DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. application Ser. No. 18/170,891, filed Feb. 17, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 17/114,425, filed Dec. 7, 2020, now U.S. Pat. No. 11,665,505, which is a continuation of U.S. application Ser. No. 16/450,993, filed Jun. 24, 2019, now U.S. Pat. No. 10,863,307, issued Dec. 8, 2020, which is a continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 16/146,774, filed Sep. 28, 2018, now U.S. Pat. No. 10,382,895, issued Aug. 13, 2019, which is a continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/219,239, filed Jul. 25, 2016, now U.S. Pat. No. 10,375,519, issued Aug. 6, 2019, which is a continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/636,106, filed Mar. 2, 2015, now U.S. Pat. No. 9,402,153, issued Jul. 26, 2016, which is a continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/113,856, filed May 23, 2011, now U.S. Pat. No. 8,971,924, issued Mar. 3, 2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) is submitted on 8/23/2024, 4/14/2025, 6/17/2025 and 9/18/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Objection to the Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract recites “e.g.”. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. The form and legal phraseology such as “e.g.” should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “share a locations” on line 2 and “the user interface” on line 10. Examiner recommend changing the limitations to “share a location[[s]]” and “[[the]] an user interface”. Claims 8 and 15 recites similar features and therefore are objected for similar reason.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent. No.12101687 B2 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please refer to the table below for claim comparison.
Instant Application 18/814,149
US Patent. No.
12101687 B2
Interpretation/Differences
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a first mobile device, a first input requesting to share a locations with a plurality of second mobile devices, each second mobile device having been authorized by a respective user of the second mobile device in response to the request to provide location information to the first mobile device and other devices from the plurality of second mobile devices;
determining, by the first mobile device, a location of the first mobile device;
sharing a location label corresponding to the location with the plurality of second mobile devices; and
presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface, each respective location label for the plurality of second mobile devices that are shared between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a first mobile device, a first input requesting to share a location with a plurality of second mobile devices, each second mobile device having been authorized by a respective user of the second mobile device to provide location information to the first mobile device and other devices from the plurality of second mobile devices;
determining, by the first mobile device, the location of the first mobile device;
sharing a location label corresponding to the location with the plurality of second mobile devices; and
presenting, by the first mobile device on a user interface, each respective location label for the plurality of second mobile devices that are shared between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices.
As can be seen from the side-by-side comparison, US Patent. No. 12101687 B2 has every feature/limitation that the present application does with slight word changes with the exception of the bolded, italicized, and underlined feature in the present application.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises determining a name of a business in a vicinity of the first mobile device.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location by determining a name of a business in a vicinity of the first mobile device.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein sharing the location and the selected label between the first mobile device and the second mobile devices comprising transmitting a location-based message to a server including the selected label.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: sharing the location between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices by transmitting a location-based message to a server including a selected label.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, a first user interface portion indicating the plurality of second mobile devices with which the first mobile device is sharing location information; receiving, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, one or more user inputs selecting a particular mobile device indicated by the first user interface portion; and presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, location information regarding the selected mobile device in a second user interface portion, wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: presenting, by the first mobile device on the user interface of the first mobile device, a first user interface portion indicating the plurality of second mobile devices with which the first mobile device is sharing location information; receiving, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, one or more user inputs selecting a particular mobile device indicated by the first user interface portion; and presenting, by the first mobile device on the user interface of the first mobile device, location information regarding the selected mobile device in a second user interface portion, wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first mobile device, a request for authorization from a second mobile device for sharing location information with the plurality of second mobile devices.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first mobile device, a request for authorization from a second mobile device for sharing location information with the plurality of second mobile devices.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises retrieving a user defined label associated with the location.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location by retrieving a user defined label associated with the location.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein a first user interface portion comprises: a graphical map, and a first icon indicating the location of the selected mobile device with respect to the graphical map.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein a first user interface portion comprises: a graphical map, and a first icon indicating the location of a selected mobile device with respect to the graphical map.
8. At least one non-transitory storage device storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receive, by a first mobile device, a first input requesting to share a locations with a plurality of second mobile devices, each second mobile device having been authorized by a respective user of the second mobile device in response to the request to provide location information to the first mobile device and other devices from the plurality of second mobile devices determine, by the first mobile device, a location of the first mobile device; share a location label corresponding to the location with the plurality of second mobile devices; and present, by the first mobile device at the user interface, each respective location label for the plurality of second mobile devices that are shared between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices.
8. At least one non-transitory storage device storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receive, by a first mobile device, a first input requesting to share a location with a plurality of second mobile devices, each second mobile device having been authorized by a respective user of the second mobile device to provide location information to the first mobile device and other devices from the plurality of second mobile devices; determine, by the first mobile device, the location of the first mobile device; share a location label corresponding to the location with the plurality of second mobile devices; and present, by the first mobile device on the user interface, each respective location label for the plurality of second mobile devices that are shared between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices.
As can be seen from the side-by-side comparison, US Patent. No. 12101687 B2 has every feature/limitation that the present application does with slight word changes with the exception of the bolded, italicized, and underlined feature in the present application.
9. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, wherein to determine one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises determining a name of a business in a vicinity of the first mobile device.
9. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, the operations further comprising: determine one or more suggested labels associated with the location by determining a name of a business in a vicinity of the first mobile device.
10. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, wherein to share the location and the selected label between the first mobile device and the second mobile devices comprising transmitting a location-based message to a server including the selected label.
10. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, the operations further comprising: share the location between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices by transmitting a location-based message to a server including a selected label.
11. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprising: present, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, a first user interface portion indicating the plurality of second mobile devices with which the first mobile device is sharing location information; receive, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, one or more user inputs selecting a particular mobile device indicated by the first user interface portion; and present, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, location information regarding the selected mobile device in a second user interface portion, wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently.
11. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, the operations further comprising: present, by the first mobile device on the user interface of the first mobile device, a first user interface portion indicating the plurality of second mobile devices with which the first mobile device is sharing location information; receive, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, one or more user inputs selecting a particular mobile device indicated by the first user interface portion; and present, by the first mobile device on the user interface of the first mobile device, location information regarding the selected mobile device in a second user interface portion, wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently.
12. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprising: receive, by the first mobile device, a request for authorization from a second mobile device for sharing location information with the plurality of second mobile devices.
12. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, the operations further comprising: receive, by the first mobile device, a request for authorization from a second mobile device for sharing location information with the plurality of second mobile devices.
13. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, wherein determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises retrieving a user defined label associated with the location.
13. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, the operations further comprising: determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location by retrieving a user defined label associated with the location.
14. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, wherein the first portion comprises: a graphical map, and a first icon indicating the location of the selected mobile device with respect to the graphical map.
14. The at least one non-transitory storage device of claim 8, wherein a first user interface portion comprises: a graphical map, and a first icon indicating the location of a selected mobile device with respect to the graphical map.
15. A data processing system comprising: a storage device storing instructions; and one or more processors to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a first mobile device, a first input requesting to share a locations with a plurality of second mobile devices, each second mobile device having been authorized by a respective user of the second mobile device in response to the request to provide location information to the first mobile device and other devices from the plurality of second mobile devices; determining, by the first mobile device, a location of the first mobile device; sharing a location label corresponding to the location with the plurality of second mobile devices; and presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface, each respective location label for the plurality of second mobile devices that are shared between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices.
15. A data processing system comprising: a storage device storing instructions; and one or more processors to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a first mobile device, a first input requesting to share a location with a plurality of second mobile devices, each second mobile device having been authorized by a respective user of the second mobile device to provide location information to the first mobile device and other devices from the plurality of second mobile devices; determining, by the first mobile device, the location of the first mobile device; sharing a location label corresponding to the location with the plurality of second mobile devices; and presenting, by the first mobile device on the user interface, each respective location label for the plurality of second mobile devices that are shared between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices.
As can be seen from the side-by-side comparison, US Patent. No. 12101687 B2 has every feature/limitation that the present application does with slight word changes with the exception of the bolded, italicized, and underlined feature in the present application.
16. The data processing system of claim 15, wherein determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises determining a name of a business in a vicinity of the first mobile device.
16. The data processing system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location by determining a name of a business in a vicinity of the first mobile device.
17. The data processing system of claim 15, wherein sharing the location and the selected label between the first mobile device and the second mobile devices comprising transmitting a location-based message to a server including the selected label.
17. The data processing system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: sharing the location between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices by transmitting a location-based message to a server including a selected label.
18. The data processing system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, a first user interface portion indicating the plurality of second mobile devices with which the first mobile device is sharing location information; receiving, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, one or more user inputs selecting a particular mobile device indicated by the first user interface portion; and presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, location information regarding the selected mobile device in a second user interface portion, wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently.
18. The data processing system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: presenting, by the first mobile device on the user interface of the first mobile device, a first user interface portion indicating the plurality of second mobile devices with which the first mobile device is sharing location information; receiving, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, one or more user inputs selecting a particular mobile device indicated by the first user interface portion; and presenting, by the first mobile device on the user interface of the first mobile device, location information regarding the selected mobile device in a second user interface portion, wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently.
19. The data processing system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: receiving, by the first mobile device, a request for authorization from a second mobile device for sharing location information with the plurality of second mobile devices.
19. The data processing system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: receiving, by the first mobile device, a request for authorization from a second mobile device for sharing location information with the plurality of second mobile devices.
20. The data processing system of claim 15, wherein determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises retrieving a user defined label associated with the location.
20. The data processing system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location by retrieving a user defined label associated with the location.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Stewart (US 20110136506 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stewart teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a first mobile device, a first input requesting to share a locations with a plurality of second mobile devices (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0039; list management 158 provides a user with the tools needed to perform various tasks related to the dissemination of location information including, for example, accepting new users ("friends"), requesting inclusion in the friends list of others, defining location sharing constraints, managing user profile information, processing in-bound location information, and the like. Paragraphs 0032 and 0041; provide user multiple options for location labels, different labels can be categorized in a variety of different ways, or the category can correspond to a group of users (e.g., family, friends, spouse, etc.)), each second mobile device having been authorized by a respective user of the second mobile device in response to the request to provide location information to the first mobile device and other devices from the plurality of second mobile devices (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0039; accepting new users ("friends"). Paragraphs 0032 and 0041; location information and label may be constrained on a per friend, per person, per group of people basis. A user can also define the type of location information, e.g., which location label(s) can be sent to which users);
determining, by the first mobile device, a location of the first mobile device (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0047; the location of a client device is determined by the client device, and associated location labels can be accessed for the particular location);
sharing a location label corresponding to the location with the plurality of second mobile devices (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0048; once a location and location labels is determined, user specified location sharing constraints are analyzed to determine one or more of when, how, and to whom location information is sent. A determination is made whether to transmit location information to one or more users or groups of users. Paragraph 0049; once transmission is complete, a client communications device operates in a receive mode where it awaits in-bound location information from other users); and
presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface, each respective location label for the plurality of second mobile devices that are shared between the first mobile device and the plurality of second mobile devices (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0049; received location information may be "display", e.g., graphically, textually, via indicator lights, audibly, or via some mechanical operation such as vibration. Figures 4A and 4B, Paragraphs 0050; user interface elements that can be used to display received location information. Entries include: availability indicator 412 indicating a friend's availability for IM, SMS, or other types of direct communication; friend name 414 (e.g., a full name, first name, or nickname); friend location information 416 (e.g., simple labels like "Home", place names, longitude and latitude coordinates, addresses, or links to a location on a graphically displayed map)).
Regarding claim 2, Stewart teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Stewart teaches wherein determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises determining a name of a business in a vicinity of the first mobile device (Paragraph 0030; businesses may initiate a registration event that would allow the geographic location of the business to be recorded in a computer system along with other attributes, and subsequently used to display selected information about the proximity of businesses to a single user. Figure 4A; Brett’s location label is Joe’s Bar).
Regarding claim 3, Stewart teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Stewart teaches wherein sharing the location and the selected label between the first mobile device and the second mobile devices comprising transmitting a location-based message to a server including the selected label (Paragraph 0048; once location and related location labels is determined, user specified location sharing constraints are analyzed to determine one or more of when, how and to whom location information is shared. This information can be transmitted from one client directly to another, from client to server to client, from server to client, or combination thereof).
Regarding claim 5, Stewart teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Stewart teaches receiving, by the first mobile device, a request for authorization from a second mobile device for sharing location information with the plurality of second mobile devices (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0039; list management 158 provides a user with the tools needed to perform various tasks related to the dissemination of location information including, for example, accepting new users ("friends"), requesting inclusion in the friends list of others, defining location sharing constraints, and the like).
Regarding claim 6, Stewart teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Stewart teaches wherein determining one or more suggested labels associated with the location comprises retrieving a user defined label associated with the location (Paragraph 0019; a user can define, again as part of the user's profile, one or more labels or aliases corresponding to various locations. For example, a user can define a range of longitudes and latitudes as "home", "work", or "school").
Regarding claim 7, Stewart teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Stewart teaches wherein a first user interface portion comprises: a graphical map, and a first icon indicating the location of the selected mobile device with respect to the graphical map (Figure 4B and Paragraphs 0050 and 0051; graphic user interface shows a map image 460 is provided with indicators 470 showing locations of various friends. Legend 480 provides additional information in order to minimize the size and or complexity of indicators 470).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Stewart teaches at least one non-transitory storage device storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Paragraph 0053; method described are typically implemented as one or more software programs encoded in a computer readable medium as instructions executable on a processor).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites similar features as claim 2, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites similar features as claim 3, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites similar features as claim 5, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites similar features as claim 6, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites similar features as claim 7, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Stewart teaches a data processing system (Figure 1) comprising: a storage device storing instructions (Paragraph 0053; method described are typically implemented as one or more software programs encoded in a computer readable medium as instructions); and one or more processors to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Paragraph 0053; method described are typically implemented as one or more software programs encoded in a computer readable medium as instructions executable on a processor).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites similar features as claim 2, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites similar features as claim 3, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites similar features as claim 5, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites similar features as claim 6, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stewart, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Haney (US 20060223518 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Stewart teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Stewart teaches presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, a first user interface portion indicating the plurality of second mobile devices with which the first mobile device is sharing location information (Figure 4B and Paragraphs 0050 and 0051; a map image 460 is provided with indicators 470 showing locations of various friends sharing location (and/or location labels)); receiving, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, one or more user inputs selecting a particular mobile device indicated by the first user interface portion (Figure 4B and Paragraphs 0050 and 0051; display 400 typically includes one or more graphical user interface elements such as buttons 420 and 430 for accessing other software functions such as adding users or changing the type of display); and presenting, by the first mobile device at the user interface of the first mobile device, location information regarding the selected mobile device (Figure 4B and Paragraphs 0050 and 0051; Figure 4B and Paragraphs 0050 and 0051; display 400 typically includes one or more graphical user interface elements such as buttons 420 and 430 for accessing other software functions such as adding users or changing the type of display of location of one or more friends).
Stewart does not explicitly teach display information in a second user interface portion, wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently. In an analogous art, Haney teaches display information in a second user interface portion (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0115; FIG. 4 shows another user interface display that results from selecting the tennis team entry 18 on the Buddy List of FIG. 4 and then clicking on the Tracie entry. When the Tracie entry is clicked, the information in column 20 appears showing her full name, position, the time of her last fix, her distance from the user and her speed. Figure 7; when Dean is clicked, his last name, last known location and distance etc. is shown on a second portion of user interface), wherein the first user interface portion and the second user interface portion are presented concurrently (Figures 4 and 7, Paragraph 0115; the “BUDDIES” column is interpreted as first user interface potion, and the “SETTINGS” column with full name, last known location, distance, etc. may be interpreted as second user interface portion, and both are displayed concurrently). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to combine the teachings of Stewart and Haney because it would help people who want to communicate with and know where other people are, this is applicable to parental monitoring and increasing the efficiency of business and increasing the effectiveness of law enforcement (Haney, Paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites similar features as claim 4, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites similar features as claim 4, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 4.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neeraj (US 20090047972 A1) discloses providing location based presence status and enhancing location privacy management in a mobile, instant messaging or social networking environment. A user specifies or saves their favorite locations (e.g. home, work, school, or particular business or point of interest locations), and specifies or selects names and/or categories to be shared for each user-specified location.
Altman et al. (US 20080070593 A1) discloses determines the geographic location of a mobile communication device operated by a user within an area, displays a map representation of the area around the mobile communication device on a graphical user interface of the mobile communication device, and superimposes on the map the respective locations of one or more other trusted users of mobile communication devices coupled to the mobile communication device over the network.
Lewis, II, et al. (US 20090319616 A1) discloses receiving and authorizing a request to locate an instant messaging friend and receiving geographic location coordinates.
Conclusion
/Jing Gao/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647