DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3,5-6 and 9-20 are pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the claim objections from the previously filed Office Action.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections from the previously filed Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendments to independent claim(s) 1, 15 and 20 are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In reference to dependent claims 10-14, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claims 10-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHOI et al. (US 20220268924 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHOI discloses
A radar apparatus (see Fig. 1, radar device 100), comprising:
first radar circuitry, which, in operation, transmits a first transmission signal (see paragraphs 0039-0040, “For example, in a configuration including two transmission antennas of a first transmission antenna Tx1 and a second transmission antenna Tx2, and four receiving antennas of a first receiving antenna Rx1, a second receiving antenna Rx2, a third receiving antenna Rx3 and a fourth receiving antenna Rx4, if a signal is transmitted from Tx1 and a reflected signal is received from Rx4, the signal may be processed in a synthesized channel of Tx1-Rx4… Meanwhile, the signal transmitted and received by the antenna unit 110 may be controlled by the controller 130. In this case, the signal transmission/reception control may be performed based on preset setting values required for signal transmission/reception, such as the number of each used transmission antenna and receiving antenna, and a pulse repetition interval.”, further see Fig. 6, TX1 noting “first radar circuitry”); and
second radar circuitry, which, in operation, transmits a second transmission signal (see paragraphs 0039-0040, “For example, in a configuration including two transmission antennas of a first transmission antenna Tx1 and a second transmission antenna Tx2, and four receiving antennas of a first receiving antenna Rx1, a second receiving antenna Rx2, a third receiving antenna Rx3 and a fourth receiving antenna Rx4, if a signal is transmitted from Tx1 and a reflected signal is received from Rx4, the signal may be processed in a synthesized channel of Tx1-Rx4… Meanwhile, the signal transmitted and received by the antenna unit 110 may be controlled by the controller 130. In this case, the signal transmission/reception control may be performed based on preset setting values required for signal transmission/reception, such as the number of each used transmission antenna and receiving antenna, and a pulse repetition interval.”, further see Fig. 6, TX2 noting “second radar circuitry”); wherein
the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal are transmitted in a plurality of transmission periods (see Fig. 6, transmission of signals from TX1 and TX2 across different transmission period (i.e. top and bottom graphs)),
the plurality of transmission periods include one or more first transmission periods and one or more second transmission periods (see Fig. 6, bottom graph denotes “first transmission period” and top graph denotes “second transmission period”),
in the one or more first transmission periods, the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal are transmitted with frequency-division multiplexing transmission in which the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal have different center frequencies (see Fig. 6, bottom graph depicts the transmission of TX1 and TX2 chirps with frequency division-multiplexing transmission with different center frequencies for the chirp signals transmitted from TX1 and TX2), and
in the one or more second transmission periods, the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal are transmitted at a same center frequency (see Fig. 6, top graph depicts the transmission of TX1 and TX2 chirps with the same center frequencies for the chirp signals transmitted from TX1 and TX2).
Regarding claim 2, CHOI further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more first transmission periods and the one or more second transmission periods are alternately configured in the plurality of transmission periods (see Fig. 6, bottom graph depicts the first transmission periods and second transmission periods to be alternately configured).
Regarding claim 3, CHOI further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of second transmission periods of the one or more second transmission periods consecutive to each other are configured after a first transmission period of the one or more first transmission periods in the plurality of transmission periods (see Fig. 6, NOTE: based on BRI it is under the Examiner’s discretion to indicate the first 4 chirps in the bottom graph to be denoted as a plurality of first transmission periods and chirps 5-8 in the top graph to be denotes as a plurality of second transmission periods, where the second transmission periods is consecutive to the first transmission periods, further see paragraph 0119, “In this case, even if the speed of the target is greater than the maximum detection speed of the second mode, it is possible to correct the reception signal in the second mode using the target speed detected in the first mode, so that it is possible to improve the accuracy of estimating the direction of the target.”, which indicates that the modes can be switched one after the other to improve accuracy, further see claim 8, “wherein the controller controls to perform the second mode after performing the first mode.”).
Regarding claim 6, CHOI further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: a plurality of first transmission periods of the one or more first transmission periods consecutive to each other are configured in the plurality of transmission periods, at least one of second transmission periods of the one or more second transmission periods is configured after the one or more first transmission periods (see cited section and rationale for claim 3 above where based on BRI it is under the Examiner’s discretion to indicate which chirps in the bottom graph and which chirps in the top graph are each denoted as the first and second transmission periods).
Regarding claims 15 and 18, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claims 16 and 19, the same cited section and rationale as claim 2 is applied.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, the same cited section and rationale as claim 3 is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (US 20220268924 A1).
Regarding claim 5, CHOI discloses [Note: what CHOI fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the same center frequency of the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal in each of the one or more second transmission periods are identical (See Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the invention of CHOI so that “the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal in each of the one or more second transmission periods are identical to any of center frequencies set for the frequency-division multiplexing transmission in the one or more first transmission periods”. Although CHOI does not clearly disclose that the center frequencies are identical “to any of center frequencies set for the frequency-division multiplexing transmission in the one or more first transmission periods”, CHOI does disclose that the selection of the frequency to be a control value that can be selectively set in paragraph 0191, “In the mode control step S1230, it is possible to control the transmission and reception of a signal based on a preset control setting value. Here, the control setting value may include at least one of a transmission/receiving antenna specification, a transmission time, a frequency, a radiation direction, and an intensity of a signal. Here, the transmission time of the signal may be set to a pulse repetition interval.”. Therefore, in light of CHOI it would be obvious to set the frequency values so that “the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal in each of the one or more second transmission periods are identical to any of center frequencies set for the frequency-division multiplexing transmission in the one or more first transmission periods”. Furthermore, MPEP § 2141 provides that an invention may render a claimed limitation obvious when it would be “obvious to try” to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. In such an instance it would be obvious to try maintain some of the chirps to have the same center frequencies to design a more efficient system with improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (US 20220268924 A1) in view of KISHIGAMI et al. (US 20210302560 A1).
Regarding claim 9, CHOI discloses [Note: what CHOI fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the first radar circuitry transmits the first transmission signal from a plurality of first transmission antennas, the second radar circuitry transmits the second transmission signal from a plurality of second transmission antennas (see paragraph 0182, “For example, in a configuration including two transmission antennas of a first transmission antenna Tx1 and a second transmission antenna Tx2, and four receiving antennas of a first receiving antenna Rx1, a second receiving antenna Rx2, a third receiving antenna Rx3 and a fourth receiving antenna Rx4, if a signal is transmitted from Tx1 and a reflected signal is received from Rx4, the signal may be processed in a synthesized channel of Tx1-Rx4.”),
KISHIGAMI discloses,
and a pattern of a Doppler shift amount applied to the first transmission signal transmitted from each of the plurality of first transmission antennas is different from a pattern of a Doppler shift amount applied to the second transmission signal transmitted from each of the plurality of second transmission antennas (see Fig. 10, where doppler phase correction is performed by apply a phase correction vector the first and second transmission signals and this shift is different for each transmission signal based the distance mode (i.e. short range and long range modes corresponding the a first and second transmission signals)).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by KISHIGAMI into the invention of CHOI. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the use of frequency division multiplexing in a radar system. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to synchronize beams and allow for a receiver to separate and distinguish the signals received at each antenna simultaneously.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648