application; and transmitting a sharing request to the map server by using the on-board social application, the sharing request being configured for indicating sharing the travel information with the second user.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0135]) “Figure 11 shows the system architecture of an embodiment of the present invention, including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a server. In a multi-person travel scenario consisting of a first terminal user driving and at least one second terminal user driving, the first terminal and at least one second terminal respectively report real-time information to the server. The first terminal shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” and that, (Paragraph [0057], Lines 4-6) “the controller 101 loads the map data related to the location of the vehicle 200 from the network server through the data communication function provided by the cellular module 103 when locating the vehicle 200,” as well as, (Paragraph [0066], Lines 10-11) “The server stores the real-time information reported by the first user and at least one second user in the real-time shared information database 600.”
Claim 14 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 13, wherein the travel information comprises a route identifier of a travel route being navigated to, and the transmitting the travel information to a map server by using the on-board map application comprises: transmitting the route identifier to the map server by using the on-board map application, the sharing request being configured for indicating sharing the travel route indicated by the route identifier with the second user.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0135]) “Figure 11 shows the system architecture of an embodiment of the present invention, including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a server. In a multi-person travel scenario consisting of a first terminal user driving and at least one second terminal user driving, the first terminal and at least one second terminal respectively report real-time information to the server. The first terminal shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” and that, (Paragraph [0057], Lines 4-6) “the controller 101 loads the map data related to the location of the vehicle 200 from the network server through the data communication function provided by the cellular module 103 when locating the vehicle 200,” as well as, (Paragraph [0066], Lines 10-11) “The server stores the real-time information reported by the first user and at least one second user in the real-time shared information database 600.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “The first terminal obtains the first target route; The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal.”
Claim 16 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application comprises: displaying a route planning interface by using the on-board map application, the route planning interface displaying a planned travel route; or displaying a route navigation interface by using the on-board map application, the route navigation interface displaying the travel route being navigated to.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0065], Lines 8-16) “The navigation route (estimated trajectory) indicated by A11 and the actual driving route of the lead vehicle (real-time trajectory) indicated by A12 can completely overlap or partially overlap. The lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach the same destination, as shown in the terminal (the final destination in the entire navigation route) on the right side of Figure 6. Alternatively, the lead vehicle and the vehicles traveling with it can both reach different destinations, but share the same intermediate destination (where the trajectories partially overlap). This supports segmented navigation and segmented multi-person travel scenarios,” which during, (Paragraph [0120]) “Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal.”
Claim 17 Discloses:
“A travel information sharing method, performed by an on-board terminal,”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention is applied to a first terminal, the first terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle … The first terminal obtains the first target route … The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal.”
“the method comprising: displaying a sharing message by using an on-board map application, the sharing message being provided by an on-board social application;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“and displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the sharing message, travel information associated with the sharing message, the travel information being shared by a third user to a fourth user, the fourth user being a user of the on-board terminal logging into the on-board social application, and the third user having a social relationship with the fourth user.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
Claim 18 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 17, wherein the displaying a sharing message by using an on-board map application comprises: receiving, by using the on-board social application, the sharing message transmitted by a map server, and transmitting the sharing message to the on-board map application; and receiving, by using the on-board map application, the sharing message transmitted by the on-board social application, and displaying the sharing message.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
Claim 19 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 17, wherein the displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the sharing message, travel information associated with the sharing message comprises: transmitting an information obtaining request to the map server in response to the trigger operation on the sharing message,”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0166]) “the second information sharing unit is further configured to, when the second terminal is a user's handheld terminal, enter the chat mode of the social application displayed on the mobile terminal, and establish an information interaction channel with the first social application running on the first terminal through the first social application running on the handheld terminal, so that users in the information sharing group can share each other's information based on the trajectory formed by the navigation route; the users in the information sharing group include people driving vehicles and/or other people driving vehicles located in the vehicle.”
“the information obtaining request being configured for requesting to obtain the travel information associated with the sharing message;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
“and receiving the travel information transmitted by the map server,”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0135]) “Figure 11 shows the system architecture of an embodiment of the present invention, including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a server. In a multi-person travel scenario consisting of a first terminal user driving and at least one second terminal user driving, the first terminal and at least one second terminal respectively report real-time information to the server. The first terminal shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” and that, (Paragraph [0057], Lines 4-6) “the controller 101 loads the map data related to the location of the vehicle 200 from the network server through the data communication function provided by the cellular module 103 when locating the vehicle 200,” as well as, (Paragraph [0066], Lines 10-11) “The server stores the real-time information reported by the first user and at least one second user in the real-time shared information database 600.”
“and displaying the travel information.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route.”
Claim 20 Discloses:
“A computer device, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory having at least one computer program stored therein, and the at least one computer program being loaded and executed by the processor to implement a travel information sharing method, performed by an on-board terminal,”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0168], Lines 1-4) “It should be noted that the first terminal and the second terminal mentioned above can be electronic devices such as PCs, portable electronic devices such as PADs, tablets, and laptops, smart mobile terminals such as mobile phones, and vehicle terminals, and are not limited to the descriptions here,” and that, (Paragraph [0169]) “Specifically, the processor used for data processing can be a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), or a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) during processing; the storage medium contains operation instructions, which can be computer-executable code, and the operation instructions are used to implement the various steps in the information processing method flow of the above embodiments of the present invention.”
“the method comprising: displaying a travel interface of the on-board terminal by using an on-board map application, the travel interface displaying current travel information of the on-board terminal;”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 1-2) “The first display unit is used to display the real-time location information of the first terminal driving the vehicle along the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0033]) “Figure 5 is a schematic diagram of the operation of binding a vehicle and running a social application on a handheld mobile terminal in an embodiment of the present invention.”
“calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface, the sharing operation being configured for indicating sharing the travel information; and sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user, the first user being a user of the on-board terminal logging into the on-board social application, and the second user being a user having a social relationship with the first user.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraphs [0119-0121]) “An information processing method according to an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG10, is applied to a second terminal, the second terminal including a mobile terminal installed inside a vehicle, the method comprising: Step 301: At least one second terminal receives a navigation route generated and shared based on the first target route, the navigation route being shared by the first terminal to the at least one second terminal. For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Sterkel et al. (US 2012/0232782 A1, hereinafter Sterkel)
Claim 5 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 2, wherein the travel information comprises the travel route and the moving progress, the moving progress is the progress of the on-board terminal moving along the travel route, and the method further comprises: determining a location of the on-board terminal on the travel route every second duration based on the current location of the on-board terminal and the travel route; and updating the moving progress of the on-board terminal based on the location of the on-board terminal on the travel route.”
Cao does not teach an explicit moving progress which occurs during every second duration as claimed in claim 5. However, Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The user interface of the first terminal displays: real-time location information of the vehicle as it follows the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0102]) “Here, the first target route includes the origin and destination. Considering the need to support segmented navigation and the dynamic changes of personnel in the information sharing group, the destination in this embodiment of the invention is not limited to the final destination, but may include multiple intermediate destinations.” Therefore, Cao is capable of interpreting the real-time location of a vehicle and sharing information regarding arriving at intermediate locations along the way to a final destination.
Sterkel teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “a moving map that includes a graphical representation of a vehicle,” and that, (Paragraph [0032]) “the moving map engine determines that a vehicle has moved from one location to another as the vehicle is in transit on a trip from a departure or source location to an arrival or destination location … the moving map engine may estimate the current position of the vehicle by predicting a progress of the vehicle along a trip plan that may be based on the delayed position, a predicted or actual heading of the vehicle, and/or a predicted or actual speed of the vehicle. If the vehicle was last reported to be on schedule along the predicted path, then the moving map engine may predict that the vehicle is still on schedule along the predicted path.”
Sterkel additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “In one embodiment, a checkin to a road trip, bus trip, train trip, boat trip, plane trip, or any other trip may cause rolling status updates based on the path or itinerary of the moving person or moving vehicle. A single post may be periodically modified, replaced, or updated such that the expected location of the user on the trip is updated to other users of a social networking site.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the real-time navigation sharing system of Cao, with the explicit measurement of periodic travel progress updates shared to other users as taught by Sterkel, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the social networking benefits of updating other users of a first user’s particular location. As Sterkel describes, (Paragraph [0073]) “users of the moving map application may share status updates with each other via messages, posts, or notifications, viewable either through the social networking application or through the moving map application,” and that, “The social networking status of the user may be updated periodically or according to user-defined settings even if the user's trip includes biking or walking to a train, and continuing the journey on the train. The social networking engine may receive periodic updates from a client engine running on the user's mobile device.”
Claim 15 Discloses:
“The method according to claims 14, wherein the travel information further comprises the moving progress, the moving progress being configured for indicating the progress of the on-board terminal moving along the travel route; and the transmitting the route identifier to the map server by using the on-board map application comprises: transmitting the route identifier and the moving progress to the map server by using the on-board map application, the sharing request being configured for indicating sharing the travel route indicated by the route identifier and the moving progress with the second user.”
Cao does not teach an explicit moving progress as claimed in claim 14. However, Cao does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0135]) “Figure 11 shows the system architecture of an embodiment of the present invention, including a first terminal, a second terminal, and a server. In a multi-person travel scenario consisting of a first terminal user driving and at least one second terminal user driving, the first terminal and at least one second terminal respectively report real-time information to the server. The first terminal shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal,” and that, (Paragraph [0057], Lines 4-6) “the controller 101 loads the map data related to the location of the vehicle 200 from the network server through the data communication function provided by the cellular module 103 when locating the vehicle 200,” as well as, (Paragraph [0066], Lines 10-11) “The server stores the real-time information reported by the first user and at least one second user in the real-time shared information database 600.”
Cao additionally teaches, (Paragraphs [0009-0010]) “The first terminal obtains the first target route; The first terminal generates a navigation route based on the first target route and shares the navigation route with at least one second terminal.”
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The user interface of the first terminal displays: real-time location information of the vehicle as it follows the estimated trajectory formed by the navigation route,” and that, (Paragraph [0102]) “Here, the first target route includes the origin and destination. Considering the need to support segmented navigation and the dynamic changes of personnel in the information sharing group, the destination in this embodiment of the invention is not limited to the final destination, but may include multiple intermediate destinations.” Therefore, Cao is capable of interpreting the real-time location of a vehicle and sharing information regarding arriving at intermediate locations along the way to a final destination.
Sterkel teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “a moving map that includes a graphical representation of a vehicle,” and that, (Paragraph [0032]) “the moving map engine determines that a vehicle has moved from one location to another as the vehicle is in transit on a trip from a departure or source location to an arrival or destination location … the moving map engine may estimate the current position of the vehicle by predicting a progress of the vehicle along a trip plan that may be based on the delayed position, a predicted or actual heading of the vehicle, and/or a predicted or actual speed of the vehicle. If the vehicle was last reported to be on schedule along the predicted path, then the moving map engine may predict that the vehicle is still on schedule along the predicted path.”
Sterkel additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “In one embodiment, a checkin to a road trip, bus trip, train trip, boat trip, plane trip, or any other trip may cause rolling status updates based on the path or itinerary of the moving person or moving vehicle. A single post may be periodically modified, replaced, or updated such that the expected location of the user on the trip is updated to other users of a social networking site.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the real-time navigation sharing system of Cao, with the explicit measurement of travel progress updates shared to other users as taught by Sterkel, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the social networking benefits of updating other users of a first user’s particular location. As Sterkel describes, (Paragraph [0073]) “users of the moving map application may share status updates with each other via messages, posts, or notifications, viewable either through the social networking application or through the moving map application,” and that, “The social networking status of the user may be updated periodically or according to user-defined settings even if the user's trip includes biking or walking to a train, and continuing the journey on the train. The social networking engine may receive periodic updates from a client engine running on the user's mobile device.”
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Felmen. (US 11,082,463 B2, hereinafter Felmen)
Claim 7 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting first voice information by using the on-board map application, the first voice information carrying an operation keyword, an application keyword, and a user keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, the application keyword being configured for indicating that sharing is to be performed by using the on-board social application, and the user keyword being configured for indicating that a shared user is the second user; the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling, in response to an operation of collecting the first voice information, the on-board social application indicated by the application keyword; and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with the second user indicated by the user keyword.”
Cao does not explicitly indicate using operation keywords, but does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user's activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding operation, application, and user keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes, such a naming a particular user, application, or operation to be conducted. As for example Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 8 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting second voice information by using the on-board map application, the second voice information carrying an operation keyword and a user keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, and the user keyword being configured for indicating that a shared user is the second user; and the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling a default on-board social application in response to an operation of collecting the second voice information; or querying from historical sharing records, in response to an operation of collecting the second voice information, the on-board social application of the second user indicated by the user keyword, and calling the on-board social application.”
Cao does not explicitly indicate using operation keywords, but does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user's activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding operation and user keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes. As for example Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 9 Discloses:
“… and the sharing, by using the on-board social application, the travel information with a second user associated with a first user comprises: selecting, by using the on-board social application, the second user from users having a social relationship with the first user, and sharing the travel information with the second user.”
The left side of Figure 6 portrays the electability of particular user for sharing information within a social application, for example, user ‘Andy.’
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting third voice information by using the on-board map application, the third voice information carrying an operation keyword and an application keyword, the operation keyword being configured for indicating performing an operation of sharing the travel information, and the application keyword being configured for indicating that sharing is to be performed by using the on-board social application; the calling an on-board social application in response to a sharing operation in the travel interface comprises: calling, in response to an operation of collecting the third voice information, the on-board social application indicated by the application keyword;"
Cao does not explicitly indicate using operation keywords, but does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle's in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other's location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user's activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding operation and application keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes. As Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
Claim 10 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 9, wherein the selecting, by using the on-board social application, the second user from users having a social relationship with the first user, and sharing the travel information with the second user comprises: displaying a user selection interface by using the on-board social application, the user selection interface displaying at least one user having the social relationship with the first user and a first keyword of each user, the first keyword being configured for indicating selecting the user;”
The left side of Figure 6 portrays the electability of particular user for sharing information within a social application, for example, user ‘Andy,’ the name of which serves as a keyword.
“and sharing the travel information with the second user in response to an operation of collecting a fourth voice information, the fourth voice information carrying a first keyword of the second user.”
Cao does not explicitly indicate using verbal keywords, but does teach the following.
Cao teaches, (Paragraph [0085]) “the method further includes: the first terminal acquiring voice information generated by voice input operation, directly sending the voice information to the at least one second terminal, and broadcasting the voice information on the at least one second terminal; or, the first terminal converting the voice information into non-voice information and sending it to the at least one second terminal for non-voice information display,” and that, (Paragraph [0121]) “For example, at least one second end user (such as a passenger or other person not in the lead vehicle or driving the vehicle) receives a navigation route sharing message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on their mobile phone and parses the shared navigation route from the message. Alternatively, at least one second end user (such as a driver) receives a message sent by the first user via QQ, WeChat, SMS, or MMS on the vehicle’s in-vehicle system and parses the shared navigation route from the message. A group consisting of the first user and the second user shares each other’s location information based on the navigation route, and so on.”
However, Felman provides evidence of it being well known in the art to implement the sharing of user information based upon the confirmation of keywords received from voice commands.
Felman teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-7) “A system and method for sharing personal information is described, wherein a server may receive and classify user information from a user. The server may further track user interactions between the user and one or more other users. The server may share certain user information classified as disclosure information with the one or more other users upon determining that a disclosure condition has been met,” and that, (Page 8, Column 5, Lines 62-64) “the system may employ … voice recognition technology to authenticate received user information,” as well as, “At step 103, the system associates a disclosure condition with the user information classified as disclosure information. Generally, disclosure conditions may relate to a user’s activity (i.e., activity-based disclosure conditions); any number of dates and/or times (i.e., time-based disclosure conditions); location(s) of the user or other users (i.e., location-based disclosure conditions); user information associated with the user and other users (i.e., user-information-based disclosure conditions); content, keywords or tags associated with the user information (i.e., content-based disclosure conditions).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second user route navigation message sharing system of Cao to be implemented with corresponding verbal keywords in light of the Felman reference, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a well-known methodology in the art of associating voice commands with keywords to associate verbal commands with desired information sharing outcomes. As for example Lin et al. (US 2021/0125604 A1) describes, (BACKGROUND, Paragraph [0001]) “Voice activated devices oftentimes rely on “always on” listening to trigger functions associated with the voice activated device. Oftentimes, to perform a function associated with the voice activated device, a user must speak a trigger word that is used to prepare the voice activated device for performance of a function associated with the voice command.”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant'sdisclosure.
Kaneko et al. (US 2021/0258913 A1) discloses, (Abstract) “An information processing device includes a processor configured to acquire of information relating to a posted location that is a location about which a second user different from a first user has performed a first posting to a social networking system, and transmit an instruction to an onboard device or a terminal of the first user, to display the posted location on a map displayed on a screen of the onboard device or a screen of the terminal of the first user.”
Park et al. (US 2016/0069704 A1) discloses, (Abstract) “The updating participant item 351 may display an image item associated with a user of an electronic device that subscribes to map-of-interest data, a user of an electronic device that adds or changes location information or place information set in map-of-interest data, or the like. For example, the updating participant item 351 may display a thumbnail image of users of other electronic devices that share, add, or change generated map-of-interest data. For example, the updating participant item 351 may display an image item (for example, 20 persons, 30 persons, or the like) associated with the number of users who participate in updating, or the like, of map-of-interest data.”
Conclusion
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664